View Full Version : The say anything, what's on your mind thread
11/08/2010, 6:53 AM
The lovely Grainne Seoige presenting across the water on GMTV. She's looking well and she's actually smiling!
danthesaint
11/08/2010, 9:05 AM
The lovely Grainne Seoige presenting across the water on GMTV. She's looking well and she's actually smiling!
ah jaysus i hate her, nice lookin alrite, but her accent is so annoying,
"dort" and "gordaí" when reading the news, so annoying.
would also shag the other Seoige senseless, Síle i think her name is :p
11/08/2010, 1:07 PM
Watch this video from the land of the free and the home of the brave. (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-10922428)
Right. I am returned.
Would somebody be so kind as to post a synopsis of what happened on here in the past ten days?
poster
12/08/2010, 11:08 AM
Right. I am returned.
Would somebody be so kind as to post a synopsis of what happened on here in the past ten days?
It's been pretty bitter. It's not been nice.
Ciaran W
12/08/2010, 2:58 PM
In work today from 8 until 4 and in that time 98fm have played hey soul sister 4 times, california girls 3 times, Keane's new song 3 times and te'f*cking'amo 3 times along with about 5 or 6 other chart songs that have been played twice, its disgraceful i hate all them songs now !
12/08/2010, 4:44 PM
Right. I am returned.
I think Bluebeard did that last year.
Ciaran W
12/08/2010, 5:07 PM
Mr A, eh nothing really special just the usual discussions about the weekends matches and the Ireland-Argentina game. .Ohh and Neale Fenn retired
12/08/2010, 5:16 PM
Right. I am returned.
Would somebody be so kind as to post a synopsis of what happened on here in the past ten days?We discovered that while it may be true that no one likes Rovers, they do actually care.
12/08/2010, 10:54 PM
I think this might have been up here before, but it's well worth taking 5 minutes to read it and watch the video, whether you've seen it before or not.
http://www.cjcphoto.com/can/
EDIT: Video in the link not working, try this one:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2GphmdhLMGE&feature=related
13/08/2010, 12:21 PM
I'm adding the Slovakian FA to my list of enemies.
13/08/2010, 12:33 PM
I think Bluebeard did that last year.
Where is Bluebeard anyway? Have noticed a severe shortage of posts taking more than a minute to read. (Excluding dcfcsteve on a hobbyhorse, of course)
13/08/2010, 1:04 PM
Where is Bluebeard anyway? Have noticed a severe shortage of posts taking more than a minute to read. (Excluding dcfcsteve on a hobbyhorse, of course)
I was thinking that the other day (the Bluebeard part). A quick look at his profile confirms he hasn't posted since April 23rd. Has he discovered something more important that Foot.ie? Maybe he's out talking to real people (eeww).
Hope he's ok anyway.
13/08/2010, 2:02 PM
I believe he was heading off to the us of a. Not sure they have internet there yet.
I almost crashed my car earlier coz I saw a cork city fan in Monaghan. Got chatting to him briefly.
I was thinking that the other day (the Bluebeard part). A quick look at his profile confirms he hasn't posted since April 23rd. Has he discovered something more important that Foot.ie? Maybe he's out talking to real people (eeww).
Hope he's ok anyway.
No doubt he'll be on himself to verify, I'm sure he keeps an eye on here still, but I can put your mind at rest anway.
He's grand, fear of him! Living the life in the States with his significant other, though still finding time to contribute greatly to our match programme with his "Every Game An Away Game" column every other issue. He's pencilled in for an article for the next Derry game as it happens, and there's an early season one up online (http://www.waterford-united.ie/wexford-mar-2010-an-inconvenient-truth/), with more to be posted up over the next days.
14/08/2010, 5:07 PM
Met the great man for a few pints in London a few months ago. He's living in America now...
Edit: Stann in there before me confirming it!
atfconline
14/08/2010, 9:28 PM
Edit: Stann in there before me confirming it!
Sneaking in a mere 27 hours before you!
14/08/2010, 10:37 PM
And what about my post pointing out he had moved to us of a before that. Sure, ignore me, at your peril. Mwhahaha
15/08/2010, 12:13 AM
before last night i worked 38 of the previous 48 hours - worth it in the end...
15/08/2010, 12:19 AM
Kola kube shoots make android phone screens sticky. You have been warned people.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nd4j1Ms1VYE
Stuck in me head because of that ad with the cow running along the beach!
Ciaran W
16/08/2010, 6:22 PM
The New lottery add with ''pocket full of rainbows'' is a brilliant add :D
Wolfie
17/08/2010, 1:06 PM
"Breakfast is announced. Mr. Pickwick leads the old lady (who has been very eloquent on the subject of Lady Tollimglower) to the top of a long table; Wardle takes the bottom; the friends arrange themselves on either side; Sam takes his station behind his master’s chair; the laughter and talking cease; Mr. Pickwick, having said grace, pauses for an instant and looks round him. As he does so, the tears roll down his cheeks, in the fullness of his joy.
Let us leave our old friend in one of those moments of unmixed happiness, of which, if we seek them, there are ever some, to cheer our transitory existence here. There are dark shadows on the earth, but its lights are stronger in the contrast. Some men, like bats or owls, have better eyes for the darkness than for the light. We, who have no such optical powers, are better pleased to take our last parting look at the visionary companions of many solitary hours, when the brief sunshine of the world is blazing full upon them."
Very good, Osarusan. I think these choice excerpts will be a pleasant recurring feature to raise the tone.
The above is, of course, culled from "Jordan - My Life", n'est pas????
17/08/2010, 4:45 PM
feel sick. bleuh. cant handle the pressure of such a "big" night. yikes.
17/08/2010, 8:23 PM
"Have I told you my theory of life, by the way? Life is like invading Russia. A blitz start, massed shakos, plumes dancing like a flustered henhouse; a period of svelte progress recorded in ebullient dispatches as the enemy falls back; then the beginning of a long, morale-sapping trudge with rations getting shorter and the first snowflakes upon your face. The enemy burns Moscow and you yield to General January, whose fingernails are very icicles. Bitter retreat. Harrying Cossacks. Eventually you fall beneath a boy-gunner’s grapeshot while crossing some Polish river not even marked on your general’s map. "
Brilliant observation like that can only be from John Barnes, The Autobiography.
http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/41RN53Z91TL._SL500_SS75_.jpg
And who could forget "...after 90 minutes of sheer hell, you're going to get thirsty..."
Oh, and while I like the new sig TCM, I must just ahem... (http://www.amazon.co.uk/History-Parish-Blackfriars-Farringdon-London/dp/B003MPA0LE/ref=sr_1_11?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1282078641&sr=1-11)
17/08/2010, 9:06 PM
"Have I told you my theory of life, by the way? Life is like invading Russia. A blitz start, massed shakos, plumes dancing like a flustered henhouse; a period of svelte progress recorded in ebullient dispatches as the enemy falls back; then the beginning of a long, morale-sapping trudge with rations getting shorter and the first snowflakes upon your face. The enemy burns Moscow and you yield to General January, whose fingernails are very icicles. Bitter retreat. Harrying Cossacks. Eventually you fall beneath a boy-gunner’s grapeshot while crossing some Polish river not even marked on your general’s map. "
Is this correct? (no idea where the quote comes from)
17/08/2010, 9:53 PM
Oh, and while I like the new sig TCM, I must just ahem... (http://www.amazon.co.uk/History-Parish-Blackfriars-Farringdon-London/dp/B003MPA0LE/ref=sr_1_11?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1282078641&sr=1-11)
Very clever saintly one!
Is this correct? (no idea where the quote comes from)
It's from Julian Barnes' Talking It Over. I've never read it (although I have just finished his excellent Arthur and George), but it was quoted in The Guardian (http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/2010/aug/17/fa-english-coach) today and a search for the full quote turned up the above so I can only assume it's the correct one. It's a brilliant quote though, especially the last line.
18/08/2010, 3:19 AM
will probably feel sicker tomorrow than I did in the lead up to the game tonight. oops.
Ciaran W
18/08/2010, 9:45 AM
Weather is lovely
Ciaran W
19/08/2010, 10:19 AM
Payday ;)
19/08/2010, 5:26 PM
Opening night of Oliver! So nervous for Jake! Break a leg son!
22/08/2010, 12:24 AM
Had a cheeseburger and chips with a bottle of Miller in Eddie Rockets today, delish.
Havent had it in years.
Had a cheeseburger and chips with a bottle of Miller in Eddie Rockets today, delish.
Havent had it in years.
Aye, and you won't have it for another few years until you've paid off the mortgage you took out to pay for it!
22/08/2010, 12:43 AM
Aye, and you won't have it for another few years until you've paid off the mortgage you took out to pay for it!
Ah it was actually cheaper than I anticipated!
22/08/2010, 3:42 AM
sometimes i get the feeling kieran burke is stalking me
22/08/2010, 10:33 AM
Havent had it in years.
Their burgers have gone downhill recently in the last few years, I could swear they were bigger in 2005.
Everything was bigger in 2005.
Ciaran W
22/08/2010, 6:38 PM
Like Waterford united ? :)
22/08/2010, 7:22 PM
Havent had it in years.
Was in Eddie Rockets in Drogheda last night with my siblings and it wasnt that expensive and they have root beer. God I miss root beer!
23/08/2010, 4:56 PM
Their burgers have gone downhill recently in the last few years, I could swear they were bigger in 2005.
Nah, I'll be you were just smaller.
just having a chat with a few colleagues at work about a BBQ we had at a colleagues house at the weekend and came out with this one...
"well, at least you werent like Al, telling me that hes coming and then pulling out at the last minute..."
cue a whole load of abuse!! :o :o :o
Lev Yashin
23/08/2010, 6:07 PM
My girlfriend told me Saturday night that untill recently she thought Laptops were called Labtops....why? because scientists always have em!... :eek:
23/08/2010, 6:22 PM
' bbubutbut sststistilstillstill ssesetset mmeme bbabacbackback 130 eeoeeueureuroeuro.
23/08/2010, 6:39 PM
I wish. Don't know what happened there! What I was trying to say was I bought 4 school books today and it cost me 130 euro. Madness.
Ciaran W
24/08/2010, 9:46 AM
Pot noodles :)
Keen2win
24/08/2010, 3:41 PM
I passed the driving test! :)
Was in Eddie Rockets in Drogheda last night with my siblings and it wasnt that expensive and they have root beer. God I miss root beer!
Wish they would branch to Dundalk!
The burgers were bigger I think TCM but it still filled me!