View Full Version : The say anything, what's on your mind thread
01/09/2010, 10:27 PM
He's back on now after most have left the venue!
Apparently a bottle was thrown but sure it must have been plastic?
They should have just went to see Slash a few months back.
PartySaint
02/09/2010, 12:12 AM
Word to Johnny Drama keep my Entourage with me....
02/09/2010, 1:01 AM
Guns N Roses just left the stage in the o2 after 22mins! Dunno what happened.
My brother was at it, hope it turned out ok.
Did he travel from Derry tcm? Bloody hell Id be askin them to throw me on the stage nvm a bottle!
02/09/2010, 9:17 AM
my house seems to be infested with flies lately. seem to have to kill at least 3 of the vermin every day :(
02/09/2010, 9:56 AM
Did he travel from Derry tcm? Bloody hell Id be askin them to throw me on the stage nvm a bottle!
Yup, he stayed until the end (http://www.roadrunnerrecords.com/blabbermouth.net/news.aspx?mode=Article&newsitemID=145398) though and really enjoyed it.
Wolfie
02/09/2010, 12:16 PM
my house seems to be infested with flies lately. seem to have to kill at least 3 of the vermin every day :(
Sounds like an odd question, but bear with me on this one - Do you have a brown bin used for garden waste / composting by any chance??
Lev Yashin
02/09/2010, 12:19 PM
That'll be the body under the stairs....
02/09/2010, 1:25 PM
Sounds like an odd question, but bear with me on this one - Do you have a brown bin used for garden waste / composting by any chance??
yeah, we have a small one for the kitchen that we empty regularly, and a big one that's collected every two weeks as part of the standard rubbish collection
The big one was attracting swarms of flies until the landlord powerhosed it clean a few weeks ago
That'll be the body under the stairs....
can't be, it's encased in quicklime to dissolve the corps...err, I mean, what body?
Wolfie
03/09/2010, 7:49 AM
Just dozed off for a minute and the board suddenly changed. Did I miss something?
Two words Mr B - Cool Dog.
He's like the Fonz. Only he's a dog.
03/09/2010, 3:00 PM
I don't ask much of you Lord, mainly because I don't believe in you, but if you're up there I would like the following results please:
Ireland win.
Russia lose.
Derry win.
Monaghan lose.
I don't think that's too much to ask for,
TCM
03/09/2010, 10:34 PM
Beating Finn harps, only 4 points off top of table followed by watching doctor brown and the groove cats in the middle of the diamond where a bar has sprung up, perfect evening.
God I love the Monaghan blues festival. Best weekend in Monaghan. Bands in every pub and street corner. Fun times.
stann
04/09/2010, 10:41 AM
I don't think that's too much to ask for
Seems he did TCM! :shock:
04/09/2010, 11:35 PM
Why does music sound even better when you're drunk?
05/09/2010, 1:19 AM
Watermelon slim. Legend. Check him out.
05/09/2010, 11:18 PM
Follow the adventure through. Pick a selection towards the end
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4ba1BqJ4S2M&feature=player_embedded
06/09/2010, 12:12 AM
That's pure quality.*
*I may have typed 'humps...'
culloty82
06/09/2010, 11:44 AM
This is probably the right place to stick this, as "Travel" didn't exactly sound right. Was thinking of looking around Glasnevin Cemetery and that side of the city next time I'll go to Dublin, but the Dublin Bus site isn't much help when you only know the basics around the city centre. Which would be the easiest route from Heuston?
06/09/2010, 3:56 PM
This is probably the right place to stick this, as "Travel" didn't exactly sound right. Was thinking of looking around Glasnevin Cemetery and that side of the city next time I'll go to Dublin, but the Dublin Bus site isn't much help when you only know the basics around the city centre. Which would be the easiest route from Heuston?
Take the luas to middle abbey street
walk up o'connell street and turn right
take the 40D bus from parnell square west, it passes right by Glasnevin Cemetery
There's other buses that go past it, but it's the only one I know off the top of my head
06/09/2010, 3:57 PM
Friend of mine got engaged on Saturday, and told me to keep April 27th, 2012 free
you'd think that wouldn't be a problem, but two months ago a bloke I used to live with got engaged and told me to keep April 28th, 2012 free
06/09/2010, 5:22 PM
Friend of mine got engaged on Saturday, and told me to keep April 27th, 2012 free
you'd think that wouldn't be a problem, but two months ago a bloke I used to live with got engaged and told me to keep April 28th, 2012 free
Don't worry. I have it on good authority that the world will have ended by then anyway.
December 21st 2012 is the apparent date.
06/09/2010, 6:33 PM
December 21st 2012 is the apparent date.
Utter nonsense based only on a wilful misinterpretation of the Mayan calendar. The book "We Are Almost There" by Harold Camping and Brian Miller indicates that the end of the world will occur late next year.
07/09/2010, 10:09 PM
"It is indeed late. On the horizon lies a last crimson glow; the moon looms overhead; smoke hangs in the air; across a strip of wasteland, from the first rows of shacks, comes a hubbub of voices. At the door Bev presses herself against him a last time, rests her head on his chest. He lets her do it, as he has let her do everything she has felt a need to do. His thoughts go to Emma Bovary strutting before the mirror after her first big afternoon. ’I have a lover! I have a lover!’ sings Emma to herself. Well, let poor Bev Shaw go home and do some singing too. And let him stop calling her poor Bev Shaw. If she is poor, he is bankrupt."
God that was quick!
Thought her name was Jenny Thompson though?
Eminence Grise
08/09/2010, 8:58 AM
Tets is right about the 40D from Parnell Street (not square), but the 40A, 40B and 40C all go from the same stop. Also, you can get the 140 from O'Connell St. All stop directly across from the cemetery. The 83, 19 and 19A stop less than five minutes away, midway between the cemetery and Phibsborough (get off either bus and walk straight on).
I can see the O'Connell memorial from the apartment - give us a wave when you get there!!
Wolfie
08/09/2010, 12:44 PM
"It is indeed late. On the horizon lies a last crimson glow; the moon looms overhead; smoke hangs in the air; across a strip of wasteland, from the first rows of shacks, comes a hubbub of voices. At the door Bev presses herself against him a last time, rests her head on his chest. He lets her do it, as he has let her do everything she has felt a need to do. His thoughts go to Emma Bovary strutting before the mirror after her first big afternoon. ’I have a lover! I have a lover!’ sings Emma to herself. Well, let poor Bev Shaw go home and do some singing too. And let him stop calling her poor Bev Shaw. If she is poor, he is bankrupt."
Ah yes. That would be "Wayne Rooney - The Biography".
Watch out for people dancing on Haugheys grave.
09/09/2010, 10:05 AM
I've had my doubts about some of Google's recent endeavours (I'm looking at you, Buzz) but instant search is impressive
Thing is, I do most of my searching from the search box built into Firefox and Opera, so I'm not sure how much use I'll get from instant search
stann
09/09/2010, 11:11 AM
Ahem...
Ah yes. That would be "Wayne Rooney - The Biography".
Many hours before...
God that was quick!
Thought her name was Jenny Thompson though?
09/09/2010, 11:25 AM
Both wrong.
10/09/2010, 4:50 PM
I don't know if anybody has been following this story like I have, but you have to laugh at this:
TOKYO —
A total of 234,354 centenarians are unaccounted for across Japan despite still being registered as alive under the family registry system, the government said Friday based on its nationwide survey on missing elderly.
Of the persons aged 100 and over whose current domicile cannot be found, 77,118 would be 120 years old or older and 884 would be at least 150 years old if they were still alive, the Justice Ministry said.
http://www.japantoday.com/category/national/view/over-234000-centenarians-unaccounted-for-among-missing-elderly
It would be funnier if the Japanese government hadn't been paying out multiple billions of Euros each year in pensions to people who have been dead for, in some cases, as many as 50 years.
I wonder what effect it will have on the life-expectancy estimates that Japanese people have been so proud of for so long.
To lose one elderly person is careless. When you lose 234,354 it's time to check down the back of the sofa.
10/09/2010, 5:08 PM
Why bother, Mr A? To lose one is a tragedy, but 234,354 is just a statistic.
Indeed. But this particular statistic may well cause the room to stink of **** and vicks.
11/09/2010, 10:23 PM
I have booked a place in some version of hell, totally without sensitivity or thinking about the relevance of today, I rented "Four Lions" and myself and my sons have just spent the last while laughing our butts off to Islamic Fundamentalists blowing themselves up. Also without thinking, rented "Infidel". Yup, am going to hell.
padjoe
12/09/2010, 12:40 AM
you'd think that fella from the script would get over getting his heart broken? he's after making two albums worth for who ever she is. i hope she's worth it or was worth it
http://i.imgur.com/INOSs.gif
:clap:
14/09/2010, 11:28 PM
Is it just me or does eircom have a tendency to lose internet access for a few minutes just after midnight?
15/09/2010, 11:43 PM
Is it just me or does eircom have a tendency to lose internet access for a few minutes just after midnight?
It's been happenning fairly regularly (once a week+) to me over the last month.
Dunny, what the hell is that from? That guy is priceless!
I have no idea Stevo! Been trying to identify that crest!
It's the German national one isn't it?
16/09/2010, 9:56 AM
Yeah, that's what I thought alright, but the white jerseys have sponsors on the front, which would imply it's not a national team game.
Nobody seems to pay yer man a blind bit of notice though; is it possible that he's just been inserted into the film?
poster
16/09/2010, 12:28 PM
Looks like one of the Indoor Championships. Shaun Holmes was in the NI squad for one of them.:tv:
16/09/2010, 12:36 PM
Indoor could be a good call alright. There's some technical lad sitting fairly close to the touchline with a laptop on a desk, which would be more indoor/futsal than full pitch. THough why the ref needs a headpiece in indoor, I don't know.
poster
16/09/2010, 12:39 PM
The lighting first led me to thoughts of indoor.
EAFC_rdfl
16/09/2010, 12:58 PM
its handball lads, a quick google of 'toyota tournament germany' led me to this blog
german handball team (http://handballnews.blog.com/2010/06/28/rumble-in-the-jungle/)
16/09/2010, 1:09 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_LtoqGPn8Cc&feature=related
German volleyball coach Heiner Brand.
16/09/2010, 1:58 PM
Damned impressive sleuthing. Well done!