View Full Version : The say anything, what's on your mind thread
That's awful- why would someone do that? Some relative of a vanquished criminal?
24/05/2014, 12:21 PM
So, I finally found my kryptonite last night, had a glass vase ****ed at me in work, have 11 stitches to show for it..
Every superhero must have a few scars from battle.
26/05/2014, 11:25 PM
Some arseholes I wouldn't sell a room to, so they showed me.. Looks like I may need a new job, it's always been a little dodgy, but that's the 1st time anything's actually happened. Miss Acornvilla demands I quit thou.
The lad was arrested and questioned. Also kicked in the hotel door and damaged some cars in the carpark after, so hopefully he gets what's coming to him..
26/05/2014, 11:28 PM
What do you do? That sounds horrendous, glad you're OK.
26/05/2014, 11:58 PM
Miss Acornvilla might be onto something you know..
26/05/2014, 11:59 PM
Been working nights at reception in a (72 room) hotel for the past year part time. Limerick is not the city to be doing that craic in I've learned. Have had to call the gards a few times and get threatened once a fortnight, but the weekend was the 1st time something serious happened to me. We don't have any security on which is just retarded and most of the time I'd be the only member of staff on all night no matter how busy it is.
27/05/2014, 12:50 AM
It's all those people from outside Limerick you see. Probably Shamrock Rovers fans. Were they waving umbrellas?
27/05/2014, 11:15 PM
Got my place in Geomatics in DIT. Now the dilemma ensues. Come home early and complete first year, defer second 3rd and 4th and then see out a year in Canada. Or defer and complete out the degree in one swoop.
ARGH!
27/05/2014, 11:41 PM
Got my place in Geomatics in DIT. Now the dilemma ensues. Come home early and complete first year, defer second 3rd and 4th and then see out a year in Canada. Or defer and complete out the degree in one swoop.
ARGH!
Blame Canada!
Leave Canada for good Bonnie. You've been nothing but a disappointment to us.
28/05/2014, 5:46 AM
Leave Canada for good Bonnie. You've been nothing but a disappointment to us.
I'm coming to Regina just for that.
28/05/2014, 7:51 AM
I'm coming to Regina just for that.
Is she Stu's girlfriend?
28/05/2014, 11:07 PM
Is she Stu's girlfriend?
Not as filthy.
29/05/2014, 9:06 AM
Stitches out, looks like a harry potter scar but bigger. I'm a wizard now at least.
29/05/2014, 5:26 PM
Is she Stu's girlfriend?
A girlfriend and a wife. Go Stu.
It's getting to that stage again where the amount of bell ends on this site is making it difficult to bother logging on, never mind contributing in any meaningful way.
01/06/2014, 10:28 PM
It's getting to that stage again where the amount of bell ends on this site is making it difficult to bother logging on, never mind contributing in any meaningful way.
Which ones? Dare I say TOWKy boy?
01/06/2014, 10:53 PM
Most fans from Galway, Athlone and half of the Longford ones, are dominating an ever growing list of people whos posts annoy me greatly. The Ireland section is getting a bit rabbly too thou..
02/06/2014, 12:08 AM
The internet is, sadly, absolutely full of idiots.
02/06/2014, 12:34 AM
after a lifetime of being relatively debt free, I've decided to chuck all that in and buy an apartment
call me in 25 years or so when I have a few bob to spend again
02/06/2014, 1:08 AM
Most fans from Galway, Athlone and half of the Longford ones, are dominating an ever growing list of people whos posts annoy me greatly. The Ireland section is getting a bit rabbly too thou..
I find myself camping out in the Ireland section as I just can't keep up with Sean South and his ilk.
The internet is, sadly, absolutely full of idiots.
Chock full if you will.
after a lifetime of being relatively debt free, I've decided to chuck all that in and buy an apartment
call me in 25 years or so when I have a few bob to spend again
Crazy so-and-so.
But best of luck with that.
I'm considering college full-time again at 30. That's slightly crazier. Call me in 5 years when I an afford stuff again.
03/06/2014, 12:29 AM
Ha ha....college full time at 30....ya mad fecker....wait til your 40 like me and go back its much more fun.
03/06/2014, 2:33 PM
Ha ha....college full time at 30....ya mad fecker....wait til your 40 like me and go back its much more fun.
I thought it was bad enough considering going back to college in my mid 20's. I feel good about it now. Might start a football club in Monaghan and all. Wanna join?
Yeah man. And a couple others...
07/06/2014, 4:47 PM
I just ate one of those pre-made sandwiches from a Quickie-Mart. It was frighteningly tasty.
Hunger is certainly the best sauce.
Eminence Grise
07/06/2014, 6:01 PM
I have visions of seeing 'The Mondog - a culinary and cultural phenomenon, 1985-2012' by Me, Magic (2014) on a library catalogue some day!
I just ate one of those pre-made sandwiches from a Quickie-Mart. It was frighteningly tasty.
Hunger is certainly the best sauce.
And I think I've just found the first volunteer for your focus group!
11/06/2014, 8:26 PM
World Cup starts tomorrow night.
https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xpf1/t1.0-9/10458312_536498686460577_3585139206550900869_n.jpg
12/06/2014, 6:01 PM
People bitching about the world cup on social media, especially by posting crap 'ironic' articles about it, are starting to **** me off. Obviously the solution to the World Cup being everywhere is to post more stuff about the World Cup, right?
gastric
19/06/2014, 10:49 AM
Just love this photo, nature and people meeting- beautiful!
http://cdn2.independent.ie/incoming/article30362439.ece/9538f/ALTERNATES/w620/shark.JPG
20/06/2014, 4:39 AM
I got fired today from a job I was about to quit. But was waiting on payday to tell them to F-off.
Weird. I have never ever been fired ever. Weirdest feeling ever.
Real ale Madrid
20/06/2014, 8:29 AM
Just love this photo, nature and people meeting- beautiful!
http://cdn2.independent.ie/incoming/article30362439.ece/9538f/ALTERNATES/w620/shark.JPG
http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2014/06/18/basking-shark-bitten-by-corkman/
gastric
21/06/2014, 7:55 AM
http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2014/06/18/basking-shark-bitten-by-corkman/
Very funny article!
21/06/2014, 8:30 AM
“an angry corkman can sense a quarehawk from a mile away. If you are attacked, you may be able to escape by distracting the corkonian with talk of hillbillys chicken, or the saipan incident, but be aware that if you don’t make a clean getaway the corkman may be angrier than before”.
lethal!
21/06/2014, 12:53 PM
I got fired today from a job I was about to quit. But was waiting on payday to tell them to F-off.
Weird. I have never ever been fired ever. Weirdest feeling ever.
Damn Canadians, dey turk yer jarb.
21/06/2014, 11:01 PM
What were you fired for?
Cause.
I'll paste in the email I got...
Dear [BonnieShels],
This letter is to inform that your employment with [company] is terminated for cause, effective immediately. If you have any inquiries regarding this decision, feel free to respond to this email.
Payment for your final shifts will be available for pick-up at the next regular payday after 6:00pm. If you are unavailable at that time it will be left in the mailbox for you to pick up at your convenience.
You will need to keep the company informed of your contact information so that we are able to provide information you may need in the future.
I don't mind, but what annoyed me most was that I was in the office with the bosses the night before til 930 and not a bean was said to me.
gastric
21/06/2014, 11:21 PM
Cause.
I don't mind, but what annoyed me most was that I was in the office with the bosses the night before til 930 and not a bean was said to me.
What's meant by 'cause' in the e-mail? Did you receive any actual reason why they let you go? if not it's weird!
DannyInvincible
22/06/2014, 12:50 PM
Cause.
Have you already had warnings and/or disciplinary hearings for some alleged misconduct/breach of contract or did your dismissal come out of the blue completely?
22/06/2014, 2:45 PM
I'm pretty sure that I also worked for C**ntyballs once... not a nice character. My sympathies BonnieShels!
TheOneWhoKnocks
22/06/2014, 5:58 PM
At least I don't resort to personal insults, passive aggressive comments and general sh*t stirring when I disagree with someone. I much prefer lads like Stutts, Invincibile and Charwin who debate something constructively without losing the rag.
I have been called a bell end, a moron and myriad other things but I've never felt like packing it in! Hang in there lads and don't get frustrated. It's a football forum. If we all agreed with each other, it would be a boring place!
22/06/2014, 10:12 PM
What's meant by 'cause' in the e-mail? Did you receive any actual reason why they let you go? if not it's weird!
I know what you know. There is no further information forthcoming. I haven't even been responded to after the email I sent back.
Have you already had warnings and/or disciplinary hearings for some alleged misconduct/breach of contract or did your dismissal come out of the blue completely?
De nada. Nothing. Zip.
I'm pretty sure that I also worked for C**ntyballs once... not a nice character. My sympathies BonnieShels!
They really are the worst. No sympathy needed. It was a sh!tehole.
22/06/2014, 10:17 PM
At least I don't resort to personal insults, passive aggressive comments and general sh*t stirring when I disagree with someone. I much prefer lads like Stutts, Invincibile and Charwin who debate something constructively without losing the rag.
I have been called a bell end, a moron and myriad other things but I've never felt like packing it in! Hang in there lads and don't get frustrated. It's a football forum. If we all agreed with each other, it would be a boring place!
You are right. There is a difference to debate and what was perceived as your overbearing intransigence. You are a welcome addition to this forum as are most here.
But it isn't by accident say that I have been a daily visitor here for over 5 years. It's one of the best places devoted to football on the internet and it's because of the moderation of both the admins, dahamsta and the self moderation of those of us who call this place home.
We like our little corner of the internet and everyone of us is here because we enjoy debate and arguing about soccer but you have to admit that sometimes people just don't get on. Over the World Cup I will honestly say that your contributions have been more measured and welcome and that's what happens when you don't constantly defend every single contribution.
DannyInvincible
23/06/2014, 12:47 AM
I know what you know. There is no further information forthcoming. I haven't even been responded to after the email I sent back.
De nada. Nothing. Zip.
They really are the worst. No sympathy needed. It was a sh!tehole.
Can you think of what it might have related to at all? Might they have somehow become aware of your impending resignation?
23/06/2014, 2:03 AM
Nope. They couldn't possibly have been Given that I only got the call for an interview on the Thursday in question.
The only thing I can think of is that they simply didn't like me. Which is all fine and dandy but you know, say it to my face and don't pussy out of it. Fuppin' Canadians.
In other news after having several looooong chats with my mates and ex and everyone in between I am going to take my place in DIT for 2014. Home in 3 months! ARGH!
23/06/2014, 10:43 AM
arguing about soccer
You're spending too much time in Canada..
DannyInvincible
23/06/2014, 10:49 AM
Nope. They couldn't possibly have been Given that I only got the call for an interview on the Thursday in question.
I suppose you're not bothered enough about it to seek legal advice given you were going to resign anyway? Very unusual. I'd have thought they'd have been legally obliged to provide some form of explanation other than "just cause". Or a fore-warning even. Some helpful info here maybe: http://zvulony.ca/2010/articles/employment-law/what-is-just-cause/
23/06/2014, 4:54 PM
I suppose you're not bothered enough about it to seek legal advice given you were going to resign anyway? Very unusual. I'd have thought they'd have been legally obliged to provide some form of explanation other than "just cause". Or a fore-warning even. Some helpful info here maybe: http://zvulony.ca/2010/articles/employment-law/what-is-just-cause/
Cheers. Thankfully the Dept of Labour here deals witgh these cases. I get my pay on Friday and I have asked for a letter of explanation and my ROE (Canadian P45) to be included therein. At that stage I will take a case.
gastric
24/06/2014, 5:14 AM
Jeez, we're great aren't we? Love how it places an inquiry about church run homes in the middle of the article. By chance or design?
http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/ireland-is-the-best-country-in-the-world-according-to-good-country-index-9557358.html
24/06/2014, 8:38 AM
A great bunch of lads.
24/06/2014, 8:44 AM
You're spending too much time in Canada..
You might say I'm spending ALL my time here.