View Full Version : The say anything, what's on your mind thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 [124] 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158

28/01/2013, 3:13 PM
In your endo.

29/01/2013, 9:54 PM
http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424127887323375204578269991660836834.html?m od=googlenews_wsj

Anyone up for a game of tag?

30/01/2013, 10:07 AM
That's brilliant.

Love those sorts of things.

30/01/2013, 5:38 PM
That's actually outstanding. Makes me want to start something similar.

31/01/2013, 12:04 AM
http://www.theuselessweb.com/

If your bored, there's one link with a big long wobbly black penis looking thing (I've made it sound a lot worse than it is), if you suffer from seizures, don't shake it :D

31/01/2013, 3:23 PM
I'm always bored between 9 and 5

01/02/2013, 4:19 PM
So after having a particularly boring day in work I have decided to get the flip out of here. I've applied for my Canadian IEC Visa. WHOOP!

01/02/2013, 4:45 PM
Not surprised B+Q ended up in trouble. I was in the flooring section there recently and a staff member asked me if I "wanted decking".

Fortunately I was quick and got the first punch in.

02/02/2013, 10:37 PM
3. Chatting with cashiers - why? Because Irish people treat people behind the till decently, as people.

Worked in retail a long, long time and we are not once we once were on that one! The amount of people who don't even say "thanks" frustrated me on a daily basic.

02/02/2013, 10:41 PM
So, I finally get to rest. A week later, 3 drum tracks, 3 bass tracks. Bass player is back off to DCU for two weeks, so I get the joy of recording guitar tracks this week to myself. It's so much easier, and I work on my own time schedule. Fantastic.

02/02/2013, 11:37 PM
first drink in a month, will have another night out next weekend, then back on the dry for Lent

03/02/2013, 12:54 AM
first drink in a month, will have another night out next weekend, then back on the dry for Lent

I just realised. I can't remember the last time I went a month without a drink. That's strangely depressing.

horton
03/02/2013, 8:44 AM
You helped my friends get to Copper Face Jacks in December - w4m - 29 (California)

Dear Irishman,

On December 28th, you crossed the bar and kissed me before saying a word. We ended up at a hotel where all of the rooms were named after Irish celebrities. You took my email address, but I haven't heard from you and I don't have your contact information. I have something to tell you.

The Girl from California

http://dublin.craigslist.org/mis/3587849928.html

How much of a dirtbird do ya have to be to have a one night stand, then trade Hotmail addresses :D anyone know what hotel she could be referring to?

theworm2345
03/02/2013, 4:18 PM
I have something to tell you.
That can't be good.

Hotel could be http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gresham_Hotel

03/02/2013, 11:01 PM
http://dublin.craigslist.org/mis/3587849928.html
You helped my friends get to Copper Face Jacks in December - w4m - 29 (California)

Dear Irishman,

On December 28th, you crossed the bar and kissed me before saying a word. We ended up at a hotel where all of the rooms were named after Irish celebrities. You took my email address, but I haven't heard from you and I don't have your contact information. I have something to tell you.

The Girl from California http://dublin.craigslist.org/mis/3587849928.html

How much of a dirtbird do ya have to be to have a one night stand, then trade Hotmail addresses http://foot.ie/images/smilies/biggrin.gif anyone know what hotel she could be referring to?
great, another one. that'll end well
there was this just over a year ago: http://www.independent.ie/national-news/woman-seeking-mark-from-copper-face-jacks-no-closer-to-finding-her-man-she-admits-2958699.html
and of course this one from 2008: http://www.herald.ie/news/coppers-mystery-solved-as-missing-father-steps-forward-1430956.html

03/02/2013, 11:51 PM
I just realised. I can't remember the last time I went a month without a drink. That's strangely depressing.
I usually do it at least once a year. Only had two pints on Saturday night, and definitely felt the difference on Sunday morning.
I've considered giving it up completely a few times, there's been too many Sundays after a night out in the last 12-18 months where the whole day has just been a complete write off, and more and more Mondays where I'm still not 100%

04/02/2013, 4:10 PM
I usually do it at least once a year. Only had two pints on Saturday night, and definitely felt the difference on Sunday morning.
I've considered giving it up completely a few times, there's been too many Sundays after a night out in the last 12-18 months where the whole day has just been a complete write off, and more and more Mondays where I'm still not 100%

I was thinking the same thing as yourself. I had a seriously heavy weekend but I was allowing it cos I've to get the finger out with college work now from now til April. It was delightful whilst it lasted. :)

04/02/2013, 4:10 PM
Worked in retail a long, long time and we are not once we once were on that one! The amount of people who don't even say "thanks" frustrated me on a daily basic.

Whilst that's true. It's still better here than anywhere else.

04/02/2013, 9:26 PM
Sooo... Visa applied for.
Visa paid for.
College coordinator emailed.

Coooome on September! Full-time student life FTW.

06/02/2013, 1:54 AM
Really interesting story. Wow.

http://www.smithsonianmag.com/history-archaeology/For-40-Years-This-Russian-Family-Was-Cut-Off-From-Human-Contact-Unaware-of-World-War-II-188843001.html

06/02/2013, 9:31 AM
That was beyond fascinating. :)

What a way to start the day. Cheers dude.

06/02/2013, 10:42 AM
That girl at customer service in AIB Bankcentre, whilst you couldn't help me with my query... Phwoar. Phwoar!

Homina.

06/02/2013, 4:00 PM
Really interesting story. Wow.

http://www.smithsonianmag.com/history-archaeology/For-40-Years-This-Russian-Family-Was-Cut-Off-From-Human-Contact-Unaware-of-World-War-II-188843001.html

Myself and the lads in the band were actually talking about this the other day, absolutely fascinating story. Incredible really.

06/02/2013, 11:06 PM
That girl at customer service in AIB Bankcentre, whilst you couldn't help me with my query... Phwoar. Phwoar!

Homina.
I worked there before. The talent in there was epic, including at one point Caroline Morahan.

06/02/2013, 11:31 PM
I worked there before. The talent in there was epic, including at one point Caroline Morahan.

You actually wanna see this one!

I think I'll call in again on Friday and suggest a visit to Paddy Cullens for a drink.

gastric
08/02/2013, 2:57 AM
Quietly, and at times publicly, gloating at the shock and horror of Australians after the news that most of their major sporting codes have somehow been implicated in drug taking, possible match fixing and associations with criminal gangs. After having to listen to their self- righteous attitude when there are similar issues in other countries, it gave me pleasure to see them get a kick in the teeth. The Aussie attitude has been that they are somehow morally and ethically superior to other countries in regards to sport. Howzat Cobber!

08/02/2013, 9:18 AM
I was delighted when I heard. Now if they implicate Kevin Sheedy and Nick Riewoldt someway I'll be even happier.

08/02/2013, 10:42 AM

Well, I actually had to go in and again today to pay my electricity bill and I chickened out. Plus she was dealing with someone...

This can be my new long-term project.

peadar1987
08/02/2013, 11:11 AM
I've been getting some very threatening council tax related letters recently.

It started with "Due to the recent County Court judgement against you, your outstanding balance has been passed to a debt collection agency". No bills, no reminders, straight to the CCJ which will presumably stay on my credit record forever.

I rang them back, assured them I was a student and ineligible for council tax, and I would send them the documentation to prove it.

The next day, another letter "You still owe us money, you have been fined an extra £80"

Another phone call, "No, I'm a student, I told you, I'm waiting on the documentation from the university"

A few days later "We have begun proceedings to freeze your accounts. Pay us immediately"

One more phone call from me, and I get through to Gina at the debt collection agency. I told her about the letters I'd received, and that I was waiting on the university for my proof of studentship. Her reply was that they say sh*t like that all the time, they weren't actually in the process of freezing my assets, and that whenever I could get the letter from the university to the Council was grand, so long as I wasn't absolutely taking the p***.

Been a stressful few days!

Now I just have to sort out PhD funding, because according to the graduate school office, seeing as I haven't lived in the same EU country for the past three consecutive years, I don't count as a resident of any EU country, and am eligible for the square root of eff all. Grr!!

08/02/2013, 12:51 PM
Sooo... Visa applied for.
Visa paid for.
College coordinator emailed.

Coooome on September! Full-time student life FTW.

Visa payment verified. Now I play the waiting game...

And we all know the waiting game sucks.

08/02/2013, 12:55 PM
I've been getting some very threatening council tax related letters recently.

It started with "Due to the recent County Court judgement against you, your outstanding balance has been passed to a debt collection agency". No bills, no reminders, straight to the CCJ which will presumably stay on my credit record forever.

I rang them back, assured them I was a student and ineligible for council tax, and I would send them the documentation to prove it.

The next day, another letter "You still owe us money, you have been fined an extra £80"

Another phone call, "No, I'm a student, I told you, I'm waiting on the documentation from the university"

A few days later "We have begun proceedings to freeze your accounts. Pay us immediately"

One more phone call from me, and I get through to Gina at the debt collection agency. I told her about the letters I'd received, and that I was waiting on the university for my proof of studentship. Her reply was that they say sh*t like that all the time, they weren't actually in the process of freezing my assets, and that whenever I could get the letter from the university to the Council was grand, so long as I wasn't absolutely taking the p***.

Been a stressful few days!

Now I just have to sort out PhD funding, because according to the graduate school office, seeing as I haven't lived in the same EU country for the past three consecutive years, I don't count as a resident of any EU country, and am eligible for the square root of eff all. Grr!!

As a current employee of the Grants service here, I'm pretty sure the standard timeframe Europe-wide is 3 out of the previous 5. And you were in the EU the wholetime regardless of you being in Ireland for some of that period. Sounds like bull.

Also that stuff from the council sounds awfully like what Three Ireland said to me. I ignored it. So far so good.

08/02/2013, 2:10 PM
Well, I actually had to go in and again today to pay my electricity bill and I chickened out. Plus she was dealing with someone...

This can be my new long-term project.

And so a stalker is born... :D

08/02/2013, 2:44 PM
Only if I get caught.

Though the chance of the bank thinking I'm casing the joint is more likely. I think something may need to be sent in internal post to my Branch on the Naas Road sometime next week. Heh heh heh.

08/02/2013, 8:36 PM
As a current employee of the Grants service hereSUSI? If so, hurry up with the fecking grants!

If not, please ignore.

08/02/2013, 8:40 PM

Homina.

I'm working in Bankcentre, along with about 5,000 others. Some serious talent in there, you'd nearly forgive the incompetency of 75% of the staff.

08/02/2013, 8:55 PM
SUSI? If so, hurry up with the fecking grants!

If not, please ignore.

Yes SUSI.

Eh... you waiting? Hmmm...

08/02/2013, 9:14 PM
I've literally just realised that a good 20% of my friends may hate you immediately.

08/02/2013, 10:07 PM
Then keep schtum.

gastric
08/02/2013, 10:54 PM
I've literally just realised that a good 20% of my friends may hate you immediately.

Plus the majority of us on here! :o
Too tempting Nigel!

09/02/2013, 12:34 PM
Visa payment verified. Now I play the waiting game...

And we all know the waiting game sucks.
Let's play hungry hungry hippos!

09/02/2013, 5:30 PM
Let's play hungry hungry hippos!

Good man.

peadar1987
09/02/2013, 8:02 PM
As a current employee of the Grants service here, I'm pretty sure the standard timeframe Europe-wide is 3 out of the previous 5. And you were in the EU the wholetime regardless of you being in Ireland for some of that period. Sounds like bull.

Also that stuff from the council sounds awfully like what Three Ireland said to me. I ignored it. So far so good.

In any case, I'll have been in the UK for 3 consecutive years by September 2014, so I should get full fees and grant paid by then, I'll just have to put the plans back a year. It would be immensely annoying being a citizen of not one, but two EU countries, and getting funding for neither!

10/02/2013, 12:05 AM
http://i48.tinypic.com/13yq6vs.jpg

10/02/2013, 11:30 AM
This is it lads, today I finish my thesis, and tomorrow I submit, the end is nigh...

10/02/2013, 4:56 PM
Congratulations

Eminence Grise
11/02/2013, 9:24 PM
This is it lads, today I finish my thesis, and tomorrow I submit, the end is nigh...

... and a beginning, too, hopefully! Congrats!

11/02/2013, 9:42 PM
Congrats mate. Here's where it goes downhill ;P

12/02/2013, 8:52 AM
Seeing that there's a new post in the Totty thread... I wanna open it... but I'm in the office. Grr. Ellipsis...

Eminence Grise
12/02/2013, 9:33 AM
Click and be damned! When you're hauled up on the old disciplinary action, you can always tell Jacinta that you thought the thread was a totting one for calculating grants.

Edit: I've had a look already...

12/02/2013, 9:38 AM
Click and be damned! When you're hauled up on the old disciplinary action, you can always tell Jacinta that you thought the thread was a totting one for calculating grants.

Edit: I've had a look already...

Dang. What gip.

I might have to head to Bankcentre at lunch to satiate my needs.