View Full Version : The say anything, what's on your mind thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 [118] 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158

23/08/2012, 12:26 AM
You just couldn't make this stuff up

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/rte-leaves-mayor-under-the-weather-3207511.html

TOURISTS have been put off visiting Ireland's most northerly county by inaccurate weather forecasts, a town mayor has complained.

Mayor of Letterkenny Dessie Larkin said there is a perception that all it does in Co Donegal is rain when, in fact, this summer has been much better than had been portrayed on RTE by forecasts.

Funnily enough, I remember hearing on local radio here that businesses in Belgium (iirc) were taking legal action against their national weather forecasters due to inaccurate weather forecasts that had affected tourism and therefore, their businesses... Crazy stuff! (I'll see if I can find it online)

Here: http://www.npr.org/2012/08/17/158109366/belgian-town-may-sue-over-soggy-weather-forecasts

peadar1987
23/08/2012, 7:40 AM
My family used to go on holiday to Donegal every year for a few weeks, loved it! The first time I can really clearly remember was a two week spell in the summer of 1995, absolute scorcher, I don't think there was a cloud for 14 days. That's permanently affected my impression of the north-west, and now I always feel vaguely let-down and disappointed if it's cloudy or rainy at all!

peadar1987
23/08/2012, 7:42 AM
Cork, on the other hand...

23/08/2012, 9:28 AM
I think the guy has a point- I've been home a lot more than usual this summer and can honestly say that it has been a vastly better summer in Donegal than it has in Galway. There have been a lot of weekends where it was woeful in Galway but very nice indeed in Buncrana.

On the other hand the reason weather forecasts are wrong is because is spectacularly difficult to do accurately over anything but short timescales and there isn't any real way of getting away from that.

23/08/2012, 10:09 AM
Seems to be a way of getting cheap advertising to be honest.

On the other hand, maybe local authorities should be allowed to pay Met Éireann for a better forecast. That'd be fun.

peadar1987
23/08/2012, 10:14 AM
This reminds me of the drought the south of England had earlier this year. People were ringing up giving out the weather forecasters complaining that it was raining but the reservoirs were still empty. As if it was their fault!

23/08/2012, 1:02 PM
I think the guy has a point- I've been home a lot more than usual this summer and can honestly say that it has been a vastly better summer in Donegal than it has in Galway. There have been a lot of weekends where it was woeful in Galway but very nice indeed in Buncrana.

On the other hand the reason weather forecasts are wrong is because is spectacularly difficult to do accurately over anything but short timescales and there isn't any real way of getting away from that.

It's always woeful in Galway.
I've never been to Galway where it hasn't rained.

Not to exaggerate and get the mayor of Galway onto me.

23/08/2012, 6:08 PM
It's always woeful in Galway.
I've never been to Galway where it hasn't rained.

Not to exaggerate and get the mayor of Galway onto me.

Funny, when my girlfriend lived in Galway it always ****ed the rain when I visited. Yet she claimed the weather was always better in Galway than it was in Letterkenny.

Been unexpectedly burnt raw on a couple of occasions this summer. Climbed mount Errigal a couple of weeks back and it must have been one of the hottest days of my life.

On the contrary, I've noticed a massive increase in tourists up here this summer. So I don't get Dessie Larkins point. I've always figured he was a bit of a stirrer, but a smart one in a way that attracts plenty of attention on Letterkenny.

23/08/2012, 6:54 PM
Funny, when my girlfriend lived in Galway it always ****ed the rain when I visited. Yet she claimed the weather was always better in Galway than it was in Letterkenny.
Does she announce Salthill's attendances too?

23/08/2012, 8:38 PM
Just on the radio there that today's the anniversary one of rock's more iconic moments - Keith Moon driving into the swimming pool. Nice piece on it here (http://www.thisdayinmusic.com/pages/keith_moon) - I like the bit that he couldn't actually drive, and was just trying to escape from the police, who wanted to shut his party down. He was eventually caught after slipping on a piece of his own cake.

Don't make them like that any more. :(

theworm2345
02/09/2012, 2:49 PM
For any who is interested, a friendly last night between Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and Barbados saw former Galway United man Wes Charles on one side and former Sligo Rovers man Ramuel Miller on the other (Barry Skeete, who I believe had a trial at Longford, also played for Barbados). Saint Vincent won 2-0, with Charles playing most of the match (seemingly pretty well) and picking up a booking before getting a possible hamstring injury and being subbed late on. The Vincentian commentators weren't good with the Bajan names so it was hard to say how Miller did.

02/09/2012, 9:50 PM
Unbelievable Jeff

oscar
07/09/2012, 11:05 AM
women

07/09/2012, 4:34 PM
More than one? Man, life's complicated enough!

08/09/2012, 4:08 PM
Was clicking into the Ireland forum and and accidentally clicked on eirebhoy's name.

Last Activity 01/11/2009 10:51 AM

This has well and truly haunted me looking at the date. I know it wasn't him but that he died I think the day before sticks in my head.

Last night he would have been sickened.

RIP Gearóid.

08/09/2012, 7:27 PM
Everyone on the Ireland forum is really annoying me today.

09/09/2012, 12:23 AM
Everyone on the Ireland forum is really annoying me today.

The post-match blow-ins will soon be gone and then it'll be back to normal.

10/09/2012, 8:15 AM
I half want to miss my train so I HAVE to go to Mickey D's. I've a problem.

11/09/2012, 8:31 AM
I half want to miss my train so I HAVE to go to Mickey D's. I've a problem.

Turns out Mickey D's at O'Connell Bridge is under renovations as of yesterday. Grr.

11/09/2012, 8:32 AM
I totally should have asked that girl on the Dart yesterday lunchtime for her no.
It's been totally bugging me since.

horton
11/09/2012, 11:35 AM
You should get the Dart the same time you did yesterday and pray she has the same daily routine! Mad to think it's 11 years since 9/11 happened, flying was a much simpler affair back then. . .

peadar1987
11/09/2012, 11:48 AM
Or hope she's a poster on foot.ie and sees your post!

Spudulika
11/09/2012, 11:54 AM
I totally should have asked that girl on the Dart yesterday lunchtime for her no.

So many slags, smart remarks that creep up in the mind, but I push them down and say - if it's meant to be, it will be - but you can narrow the odds as horton suggests. But odds can work bad or good luck your way. What about if she's a bunny boiler, or not really a girl (Crying Game), or that she diverts your attention from the one you're meant to be with.

Okay, I admit, I need help. I've been translating crap all morning and have severe brain melt.

11/09/2012, 2:58 PM

Just send a mail to the Metro Herald and get in the little section they have just for such encounters. Always makes for an interesting read.

11/09/2012, 10:32 PM
You should get the Dart the same time you did yesterday and pray she has the same daily routine! Mad to think it's 11 years since 9/11 happened, flying was a much simpler affair back then. . .

Yeah. It was pure fluke that I got the DART yesterday when I did cos I took a half day and she was on the DART by the time it got to Dún Laoghaire at 1314. so there is no way that that may work even if I took another half day. Le sigh.

It really is bugging me no end.

12/09/2012, 2:31 AM
Somewhere there is a girl typing up a post on girl.ie about the creepy guy staring at her on the DART the other day...

12/09/2012, 2:10 PM
Somewhere there is a girl typing up a post on girl.ie about the creepy guy staring at her on the DART the other day...

You lie. I checked.

17/09/2012, 1:12 AM
Finally I have enough melancholy in my soul to visit you all briefly again.

Bonnie - man up to feck and go do some serious stalking will ya or you will never get the girl/arrested.

17/09/2012, 8:50 AM
Finally I have enough melancholy in my soul to visit you all briefly again.

Bonnie - man up to feck and go do some serious stalking will ya or you will never get the girl/arrested.

Melancholy in your soul = vodka in your belly

17/09/2012, 12:47 PM
No was wine, beer, birthday blues and my eldest leaving home = melancholy soul!

24/09/2012, 6:06 PM
just on my mind as i posted something about it in the Ireland forum but any alumni of the Grove or the Cricket northside disco's? I used to go back in the early 90's. They were flipping brilliant!

24/09/2012, 6:13 PM
Bleugh

Paddyfield
24/09/2012, 9:49 PM
Connacht Rugby, the whipping boys of Irish rugby, have sold 3,300 season tickets. The bandwagon is not derailing.

01/10/2012, 4:06 PM
Teacher of Eenglish required (http://www.jobstoday.co.uk/job/teacher-of-eenglish-944155837?src=search)

horton
01/10/2012, 6:50 PM
The fact that it's Lumen Christi makes it funnier:D

02/10/2012, 2:35 AM
Someone should have warned me just how damn addictive that roulette is on paddypower.com. No money...lots of money...back to no money. Damn.

02/10/2012, 6:53 AM
Commuting from Smithfield is the dogs. Shame the new housemate is dull as dish water.

04/10/2012, 1:53 AM
Currently enjoying the US Presidential debate. Riveting altogether.

Obamas smile alone makes me want to become an American citizen and vote.

Romney just makes me want to kick him every time he opens his mouth.

04/10/2012, 2:38 AM
Jungle fever Nige?

04/10/2012, 2:35 PM
The movie?

06/10/2012, 1:17 PM
After no power cuts in more than a year, we've had intermittent drops in service all morning.

06/10/2012, 8:15 PM
Top o' the league!

I love this Fantasy Football Lark.

08/10/2012, 9:02 PM
Diversity Visa time!

18/10/2012, 9:36 PM
just wondering why every time mypost posts something in a thread there are usually 2 or 3 deleted posts preceeding it?!

19/10/2012, 10:08 AM
Because there is no direct bus from previous posts to that of myposts.

19/10/2012, 11:19 AM
I only just realised that it's my birthday next week. What a mixed feeling it is when you cop on it's your birthday.

bluemovie
21/10/2012, 1:06 AM
woooooooooooooooooooooooohhooooooooooooooooooooooo oooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !:D

21/10/2012, 1:05 PM
I only just realised that it's my birthday next week. What a mixed feeling it is when you cop on it's your birthday.

In 2009 I woke up on my birthday forgetting it was my birthday and that we had had a party the night before. Walked to Quinn's to meet the lads for a curer and it was about another half hour before I copped on. Classy.

21/10/2012, 6:58 PM
In 2009 I woke up on my birthday forgetting it was my birthday and that we had had a party the night before. Walked to Quinn's to meet the lads for a curer and it was about another half hour before I copped on. Classy.

I've had a few birthdays that I don't remember rather than forgot about, but that's just classy at it's best.

theworm2345
22/10/2012, 3:30 PM
Seeing as my last update was well received, here is another.

I watched Wes Charles captain St Vincent to a 2-1 win in their opening match in Group 2 of the Caribbean Cup last night against Guyana (who were definitely the favorite). Guyana dominated the match in the midfield but couldn't get seem to get it going in the final third.

Ramuel Miller's Barbados finished second in their group and were eliminated about a month ago. He did score a free kick though. Not sure why Alvin Rouse wasn't called up, he may have retired from international football.

http://youtu.be/ktNqxPusiqs