View Full Version : The say anything, what's on your mind thread
i had a heart attack last Thursday. Mental.
01/08/2011, 5:29 PM
Really? Hope you are ok now. x
01/08/2011, 8:41 PM
Wtf? Was wondering why you were so quiet.
01/08/2011, 11:42 PM
yep... was playing soccer and had to come off after 20 mins with chest pains. Watched the rest of the game, drove my friend home, went grocery shopping, came home, dropped the bags on the floor, rolled around the couch in agony, called my fiancee, drove myself to hospital, had an ECG, rushed to a room, moved to cardiac unit, had an angiogram, got myself a stent, recovered.
A freak accident the Doctor said. They have no idea why it happened as my cholestorol/BP were only a bit above normal and i quit smoking a year ago and no family history... its all a bit f*cked up actually. Im taking 6 different pills every day for the next year at least... weird, weird, weird...
The new job will have to wait! ;)
Really? Hope you are ok now. x
thanks MM. :)
02/08/2011, 12:11 AM
Jesus that's mad. Glad you're ok now, though Id imagine you'd like to know why it happened. As long as the doctors didn't instruct you to leave the totty watch threads alone for the sake of your heart then I'll be happy!
02/08/2011, 12:21 AM
yep... was playing soccer and had to come off after 20 mins with chest pains. Watched the rest of the game, drove my friend home, went grocery shopping, came home, dropped the bags on the floor, rolled around the couch in agony, called my fiancee, drove myself to hospital, had an ECG, rushed to a room, moved to cardiac unit, had an angiogram, got myself a stent, recovered.
A freak accident the Doctor said. They have no idea why it happened as my cholestorol/BP were only a bit above normal and i quit smoking a year ago and no family history... its all a bit f*cked up actually. Im taking 6 different pills every day for the next year at least... weird, weird, weird...
Jesus dude. Glad to hear you're okay.
02/08/2011, 2:17 AM
Can't. Fupping. Sleep.
02/08/2011, 4:06 AM
Wow. That's some scary shi. Good news is coz ur healthy and fit u should b fine now. My mum, a skinny, vegetarian, non smoker, non drinker, had similar and got stent and 10 yrs later is fighting fit.
Thinking of you coz I know how scary almost dying can be. X
02/08/2011, 7:58 AM
That's some scary stuff. Good to hear you're OK and making a full recovery.
Possibly best to avoid the Rovers v Copenhagen thread later.
02/08/2011, 8:10 AM
Can't. Fupping. Sleep.
Got to sleep about 620.
Up at 815.
I'm not a happy bunny.
Wolfie
02/08/2011, 1:02 PM
Wearily heading up the stairs to bed the other night, I was confronted with the sight of about 15 frenzied wasps swarming around the landing light bulb.
"Feck", says I. Wishing that someone else had been around to hear my cool articulation of the unusual problem I was presented with.
I think they may have been grenade carrying, Killer-Zombie, Vampire Wasps but I can't be sure about the grenades.
Our landing window had been left open and obviously there was a hive nearby. As we've 3 young kids, I was a little uneasy about the whole Wasp invasion thing.
Anyway, I loaded up on some heavy artillery -namely a T Towel and an aerosol can of Mr Sheen Polish. I had no option but to unleash hell on those buzzin Mo fo's.
Did ye ever see the scraps in "The Matrix". That was a movie version of me (the good guy, with shades) fightin the Wasps (the bad guys, with shades).
10 Minutes later, it was a wasp apocalypse. 14 Wasps strewn around the carpet and the landing full over a noxious smell of polish.
I spared 1 wasp and told him to go and tell the wider Wasp community that this is what will happen to them and their families if they ever go near my landing again.
He said "grand" and flew off to tell them.
Wolfie
02/08/2011, 1:17 PM
i had a heart attack last Thursday.
All the best, SKStu - hope you recovering.
Got to sleep about 620.
Up at 815.
I'm not a happy bunny.
In fact, I hope you're both OK for the future. Both of the above incidents must have been traumatic and indeed potentially life changing. All the best.
02/08/2011, 1:29 PM
Mine was indeed life changing. The delirium that has resulted from the lack of sleep has resulted in a calmed attitude surrounded by the teuwls.
Ack. I was rather hoping that it happened while you were sniffing cocaine off a hookers baps in a luxury hotel suite paid for with money stolen from a Mexican drug lord after his car was totalled by a speeding train causing him to die and his car to collide with yours.
Still. I guess the main think is that you're ok.
Eminence Grise
02/08/2011, 2:01 PM
Scary stuff, SkStu. You just never know what any day will bring. Look after yourself. :doctor:
03/08/2011, 12:28 AM
Don't do that again, the internets needs stu, and not the crappy UCD kind :P
padjoe
03/08/2011, 12:52 AM
[QUOTE=SkStu;1514599]yep... was playing soccer and had to come off after 20 mins with chest pains. Watched the rest of the game, drove my friend home, went grocery shopping, came home, dropped the bags on the floor, rolled around the couch in agony, called my fiancee, drove myself to hospital, had an ECG, rushed to a room, moved to cardiac unit, had an angiogram, got myself a stent, recovered."
Carbon copy of what happened to me in 2005.
Playing soccer for a club in Dublin, in goals. Dived for a ball awkwardly, hopped my chest off the ground. Got up played on. We were being hammered 6-0 in the second half, feeling worse and worse, was subbed. I went home, couldn't move from sofa, the then girlfriend made me go to hospital. Walked to doctors, who then sent me to Beaumount, so walked there. Told I shouldn't be walking around and needed to rest. I still have disrythmia from it, which flares up when i stressed..still hasn't stopped me refereeing.
Was out of college for a few weeks, out of sport for six months. Back for countless check ups and diagnosis and new diagnosis. Was finally given the all clear through a rushed medical check up because i was told to come back from the original appointment for results but i was going to LA so they gave me a rushed analysis then.
Scary thing to be told, then when you try tell people years later, they look at you because they expect heart attacks to be major chest clenching moments.
Get well soon mate..
thanks for the support lads. It means a lot!!
Its funny Padjoe, when all the nurses (hello!) were rushing around me and the Doctors were spraying my mouth with nitroglycerin I still didnt think I was having a heart attack - where were the pains in the left arm? the sense of impending doom? etc etc. Its not like you think it will be.
That's some scary stuff. Good to hear you're OK and making a full recovery.
Possibly best to avoid the Rovers v Copenhagen thread later.
I'd prescribe perhaps not watching the first 41 minutes of the match on the RTÉ player
Wolfie, has the Wasp community got back in touch to make known their feelings on your massacre?
padjoe
03/08/2011, 2:35 AM
Well initially i was being sent home and told to drink some lemsip by one nurse, while another nurse started sticking ecg pads to my chest.
sometimes wonder about the health care in ireland.
One doctor says not to rush around, another tells me i be fine. Even when one doctor asked if any one in my family died of a heart attack i said my grandfather aged 70+ to which the response was he was old, old people die, that's what old people do.
No wonder some people are hypochondriacs and others walk around for weeks with legs falling off but refusing to see a doctor.
Had a medical in New Zealand last week. My heart was jumping mad out of the place, the GP looks at me..yeah that's fine.. so its not much better over here. By the way, I should've been a doctor. $250 for a ten minute medical for a visa application. Ca-Ching..
theworm2345
03/08/2011, 2:56 AM
Anyway, I loaded up on some heavy artillery -namely a T Towel and an aerosol can of Mr Sheen Polish. I had no option but to unleash hell on those buzzin Mo fo's.
Was the tea towel for hitting the wasps or covering your breathing holes?
thanks for the support lads. It means a lot!!
Its funny Padjoe, when all the nurses (hello!) were rushing around me and the Doctors were spraying my mouth with nitroglycerin I still didnt think I was having a heart attack - where were the pains in the left arm? the sense of impending doom? etc etc. Its not like you think it will be.
I hope that wasn't caused by the World Cup Draw...get well soon, my grandfather just had a valve in his heart replaced and its no fun so take care of yourself.
03/08/2011, 10:44 AM
Scary stuff, hope you're feeling better soon.
Wolfie
03/08/2011, 12:13 PM
Wolfie, has the Wasp community got back in touch to make known their feelings on your massacre?
Yes they did. I got up to go to the Jacks the other night and there were about 6 wasps crawling on the outside of the window trying to get in. I'm a marked man as far as the wasp community are concerned.
Apparently they've formed a terrorist organisation named W.A.W.F - the WASPS AGAINST WOLFIE FRONT.
If I'm forced to defend my homestead again, so be it. I've signed a deal with Mr Sheen polish and the local mart have ordered extra T Towels.
Was the tea towel for hitting the wasps or covering your breathing holes?
Neither, my David Connolly loving compadre!!! The T Towel was plan B if the Mr Sheen polish didn't work out. I was going to mesmorise the wasps with a cunning magic trick.
04/08/2011, 7:49 AM
Ugh.:(
05/08/2011, 5:09 PM
Prepare to be whelmed
http://random-friend.deviantart.com/
I'm bored go look at my drawings
05/08/2011, 10:30 PM
.......little perks......
06/08/2011, 7:12 AM
Early dinner, kids to bed, and then out for the night in Shibuya (http://everyday.3yen.com/wp-content/images/shibuya.JPG).
06/08/2011, 9:15 AM
It's a sunny Saturday in London. I'm going to Field Days later to see the Horrors. This is a good day.
Lev Yashin
06/08/2011, 11:04 AM
Preseason friendly tonight...first game since I broke my wrist...more nervous about this than I have been about cup finals.:(
06/08/2011, 4:00 PM
Went to play a match today, new club, first time taking out the gloves in about a year and a half, changed and ready to get onto the pitch..........then a thunderstorm, torrential rain, and the pitch flooded in 15 minutes. Game called off, sickened.
06/08/2011, 11:49 PM
Singing wannabe at karaoke in bundordan with my spice girlies. Great fun especially coz I can't sing. Zig ah zig ah....
07/08/2011, 4:53 AM
well i'm still at work, this is no fun..
07/08/2011, 1:14 PM
swimming in freezing sea is best hangover cure ever. ready to party again now.
theworm2345
07/08/2011, 2:55 PM
Singing wannabe at karaoke in bundordan with my spice girlies. Great fun especially coz I can't sing. Zig ah zig ah....
I'm sorry but that sounds horrific.
07/08/2011, 7:54 PM
Especially the Bundoran part.
07/08/2011, 8:01 PM
Where does she find the time?
07/08/2011, 10:03 PM
Got lost on the way to Dundalk today, Cavan is a hole.
07/08/2011, 11:09 PM
The fireworks to close the summerfest in Bray were quite entertaining tonight. About time I went to see them I suppose, having lived in Bray for practically my whole life thus far.
07/08/2011, 11:56 PM
It was. 4 female mons fans on a rampage. Madness altogether. Luckily we adopted pusedonoms and Dublin accents for the weekend to throw people off the scent somewhat.
08/08/2011, 7:36 PM
Eek, rioting getting closer to Whitechapel. Don't they know there's nothing to loot here but fried chicken shops...?
http://twitter.com/#!/search/whitechapel
08/08/2011, 7:55 PM
Happening in Birmingham now!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-birmingham-14452468
Bray-Z
08/08/2011, 8:26 PM
Happening in Birmingham now!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-birmingham-14452468
They're sending Gazza in soon to sort it all out.
08/08/2011, 10:07 PM
i bet the Kaiser Chiefs are feeling pretty smug right now...
08/08/2011, 10:45 PM
What did Ruby do?
08/08/2011, 10:58 PM
All foot.iers in London and Birmingham, hope you and your friends and families are safe and well. So upsetting watching it all.
09/08/2011, 10:57 AM
Kaiser Chiefs to cover The Hives' "Hate To Say I Told You So"
(shamelessly stolen from my mate's twitter feed)
Wolfie
09/08/2011, 12:14 PM
Rolling Stones were decades ahead of Kaiser Chiefs on this one.
"Summers here and the time is right for fighting in the Street, boy" Street Fighting Man, Beggars Banquet, 1968
09/08/2011, 12:24 PM
The Who (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quadrophenia) basically wrote the script in fairness.
09/08/2011, 12:56 PM
In fairness, widespread fire, riot and looting, the world financial markets teetering on the brink, Cher Lloyd at number 1, truly we live at the end time.
09/08/2011, 1:04 PM
The Great Prophet Zarquon is leaving it a bit late again so.