View Full Version : The say anything, what's on your mind thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 [126] 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158

21/02/2013, 3:23 PM
Scorpions- Pah. I was attacked by a five headed raptor / buffalo combo beast with while cycling home the other day.

Mind you- this did have consequences. But only for the five headed raptor / buffalo combo beast.

21/02/2013, 4:29 PM
Option 4 - buy a car you hobo. ;)

21/02/2013, 4:54 PM
Option 4 - buy a car you hobo. ;)

He has a car don't you know!

http://marciokenobi.files.wordpress.com/2012/01/dog-driving.jpg

horton
22/02/2013, 11:49 AM
Most cities are notoriously cyclist-unfriendly. It really annoys me when you can get fined for cycling on the pavement, but people can leave their wheelie bins, cars, broken glass and scorpions sitting in the cycle lane with zero consequences.
That's my old university library beside where Danny got the ticket, and I lost count the amount of times I got a whack from the handlebar of a passing cyclist on the pavement. Not having a go at you Danny by the way, that stretch of pavement has a very high footfall and the bus lane is normally pretty busy so your stuck eitherway. Take the course but complain to the Council, they were pretty decent in any dealings I had with them.

22/02/2013, 12:53 PM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/285652_10200665361734824_1158554360_n.jpg

DannyInvincible
22/02/2013, 3:01 PM
That's my old university library beside where Danny got the ticket, and I lost count the amount of times I got a whack from the handlebar of a passing cyclist on the pavement. Not having a go at you Danny by the way, that stretch of pavement has a very high footfall and the bus lane is normally pretty busy so your stuck eitherway. Take the course but complain to the Council, they were pretty decent in any dealings I had with them.

The plentiful number of potholes on the roads here as a result of pipe/wire-placing and general decline is also very hard going on the bike. I'll make a list!

Is it the same in most cities? I've only ever cycled round Manchester to notice them.

24/02/2013, 2:53 AM
Longer working week, less pay, less flexi time... eh... what's the catch...

Roll on Canada!!

27/02/2013, 12:52 PM
Soooo...

Can we say we've seen and heard it all now...

The South African hair thieves targeting dreadlocks
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-21498878

peadar1987
27/02/2013, 12:52 PM
Okay, so am I the only one who doesn't find those Bad Lip Reading videos funny? Am I missing something here?!

27/02/2013, 1:35 PM
They're funny once. But not so much after a while.

28/02/2013, 6:32 PM
I wonder what happens when the Word Association thread hits 1,000 pages.

Will foot.ie explode?

28/02/2013, 6:50 PM
Same thing that happens when you google, Google.

28/02/2013, 7:15 PM
Same thing that happens when you google, Google.

Your tricks. They do not work. Or they do, and I feel silly. Either way. Damn you to hell.

28/02/2013, 8:06 PM
Who now for the hatrick?

DannyInvincible
28/02/2013, 10:56 PM
On my recent Fixed Penalty Notice, it looks like I was caught cycling on the pavement as part of this Operation Dice "clamp-down": http://www.gmp.police.uk/live/nhoodv3.nsf/WebsitePagesLite/60F73A5A0586AD6980257B0C003439EC?OpenDocument

In the five years 2008/2012 there has been 10 motorcyclists and pedal cyclists killed and 47 seriously injured as a result of accidents with HGVs and buses on the roads of Greater Manchester. In the same period five of those road deaths and six serious injuries occurred where the driver’s vision was affected by the vehicle’s blind spot.

Campaigners say that cyclists, bikers and HGV drivers should take extra care when sharing the road to ensure that they are visible to each other. Drivers should especially watch out for cyclists when turning left.

Cyclists are warned to give HGVs a wide berth and remember that it is safer to be behind a lorry than at the side of it where a driver may not be able to see you clearly, particularly when attempting to turn.

This increased policing focus on road safety is a part of Operation Dice launched at the beginning of 2012 in response to a shocking increase in road deaths in 2011 when 76 people lost their lives on the roads of Greater Manchester. Figures from 2012 demonstrate that 49 people lost their lives, a decrease of 36 per cent on the previous year.

Under Operation Dice Greater Manchester Police is working with other emergency services and partners to increase public awareness of the ‘fatal four’ factors that feature in most road accidents i.e. drink driving, speeding, drivers using mobile phones and drivers and passengers not wearing seatbelts.

It also tackles drivers putting their own lives and that of their passengers and road users at risk through dangerous driving and flouting road safety laws.

Inspector Paul Rowe from GMP’s Roads Policing Unit said; “Stay safe, stay back and be seen is the most important message we can give to cyclists and bikers. They, by the very nature of their mode of transport are especially vulnerable on the roads and should, along with other road users, take extra care when sharing our roads”.

“Visibility is the key factor in many traffic accidents and cyclists and bikers can increase theirs by good road positioning, ensuring they use front and rear lights and wearing high-vis clothing.”

The event will be the start off a police enforcement campaign in which the police aim to educate and advise cyclists. Any offenders issued with a fixed penalty ticket will have the chance to attend a forthcoming educational meeting involving the joint campaigners in which the penalty ticket will be rescinded.

Karen Delaney, from DriveSafe, said “Cyclists do not have the benefits of safety cages, seatbelts or side impact bars, so when a collision occurs it can result in serious injury or worse for the rider.

“A significant number of collisions are down to road users attitude and behaviour. I would imagine that most people know somebody who rides a cycle and we would ask all road users to look out for cyclists and treat them with respect.”

These educational meetings will take place at Withington Fire station from 6:30pm to 8:30pm on Tuesday 19 February 2013, Thursday 28 February 2013 and Thursday 7 March 2013.

Transport for Greater Manchester continues to offer a free cycling refresher course for those wanting to get back on a bike after sometime away. The scheme is specifically aimed at those who want to sharpen their skills in order to cycle to-and-from work and is provided by an expert instructor at flexible times.

There's no need to be worried about getting back on your bike or trying something new with our free cycle training courses for adults.

Some startling road-death stats, there. And they want to keep me off my paved safe-haven!...

I actually had to get in touch with Inspector Rowe this morn as I wasn't able to make the "educational meeting" earlier this evening due to work commitments. I hadn't realised it was just the Thursday nights they were being run and not each evening in between as well. The notice was very poorly worded but luckily I called to clarify any ambiguity. He was pretty nice about finding some sort of compromise for me and arranged that I attend my local police station in Longsight - much handier than heading down to Withington - on Monday evening where an officer will deal with me personally - law dee daw - and waive the £30 penalty.

02/03/2013, 5:43 PM
So, I was walking down that canal again with my girlfriend and some of our friends (all female) last Thursday as we made our way to an exhibition that was opening which we both have work in. As often happens we were greeted with the sight of 3 young fellas in hoodies throwing stones at passers by, the girls freaked out a bit, but, we decided it'd be grand, just walk past and ignore them. So as we drew closer, said young fellows all looked at us and started searching around a flower bed they had conquered for stones etc. to hurl at us. The girls walked ahead a little faster and covered their heads as you do, I told them it'd be fine don't worry they're just kids ignore them and you wont get hurt. Naturally I stood between the lady's and the lads just in case something did happen I'd be the 1st point of contact and chances are the girls would be grand.

So, we passed, and as expected the little ****ebags threw a few stones our way, I being a manly man and all, turned around and stared at the fattest of the trio sitting on his bike, probably the ringleader, he looked right at me with absolutely no fear, ''the f*uck are you looking at kid?'' he says to me, I ignore it and keep walking, then I hear a thunderous whack of a stone cracking off a metal bar right above my head, instead of ignoring it and walking on or rushing the girls away, I just told them to keep going it'd be grand, I on the other hand turned to face the three now about 10-15 feet behind us and shouted ''you throw like a b*tch'', naturally that got their attention, and the three stood to attention and started hurling abuse and edged closer to me..

Arms outstretched, I said it again and louder, they didn't like that, various threats were aimed my way, but I decided, you know what screw this, its not Ok to back down and let people think its Ok to act like that, especially throwing stones at girls.. Now I'm not a big guy, I'm about 6 foot and 11 stone but I figured, if they try anything, these lads are 15 yrs old at the most, I should be grand. One of the kids jumped down off the flowerbed armed with a fist sized stone, I thought to myself, right, if I turn away now that's going right at the back of my head and a happy ending will not be had. So, without even thinking, as I seen him attempt to run and fire the stone at me, I sprinted straight for him, (I may not be huge but I am fast) the fear in his eyes was fantastic, he dropped the stone and about face and tried to run away. Meanwhile his fat friend cycled right for me, a little braver than his friend, I kicked his bike full force and panned him out on the ground mid stride as I made after the stone throwing chap.

When I decided I had scared him enough, I let him keep running and turned around, the fat kid was getting up off the ground and actually had the balls to raise his fists at me, Now whatever about scaring them a little,, I didn't want to go as far as actually physically hitting him, and the girls were stood watching pretty scared at this stage, I just walked up to him and laughed in his face, you could see he was terrified but wanted to act like a big man in front of the other two.

We left it at that, I walked away and made sure to point out to him that hes a little pussy and shouldn't throw thing at people, especially not bikes :D The trio then left the canal too, and we later heard that they'd been hanging around there for up on two hours giving people abuse, so at least they gave it up for the night after their encounter with me. Did I do the right thing in getting involved with it? I'm not really the type to get into fights, but I also hate little scumbags like that, so it was a little out of character for me to challenge them, but I'm just sick of how some people think that this is acceptable behaviour, and equally how everyone is generally terrified to intervene.

02/03/2013, 6:36 PM
That's an absolutely fantastic story man. In my eyes, you did the right thing. Most people wouldn't have the balls. You're a hero.

Extra brownie points too I'd imagine ;)

DannyInvincible
02/03/2013, 6:36 PM
Acornvigilante, more like! You were actually relatively considerate in your reaction. I wouldn't feel guilty or anything about it. You were provoked, riled up and defended a group of ladies from a trio of menaces with a response that demonstrated a degree of diligence. (I hope they were bloody impressed!) I don't think I'd have the balls to do something like that myself, mind.

Have you any photos of your work, by the way? Is it paintings you do or what?

DannyInvincible
02/03/2013, 6:54 PM
Not having a go at you either, but just an interesting observation; people will often attempt to justify or rationalise acts they have performed and about which they may feel morally uncertain by appealing to the somewhat disingenuous "it was out-of-character" defence, lest others might think less of them. I'm not saying you're a nasty character or anything of the sort, but, obviously, there was some trait within your character that enabled or caused you to respond in the manner you did. And that's nothing to be ashamed of. Does anyone live a life of moral purity? You dealt with the situation as you saw fit, with due force and constraint, and I think that's commendable along with the bravery you demonstrated, given the circumstances. Where did this happen, by the way? Limerick?

02/03/2013, 7:28 PM
Never been more annoyed at being excited in my life.

Expecting my first kid with the girlfriend in August. Which is awesome. Terrifying, but exciting.

Tame Impala are playing two weeks before she's due, Roger Waters two weeks after she's due. And it's right in the middle of festival season. Not to mind Harps are playing Cobh away on the day she's due.

Priorities eh?

Spudulika
02/03/2013, 7:39 PM
Nigel, the best thing in the world is seeing your child being born, beats anything else, anything at all. Don't focus on the event, just focus on herself, make sure she gets as much sleep now as possible (you too) as it'll be much needed come September!

02/03/2013, 8:24 PM
Never been more annoyed at being excited in my life.

Expecting my first kid with the girlfriend in August. Which is awesome. Terrifying, but exciting.

Tame Impala are playing two weeks before she's due, Roger Waters two weeks after she's due. And it's right in the middle of festival season. Not to mind Harps are playing Cobh away on the day she's due.

Priorities eh?

So you got Tame Impala tickets then? Excellent.

02/03/2013, 9:07 PM
Acornvilla, you legend.

02/03/2013, 9:30 PM
Gays.

02/03/2013, 9:34 PM
Nigel, the best thing in the world is seeing your child being born, beats anything else, anything at all. Don't focus on the event, just focus on herself, make sure she gets as much sleep now as possible (you too) as it'll be much needed come September!

Appreciate the advice Spud. Of course, there's very little else that matters now..

...but it's the WALL. ;)

In all seriousness, there's very little else on my mind for more than half an hour before again realising I'm going to be a father.

02/03/2013, 9:36 PM
Gays.

Why are they on your mind Dunny?

02/03/2013, 9:51 PM
Why are they on your mind Dunny?

Happy people? Just cnuts.

03/03/2013, 1:16 AM
Appreciate the advice Spud. Of course, there's very little else that matters now..

...but it's the WALL. ;)

In all seriousness, there's very little else on my mind for more than half an hour before again realising I'm going to be a father.

More Hegartys!

Eek!

03/03/2013, 5:16 AM
March Madness is in full swing here. Here's hoping its better than Freaky February, the only thing that can describe the Ireland forum over the last month! :)

03/03/2013, 8:23 AM
Arguments in favour of Acornvilla being Jesus:

Exhibit 1: He walks on water:

So, I was walking down that canal again

Exhibit 2: He fearlessly stands up for the downtrodden. Jesus by wrecking a temple, Acornvilla by kicking a fat guy off a bike.

Exhibit 3: Adopts the same stance:

Arms outstretched, I said it again and louder

Now if one of those girls was a hooker that pretty much seals the deal.

So Acornvilla- the good news is that people will still be talking about you in 2000 years. The bad news is that they'll ignore your actual message and you're not going to like what happens to you when you're 33.

Eminence Grise
03/03/2013, 9:58 AM
Mr A, I'm converted! Sign me up to the Church of Acornvilla!

03/03/2013, 11:01 AM
Yeah this happened about 10 minutes walk from Limerick City centre Danny, its a dodgy spot, but the council made a bit of an effort to clean it up of late, installed more lights, cleaned up the shrubbery and rubbish, as well as most importantly, bricked up the windows and doors of a very popular crack den, so antisocial behaviour has been a bit less common of late, but in the 4 or so years that I've lived here, I've lost count of the amount of times I've heard of students being robbed and especially the female ones being sexually assaulted. (One of my friends knocked out a junky that put a knife to his face). I pretty much as a rule don't let my girlfriend walk through there alone. The more I think about it the more glad I am that I did it anyway and probably would again if in the same situation, Its nice to know I'm not a totally wuss when it comes down to a bit of danger, It'll be interesting to see if they show up again during the week..

As for the rest of ye, I have a low low subscription fee to my religion of just €50,000 euro a month, I promise you an afterlifetime supply of bitches and ho's, swimming lessons as well as protection from the devil, if he is: a) a teenager b) fat and c) on a bike.

Art wise I'm a few months away from finishing my 4th year in LSAD, some of you will remember giving me constant abuse for spelling it collage a few years ago :D Studing printmaking, I print (etching,drypoint,woodblock mostly) as well as draw pencil pens, charcoal, all that good stuff. I don't have a particularly up to date online portfolio at the minute but I can link my Deviant account which is about 1/2 years out of date if you wana see my older stuff Dan. A behance is under construction!

03/03/2013, 11:07 AM
In other news Eeamon Zayed now follows me on twitter, this is about as close to fame as I'll ever get.

DannyInvincible
03/03/2013, 11:34 AM
Art wise I'm a few months away from finishing my 4th year in LSAD, some of you will remember giving me constant abuse for spelling it collage a few years ago :D Studing printmaking, I print (etching,drypoint,woodblock mostly) as well as draw pencil pens, charcoal, all that good stuff. I don't have a particularly up to date online portfolio at the minute but I can link my Deviant account which is about 1/2 years out of date if you wana see my older stuff Dan. A behance is under construction!

Nice one; good luck with it. Sure, send me a link (via PM if you wish).

In other news Eeamon Zayed now follows me on twitter, this is about as close to fame as I'll ever get.

Word of your heroics is clearly spreading round the globe fast! :p

03/03/2013, 11:55 AM
Yeah this happened about 10 minutes walk from Limerick City centre Danny, its a dodgy spot, but the council made a bit of an effort to clean it up of late, installed more lights, cleaned up the shrubbery and rubbish, as well as most importantly, bricked up the windows and doors of a very popular crack den, so antisocial behaviour has been a bit less common of late, but in the 4 or so years that I've lived here, I've lost count of the amount of times I've heard of students being robbed and especially the female ones being sexually assaulted. (One of my friends knocked out a junky that put a knife to his face). I pretty much as a rule don't let my girlfriend walk through there alone.
Canal alongside Clare street, across from the Lock Mills apartments?

03/03/2013, 12:06 PM
Canal alongside Clare street, across from the Lock Mills apartments?

Yeah, think that's the one, connecting over from Clare street to grove island and Corbally, the old den, and this particular episode took place just at the back of Emo at the little bridge (has it been renamed to Great Gas or something?).

Nice one; good luck with it. Sure, send me a link (via PM if you wish). [SIZE=2]
Here is the link, the photos of the pics aren't exactly very good but I was new to this whole internet presentation of work shizzle but I like a few of the things up there. http://random-friend.deviantart.com/gallery/ My works very much sports related at the moment so pretty different to what you see up there, I've been dabbling with photography too, more for research purposes than anything, as its handy to have your own reference material.

03/03/2013, 3:28 PM
I think possibly the best thing to come out of Acornvillas heroics will be the end of DannyInvincibles bike-gate borefest updates... :D ;)

03/03/2013, 4:23 PM
More Hegartys!

Eek!

Time to take over the world.

Eminence Grise
03/03/2013, 6:26 PM
As for the rest of ye, I have a low low subscription fee to my religion of just €50,000 euro a month, I promise you an afterlifetime supply of bitches and ho's, swimming lessons as well as protection from the devil, if he is: a) a teenager b) fat and c) on a bike.

An afterlife of dogbreeding and arable farming? I suppose I could take them up as hobbies now and get some experience before I go...

03/03/2013, 7:26 PM
Time to take over the world.

I want in on the ground-floor. My own world taking over exploits aren't really going anywhere.

04/03/2013, 4:40 PM
the Off The Ball team has resigned from Newstalk. I'll be wearing a black armband later while driving home.

04/03/2013, 4:46 PM
the Off The Ball team has resigned from Newstalk. I'll be wearing a black armband later while driving home.

What???

04/03/2013, 4:48 PM

Trending on Twitter. Holy christ.

Eminence Grise
04/03/2013, 4:54 PM
Rumoured to be on their way to a rival radio station. What odds it turning out to be Today FM?:rolleyes: Wouldn't even have to leave the building!

Thought the show had gone very stale in the last few years; too much self-referencing smart-assery, too many of the same old guests.

04/03/2013, 5:20 PM
Rumoured to be on their way to a rival radio station. What odds it turning out to be Today FM?:rolleyes: Wouldn't even have to leave the building!

Thought the show had gone very stale in the last few years; too much self-referencing smart-assery, too many of the same old guests.

It would seem odd that they would head to Today FM if it was announced this way.

I went through a phase of that however, there's still nothing to rival it between 7-10. Le sigh.

04/03/2013, 8:31 PM
Aren't today FM owned by the same guy as newstalk? Can't see them going there if that's the case
Ger Gilroy in the hotseat tonight, but I can't listen in.

04/03/2013, 8:37 PM
Yeah. Both owned by CommuniCorp/Denis O'Brien.

No way they're heading to Today FM.

Gilroy said at the start of tonight's show it was to do with the lads wanting to start the show at 6pm.

I can see them at 2FM yet in a revamped rte schedule.

04/03/2013, 8:44 PM
Me & Nigel are facebook official <3

04/03/2013, 8:48 PM
Me & Nigel are facebook official <3

He got you too?

He's gotten French Fancies out of me. god knows what he'll ask of you.

Eminence Grise
04/03/2013, 8:54 PM
Aren't today FM owned by the same guy as newstalk? Can't see them going there if that's the case
Ger Gilroy in the hotseat tonight, but I can't listen in.

O'Brien shifted Tom Dunne from Today FM to Newstalk to boost its midmorning ratings, and I think there has been occasional movement of production and admin staff. Both stations are based in the same building as well. But it does seem since the news broke that it's a real split, not a fabricated one. It it hasn't been acromonious, I wouldn't be surprised to see O'Brien try to keep them rather than lose them to a rival. You know, the same way Mancini stockpiles strikers!