View Full Version : The say anything, what's on your mind thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 [48] 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158

11/10/2009, 10:21 PM
Lovely, just got threats on Facebook from a "Friend's" boyfriend coz I pulled him up on his homophobia and said would hate to see how he would react if his daughter ever told him she was gay. Yikes. His sister is threatening me too. Charming family. My social justice crusade is gonna get me killed some day.

12/10/2009, 12:06 AM
Stayed in the Clarion in Dublin yesterday, they gave me key to wrong room at reception, walked into a room where people's stuff was still there and tv on...was fairly disappointed there was no naked ladies there:D.

12/10/2009, 2:38 AM
Lovely, just got threats on Facebook from a "Friend's" boyfriend coz I pulled him up on his homophobia and said would hate to see how he would react if his daughter ever told him she was gay. Yikes. His sister is threatening me too. Charming family. My social justice crusade is gonna get me killed some day.

nothing more than typical culchie weekend drama really... :D

brianw82
12/10/2009, 3:23 AM
Stephen Gately's death put a thought in my head. Are the death notices as popular in Dublin as they are down the country?

12/10/2009, 8:32 AM

Fair play for saying something though MM. Violence and threats of the same suggests that you might be hitting close to the bone there. Really, in this day and age, what does it really matter to them what two consenting adults do with and to oneanother, as long as nobody loses an eye.

I'd imagine that this makes the relationship with the "friend" that bit more complicated though. Was all this done out in the open (on the wall) or is it by message?

12/10/2009, 9:49 AM
nothing more than typical culchie weekend drama really... :D

Ha ha. It was 2 Dubs who were doing the threatening!!

Fair play for saying something though MM. Violence and threats of the same suggests that you might be hitting close to the bone there. Really, in this day and age, what does it really matter to them what two consenting adults do with and to oneanother, as long as nobody loses an eye.

I'd imagine that this makes the relationship with the "friend" that bit more complicated though. Was all this done out in the open (on the wall) or is it by message?

The initial comments were made in a comment on her page but I was swiftly removed as a friend and then him and his sister started sending me private messages. I have reported them to Facebook so will see what happens. Its kinda scary actually coz she is from Monaghan and I regularly bump into her and might just happen to do so when he is with her someday! Yikes!

The accused me of picking on a baby (his daughter is 18 months) but I was actually supporting her right to be who she is and just commented that would hate to see his reaction. I also pointed out to him that he was abusing someone elses son (the Gately's) but of course I was just think and how dare I etc etc. AGGGGHHHH! So can I have a foot.ie army to protect me from now on??

12/10/2009, 10:19 AM
Fair play MM. She'll likely go about her way and just get a guilty feeling whenever she meets you. You be your effusive, loveable self, and let her get on with being a bit of a ninny. As for the bloke and sister, well they'll live how you will, but I'd say facie will be a bit meh about the issue, and likely order the sister to cease and desist and leave it at that.

So can I have a foot.ie army to protect me from now on??
I'm happy to volunteer, but I am aware that we don't have a great recruiting record, based on a few times when we tried to get a football team going...

12/10/2009, 10:35 AM
Wonder where Dodge is these days. He was always a great man for having contacts in court on days like this.

12/10/2009, 10:57 AM
I think Dodge has a decided lack of time these days arising from a little Dodge presumably wreaking havoc with his sleeping patterns...

12/10/2009, 11:03 AM
I think Dodge has a decided lack of time these days arising from a little Dodge presumably wreaking havoc with his sleeping patterns...
little Dodge *childish snigger* ;)

12/10/2009, 5:58 PM
Parsnips are very underrated.

12/10/2009, 5:59 PM
Parsnips are very underrated.

To parsnips!!!

12/10/2009, 8:58 PM
Was thinking of what to get her indoors for Xmas( I know I know it's early but it wont be long sneaking up)

And I was walking past a hairdressers today and noticed those pink GHD straighteners that come in a wee bag with other things , "now only €145" Is it worth it and how much goes towards breast cancer research?

12/10/2009, 10:12 PM
I'm designing something at the moment and want to know from footiers - which expression do you think is more common, "off the beaten path" or "off the beaten track"?

12/10/2009, 10:15 PM
Hmm, track in my opnion would be the more commonly used.

stann
13/10/2009, 12:22 AM
I'm designing something at the moment and want to know from footiers - which expression do you think is more common, "off the beaten path" or "off the beaten track"?

"Off the beaten track" is the expression, though if this goes to form it won't be long before you get the usual suspects on saying it was always 'path' when they were growing up. :D
They're wrong, of course.
I think it comes of a mix-up with the phrase "to beat a path", as in, if your design turns out to be any good the world will beat a path to your door. ;)

13/10/2009, 8:26 AM
My ears are blocked and need syringing. I'm fecking half deaf right now. :mad:

First
13/10/2009, 9:21 AM
My ears are blocked and need syringing. I'm fecking half deaf right now. :mad:

Pardon

13/10/2009, 9:39 AM
Google fight!! (http://www.googlefight.com/index.php?lang=en_GB&word1=%22Off+the+beaten+track%22&word2=%22Off+the+beaten+path%22)

I disagree with google though. How disillusioning.

13/10/2009, 9:50 AM
Google fight!! (http://www.googlefight.com/index.php?lang=en_GB&word1=%22Off+the+beaten+track%22&word2=%22Off+the+beaten+path%22)

I disagree with google though. How disillusioning.
Me too. Perhaps it's a regional thing.

13/10/2009, 10:06 AM
Just got a call from an agency about becoming a Financial/Mortgage advisor. But I work in printing. And it's all I know. Very, very strange. Training provided though, I'll go for it and see if I blag it, but jaysis they must be desparate, I don't know the first thing about mortgages.

13/10/2009, 10:33 AM
Just got a call from an agency about becoming a Financial/Mortgage advisor. But I work in printing. And it's all I know. Very, very strange. Training provided though, I'll go for it and see if I blag it, but jaysis they must be desparate, I don't know the first thing about mortgages.
Don't worry, neither do most financial advisors.

13/10/2009, 10:47 AM
Don't worry, neither do most financial advisors.

Now I know where they get them from. Just Googled them and it's an scam. Had an interview tomorrow and thankfully I looked it up before then. Smelt a rat when they wanted a copy of my passport and bank details. Trusting absolutely nobody these days. :mad:

blobbyblob
13/10/2009, 2:39 PM
1000 posts - 1 Saipan - 6 years - 4 managers - -30 Fifa ranking spots - 3 jobs - 1 recession - 2 kids

I feel very emotional right now

Anyone for a hug?

Polster
13/10/2009, 2:47 PM
1000 posts - 1 Saipan - 6 years - 4 managers - -30 Fifa ranking spots - 3 jobs - 1 recession - 2 kids

Anyone for a hug?

I love you blobbyblob, big hug and beer your way

13/10/2009, 2:56 PM
WSE and a club in meltdown. Fun times...

13/10/2009, 3:22 PM

Anyone for a hug?

Well posted there young blobbyblob!

13/10/2009, 7:15 PM
And I was walking past a hairdressers today and noticed those pink GHD straighteners that come in a wee bag with other things , "now only €145" Is it worth it and how much goes towards breast cancer research?

"Now only €145"?? What the feck did they cost before that? Hair straighteners are just two irons stuck together.

13/10/2009, 7:39 PM
Aye I know, have no idea what they costed before hand though.:eek: I wouldn't have an issue handing over the money because she'd adore them and it's for a good cause, but I would like to know Breast Cancer Research is getting a fair amount of it.

13/10/2009, 9:10 PM
Think GHDs are almost 200 usually. I dont know coz i couldnt afford them in a million years.

But they are much better than any others. When my hairdresser uses them on me its like magic

First
13/10/2009, 9:22 PM
Think GHDs are almost 200 usually. I dont know coz i couldnt afford them in a million years.

But they are much better than any others. When my hairdresser uses them on me its like magic

There is no magic involved , your hairdresser heats up two pieces of metal through an outlet in the wall which connects to electricity. The heat from the irons is then transferred to your hair which along with the action of twisting or pulling your hair through the heated irons gives the desired effect of curls or straight hair.:p No magic involved.

13/10/2009, 10:01 PM
Really? Is that how it is done? Wow!

I have remmington straigteners that heat up to massive temp but they just dont do it half as good as the ghds.

14/10/2009, 8:24 AM
Ignore my posts and pms, red&white rover has me password.

Hmm. So should I ignore this one then, and subsequently believe all your other ones instead?

14/10/2009, 10:13 PM
Bizarre 'art'.

"The Rape Tunnel": http://www.artlurker.com/2009/09/the-rape-tunnel-by-sheila-zareno/

14/10/2009, 11:42 PM
Ignore my posts and pms, red&white rover has me password.

Who the hell is Jim?:)

15/10/2009, 11:01 AM
Just read a lovely piece in one of our local papers, The Northern Standard, on an interview with Aaron McCarey. Almost made me cry!

blobbyblob
15/10/2009, 11:17 AM
I think Im having a heart attack

15/10/2009, 11:26 AM

The most common heart attack signs and symptoms are:

Chest discomfort or pain—uncomfortable pressure, squeezing, fullness, or pain in the center of the chest that can be mild or strong. This discomfort or pain lasts more than a few minutes or goes away and comes back.
Upper body discomfort in one or both arms, the back, neck, jaw, or stomach.
Shortness of breath may occur with or before chest discomfort.
Other signs include nausea (feeling sick to your stomach), vomiting, lightheadedness or fainting, or breaking out in a cold sweat

If these are the case, please get assistance immediately, even if they stop.

blobbyblob
15/10/2009, 11:35 AM
Cheers Bluebeard

It happens when i forget to take me heart pills.

Like this morning. Wehay!

15/10/2009, 11:42 AM
Cheers Bluebeard

It happens when i forget to take me heart pills.

Like this morning. Wehay!

Well once you know what is what, and it is no surprise to you, that is a relief. You're OK now? That is a relief - you had me, and I would imagine a couple of other posters, worried for a few minutes.

15/10/2009, 11:44 AM
Am I a bad person for thinking,
"Here may be found the last words of Joseph of Aramathia. He who is valiant and pure of spirit may find the holy grail in the Castle of Aaauuuggghhh... "

15/10/2009, 12:01 PM
What should I do on my day off today, especially after a couple of very stressful days? Can't make up my mind!

Possible things to do:

Go to the cinema and see Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs
Go to the pub with my book
Stay home and watch DVDs (John83's comment above has made me fancy Holy Grail)
Go and buy a DVD/book
Potter about the house- watch youtube, call people, play FM10 demo, channel hop.
Go and meet someone for a pint/coffee
Go for a walk- Merrion Square? Along the canal maybe?

Any other suggestions?

blobbyblob
15/10/2009, 12:08 PM
Holy Grail every time

15/10/2009, 12:11 PM
Holy Grail every time

Absolutely + 1.

First
15/10/2009, 12:38 PM
What should I do on my day off today, especially after a couple of very stressful days? Can't make up my mind!

Possible things to do:

Go and buy a DVD/book
Potter about the house- watch youtube, call people, play FM10 demo, channel hop.

Any other suggestions?

If you haven't already , get off the internet for a start . First has wasted many a day on the old tinternet thingy.:p

Wolfie
15/10/2009, 12:53 PM

Possible things to do:

Go and buy a DVD/book

Any other suggestions?

All of the above are worth consideration, however, you won't believe it!!!!

What a stroke of luck for you, thischarming man - I've had a call from the local Elderly home.

They're looking for volunteers to bring some of the old treasures out for a push in their wheelchairs, someone to chat to about Marty Whelan, some bathing and feeding and perhaps you could have a look at the fence that needs mending?

Should I let them know you're on the way?

15/10/2009, 1:12 PM
Holy Grail every time

Absolutely + 1.

If you haven't already , get off the internet for a start . First has wasted many a day on the old tinternet thingy.:p

Good suggestions, I think I will watch it, but later on. I'm going to get off the internet and go to the pub with my book. There's something really nice and relaxed about being able to go and read or do the crossword there during the day. :)

What a stroke of luck for you, thischarming man - I've had a call from the local Elderly home.

They're looking for volunteers to bring some of the old treasures out for a push in their wheelchairs, someone to chat to about Marty Whelan, some bathing and feeding and perhaps you could have a look at the fence that needs mending?

Should I let them know you're on the way?

Just park the old dears on the front lawn and I'll be round for tea-time. Thanks for letting me know Wolfie.

15/10/2009, 1:16 PM
You could always just follow a randomer around for the day.

15/10/2009, 1:18 PM
You could always just follow a randomer around for the day.

That would be class! Obviously utilizing such tricks of the trade as stopping and looking around innocently while whistling when they turn around, a newspaper with eye holes in it, and a clever shrub disguise.

Or I could do this:

FFJuw9qAU28

I'm off to Grafton Street...

15/10/2009, 1:51 PM
That would be class! Obviously utilizing such tricks of the trade as stopping and looking around innocently while whistling when they turn around, a newspaper with eye holes in it, and a clever shrub disguise.

Or I could do this:

FFJuw9qAU28

I'm off to Grafton Street...

I particularly like that video. Some of his are pretty mixed, but there is something special about this one. I hope you do go to Grafton St. and do it. Then come back and report. Set up a random compliments thread maybe?