View Full Version : The say anything, what's on your mind thread
07/08/2013, 7:09 PM
So in preparation for my move to Canada I was investigating whether I could exchange my Irish licence for one in Canuckland without completing any tests or exams.
From a brief piece of research it became clear that only Manitoba, Saskatchewan and New Brunswick were the only provinces who had a reciprocal agreement with this State so I had resigned to starting off in one of those for the sake of my sanity as I'm not willing to be a learner again.
So I decided to email all of the drivers licencing agencies the following just to confirm or to see if there was a loophole or something; this is what I sent:
Good evening,
I'm moving to (large city in Province) from the Republic of Ireland [this hurt to type as Danny and Nigel would know but for the sake of clarity...] in the coming months.
I currently hold a full Irish driving licence for the last 5 years with no endorsements.
What is the procedure for me to get my (Province) licence without completing further licence tests?
British Columbia, Ontario, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland, Manitoba all got back to me saying I would need to complete some bloody written exams and the graduated licencing thingy would kick in.
All said my existing driving experience would count towards the graduation and then I would be grand.
Saskatchewan didn't get back to me. I didn't email PEI, Yukon or NT or Nunavut.
New Brunswick confirmed I could do a straight swap and all will be fine. WAHEY! Moncton here I come.
Quebec didn't respond with anything relevant. They didn't understand my email and asked me to call them. Clowns.
But the reason I wrote this post is because ALBERTA! Oh Alberta! I knew you were already a hickhole that I would never care to live in.
This is what I got:
Thank you for your inquiry.
Alberta has a reciprocal agreement with Northern
Ireland for an Alberta class 5 licence without having
to do further testing, as long as you can prove 2 or
more years of driving experience.
WTF!
peadar1987
08/08/2013, 9:38 AM
Did you email Quebec in English? They won't have liked that!
08/08/2013, 5:36 PM
Yeah. I did. And they responded in English. Twice. F*ckwits. Looks like I'm moving to Moncton.
peadar1987
08/08/2013, 6:04 PM
Yeah. I did. And they responded in English. Twice. F*ckwits. Looks like I'm moving to Moncton.
Merde!
08/08/2013, 6:20 PM
I responded to Alberta with this:
Good evening,
As mentioned in my initial query, I am from the REPUBLIC of IRELAND not Northern Ireland or great Britain or the UK etc. and hold a licence from the Republic of Ireland.
What is the procedure for holders of my licence type?
I look forward to the response.
peadar1987
08/08/2013, 6:22 PM
Please tell me you sent them a map!
(Preferably one that includes most of the Atlantic, and with the US-Canada border subtly rubbed out)
08/08/2013, 6:25 PM
Dare you to reply with "Thanks so much! I can't wait to visit the good ol' USA!!!"
08/08/2013, 8:33 PM
I hope you remembered to take out the Danny and Nigel reference before sending off your email. That might answer a few of the questions you have regarding strange replies.
11/08/2013, 8:14 AM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-g-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/602015_10151511196311179_498062532_n.jpg
16/08/2013, 1:01 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vnKZ4pdSU-s
Why wasn't poetry like this when I was doing the leaving!
Eminence Grise
16/08/2013, 7:51 AM
It always has been. But the way it's taught is like buying a Ferrari then stripping the engine down to see how it works. Sit in, rev it up, go where it takes you - and damn the pedestrian teaching.
His closing lines are wonderful...
gastric
21/08/2013, 1:45 AM
Would love to see us try and make a claim on the Faroes, just for the fun of it! If the Danes can claim it I suppose we could too!
http://www.independent.co.uk/news/science/denmarks-historic-claim-to-the-faroes-in-doubt-as-archaeologists-find-proof-that-islands-were-inhabited-before-arrival-of-first-norse-colonists-8776954.html
21/08/2013, 7:57 AM
Would love to see us try and make a claim on the Faroes, just for the fun of it! If the Danes can claim it I suppose we could too!
http://www.independent.co.uk/news/science/denmarks-historic-claim-to-the-faroes-in-doubt-as-archaeologists-find-proof-that-islands-were-inhabited-before-arrival-of-first-norse-colonists-8776954.html
Some of the anti-Irish comments underneath are staggering.
ArdeeBhoy
21/08/2013, 8:24 AM
Are they that bad, :rolleyes: beyond 1-2 'jokes' on a par with 1-2 of the 'haters' on here.
21/08/2013, 10:35 AM
This made me calf like a mad thing!
http://www.explosm.net/comics/3273/
27/08/2013, 6:54 AM
Today's headline from Japan: Man arrested for stealing 200 bicycle seats for their 'scent of a woman.'
27/08/2013, 9:53 AM
Today's headline from Japan: Man arrested for stealing 200 bicycle seats for their 'scent of a woman.'
http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-zpdFAqODTvI/UbUoNEDKMuI/AAAAAAAABYc/fxYCMc3KKRU/s320/Al-Pacino-1992-Scent-of-a-Woman.jpg
HOO-YA!
27/08/2013, 1:43 PM
Imagine his dismay when he found out they were actually all mens bicycles.
27/08/2013, 2:14 PM
Imagine his dismay when he found out they were actually all mens bicycles.
nope, he looked for ones with child seats attached to make sure.
According to police, Joji Kondo admitted to the crimes saying “I wanted to smell the lingering scent of a woman.” MSN News Japan reported the 35-year-old as saying “I like the texture of the leather and the smell it has. I would lick it and sniff it.”
The three seats were valued at 18,000 yen and the other 200 were estimated to cost a further 1,200,000 yen in total. According to the investigation, Kondo targeted bicycles which were also fitted with child seats, so he knew it had a woman rider.
DannyInvincible
28/08/2013, 7:25 PM
Is it taboo for a man to ride a bike with a child seat fitted? :confused:
Anyway, myself and my girlfriend ventured into the Asda in Eastlands earlier this afternoon to get some food for lunch and came across this interesting "educational" jig-saw puzzle:
https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/1234546_10201016530910076_1077278291_n.jpg
Does this constitute official recognition for the People's Republic of Cork then?
28/08/2013, 7:27 PM
I'd be wondering more about that city in the midlands called Ireland. It seems to be a few miles south of Mullingar.
DannyInvincible
28/08/2013, 7:31 PM
I can't imagine it's a big seller in Cardiff's Asda.
28/08/2013, 9:36 PM
The people of Inishowen wouldn't be too happy to see this either. It's either melted into Derry or decided to float off somewhere..
28/08/2013, 9:41 PM
Could you blame it if it did?
02/09/2013, 3:09 PM
Howrya lads?
Just moved house, hurray!
02/09/2013, 3:18 PM
Girlfriend is now 2 days overdue, I'm in work, she's at home. This is fairly annoying, especially since there's been a grand total of one person in the shop since I opened at 11..being employed is nearly as boring for me now as when I was unemployed.
02/09/2013, 3:24 PM
Girlfriend is now 2 days overdue, I'm in work, she's at home. This is fairly annoying, especially since there's been a grand total of one person in the shop since I opened at 11..being employed is nearly as boring for me now as when I was unemployed.
Employment is the devil, been working at reception in a hotel for 2/3 months now, have to deal with all sorts of gobsh!tes, although I'm getting much better at faking being a king sociable person to customers now because of it.
Good luck with the young one, I'm sure you'll love getting to be in a quiet shop for a few hours a day once the babys home.
03/09/2013, 5:35 PM
Good luck with the young one, I'm sure you'll love getting to be in a quiet shop for a few hours a day once the babys home.
Testify. A mattress shop would be idea.
03/09/2013, 6:52 PM
Employment is the devil, been working at reception in a hotel for 2/3 months now, have to deal with all sorts of gobsh!tes, although I'm getting much better at faking being a king sociable person to customers now because of it.
Ah, see, the thing is, I could actually sleep half the day in the shop and nobody would come in..such is the nature of working in a quiet shop such as I do.
03/09/2013, 6:53 PM
I have nothing else in the world to say.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PV06M-Gqxgg
05/09/2013, 9:18 AM
"breaking news" on the BBC, FA Chairman expects England not to win the world cup next year. Wow!
05/09/2013, 12:58 PM
"breaking news" on the BBC, FA Chairman expects England not to win the world cup next year. Wow!
Clowns. It's stuck up in the headline of Sportsday Live. JEEPERS!
05/09/2013, 12:58 PM
On an unrelated manner... I may not be going to Canada after all and possibly will be in DIT instead! EEK!
Eminence Grise
05/09/2013, 9:27 PM
Welcome to my world, BS... Mwa-hah mwa hah hah hah haaaaaah!
Which one may you be heading to?
05/09/2013, 9:55 PM
On an unrelated manner... I may not be going to Canada after all and possibly will be in DIT instead! EEK!
Canada or DIT...now there's a dilemma.
06/09/2013, 9:37 AM
Welcome to my world, BS... Mwa-hah mwa hah hah hah haaaaaah!
Which one may you be heading to?
Bolton St. Hopefully. Or not hopefully as I hated it first time round. But in 8 years surely I've matured.
Where are you based?
peadar1987
06/09/2013, 10:15 AM
And I'm starting a PhD. in Glasgow in 3 weeks time. Bloody foot.ie-ers, bunch of layabouts, get a real job!!
06/09/2013, 11:16 AM
That'll be me in 5 years time. Eek.
In fairness though. I'm excited about leaving the real world finally.
I'm also excited at the irony of getting voluntary redundancy (free money) from a state job, going on the dole (free money), claiming rent supplement (free money), getting back-to-education allowance (free money), and getting a grant from the crowd I work with now (free money).
Thanks Ireland. I'm finally taking back what I put in.
Eminence Grise
06/09/2013, 3:21 PM
And I'm starting a PhD. in Glasgow in 3 weeks time. Bloody foot.ie-ers, bunch of layabouts, get a real job!!
Bolton St. Hopefully. Or not hopefully as I hated it first time round. But in 8 years surely I've matured.
http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Arts/Arts_/Pictures/2008/10/06/coogancalf460.jpg
****in' students.
Peadar, when you're doing a PhD, foot.ie is about the only thing that will keep you sane!
BS, PM on its way.
peadar1987
06/09/2013, 4:00 PM
My connection to football is a lethal cocktail of Bray Unmentionables, Stoke City, the Republic of Ireland, and a dash of Partick Thistle. I really hope I'm not relying on that to maintain my sanity!
Eminence Grise
06/09/2013, 10:45 PM
Nobody could attest to your sanity after that confession, Dr P (pend.). Foot.ie will just have to help you embrace the madness.
09/09/2013, 11:57 PM
http://www.reddit.com/r/AskReddit/comments/alae8/warning_potentially_disturbing_question_sexy/c0i6kuh
This. This is definitely one of the most interesting reddits I've ever come across.
10/09/2013, 9:31 AM
SFW???
12/09/2013, 3:23 PM
I got a bike!
13/09/2013, 11:22 PM
SFW???
Use your own judgement..
15/09/2013, 2:50 AM
Some man is our Damien, king of kicking a ball far.. http://www.hoganstand.com/Longford/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=200924
16/09/2013, 12:35 AM
It's utterly surreal and insane, but I'm sitting up at 1:30 in the morning with my 4 day old son, whom I naturally had called Finn, watching the isle of wight festival on sky arts. This just doesn't feel real.
Although I'm already anticipating his first harps match.
gastric
16/09/2013, 12:55 AM
Congrats, it is an amazing and life changing experience from which you will never recover. Many and many of these nights to come!
ArdeeBhoy
16/09/2013, 2:01 AM
Congrats, Nigel...
16/09/2013, 2:02 PM
Hon Nigel, ye fertile yolke