View Full Version : The say anything, what's on your mind thread
On another note, I just realised, I'm drinking a latte while eating iced buns. I all of a sudden feel really posh.
haha, gay.
17/01/2013, 5:41 PM
I'm only a month behind you. I thought it would just be a phase I'd get over. If it was up to the girlfriend, she'd have the site destroyed.
My ex felt the very same. Now we all know the true reason for her being an ex.
That and the sexy Brazilian tranny*.
*Spud was gonna say it, best I kill it at the pass. Or start a whole new conversation. Either way... :)
how does this photo make you feel Bonnie? :)
http://www.beo.ie/pics/11941.jpg
17/01/2013, 6:44 PM
I joined this site on January 15, 2009. 4 bloody years talking shoite.
When I saw that I thought "I must have been around then too" then I checked and realised it was October 2006. I'm 30 in a couple of weeks and will be married in less than 6 months. Time is moving scarily fast. Someone cuddle me...
17/01/2013, 7:43 PM
how does this photo make you feel Bonnie? :)
http://www.beo.ie/pics/11941.jpg
Moist.
18/01/2013, 9:36 AM
I didn't get tickets to The Knife this morning. I was in bad form.
I then received notice that two of my mates did. My mood has staged a spectacular turnaround. Get in to ****! :)
20/01/2013, 8:28 PM
Why do Sky trot out meaningless statistics during a game such as the % possession figures for the past 5 MINUTES!!?
Spudulika
20/01/2013, 9:06 PM
Was a back seat passenger with my little lad on the way home from the gym. Queen came on Silver Rain FM, Bohemian Rhapsody. So, of course, I started singing and acting up. My son told me to stop, my other half too, so I went a little quiet for parts until both began laughing. The whole time I was caught between Wayne's World and Father Noel. Am I sick to prefer the latter version? I can't hear the song now without Graham Norton screeching "Meeeeee!!!".
And only on Friday giving a talk to clients I was asked about "sombre" music for events, and I thought of "Dies Irae" and remembered watching a full orchestral and choral production of the piece here in Russia, and I kept giggling through Dies Irae (Day of Wrath) when I thought of Father Ted. #needhelpmuch (just to annoy anti-taggers :-) )
21/01/2013, 7:43 PM
The Beards are my new favourite band.
https://fbcdn-sphotos-f-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/734661_10151188768246574_155873488_n.jpg
22/01/2013, 2:40 PM
I'm so fuppppping bored in this job! GAH!
What was I thinking!
22/01/2013, 3:54 PM
I'm so fuppppping bored in this job! GAH!
What was I thinking!
At least you have a job. I didn't get out of bed until 2pm because of the sheer thought of doing nothing all day yet again.
On a positive note though, I might be getting a bar job. On a negative note, that means weekend work, which would restrict attendance of matches.
The dilemma ensues.
22/01/2013, 3:58 PM
At least you have a job. I didn't get out of bed until 2pm because of the sheer thought of doing nothing all day yet again.
On a positive note though, I might be getting a bar job. On a negative note, that means weekend work, which would restrict attendance of matches.
The dilemma ensues.
I note the potential alcoholism is not a thing you're considering as an issue.
22/01/2013, 4:10 PM
I note the potential alcoholism is not a thing you're considering as an issue.
Potential?
peadar1987
22/01/2013, 4:11 PM
The dilemma ensues.
I feel for you Nigel. I had 12 months of that, worst year of my life.
22/01/2013, 4:26 PM
I feel for you Nigel. I had 12 months of that, worst year of my life.
Right now I'd take it.
However that's just me feeling sorry for myself and a glib statement.
in reality I'd lose my mind.
Though the talk of voluntary redundancies here is rather intriguing.
22/01/2013, 4:29 PM
I'm at the stage now where I'm considering running my own gig promotion company of sorts. Setting up gigs and promoting them and hope to feck I make 50 or 100 quid a week out of them. In Letterkenny, it's not a great career opportunity, but it's extra money.
You don't know boredom until you've sat around for a year and a half doing nothing.
22/01/2013, 4:40 PM
I'm at the stage now where I'm considering running my own gig promotion company of sorts. Setting up gigs and promoting them and hope to feck I make 50 or 100 quid a week out of them. In Letterkenny, it's not a great career opportunity, but it's extra money.
You don't know boredom until you've sat around for a year and a half doing nothing.
I did it for 3 months after Oz in 2006 and I was fit to be tied.
Goiod idea so you're not idle though. Money is money.
From having the same experience when i first moved to Canada (13 months waiting for work visa) i understand the boredom levels. In fact, it was more than boredom, i sunk into a bit of depression. I would be wary of that Nigel. Im gonna sound like an Irish mammy but staying up til all hours and getting up in the afternoon (as i did) is bad news. I actually ended up volunteering 3-4 days a week and coached a local soccer team in Sask (blind leading the blind... ;) ) and it brought me out of my slump. Id recommend doing the same if it is an option. It wont pay the bills but it will make you feel better in the long run.
Also, take the bar job if youre offered it. Who cares about missing matches? Despite what we sometimes think, theres more important things than football.
22/01/2013, 6:09 PM
Ah yeah of course Stu, the missing matches was more tongue in cheek. If I got offered the job there would be no hesitation.
Slumped into a bit of depression before and I know how awful that feels. It's why I remain fairly active, like playing football, playing darts, and of course, playing with the band. It keeps me relatively sane.
23/01/2013, 12:24 AM
At just 23 years old, I'm 8469 days on this planet. Interesting. Counting down till 10,000 days.
theworm2345
23/01/2013, 12:55 AM
http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/50554460/ns/technology_and_science-science/
I've been saying this for years. If human beings were any other type of animal we would consider them beyond an infestation and be trying to cull them by the billions.
gastric
23/01/2013, 10:24 AM
At just 23 years old, I'm 8469 days on this planet. Interesting. Counting down till 10,000 days.
F##k me Nigel I am old enough to be your father!Left Ireland when you were 3! I left in the last great exodus, but today's economic situation is certainly 100% worse. My brother just survived redundancy, the Ireland of today is a tragic place to live. Bonnie, just out of interest, are you glad you returned home from Oz? This site always intrigues me as as in regards to eligibility and such issues as a possible football academy, I find that time, distance and culture mean that I find I have become more Aussie in attitude than I possibly totally understand.
23/01/2013, 10:42 AM
F##k me Nigel I am old enough to be your father!Left Ireland when you were 3! I left in the last great exodus, but today's economic situation is certainly 100% worse. My brother just survived redundancy, the Ireland of today is a tragic place to live. Bonnie, just out of interest, are you glad you returned home from Oz? This site always intrigues me as as in regards to eligibility and such issues as a possible football academy, I find that time, distance and culture mean that I find I have become more Aussie in attitude than I possibly totally understand.
The Ireland of today isn't as bad as it would be made out everywhere. Granted it's not amazing right now but I don't see it being somewhere I couldn't live.
I have no regrets coming home from Oz. I hated it there. I had some good times and met some great people, a lot of whom I still see and count as friends but my only regret from my move is that I went over for the wrong reasons and in the wrong mind-space. That may have changed my abhorrence for the place.
I had no idea you were over there so long. I thought you were one of the class of 2003-2006. I humbly apologise in that case for being such a boll** to ya in discussions about Irish nationality etc. I will be more understanding. I find it fascinating that as Ray Houghton scored the goal in Giants Stadium you were in a bar in St Kilda quaffing VB or a Tooheys. :)
gastric
23/01/2013, 11:07 AM
need to apologise for any comments regarding eligibility as I know I make some out of touch comments and I have to live with the consequences. Personally, that thread plus the academy thread have shown me how Australian I have become in attitude. I met an Australian girl in London and came here for a year and now this is home. My comment about Ireland being a tragic place was not meant to sound condescending more regret that again people have no choice, but to leave. I recently went to the Immigration Museum in Melbourne to see the 'Leaving Dublin' Exhibition and I found it quite emotional. Even though I probably left for economic reasons I have never felt regret about my situation, but I do worry about family and friends in Ireland.
23/01/2013, 11:27 AM
need to apologise for any comments regarding eligibility as I know I make some out of touch comments and I have to live with the consequences. Personally, that thread plus the academy thread have shown me how Australian I have become in attitude. I met an Australian girl in London and came here for a year and now this is home. My comment about Ireland being a tragic place was not meant to sound condescending more regret that again people have no choice, but to leave. I recently went to the Immigration Museum in Melbourne to see the 'Leaving Dublin' Exhibition and I found it quite emotional. Even though I probably left for economic reasons I have never felt regret about my situation, but I do worry about family and friends in Ireland.
The time frame of your exit makes a difference. Like I said I thought you were a recent migrant which make your statements sound dumb sometimes. In context however I now understand why you may seem out of touch... it's because you're gone a long long time. No matter. I still think I owe you an apology for it.
I didn't take your comment about Ireland as condescending. Don't worry. I do think though people make out it's a lot worse here than it really is. It's not great but it's nothing like the 80's.
peadar1987
23/01/2013, 11:59 AM
Didn't realise you were so young, I'd always imagined you being much older (possibly because I didn't make the connection between 1954 and Harps)
I imagine BonnieShels as a woman in her mid 70s though, so maybe I'm not the best of judges
23/01/2013, 12:26 PM
Didn't realise you were so young, I'd always imagined you being much older (possibly because I didn't make the connection between 1954 and Harps)
I imagine BonnieShels as a woman in her mid 70s though, so maybe I'm not the best of judges
Don't let my fluthuileach and cantankerous nature fool ya.
just wanted to say that when i was back both times last year, it really reminded me of what a f*cking brilliant place Ireland still is and what a great, culturally diverse city Dublin has become. I prefer the attitude of today than the arrogance of the Celtic Tiger days. I miss home a lot, recession or no.
23/01/2013, 3:25 PM
I've often thought similar about other folks from forums until I meet them. Worst was meeting someone thinking it was a guy, who turned out to be a woman. That was a shock to say the least.
Worst was meeting someone thinking it was a guy, who turned out to be a woman.
this + drinking lattes + Les Miz.... ;)
peadar1987
23/01/2013, 3:36 PM
I've often thought similar about other folks from forums until I meet them. Worst was meeting someone thinking it was a guy, who turned out to be a woman. That was a shock to say the least.
Was it Magicme (god rest her soul)?
23/01/2013, 3:44 PM
this + drinking lattes + Les Miz.... ;)
A reverse Tranny? Jeepers. We're into all sorts on here aren't we.
23/01/2013, 3:58 PM
http://blogidaho.biz/bighole.jpg
A reverse Tranny? Jeepers. We're into all sorts on here aren't we.
we are the perverts of society.
23/01/2013, 5:07 PM
we are the perverts of society.
First thing I thought of...
www.youtube.com/watch?v=IScz-m4BD_0
Spudulika
23/01/2013, 6:20 PM
I love Ireland! Love it! I'm proud of Ireland, probably **** off people here saying so, but to hell with it, I love the country! I love these things especially:
1. You bump into someone, sorry, you smash into someone, send them on their rear, and THEY say Sorry! And it's genuine.
2. Smiles - there is nothing like it anywhere else in the developed world.
3. Chatting with cashiers - why? Because Irish people treat people behind the till decently, as people.
4. Helpfulness - we've all taken someone where they wanted to go, we've all given directions, we always try our best.
5. Having a yap - striking up a conversation without fear of being beaten up, arrested and then locked away (in that order).
6. Having someone look at you (or you look at them) and nodding and/or saying "How's it going/Howya/How are you/Hello" or, in Dundalk "Well"
7. Sports - love sports in Ireland, we've like a petri dish, people love loads of mad stuff and can talk about it.
8. TV - some good stuff on there and despite griipes I'd have on occasion with RTE current affairs, it really does match up.
9. Weather - watching knee deep in snow, in -16 today, thinking of green grass at home. Complain as we wish, but Irish weather is great for the complexion and soul.
10. People - Irish people are great craic (twee as that sounds), even in bad situations we crack ourselves up. I'll explain.
My Aunts are rather religious, one especially. I land home and they're telling me, you Dad is gone, sure he's better off, and sure didn't he go peacefully etc. Of course it was bojjox, so when speaking with the Doctor (after my bro brought up about not turning off machines etc) I joked about not letting my Aunts near the plugs. My sis exploded with laughter, the nurse too, the Doc was worried about me. I then told him to keep pillows away from the bed too, reminding him of One Flew Over the Cuckoo's nest. I tried joking once here in a hospital and was forcefully ordered out of the room.
Ireland is the best!
23/01/2013, 6:43 PM
RTE? are u fecking serious, lol:confused:. But yeah I also miss the old sod, working with English people and its BORING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
24/01/2013, 1:32 AM
On another note, I just realised, the band and myself are starting work on our new EP this weekend. So, I know I won't go completely insane with boredom, I'll just go insane editing music all over again.
It's perfectly fine when you record another band. You edit their stuff, happy enough, and on your way.
It's a different story recording yourself. When you know you made the slightest little mistake on the guitar, or your voice just squeaked a little bit for half a second in the wrong place. It's a b!tch trying to edit those things that can't be edited for fear of making it too polished.
The little things..
24/01/2013, 9:29 AM
I on the other hand finally re-stringed my guitar and am getting back on the wagon. WHOOP!
I'm actually excited leaving work and dying to get home to play.
In saying that, I do hate my job so that's a bonus.
24/01/2013, 4:47 PM
Gah to wimmin!
Now I'll be able to write a blues ditty once I get my musical rhythm back.
Cool! I started to play again before Xmas but am finding it tough to find the time...
24/01/2013, 9:59 PM
Well I was on the way home and I discovered this song (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nEwgCHL_o88)
And whilst the video is pretty, It's a whopper tune.
How has it escaped my attention since 2010?
24/01/2013, 10:20 PM
Sounds like Kraftwerk with a woman singing.
25/01/2013, 2:02 AM
Was it Magicme (god rest her soul)?
Boo! Am I still with you or am I a ghost back to haunt those lucky feckers with LOI clubs.
25/01/2013, 9:03 AM
Boo! Am I still with you or am I a ghost back to haunt those lucky feckers with LOI clubs.
It's mad. Kildareman did the same thing when someone mentioned Kildare County back in 2007. Hilarious stuff Ms Me.
25/01/2013, 12:30 PM
I'm surprised I beat Mr A to this!
Naked Florida Man Jumps Off Roof Onto Homeowner, Knocks Television Over, Empties Vacuum Cleaner, Masturbates (http://gawker.com/5978198/naked-flor...er-masturbates)
peadar1987
25/01/2013, 12:56 PM
Anything going on at Mons these days? Am I right in saying the club actually still exist, they've just pulled their LOI team because of costs?
25/01/2013, 5:47 PM
Day one of pre-production on the EP completed. Drums sounding excellent. Loving the new equipment. Everything's coming up Milhouse.
26/01/2013, 11:17 AM
I'm surprised I beat Mr A to this!
Naked Florida Man Jumps Off Roof Onto Homeowner, Knocks Television Over, Empties Vacuum Cleaner, Masturbates (http://gawker.com/5978198/naked-flor...er-masturbates)
A whole range of euphemisms arising from that one.
26/01/2013, 12:09 PM
A whole range of euphemisms arising from that one.
that's what she said!