View Full Version : The say anything, what's on your mind thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 [116] 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158

27/06/2012, 4:10 PM
Our way? After 800 years it appears you have developed Stockholm syndrome :p Break free from the chains of your colonial tormentor and rebel by referring to multiple people acting as a unit in the singular. What do you think the American Revolution was about?

Well that and the ability to marry your sexy cousins.

theworm2345
27/06/2012, 4:28 PM
Well that and the ability to marry your sexy cousins.
I'm sorry, I can't take anything you say seriously until you learn to drive on the proper side of the road.

27/06/2012, 4:39 PM
I'm sorry, I can't take anything you say seriously until you learn to drive on the proper side of the road.

Ha, when you guys initiate a "driving test" come back to me about driving. :P

I'm petrified about driving amongst ye in WA and OR in July.

theworm2345
27/06/2012, 4:47 PM
Ha, when you guys initiate a "driving test" come back to me about driving. :P

I'm petrified about driving amongst ye in WA and OR in July.
That's not fair, we do have both a written and actual driving test but, due to equality laws, they have to make it so easy that even prospective women drivers can pass it.

27/06/2012, 5:30 PM
Yeah... I would love to see ye do your test here!

Not to make light of it... but this is shocking...

http://www.guardian.co.uk/news/datablog/interactive/2011/nov/22/us-road-accident-casualties

shantykelly
27/06/2012, 10:48 PM
try doing your test in the north, and then driving with R plates for a year. Learn to use roundabouts!!!!

27/06/2012, 10:52 PM
try doing your test in the north, and then driving with R plates for a year. Learn to use roundabouts!!!!

You talking to me?

The standards of driving in the north over the last few years like the state of the roads has plummeted!

Was in Newry and Markethill on Monday and holey moley the messing that was going on. Shocking altogether.

theworm2345
28/06/2012, 12:53 AM
Yeah... I would love to see ye do your test here!
I've spent the last 6 years with my license (+ some with a learner's permit) dodging female and Asian drivers (I'd assume there aren't nearly as many Asians there as here, unless you live on Craggy Island) and have managed to maintain a perfect driving record -- and that's predominately driving an SUV...roundabouts and sheep don't frighten me. You've already admitted you're "petrified" to drive here so surely that would mean its more difficult to drive here?

28/06/2012, 1:31 AM
My fear is that there's gonna be Americans on the road. And Canadians. I'm driving from Vancouver (BC, not WA) to Portland.

theworm2345
29/06/2012, 7:55 PM
My fear is that there's gonna be Americans on the road. And Canadians. I'm driving from Vancouver (BC, not WA) to Portland.
Well to be honest it just sounds like you drive like a granny ;). I will say this, at least in Chicago there can be half a foot of snow and people will be fine on the roads, but if there is even a slight drizzle of rain all of the sudden its gridlock and this was very evident today on Lake Shore Drive.

I can only imagine what it must've been like for Stutts if he was driving you to Poland, especially if it was on the Autobahn..."slow down," "you're going to fast," "you're going to get us killed." :p

Eminence Grise
29/06/2012, 10:57 PM
Was conferred with my doctorate today. Finally, no more study (mind you, that's what I said the last time too...)

30/06/2012, 1:21 AM
Congrats EG!

Now, have a beer for chris'sakes.

30/06/2012, 1:24 AM
Well to be honest it just sounds like you drive like a granny ;). I will say this, at least in Chicago there can be half a foot of snow and people will be fine on the roads, but if there is even a slight drizzle of rain all of the sudden its gridlock and this was very evident today on Lake Shore Drive.

I can only imagine what it must've been like for Stutts if he was driving you to Poland, especially if it was on the Autobahn..."slow down," "you're going to fast," "you're going to get us killed." :p

I have no idea where you pulled that assumption from at all. Cripes.

I have too many Canadian friends that suck at driving for it to be a fluke. Couple that with the fact that Yanks really can't drive leads me to believe that it's gonna be hairy.

Ah well... 2 weeks to go. Whoop!

30/06/2012, 8:27 PM
My first EP was released today. Awesomeballs. Tis a good feeling to have something 'officially released'.

01/07/2012, 6:01 AM
When will the world discover the chicken fillet roll? :mad:

01/07/2012, 1:39 PM
When will the world discover the chicken fillet roll? :mad:

And on a similar note... When will the world discover taco sauce?

01/07/2012, 1:58 PM
Damn straight, when will the world discover taco sauce inside a chicken fillet roll.

01/07/2012, 2:48 PM
Congrats Nigel on your EP

01/07/2012, 9:07 PM
Cheers man. Glad to finally see the day it hit the interwebs and other peoples computers rather than just my own.

02/07/2012, 1:32 AM
Limerick win...I manage to get up and at 4am and watch the Euro final....Yokohama FC win 4-0...no work today....nice.

Paddyfield
03/07/2012, 7:04 PM
I was in going through security at Malaga Airport when Spain got their first goal in the Euro 2012 Final. There were no televisions in the area but there was an enormous cheer throughout the airport as word filtered through in seconds.

And I couldn't help but think that this was an ideal opportunity to breach security.

04/07/2012, 6:48 PM
Finally getting my internet sorted after 5 months of waiting tomorrow. On a sh*t note though, my dog of 15 years passed on Monday which was horrible. Awful day, never easy losing the family pet.

So, 9 and a half months later, I get myself another dog. Missed the company of a dog more than anything else. Terrier cross called Teddy. Grand wee chap.

04/07/2012, 10:55 PM
Belgium's not a bad auld country, was over there for a festival, just back today.

04/07/2012, 11:00 PM
Rock Werchter is supposed to be amazing over there. Few friends go over every year now. Meant to go last year, was on a waiting list for tickets but never got one unfortunately.

Spudulika
05/07/2012, 6:56 AM
Now this will sound weird, anyway. On tv there's a kids show that is plucked straight from 1980's RTE, beside me a naked kid playing with a motorbike, we're both melting, desperate to get out into the 30degree heat before it rises further. But one stupid, annoying woman has messed up enough (make that 2 actually) so that I'm wasting a day off trying to organise travel and training, and for the other writing "announcements" for different services here in Russia. So, right now, I've decided, to hell with this. The tv show is driving me nuts, he's not interested and I'm wasting time that I should be spending with my little lad as he goes "down the country" for 2 weeks to his grandad (to be spoiled rotten of course). SO off with this laptop and out we go. Life's too short.

05/07/2012, 8:56 AM
Belgium is a savage spot altogether.

Real ale Madrid
05/07/2012, 9:04 AM
Did someone mention Belgium ?

Live here during the week - and its far from savage! Its alright tho in fairness. Just sick of the travelling.

05/07/2012, 9:29 AM
Rock Werchter is supposed to be amazing over there. Few friends go over every year now. Meant to go last year, was on a waiting list for tickets but never got one unfortunately.
Yeah it was pretty good alright, awesome weather too, camped for 5 days and stayed 2 nights in Brussels, shocking amount of walking was done, feet are still fecking sore, might go again next year thou, enjoyed it a lot more than I ever did oxegen or picnic.

Leuvens a nice lil town/city and Brussels has some very pretty spots too and lots to do for tourists without being overly expensive, its cheaper than dublin anyway.. Their public transports far superior to ours from the little bit I seen.

05/07/2012, 10:36 AM
Fancy setting up a support group for those without an LOI club MagicMe?? :(

06/07/2012, 2:55 AM
Fancy setting up a support group for those without an LOI club MagicMe?? :(

Ahem... You have a club.

06/07/2012, 10:37 AM
Yer all free to go to town games.

Paddyfield
06/07/2012, 8:04 PM
Berlin is vey unGerman. That's why it's so cool.

Except when you walk across an empty street when the red light is on. To say that 'it is frowned upon' is an understatement.

06/07/2012, 10:02 PM
Anyone in Cavan for the ProjectX party? That Gavin lad is gonna be in deep deep trouble when his parents find out!

07/07/2012, 1:31 AM
Berlin is vey unGerman. That's why it's so cool.

Except when you walk across an empty street when the red light is on. To say that 'it is frowned upon' is an understatement.
I found it was a bit the same in Belgium, people will run across any gap in the road at all in any Irish town!

07/07/2012, 3:37 AM
Poznan was on another plain to what I've experienced Germany and Belgium.

07/07/2012, 8:51 AM
Try it in Russia. Nearly got my passport confiscated.

Paddyfield
08/07/2012, 8:03 PM
What opinions dose your average Joe Soap/Hans Soap on the German street have of us? When you compare the way we socialise, drive, dress etc, they must think we are unusual. I don't mean to generalise, but come on.

They almost park in alphabetic order and we double park but we leave our hazard warning lights on which tells the world that we will only be a few minutes.

"I'm just getting a kebab but I want to eat it hot therefore I am not parking in that space 20 meters away".

09/07/2012, 10:57 AM
German bloke that I used to live with before said we deal with stuff a lot better than in Germany, like if the bus is late in Germany (which does happend from time to time) people will start sweating, phoning the bus company, almost panicing, but if it happens here, we just go "fcuking typical" and continue waiting
Another thing he noticed was that people in a queue will talk to each other, even if it's just to ask for the right time, or comment on the weather, and that doesn't happen in Germany at all

Paddyfield
09/07/2012, 6:55 PM
Another thing he noticed was that people in a queue will talk to each other, even if it's just to ask for the right time, or comment on the weather, and that doesn't happen in Germany at all

That's not surprising seeing as Germans don't know how to form a queue.

Not once but twice, my 5 year old daughter was pushed (and I mean pushed) when an Elevator door opened. They just don't hang about. That said, I loved Berlin and am returning in August for a weekend.

oscar
11/07/2012, 11:25 PM
the germans...you gotta love them...tried twice to take over europe with the bomb and all it took was a pen

12/07/2012, 1:23 PM
the germans...you gotta love them...tried twice to take over europe with the bomb and all it took was a pen

Ballpoint or fountain?

A N Mouse
12/07/2012, 8:28 PM
Ballpoint or fountain?

Montblanc, naturlich!

12/07/2012, 8:30 PM
I'm going to Canada in the morning and I've not packed a thing. YAHOO!!!!

13/07/2012, 5:13 PM
You are on your way ya boy ya! Enjoy! I would be jealous only have my own wee trip to Vegas and San Fran to look forward to next weekend! :D

Paddyfield
13/07/2012, 9:29 PM
You are on your way ya boy ya! Enjoy! I would be jealous only have my own wee trip to Vegas and San Fran to look forward to next weekend! :D

Vegas is awesome. Have you heard of the twenty dollar trick? I tried it twice and it worked both times. Basically, you wrap a $20 note around your credit card when you check in and ask for the best room available. I stayed at the Mandaly Bay and then a few years later the MGM Grand. I got bumped up both times. Where are you staying?

Check out www.thetwentydollartrick.com

15/07/2012, 9:58 PM
Slovakia tomorrow...HUP THE ROVERS!

16/07/2012, 4:39 PM
Goodbye Ottawa! Hello Vancouver!

theworm2345
17/07/2012, 12:23 AM
German mayor defends 'men only' parking spots

A town in southwest Germany has drawn accusations of sexism after designating two particularly tricky parking spaces "men only."

The mayor of the Black Forest town of Triberg says women would find it difficult to park there because drivers need to back in diagonally without hitting a pillar and a wall.

Gallus Strobel noted that 12 places in the 220-capacity car park are reserved for women. Many German cities designate a small number of parking spaces, usually near exits, for women concerned about their personal safety in poorly-lit garages.

Strobel told The Associated Press on Thursday that he had received overwhelmingly positive reactions from men who feel discriminated against by "women only" parking.

But the Triberg mayor says some "humourless people" had criticized the move.

http://www.cbc.ca/news/world/story/2012/07/12/triberg-germany-all-men-parking.html

Say what you will about the Germans, but brilliant ideas like these are why they basically supporting Europe right now.

20/07/2012, 6:15 AM
So I've spent the last 3 days on Vancouver Island and I'm gonna get the ferry to Washington tomorrow.
Gonna be sad leaving Canada.
What a country.

ArdeeBhoy
20/07/2012, 6:26 AM
Surely this should be under 'Travel', as would have like to have read your thoughts?

And why go to the US when you can go to Canada?