View Full Version : The say anything, what's on your mind thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 [130] 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158

02/05/2013, 2:38 PM
just tell her you've already given her the best present any girl could ever wish for so nothing else you would buy could compare..

You really don't know women as well as you think you do....;)

02/05/2013, 2:55 PM
I (http://i.imgur.com/mihsumn.jpg) think this act of stupidity most certainly deserves the laughs it asks for.

http://i.imgur.com/mihsumn.jpg

The Fly
03/05/2013, 1:16 PM
I'd appreciate some opinions on relationships with notable age gaps. What would you find acceptable? What's too much? etc...

I'm talking about 21 and over.

03/05/2013, 1:37 PM
I'd appreciate some opinions on relationships with notable age gaps. What would you find acceptable? What's too much? etc...

There's actual rules about these things - Half your age, plus 7.

03/05/2013, 2:07 PM

I'm 29 which gives me a range of 21.5-44

My last ex is 6 years older than me and the youngest person I ever had a proper relationship was 4 years younger than me to the day.

I reckon an exceptable range is 4 years either side of yourself. Anything outside that I couldn't see working generally.

I have talked to 21-23 yo girls in bars and tbf I have almost zero regards similar interests or wants. Waste of time to be honest.

04/05/2013, 11:02 AM
I don't think there's a rule for this. It's got to be done on a case by case basis. I've gone out with someone six years older than me and it was a hindrance, but I was 19 at the time. I'm 24 now and wouldn't be put off dating a 30 year old. I'd probably feel a bit weird about someone in their mid thirties or under 20.

For what it's worth, my sister's fiancee is 8 years older than her, though I think it's more common for a girl to be younger than the guy than the other way around.

05/05/2013, 11:08 PM
Divide by 2, add 7.

Surely everyone knows this?

06/05/2013, 12:44 AM
Shameless plug; feel free to skip the first paragraph (I didn't want to start a thread):

Firstly, I'm moving into freelance copywriting- websites, brochures, leaflets, emails and the like. I'm starting to put together a portfolio, so if anyone wants any kind of professional writing for their own business, or that of anyone they know, I can offer pretty good rates at the moment. PM moi for info.

Secondly, to make up for the dull first half of this post, please enjoy this image:

http://www.lememe.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/dawg-court.jpg

06/05/2013, 1:00 AM
Visa approved.

http://www.stubby.ca/images/caps/beer_bottle_cap_molson_286.jpg

Stu, get Pil ready!

I'll get a 24 pack of my favourite local brew in to celebrate!

http://www.stubby.ca/bottles-view.php?id=204

06/05/2013, 1:53 AM
That's proper boh!

06/05/2013, 1:54 AM
Divide by 2, add 7.

Surely everyone knows this?
Depends... the rules in Cloyne and in Broadcasting House are divide by 7 and add 2.

06/05/2013, 2:14 PM
"There is a repose about Lant Street, in the Borough, which sheds a gentle melancholy upon the soul. There are always a good many houses to let in the street: it is a by-street too, and its dulness is soothing. A house in Lant Street would not come within the denomination of a first-rate residence, in the strict acceptation of the term; but it is a most desirable spot nevertheless. If a man wished to abstract himself from the world — to remove himself from within the reach of temptation — to place himself beyond the possibility of any inducement to look out of the window — we should recommend him by all means go to Lant Street."

Spudulika
06/05/2013, 3:01 PM
Had a pretty good working holiday the last couple of weeks, UK, Ireland, UK, Lithuania, Latvia, Lithuania (thrown out of Belarus), back to Lithuania, Russia.

Was on the train from Vilnius to Moscow with herself, nice large bottle of Belgian beer, food and munchies for the 16 hour overnighter. Train stopped in a village in Belarus, they said I needed a transit visa, so I was taken off the train, put on a train back to Vilnius (arriving back just after 10pm) and missed the last train and bus to the airport - decided to fly rather than go to Riga for a train now crossing Belarus, or waiting for a Belarus visa. 2 Taiwanese students were taken off the train too, so we all were going the same way. At the bus stop ended up adding to our group with a NY-based Fed and a Belarussian woman, so led by the token Irishman we got a taxi to the airport, where the ticket offices were all closed. So I booked online and landed in Moscow at 7.35am, ran to passport control, then to the aeroexpress (to Belarussky Station) where I picked up some flowers and had a 20minute wait for herself. She was in shock, but happy as she'd slept from my removal until 8am, so I guess it shows where I stand :-)

08/05/2013, 4:58 PM
This is happening!!!

http://0.media.collegehumor.cvcdn.com/31/89/2ac93c9e2ecbecc25dd0372cc2345b50-london-is-doing-it-right-bluths-original-frozen-banana-stand.jpg

Spudulika
09/05/2013, 7:34 AM
Victory Day here in Russia, over who they were victorious is a point of contention, though I just saw, on CNN, a repeat of an interview with William "Maggie" Hague. While he has a head you'd never tire of beating with a hurl, my first thought as Fionnuala Sweeney caught him out on his lies, was that - isn't he the kind of milky milky dude you see hanging around playgrounds with his hands in his pockets. I know this sounds terrible, but he was genuinely a villain from some really frightening movie. Almost a sociopath.

10/05/2013, 10:20 PM
Trying to find a new place to live in Limerick atm, came across this yesterday http://www.adverts.ie/property-for-sale/58-grove-island-student-village-limerick-city/1752203

Apparently the place we're currently renting is for sale, they really could have asked us to clean the place up before they took photos. They've all been taken within the last month whenever they snuck in! :D

11/05/2013, 1:09 AM
1. You can have either a) not enough posters, or b) too many posters. Currently you're somewhere in the middle.

2. That hallway is too clear. Throw some dirty clothes into it.

3. Get a bigger TV.

4. I'm intrigued by the balloons on the roof. Do tell.

Also, if I ever found my current house for sale, I'd do all I could to get the money to buy it. Only in it for a month now and already I don't wish to move anywhere else. Usually I move somewhere and get fed up pretty much straight away. Right now, I'm renting an old 19th century farmhouse about 2 miles outside of Letterkenny town and I couldn't ask for anything more in a house, and an area. Also..it's dirt cheap to get a really good, really big house anywhere in Donegal.

12/05/2013, 1:34 AM
If only living in Donegal and Working in Dublin was a thing I could do.

12/05/2013, 1:35 AM
If you bought a helicopter..

12/05/2013, 2:03 AM
Its not enough posters if you can still see wall.

The hallway was once home to our pet shopping trolley, it was lost one house party thou :(

Yes the TV is sh!te, but its grand I only watch stuff online anyway, the girls can watch Home and Away on whatever the feck they like..

Balloons are the remnants of one of my house mates 21st before Christmas, we turned the entire roof into balloons.. Surprised so many are still hanging in there.

12/05/2013, 2:04 AM
My degree show opens on the 1st of June.. Still struggling to do any work whatsoever.

12/05/2013, 2:46 PM
Its not enough posters if you can still see wall.

The hallway was once home to our pet shopping trolley, it was lost one house party thou :(

Yes the TV is sh!te, but its grand I only watch stuff online anyway, the girls can watch Home and Away on whatever the feck they like..

Balloons are the remnants of one of my house mates 21st before Christmas, we turned the entire roof into balloons.. Surprised so many are still hanging in there.

Well played sir.

12/05/2013, 11:10 PM
If only living in Donegal and Working in Dublin was a thing I could do.
Do you not have a spaceship? They're standard issue here in Tallaght.

14/05/2013, 8:11 AM
Do you not have a spaceship? They're standard issue here in Tallaght.

As a born and bred Ballyer man living in Smithfield I can't acquire a spaceship licence.

14/05/2013, 2:28 PM
As a born and bred Ballyer man living in Smithfield I can't acquire a spaceship licence.

Funny, when growing up, and visiting cousins in Chapelizod, I was always terrified of Ballyfermot.

14/05/2013, 2:48 PM
Funny, when growing up, and visiting cousins in Chapelizod, I was always terrified of Ballyfermot.

Cousins in the 'Lizod? I used to go to the NS there.

Ballyer is grand the lower/posh end where I'm from anyway. The general rule of thumb is anywhere west of the Kylemore Road you should avoid.

14/05/2013, 4:07 PM
I always figured it was everything the other side of the river. Never even went across the bridge, never mind anywhere further!

14/05/2013, 4:12 PM
I always figured it was everything the other side of the river. Never even went across the bridge, never mind anywhere further!

Your cousin didn't happen to live down the laneway (Park Lane) at the park gates?

http://goo.gl/maps/B9qkk

14/05/2013, 4:42 PM
Nope, other side of the liffey. St Laurences grove.

14/05/2013, 7:00 PM
Nope, other side of the liffey. St Laurences grove.

Thought it was a long shot considering the lad that lived down that lane was a left footer. First Donegal person I met. Played football and hurling with him.

14/05/2013, 8:38 PM
Ah well, that's where you'd be way off. The only connections they have with Donegal is me.

It'd be my mothers side of the family..from Roscommon.

So...really, from all over the place.

Eminence Grise
14/05/2013, 9:06 PM
Tarmonbarry roots? (Before Bonnie asks as well!)

14/05/2013, 10:16 PM
Wrong.

I'd have asked if he'd Termonbarry roots?

Once there's no Tulsk in ya then I think we're grand.

15/05/2013, 12:36 AM
Oh deary no. No Tulsk in this lad. Thank feck.

15/05/2013, 9:39 PM
Hilario now has 1 premier league medal, a europa league and champions league medal, a league cup and 4 fa cups, not bad for a lad who has played 20 league games in 7 years.

15/05/2013, 10:09 PM
That's Hilario!

gastric
15/05/2013, 10:36 PM
Jeez Nigel, be careful fraternising with Dubliners they have all sort of diseases and viruses!

16/05/2013, 4:38 PM
Hmmmmm.... separated at birth?

David Brent

http://img.rasset.ie/00075e9f-642.jpg

David Beckham

http://i.telegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/01238/davidbrent_1238285c.jpg

16/05/2013, 4:50 PM
With Beckham retiring only 2 players from Ferguson's "Class of '92" are still playing.
Who are they?

16/05/2013, 4:55 PM
Ryan Giggs obviously. Keith Gillespie?

16/05/2013, 4:59 PM
I'd call that one. Keith Gillespie is there, but he's not really doing anything.

peadar1987
16/05/2013, 6:09 PM
Ben Thornley was part of that FA Youth Cup winning team, and is still apparently playing in the Northern Premier.

16/05/2013, 6:28 PM
I thought you'd all like to know that Ben Thornley's middle name is Lindsay.

17/05/2013, 9:14 AM
Yes. Yes indeed. Well played.

Sooooooo I woke up this morning with a load of stickers and postcards and lanyards and a daft punk mask. It was a good night I assume.

17/05/2013, 10:44 AM
So it seems the new hot girl in the office has a boyfriend. Excellent. Two more lives I can ruin! :)

20/05/2013, 2:46 PM
Kill. Me. Now.

The Fly
20/05/2013, 2:54 PM
Office girl rebuffed your advances then?

20/05/2013, 2:55 PM
Office girl rebuffed your advances then?

Not yet. That disappointment will come soon. Soon I tells ya.

The monotony of this place is driving up the wall.

The Fly
20/05/2013, 3:39 PM
Not yet. That disappointment will come soon. Soon I tells ya.

The monotony of this place is driving up the wall.

Fight Club!

20/05/2013, 3:54 PM
Fight Club!

I was once told I look like Ed Norton. Stutts and Nige can verify that that is bull... but there'no Brad look-a-like here to initiate the mad out of body beatings.