That still going on?
Well done!
26/03/2012, 10:38 PM
Sure is. :D
horton
30/03/2012, 8:07 AM
Copied from boards.ie:
I spend the last week in Donegal and while heading along a section of the main N56 I came across the scene below....http://b-static.net/vbulletin/images/smilies/eek.gif
http://i174.photobucket.com/albums/w112/RPMotors/DSCF3567.jpg
There was no sign of any other cars and I had no phone signal....I spent maybe 15 mins checking the cab and surrounding area for the driver or anyone who may have been hurt....but nothing...it was a bit surreal actually. I turned and drove back down the road until I had signal, got the number for the closest garda station and called....then the best bit...."we know about that, we can't get any equipment to move it until tomorrow"(this was sunday)...when I asked why there was no road closed/diversion signs he just said "sure most people who'd use that road know its been there for a couple of days!" He then proceeded to give me direction of how to get around it!
N56 between Ardara and Killybegs
Could only happen in Donegal!:D
That's superb.
Every day seems to bring another story highlighting Garda incompetence.
It's a good job it stays bright all year round in Donegal.
30/03/2012, 10:31 PM
Last trip on mons supporters bus. Forced to listen to some Irish music muck on way home as if wasn't depressed enough from losing to UCD.
First
31/03/2012, 10:50 AM
Last trip on mons supporters bus. Forced to listen to some Irish music muck on way home as if wasn't depressed enough from losing to UCD.
Witchie?
31/03/2012, 12:32 PM
Why not stay in Dublin.
I want a strawberry daiquiri.
horton
01/04/2012, 6:07 PM
Got a flat wheel, and annoyingly most garages don't open on a sunday, eventually found a "back street" type place who told me to leave it with them and it'll be fixed no problem. Went back and he said he couldn't fix it because of it's size. He also had helped himself to the wee screw cap thing for where you put air in. Not a happy bunny. I've a job interview tomorrow which i'm more anxious about than I was this morning:rolleyes:
Sean South
02/04/2012, 9:34 AM
If you looked in your boot you might have found a jack, wheel brace, and spare wheel!
02/04/2012, 9:53 AM
was in the viaduct inn in Cork on friday evening, overheard someone at the bar mention foot.ie to the barman, anyone want to own up?
03/04/2012, 1:32 PM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/p480x480/420563_10150727995525681_695860680_11774577_913886 41_n.jpg
03/04/2012, 11:26 PM
That's just a list of suggestions of what to do if bored shopping. I have consistently received the contents of that article plus other similar suggestions included therein in emails for the last 10 years.
EAFC_rdfl
04/04/2012, 9:20 AM
Well I laughed
04/04/2012, 12:25 PM
http://gizmodo.com/5898382/priest-accidentally-plays-hardcore-gay-porn-slideshow-to-congregation
Hilarious
Spudulika
04/04/2012, 7:49 PM
3 times today I was nearly run over looking the wrong way crossing the road. Once by a Lada Zhiguli driven at high speed (for it) illegally through a red light. 2nd by Volga that bumped a kerb and almost sideswiped me (melting snow, wet road, dodgy tyres) and the 3rd and last time by an UAZ Patriot driven by a tool who came flying out of an underground garage while texting. And at the end of it all I asked myself, why couldn't I have gotten a nice BMW to nearly kill me? Or at least a Skoda.
Eminence Grise
04/04/2012, 10:26 PM
Never fear! We'd call you Skodaulika if that were to happen.... :car:
Spudulika
05/04/2012, 7:13 PM
;) Thank you!
horton
06/04/2012, 5:32 AM
If you looked in your boot you might have found a jack, wheel brace, and spare wheel!
It's one of those space saver yokes which are rubbish, especially as I had to leave my dad up to Dublin. He's now had a successful heart bypass done in Blackrock:D, drove over 1000 miles this week up and down, REALLY looking forward to a beer this evening, i'm shattered!
Spudulika
06/04/2012, 1:22 PM
Went to watch an under 19 game, saw at least 2 kids who couldn't kick snow off a rope (or side of a pitch) and tomorrow go to see their senior teams go at it, followed by Leinster-Cardiff and then a going away party. And Spring has just started, life is good!
06/04/2012, 1:26 PM
Am proud of my son. He has just scoffed bacon and sausages washed down with a beer. I think am doing a great job with instilling the anti religion attitude.
06/04/2012, 1:47 PM
Sandwiches. That is all.
Eminence Grise
07/04/2012, 10:11 AM
Oh well, just to get it over:
Post No. 666 - the number of the beast.
:devilish:
Eminence Grise
07/04/2012, 10:12 AM
Post 667 - the neighbour of the beast!
07/04/2012, 1:06 PM
Wait til you get to post 668... the hot student banging the beast.
Eminence Grise
07/04/2012, 1:50 PM
That's the beast with two backs, Bonnie!!
(Which is at least two more than Shamrock Rovers had last night!!! And they were well f***ed too!!!)
Hairy Bowsie
09/04/2012, 10:17 AM
Am proud of my son. He has just scoffed bacon and sausages washed down with a beer. I think am doing a great job with instilling the anti religion attitude.
Alcoholism and high cholesterol. You're doing a great job, they should give you a medal.
theworm2345
09/04/2012, 1:12 PM
Alcoholism and high cholesterol. You're doing a great job, they should give you a medal.
Shut up you soy milk-drinking vegan pussy! :p
09/04/2012, 6:04 PM
Since he rarely drinks am not overly worried about that.
horton
09/04/2012, 9:28 PM
Since he rarely drinks am not overly worried about that.
Have you ever been out in Emyvale? is it really such a boring place to live that three pubs can coexist next door to each in what is essentially a small village?
Spudulika
10/04/2012, 6:05 PM
Try Nobber (no reference there to MagicMe), 2 pubs, one of them does funeral services. Once we were in there after work for a game of snooker/pool and were told we couldn't as there was a body laid out for viewing. Didn't play there again, oddly.
10/04/2012, 10:37 PM
Strangely the same as the pub I play Darts out of Spud, doubles up as a Funeral Directors. Often see the owner off to get the newspaper in the morning in the hearse.
11/04/2012, 12:45 AM
When the Mons Supporters Club did the 12 pubs of Christmas I nearly got kicked out of a pub that was also a funeral directors coz one of the lads handed me what I thought was a black coat and I was about to put it on when the barman came running out and snatched it off me. It was one of those covers they put on coffins when they are taking them out of the house. Ooops.
If I lived in Emyvale I would want more than 3 pubs. Would need the taps in the house to pour beer instead of water.
Eminence Grise
11/04/2012, 8:48 AM
Have you ever been out in Emyvale? is it really such a boring place to live that three pubs can coexist next door to each in what is essentially a small village?
About 20 years ago, Shamrock Rovers played a friendly to mark the opening of Lough Harps pitch in Ballinlough (Roscommon). After the game, I heard one of the Rovers fans marvel about the village: '800 people... and 22 pubs!'
11/04/2012, 9:25 AM
About 20 years ago, Shamrock Rovers played a friendly to mark the opening of Lough Harps pitch in Ballinlough (Roscommon). After the game, I heard one of the Rovers fans marvel about the village: '800 people... and 22 pubs!'
Is that true! What town has the record anyway?
Not sure.. but I think there's lots of places that claim it. I know Cobh has a crazy number of pubs for its size and I'm pretty sure some people there claim the honour.
Spudulika
11/04/2012, 11:26 AM
Killala, down for a match weekend (Easter as it happens) and somebody said - there's more pubs than cars here. And I remember the locals all showing photos of them in Year of the French which was shot not too long before in the area. Long time ago!
Eminence Grise
11/04/2012, 12:46 PM
Ballinlough did have a crazy number of pubs. Ballaghaderreen, about 20 minutes away (pop. c.1600 at the time) had over 40 pubs. A good few are virtually defunct now, and keep going just to maintain the licence, with grocery/hardware/farm supplies etc the main focus.
Oliver St John Gogarty once wrote about Ballaghaderreen (iirc in 'Tumbling in the Hay') that every house had a pub, except for the convent and the police - and you could never be sure of the police. I'd take the word of any man who won an olympic games medal for poetry very seriously!
Not sure.. but I think there's lots of places that claim it. I know Cobh has a crazy number of pubs for its size and I'm pretty sure some people there claim the honour.
Aha!
http://img.thesun.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00384/Stephen_Ireland_cel_384591a.jpg
Makes a lot of sense... (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fetal_alcohol_syndrome)
We used to stop there coming home from games against Harps/derry. until we stopped during duck killing season (or whatever it was called). The worst smell I've ever encountered. Even in a smoky pub you couldn't get away from it.
11/04/2012, 5:30 PM
Bought a bottle of that 'Football Special' stuff today that ye Donegal/Nordies rave about...such a let down.
horton
11/04/2012, 5:42 PM
It was a once in a blue moon treat for me when I was growing up. I think the rarity of it greatly enhanced its appeal. Nowadays it's quite common to find in shops here, and it's a bit meh IMO. That banana flavoured version is feckin' horrid though!
11/04/2012, 11:17 PM
It's not the same as it used to be. When you used to get it in glass bottles it was the most amazing drink on the planet. It's just not the same as it used to be. Don't know whether they changed ingredients or what has happened, but since they changed the labels and put it into them silly looking plastic bottles it's just not been the same. When I was younger I used to get one once a month or so as a treat and just made my childhood.
Essentially Dunny, it's a soft drink, made with Donegal spring water and a whole shed load of different fruits and vegetables or something like that. As the story goes, it was made in Ramelton in Donegal by lads who wanted an alternative to alcoholic beverages when 'filling the cup' after winning a tournament.
11/04/2012, 11:28 PM
Maybe because ye didn't have it too often it felt like it was something special/nicer? I remember I used to be mad for Dr. Pepper when I was younger cos could only get it when I'd be in England, not the same now they sell it here.
12/04/2012, 1:32 AM
http://www.independent.ie/national-news/family-soft-drink-set-to-create-a-fizz-nationwide-2559019.html
His father Jim and his uncles chanced on the unique combination of ingredients over 50 years ago and luckily his uncle Eamon -- who had trained in a soft drinks company in Belfast -- recorded the quantities so it could be recreated.
"My father was a founder member of the Swilly Rovers Football Club in Ramelton and they were trying to come up with a soft drink that could be put into the cup after a win, instead of whiskey.
"The fruit syrup flavours that are used are all fairly common and shouldn't belong together but they do," he said.
12/04/2012, 4:53 PM
I'm dying.