View Full Version : Eligibility Rules, Okay

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 [122] 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157

11/01/2014, 8:25 PM
You've angered Danny now TOWK.

11/01/2014, 8:41 PM
When your break the first eligibility commandment (thou shalt not mention religion), you got to do the penance.

11/01/2014, 9:17 PM
What a rancid season it's been for Irish strikers in The Championship.

Best, Madden (now at Scunthorpe), Hunt, Sammon and Keogh not getting any football.

Hunt's been injured since the start of October, he's a decent record at that level.

11/01/2014, 11:35 PM
Caolan Lavery has popped up with a brace for Sheffield Wednesday against Leeds today (the 5th and 6th of a 6-0 drubbing admittedly).

This is on the back of a loan spell at Plymouth where he bagged 3 goals in 4 starts and 4 substitute appearances.

Looks like he's starting to come good on his potential, at the age of 21. Call him up, Marty!
Kieran Lavery according to BBC.

Olé Olé
12/01/2014, 8:03 AM
Kieran Lavery according to BBC.

Second name pronounced Lay-vry by Jeff Stelling and co. also.

12/01/2014, 8:32 AM
I thought I heard a reporter saying Koolan.

TheOneWhoKnocks
12/01/2014, 12:56 PM
Hunt's been injured since the start of October, he's a decent record at that level.

Thought McDermott took him out of the team they were in poor form, he wasn't scoring and the fans were on his back, no? Think he tweeted about it himself; that he understood McDermott's decision.

Did hear something about a return from injury recently though.. Maybe he injured himself in training.

TheOneWhoKnocks
12/01/2014, 12:59 PM
In all fairness, we have a habit of butchering the spelling of our own names too like the ancestors of all the Kelley's, O'Neal's, Reardon's and Flanery's in America.

ArdeeBhoy
13/01/2014, 10:17 PM
FYI.

http://www.fifa.com/aboutfifa/organisation/news/newsid=2260043/index.html?fb_ref=facebook_share.

TheOneWhoKnocks
23/01/2014, 11:52 PM
http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/matt-wants-a-return-to-wolves-side-29940955.html

MAHONEY IN FOR ENGLAND

ENGLAND have moved to secure the services of Blackburn Rovers prodigy Connor Mahoney ahead of Ireland by naming him in their U17 squad.

Mahoney made headlines when he was handed his Blackburn debut at the age of 16 in their FA Cup defeat to Manchester City last week, although the midfielder had already played first-team football in League Two for Accrington Stanley.

The Blackburn man is eligible for Ireland through the parentage rule, but England have called him into their U17 squad for two friendlies against Belgium.

FAI scouts are also keeping tabs on Danny Crowley, the 17-year-old who is creating a stir at Arsenal since his move from Aston Villa.

Crowley played for Ireland at U16 level, but has since declared for his native England, though he could be tempted back into the Irish fold.

DannyInvincible
30/01/2014, 3:24 PM
Was having a read of the Wiki page dedicated to FIFA's eligibility rules and found this bit on member associations sharing a common nationality interesting: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FIFA_eligibility_rules#Nations_that_share_a_common _nationality

It's something I'd always wondered - the entire list of associations sharing common nationalities - and, according to the article, there are 26 associations who share a common nationality. They are:

American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, the United States and the US Virgin Islands, who all share American nationality;
Anguilla, Bermuda, the British Virgin Islands, the Cayman Islands, England, Gibraltar, Montserrat, Northern Ireland, Scotland, the Turks & Caicos Islands and Wales, who all share British nationality;
China, Hong Kong and Macau, who all share Chinese nationality;
Denmark and the Faroe Islands, who both share Danish nationality;
Aruba, Curaçao and the Netherlands, who all share Dutch nationality;
and France and Tahiti, who both share French nationality.

Olé Olé
30/01/2014, 3:49 PM
Was having a read of the Wiki page dedicated to FIFA's eligibility rules and found this bit on member associations sharing a common nationality interesting: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FIFA_eligibility_rules#Nations_that_share_a_common _nationality

It's something I'd always wondered - the entire list of associations sharing common nationalities - and, according to the article, there are 26 associations who share a common nationality. They are:

American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, the United States and the US Virgin Islands, who all share American nationality;
Anguilla, Bermuda, the British Virgin Islands, the Cayman Islands, England, Gibraltar, Montserrat, Northern Ireland, Scotland, the Turks & Caicos Islands and Wales, who all share British nationality;

Pascal Vahirua and Marama Vahirua were both born in Tahiti. Both played for France (Pascal at senior, Marama at under-21) and, due to the modification to eligibility rules pertaining to under-21 representation, Marama became eligible to play for Tahiti, as we saw in last year's Confederations Cup.

The Denmark/Faroese one is most interesting. Has there been any player born on the Faroe Islands that has chosen to represent Denmark instead?

DannyInvincible
30/01/2014, 4:20 PM
The Denmark/Faroese one is most interesting. Has there been any player born on the Faroe Islands that has chosen to represent Denmark instead?

Of course, whilst any Faroese-born player will hold Danish citizenship, he would still have to satisfy at least one of the criteria outlined in regulation 6 of the Regulations Governing the Application of the Statutes in order to also be eligible for Denmark. Either a parent or grandparent would need to have been born in Denmark, or he would have to have resided continuously in Denmark for at least two years.

31/01/2014, 11:09 AM

And the reason why the IFA and FAI are not there, is because it's a one way street:)

I had a read of that section on FAI v IFA on that page for the first time and it's a very poorly written piece, i.e. until you get to the last paragraph which is in stark contrast to what went before, the quote from CAS in the Dan Kearns case, which clearly encapsulated the judgement.

Olé Olé
31/01/2014, 2:52 PM
http://www.express.co.uk/sport/football/456908/Scots-aim-to-keep-Southampton-prospect-Sam-Gallagher

England trying to nab English-born, Scotland youth international and Southampton first-team player Sam Gallagher.

This seems to be occurring quite frequently with the FA these days. Michael Keane, Daniel Crowley and Patrick Bamford have all lined out for us first, only to be called up by England subsequently, with Jack Grealish subject to the FA's attention also.

What appears to be the trend is that we call up English-born players upon establishing their eligibility and the fact that they're with a decent academy. Due to the wide pool of English talent in these academies, it takes slightly more for the FA to call-up an academy player to their under-age set-up e.g. Jack Grealish and Daniel Crowley starring at Villa, Michael Keane playing regularly for Man United's reserves, Patrick Bamford becoming a first-team player at Nottingham Forrest (was probably only on the fringes when called up by England), Sean McGinty earning a transfer from Charlton to Man United- all garnering them the attention of the FA. It took the FA longer to act on Michael Keane than it did Will Keane (whom never appeared for Ireland), likely due to Michael's development while Will's career stalled due to injury.

If these players prefer to represent England than Ireland, I wish them all the best. But, it is always heart-warming when players shun the FA for Ireland (Tommie Hoban, Sean Murray, Ciaran Clark and, even in the past, Kevin Kilbane!).

ArdeeBhoy
14/02/2014, 10:39 AM
Anyone know what's the story with Irish rugby internationals?

As in do they 'automatically' get an Irish passport?Or can play with a Brit.one too...
Also the cricket;can 'foreign nationals' play?

14/02/2014, 11:12 AM
No, rugby doesn't require a player to have nationality of the country they represent. I'd imagine most of the Ulster national team players play on British passports. Cricket is the same as far as I know.

DannyInvincible
14/02/2014, 12:44 PM
Can players qualify via concurrent residency alone or do they need to satisfy a set minimum period of residency?

Crosby87
14/02/2014, 12:51 PM
Can you play cricket one on one if you really want to?

14/02/2014, 1:02 PM
Today's Indy with a couple of articles on Janujaj and England

http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/news-and-comment/sam-wallace-signing-young-stars-ruins-rules-of-the-game-9127310.html

http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/international/roy-hodgson-hints-fa-is-ready-to-accept-adnan-januzaj-for-england-9127312.html

14/02/2014, 1:18 PM
Can players qualify via concurrent residency alone or do they need to satisfy a set minimum period of residency?
What do you mean?

Crosby87
14/02/2014, 2:45 PM
He means do they ever actually need to reside in the country maybe? I would say no. I could play for Ireland and i never spent more than 4 weeks there at a time.

14/02/2014, 2:55 PM
No, rugby doesn't require a player to have nationality of the country they represent. I'd imagine most of the Ulster national team players play on British passports. Cricket is the same as far as I know.

That's only likely given there's no political jurisdiction called Ireland.

14/02/2014, 2:57 PM
He means do they ever actually need to reside in the country maybe? I would say no. I could play for Ireland and i never spent more than 4 weeks there at a time.
But you'd play for Ireland based on your Irish nationality which you did not acquire through residency but I'm guessing, through (grand)parents.

14/02/2014, 3:16 PM
There are three ways to qualify to represent a country: by being born on its territory; by having a parent or grandparent who was born on its territory; or residing in its territory for 36 continuous months. There are a lot of Samoan and other Pacific Island internationals who would never have lived in their country of ancestry.

It's nothing to do with Ireland, it's just the rules of the sport. Most sports are even less fussy than that, like athletics. Soccer is probably the strictest.

14/02/2014, 3:28 PM
I know Charlie. I was picking up on your point that Rugby some rugby players are playing for Ireland despite holding UK passports.

Also interestingly rugby is incredibly strict about switching. You can't.
Paul Warwick was tied to Australia due to a brief appearance in a 7s match. Never played for them after that.

I wish cricket was like that. Would give Irish players a second thought before playing for the ECB.

14/02/2014, 3:45 PM
Rugby has only tightened up its rules since 2000 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grannygate) - before that you had guys like Brian Smith, who played a few times for Australia before moving to England and discovering an Irish granny.

DannyInvincible
14/02/2014, 5:09 PM
What do you mean?

I was wondering what minimum time period of continuous residence needed to be satisfied by a player in order for a he or she to be deemed eligible. I wasn't sure if mere residence in the relevant territory alone was enough to render a player eligible. I thought, maybe, that by a player simply living in Ireland, he or she might therefore have been eligible to play for the Irish rugby team. That's not the case though; as you outline in post #6075, the minimum requirement is a continuous 36 months.

Metrostars
14/02/2014, 8:44 PM
Interesting article about the US success in finding foreign born players eligible for the US:

http://www.howlermagazine.com/foreign-aid/

DannyInvincible
17/02/2014, 4:34 PM
The Belfast Telegraph... Still delivering comedy: http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/northern-ireland/catholic-manager-fenlon-tipped-to-take-over-at-linfield-30015792.html

Catholic manager Fenlon tipped to take over at Linfield

A Catholic football manager from the Republic of Ireland is the frontrunner for the top job at Irish League giants Linfield.

17/02/2014, 6:06 PM
You stay classy, Belfast Telegraph...

17/02/2014, 6:42 PM
As uncouth as the reference might be or appear to be, it would be a pretty momentous appointment in the context of the Irish League. No?

DannyInvincible
17/02/2014, 6:47 PM
'Adnan Januzaj invited to play for Kosovo in friendly match': http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/26231426

Kosovo have asked Manchester United winger Adnan Januzaj to make his international debut in a friendly against Haiti on 5 March.

Januzaj, 18, could represent Albania, Belgium, Turkey, Serbia and, potentially in the future, England.

If Januzaj played for Kosovo, he would not jeopardise his future choices as only competitive games prevent a player from representing another nation.

"The invitation is symbolic," the Balkan country's federation (FKK) said.

Fifa ruled last month that Kosovo, which is still not a United Nations member, may play friendlies against other nations excluding those which emerged from the former Yugoslavia.

However, they will not be allowed to display national symbols or play their national anthem and the game will not count as an official international match.

The game against Haiti in the northern Kosovan town of Mitrovica.

FKK general secretary Eroll Salihu said the federation had spoken to Januzaj's father and uncle to confirm he would be free to choose another country in the future.

Salihu said: "We believe that he is obliged to show his people that he will be there when needed in a historic moment.

"We should have an answer by the end of this week and Januzaj's appearance would simply show that he has not forgotten his people, even he can play only for 10 or 15 minutes.

"It's a friendly so it will not be an obstacle and he would be eligible to play for whoever he chooses."

Kosovo's complicated political status has seen several players born in the state play for different countries, including Xherdan Shaqiri and Valon Behrami (Switerland), Shefki Kuqi (Finland) and Lorik Cana (Albania).

Januzaj, who signed a new five-year-deal with Manchester United last October, was born in Belgium and has Kosovan-Albanian parents.

He could also represent Serbia after Kosovo declared independence from the country in 2008, while his grandparents are Turkish.

The teenager could play for England by 2018 because Fifa rules allow a player to represent a team if "he has lived continuously for at least five years after reaching the age of 18".

England boss Roy Hodgson said he would leave to the Football Association board to make a decision on whether they would seek to recruit Januzaj but it is understood there is currently no FA policy on this issue.

The Kosovan general secretary's sentiments on "obligation" would very nearly border on IFA-esque there. Surely something lost in translation!

I suppose it shouldn't come as any great surprise either, but the BBC still appear to be of the belief that Januzaj may yet become eligible to play for England under current rules. :rolleyes:

DannyInvincible
17/02/2014, 6:54 PM
As uncouth as the reference might be or appear to be, it would be a pretty momentous appointment in the context of the Irish League. No?

I don't really see why it would or should be a big deal. The headline just strikes me as incredibly regressive, insular and ultimately embarrassing for whoever's sorry idea it was. Or maybe it's the fact that some still feel one's (assumed) religion in this context is a matter worthy of public note. Fenlon was a popular player whilst playing for Linfield, as far as I'm aware, and plenty of players from Catholic or nationalist backgrounds line out for the club in the present day. Whatever about the cultural make-up of the majority of the club's fanbase, it's not as if Linfield are a Protestants-only club.

I'm sure that, for any well-meaning Linfield supporter, it would be as insulting to them as this sort of ill-educated nonsense was to Irish supporters when Martin O'Neill took over with us: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/republic-of-ireland/10422085/Martin-ONeill-lines-up-Roy-Keane-to-form-dream-Republic-of-Ireland-manager-coach-duo.html

O’Neill represented Northern Ireland as a player and captained them at the 1982 World Cup, but as a Catholic, as well as the outstanding candidate, he will be warmly welcomed by supporters and media alike.

17/02/2014, 7:17 PM
Of course you're correct about players of all religions playing for them. Fenlon was a controversial signing at the time but ultimately one which was successful for all concerned and one which the fans certainly warmed to quite quickly. Maybe (probably) I'm out of touch with the current political temperature of IL football but this managerial appointment would strike me as a pretty big deal. The headline and reference to Catholicism is, as I said, a bit uncouth/silly.

samhaydenjr
18/02/2014, 1:09 AM
The Belfast Telegraph... Still delivering comedy: http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/northern-ireland/catholic-manager-fenlon-tipped-to-take-over-at-linfield-30015792.html

http://foot.ie/images/misc/quote_icon.png Originally Posted by Chris Kilpatrick

Catholic manager Fenlon tipped to take over at Linfield
A Catholic football manager from the Republic of Ireland is the frontrunner for the top job at Irish League giants Linfield.

I think this is the comedy part ;)

Fixer82
18/02/2014, 12:58 PM
"Linfield chairman Jim Kerr (http://searchtopics.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/topic/Jim_Kerr) yesterday revealed the club hopes to have a replacement lined-up within weeks."

what about the fact that their chairman is the lead singer for Simple Minds

Olé Olé
18/02/2014, 3:38 PM
Was browsing the Whoscored.com teams of the week there. A name stuck out in the middle of the park; Mirko Boland. An Irish name, no doubt, but his name could just be derived from a continental European name.

18/02/2014, 4:51 PM
Was browsing the Whoscored.com teams of the week there. A name stuck out in the middle of the park; Mirko Boland. An Irish name, no doubt, but his name could just be derived from a continental European name.
It's also a German name: http://www.ancestry.com/name-origin?surname=bohland

Crosby87
18/02/2014, 6:06 PM
His fan page on the Eintracht site says he smears Lowensenf on his Corned Beef, and he enjoys Bratwurst washed down with Guinness after a tough match. So who knows. It adds that he is extremely punctual and lacks empathy for others suffering, yet is verbose and prone to fighting then quickly making up before fighting again with family when drunk.

Fixer82
18/02/2014, 11:59 PM
His fan page on the Eintracht site says he smears Lowensenf on his Corned Beef, and he enjoys Bratwurst washed down with Guinness after a tough match. So who knows. It adds that he is extremely punctual and lacks empathy for others suffering, yet is verbose and prone to fighting then quickly making up before fighting again with family when drunk.

ha ha brilliant

ArdeeBhoy
20/02/2014, 12:09 PM
"Linfield chairman Jim Kerr (http://searchtopics.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/topic/Jim_Kerr) yesterday revealed the club hopes to have a replacement lined-up within weeks."

what about the fact that their chairman is the lead singer for Simple Minds
That group name being somewhat apt regarding a constituency of their fanbase...

However;Kerr and Fenlon (a former Celtic season book holder allegedly) both involved in the higher echelons of Linfield...

Surely some sort of 'nationalist plot' !!

TheOneWhoKnocks
20/02/2014, 12:19 PM
It's pretty ridiculous to insinuate that Ireland would only welcome a Catholic manager from Northern Ireland. Rodgers, Lennon and O'Neill are all good managers. It's just a coincidence that they are all Catholic. If they were Mormon, we would not care.

DannyInvincible
20/02/2014, 2:12 PM
It's pretty ridiculous to insinuate that Ireland would only welcome a Catholic manager from Northern Ireland. Rodgers, Lennon and O'Neill are all good managers. It's just a coincidence that they are all Catholic. If they were Mormon, we would not care.

I'll be honest; I was troubled by Trap's membership of Opus Dei. :p

Irwin3
20/02/2014, 6:36 PM

? Ireland is the name of this country. It says so right on your passport.

http://www.indymedia.ie/attachments/feb2010/irish_passport.gif

http://www.irelandunnewyork.org/uploads/images/New%20York%20PM/photo.jpg

20/02/2014, 7:25 PM
Ah jaysus. I didn't complete my sentence there but Charlie got what I was at. Context. Context.

Yes Irwin you're right and as Danny can attest he is aware of my disdain for referring to this State as the Republic of Ireland.

Crosby87
20/02/2014, 10:41 PM
Why Bonnie?

20/02/2014, 10:55 PM
Why Bonnie?
The name of the country is Ireland, not the Republic of Ireland. Nobody calls Poland 'the Republic of Poland,' even though it is actually its official name, as opposed to Ireland which is officially just 'Ireland.'

Crosby87
21/02/2014, 1:53 AM
I think it is to delineate to stupid people the fact that a "Northern Ireland" exists but i could be wrong. (For example I didn't think the US had much of a chance to medal in hockey.)

21/02/2014, 9:32 AM
I think it is to delineate to stupid people the fact that a "Northern Ireland" exists
That's what "the south" is for, or "the South" if you've a bit of attitude about you. :)

When asked if I'm from the north or south I always say east.