View Full Version : The say anything, what's on your mind thread
patrickccfc
20/12/2012, 8:54 PM
I feel like watching 2012 tonight.. seems appropriate
21/12/2012, 2:44 AM
Thought I'd get especially drunk tonight seeing as I'm supposed to be dead...but nothing has happened yet. Slightly confused all of a sudden, I'm not looking forward to this hangover tomorrow. Nor is the Harps chairman, who was also quite drunk tonight when I met him out in Letterkenny.
21/12/2012, 9:19 AM
I'm surprisingly bright eyed aqnd bushy tailed this morning despite all of the whiskey.
YUSS!
21/12/2012, 10:28 AM
I'm surprisingly not too bad this morning. Looking back on that previous statement, I was expecting a lot worse at 4am. 6 pints of water fixed me up good though.
21/12/2012, 10:59 AM
I really need to start doing that I really do!
22/12/2012, 1:13 PM
Holy crap!
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2388317458.png
22/12/2012, 2:08 PM
How dare you.
Spudulika
23/12/2012, 9:36 AM
Big thanks for the messages (and couple of mails) regarding my Dad. This day 3 weeks ago he was officially finished, I got home to be told that it'd be a miracle if he even opened his eyes, or moved, or had sufficient brain function to justify keeping the machines on. Until today there is still no known cause for his body to completely shut down and heart to stop, they're still trying to figure it out. Anyway, I had to return to the ice age to work, though he has improved to a point where he is off the ventilator, his organs functioning grand, smiling, nodding and recognising people (and not paralysed), and yesterday moved out of ICU. Last night I got to speak with him and heard him try to speak back (probably to tell me that he reckons Stephen Kenny is good for Dundalk or that Louth haven't a hope for Leinster). After a week of horribly cold weather (down to -30), 15 hour work days and a 3 year old with high temps, all paled to knowing that maybe, just maybe, I'll get to go to watch a match with him again. I know it sounds dumb, and I've always been aware of a reality that when I'm 80 (if she lets me live that long) what would I give for just one more conversation with my parents.
Anyway, just to say thanks for the nice messages, also for the joke thread which increased in madness for Christmas :-)
23/12/2012, 11:24 AM
Great to hear Spud. Delighted for you. It's almost like a Christmas present in itself. Hope he keeps on improving into the new year.
Spudulika
24/12/2012, 5:50 PM
Thanks Nigel, last night he spoke his first words - I was half expecting them to be about sports, but it was "Howya" - in a very, very hoarse whisper. Onwards and upwards :-)
On a wildly different topic, on Friday night Russian tv went a bit ott on the old end of the world thing. We had (amongst other movies) 2012, Armageddon and that other one with the rock hitting earth! Also we had special documentaries on Nostradamus and 6 hours of various experts talking about cults etc. Wasn't half as much fun as the slagging Putin got at this press conference!
24/12/2012, 6:23 PM
Big thanks for the messages (and couple of mails) regarding my Dad. This day 3 weeks ago he was officially finished, I got home to be told that it'd be a miracle if he even opened his eyes, or moved, or had sufficient brain function to justify keeping the machines on. Until today there is still no known cause for his body to completely shut down and heart to stop, they're still trying to figure it out. Anyway, I had to return to the ice age to work, though he has improved to a point where he is off the ventilator, his organs functioning grand, smiling, nodding and recognising people (and not paralysed), and yesterday moved out of ICU. Last night I got to speak with him and heard him try to speak back (probably to tell me that he reckons Stephen Kenny is good for Dundalk or that Louth haven't a hope for Leinster). After a week of horribly cold weather (down to -30), 15 hour work days and a 3 year old with high temps, all paled to knowing that maybe, just maybe, I'll get to go to watch a match with him again. I know it sounds dumb, and I've always been aware of a reality that when I'm 80 (if she lets me live that long) what would I give for just one more conversation with my parents.
Anyway, just to say thanks for the nice messages, also for the joke thread which increased in madness for Christmas :-)
Only seeing this now!
Great news of a Christmas Eve. Happy Christmas to you and yours!
Dún Dealgan abú! Except when ye are in a six-pointer with us!
24/12/2012, 9:51 PM
Late 2008 I started a band. July 2009 before we played our first gig in front of 600 people in Letterkenny.
Won competitions, played with some great names, some great bands and artists.
I got to release my first ever CD last summer to about 150 people in a venue in town which was one of my favourite nights ever.
4 years passed, 3 members have come and gone, and now, at Christmas 2012, it's finally time to say, TeddyBallet are no more.
We're set to play our last 2 gigs under the name TeddyBallet next weekend in Ballybofey and in Derry.
But I've never been looking forward to a year in music as much as I am 2013. New CD, new band name, new direction, and a lot to look forward to. It's exciting times.
Happy Christmas all!
25/12/2012, 1:18 AM
Happy Christmas to all who frequent this den!
Spudulika
25/12/2012, 6:49 AM
Late 2008 I started a band. July 2009 before we played our first gig in front of 600 people in Letterkenny.
Won competitions, played with some great names, some great bands and artists.
I got to release my first ever CD last summer to about 150 people in a venue in town which was one of my favourite nights ever.
4 years passed, 3 members have come and gone, and now, at Christmas 2012, it's finally time to say, TeddyBallet are no more.
We're set to play our last 2 gigs under the name TeddyBallet next weekend in Ballybofey and in Derry.
But I've never been looking forward to a year in music as much as I am 2013. New CD, new band name, new direction, and a lot to look forward to. It's exciting times.
Happy Christmas all!
Sorry to hear the TeddyBallet are gone, but long live the new Kings of Donegal! It's the best thing in the world to have craic entertaining, long may you guys reign!
Thanks BonnieShels and many Happy Returns! I've been awake since 7am this morning being forcefed chocolate by a 3 year old.
27/12/2012, 11:59 PM
And back to normal...
My housemate's sister is hot. I should... shouldn't I?
28/12/2012, 12:49 AM
And back to normal...
My housemate's sister is hot. I should... shouldn't I?
Definitely. What could possibly go wrong?
28/12/2012, 12:54 AM
Well.. with the amount of 3.50 pints I've taken on board clearly nothing. :-)
28/12/2012, 1:43 AM
Well.. with the amount of 3.50 pints I've taken on board clearly nothing. :-)
Pfft, 3.50 pints. You say that as if it's cheap. Possibly one of my biggest hates about Dublin is it's price of drink.
I should... shouldn't I?
stop staring at her? Yes, yes you should.
28/12/2012, 3:50 AM
Pfft, 3.50 pints. You say that as if it's cheap. Possibly one of my biggest hates about Dublin is it's price of drink.
You can get cheaper. But you can always drink at home too. The world's your oyster Nigel. As is Derry. :-)
28/12/2012, 4:20 AM
You can get cheaper. But you can always drink at home too. The world's your oyster Nigel. As is Derry. :-)
Yeah, I must say, I almost prefer drinking in Letterkenny than in Derry. After exchange rates, it's pretty much the same price, and a far better pint of Guinness.
Although, there's literally only one pub in the whole of Letterkenny that does Hoegaarden on tap, and it's a balls of a place. One of those 'sports superpubs'. Derry has a few places with it on tap. I have a gig in Derry on Saturday night, so it'll be nice to use up all my money on a few nice pints of foreign beer for once.
28/12/2012, 4:23 AM
On another note, Windows XP startup theme..how I missed you so.
Had to go back to XP to get some more recording done. It's a pity that I can't be arsed updating my recording software and just have to re-boot my computer when I have recording to do.
It's why I'm still awake at 5.23am.
28/12/2012, 3:47 PM
Yeah, I must say, I almost prefer drinking in Letterkenny than in Derry. After exchange rates, it's pretty much the same price, and a far better pint of Guinness.
Although, there's literally only one pub in the whole of Letterkenny that does Hoegaarden on tap, and it's a balls of a place. One of those 'sports superpubs'. Derry has a few places with it on tap. I have a gig in Derry on Saturday night, so it'll be nice to use up all my money on a few nice pints of foreign beer for once.
Ah Hoegaarden. I remember the days that Solas on Wexford St and the Front Lounge/Back Lounge on Parliament St/Exchange St were the only places that sold it. And then I remember that fateful night in 2005 when I drank waaaay to much of it topped up by Mojitos and had a rather violent Saturday morning as a result.
Haven't had either since. I still miss it.
Though a hot Brazilian bought me Caipirinhas last night so I reckon I could come back around to Mojitos quick enough.
Spudulika
28/12/2012, 7:27 PM
Ah Hoegaarden. I remember the days that Solas on Wexford St and the Front Lounge/Back Lounge on Parliament St/Exchange St were the only places that sold it. And then I remember that fateful night in 2005 when I drank waaaay to much of it topped up by Mojitos and had a rather violent Saturday morning as a result.
Haven't had either since. I still miss it.
Though a hot Brazilian bought me Caipirinhas last night so I reckon I could come back around to Mojitos quick enough.
Please elaborate, I had a very, very interesting conversation with an oil exec who was working with the big Brazilian oil company and had a "surprise" from a hot Brazilian. Just asking is all!
28/12/2012, 9:48 PM
Please elaborate, I had a very, very interesting conversation with an oil exec who was working with the big Brazilian oil company and had a "surprise" from a hot Brazilian. Just asking is all!
No no. She's half-Brazilian, half-French all woman.
29/12/2012, 2:59 PM
No no. She's half-Brazilian, half-French all woman.
That's what she tells you anyway. ;)
30/12/2012, 2:17 PM
one would like to elaborate. but this isn't boards.
Spudulika
30/12/2012, 4:32 PM
Hmm, gets curiouser and curiouser. COuld be shaven below but with hairy pits and a tache to rival Wee Willy from Limerick's!
31/12/2012, 12:18 PM
Hmm, gets curiouser and curiouser. COuld be shaven below but with hairy pits and a tache to rival Wee Willy from Limerick's!
31/12/2012, 10:52 PM
Happy New Year to all the foot.ie fiends! Hope 2013 is full of health, wealth and happiness and littered with infractions! :)
31/12/2012, 11:11 PM
Hello 2013. That is all.
02/01/2013, 9:12 AM
Well yesterday was an interesting start to the year.
Slept til 5pm.
Discovered that I took someones glasses in the NYE Revelry.
That I left my bank card in the bar.
That we manged to polish off about 750ml of a litre bottle of rum at 4am.
That my friend got more hunky dorys onto my counter top than into her gob.
That someone somehow broke a wooden spoon in my kitchen.
That it was a savage night out.
NYIAOW!
02/01/2013, 5:57 PM
Almost set, few little pieces to add, and to connect the mixing desk, and we're all set to start recording the new EP. I love when I get shiny new pieces of equipment.
https://fbcdn-sphotos-g-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/551038_535460503138815_621346405_n.jpg
02/01/2013, 9:09 PM
And yet all i can see is an Apple sticker on Dell equipment. :P
02/01/2013, 9:58 PM
And yet all i can see is an Apple sticker on Dell equipment. :P
That's been there for about 2 years now, and to this day, I have no idea how it got there.
02/01/2013, 10:33 PM
Anybody know where I could find someone who is selling LOI match day programmes from down through the years, especially ones against Longford town FC ?
03/01/2013, 12:46 PM
I think the last of the alcohol has left the system. I can finally feel that haze lifting.
Huzzah!
04/01/2013, 10:44 AM
Rory McIlroy is really grinding my gears.
gastric
04/01/2013, 11:01 AM
Rory McIlroy is really grinding my gears.
And we all have to agree with you?
The position Rory McIlroy has been put in is really grinding my gears. No matter what the guy does he can't win.
04/01/2013, 11:30 AM
And we all have to agree with you?
No. What are you on about?
The position Rory McIlroy has been put in is really grinding my gears. No matter what the guy does he can't win.
He put himself in it.
He should have stuck with Team GB if he had any sense.
Spudulika
04/01/2013, 6:50 PM
Chances are by 2016 he'll have seriously lost form and have to play for Ireland.
05/01/2013, 6:34 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Splash!_(TV_series)
This shoite is on UTV now.
Mother of lord is there no end to the barrel being scraped?
EPL is to Irish ___, as Corrie is to Irish women.
06/01/2013, 5:49 PM
"fans of Fair City?"
07/01/2013, 1:29 PM
Just had my first ever Strawberry Cream out of the Roses tin. We're down to the dregs in the office.
08/01/2013, 11:27 PM
43 degrees here yesterday. 35 at midnight. It's entirely possible I might melt. They had to add a new colour to the weather map: http://www.slate.com/blogs/future_tense/2013/01/08/australia_heat_wave_new_color_added_to_weather_map s_fire_danger_catastrophic.html
08/01/2013, 11:48 PM
43 degrees here yesterday. 35 at midnight. It's entirely possible I might melt. They had to add a new colour to the weather map: http://www.slate.com/blogs/future_tense/2013/01/08/australia_heat_wave_new_color_added_to_weather_map s_fire_danger_catastrophic.html
A mate in Sydney posted that up on FB.
Hottest I ever experienced was NYE 2005 and it being 39C in Melbourne. Never ever endured a heat like it. Sydney was 43C that day.
09/01/2013, 12:17 AM
Just read this (http://foot.ie/threads/67183-New-guy?p=737860&viewfull=1#post737860) piece of genius from Bluebeard...
This had me cracking up...
"There are LOADS of Sheffield Wednesday fans here for some reason."