View Full Version : The say anything, what's on your mind thread
20/07/2012, 8:12 AM
I was up at 4am for a 5am screening of The Dark Knight Rises. Tickets were free, but man alive I need a coffee.
21/07/2012, 4:33 AM
Surely this should be under 'Travel', as would have like to have read your thoughts?
And why go to the US when you can go to Canada?
Well... I spent a week in Canada and I'm flying out of Seattle to New York on Monday.
I'm moving to Canada next year so I reckon I'll be good. :-)
I'll post my thoughts in the Travel thread.
21/07/2012, 7:57 AM
One more sleep and then its off to what probably is my spiritual home....Sin City!
Ach who am I kidding. Will be too excited to sleep!
Bonnie where in Canada are you moving to and can I come with you?
ArdeeBhoy
21/07/2012, 8:48 AM
Ah, Good man BS.
Where are you going in Canada? We must meet for a pint before you go?
horton
23/07/2012, 1:11 PM
Just after watching that american Man V Food show, couldn't help but wonder if there is any equilivant eateries here in Ireland with similar "food challenges"? Not that I'd be any good, asking for a "little bit of everything" at sunday carvery is extremely hardcore for me!
i scored a goal from 37 yards last night - absolute screamer into the top corner. I wish a camera had been there to capture it. I got the ball from our LB on the left side of centre midfield and turned, beat one player and took a couple of touches. It just seemed to open up and ask for a shot - it flew like a laser and rising and curling away from the keeper into the top right corner off the post in the last few yards. It couldnt have been any better if i had tried.
Funnily enough it was on the same pitch that I suffered a heart attack on last year almost exactly a year to the day. It was the first time id played on the pitch since. Felt good. :)
25/07/2012, 8:04 PM
Sign him up!
26/07/2012, 6:26 AM
Just back from my first ever night out in NYC. Savage craic.
26/07/2012, 10:25 AM
Savage craic.Are you from Dublin? Always thought that was what buffs said. 'Shhavage'
Sign him up!
i should have been on the plane.
26/07/2012, 7:33 PM
Part 2 of my trip commencing shortly. San Francisco here I come!!
28/07/2012, 9:35 AM
And I'm home. What a fortnight. Glad to have tea though.
30/07/2012, 12:44 AM
Are you from Dublin? Always thought that was what buffs said. 'Shhavage'
Yep. a true Blue Jackeen.
30/07/2012, 12:44 AM
And work tomorrow for the first time in 2 weeks and in reality for the first time in 7.
Studying for exams begins in earnest too. GAH!
31/07/2012, 8:19 PM
Could we see some medal ceremonies PLEASE at the Olympics.
31/07/2012, 9:17 PM
Live basketball... hmmm...
horton
01/08/2012, 12:34 PM
I'm on the hunt for a R/C helicopter for someones birthday, had a look on ebay and found this:eek::
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SKY-KING-36-3-CH-R-C-HELICOPTER-WITH-GYROSCOPE-/250854011048?pt=UK_ToysGames_RadioControlled_JN&hash=item3a681070a8#ht_9599wt_1026
Cougar alert! Similar posed photos in the sellers other ads too haha
02/08/2012, 9:07 AM
I'm on the hunt for a R/C helicopter for someones birthday, had a look on ebay and found this:eek::
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SKY-KING-36-3-CH-R-C-HELICOPTER-WITH-GYROSCOPE-/250854011048?pt=UK_ToysGames_RadioControlled_JN&hash=item3a681070a8#ht_9599wt_1026
Do you come with the Copter?
Spudulika
02/08/2012, 1:41 PM
I was wondering was there something sectarian for a moment - I read R/C as R.C.
On another topic, they keep replaying some african rower here. I didn't find it funny, not like Eric the Eel's near death experience.
Newstalk (in keeping with their general standards) tweeted a clip of the rower, with something witty about the country he's from being landlocked...
04/08/2012, 4:59 AM
Finally coming back to reality after my magical trip. Las Vegas you are a weird and wonderful paradise. San Francisco please let me call you my home.
peadar1987
04/08/2012, 9:26 AM
Newstalk (in keeping with their general standards) tweeted a clip of the rower, with something witty about the country he's from being landlocked...
Because all Olympic Rowing is done on the sea. <facepalm>
04/08/2012, 5:51 PM
Mother of God... Down were gash.
Come on Dublin!!!
04/08/2012, 7:55 PM
Mother of God... Down were gash.
Come on Dublin!!!
Mother of God, Laois were robbed.
That referee will want to lock himself away for a few weeks. The folks of Laois will be out on a manhunt.
05/08/2012, 1:22 AM
Jessica Ennis. I'm a relatively recent convert to your charms but bless you and your amazing body.
05/08/2012, 11:43 AM
Mother of God, Laois were robbed.
That referee will want to lock himself away for a few weeks. The folks of Laois will be out on a manhunt.
Both teams were as bad as each other. Ref was atrocious. I think he spent the second half making up for the poxy decisions he made against us in the first. Unacceptable. He could teach Martin Sludden a thing or two.
05/08/2012, 12:01 PM
Well and truly made up for it too! Adding on one minute was a disgrace in itself, but then not even playing one minute additional time was absolutely shocking.
Spudulika
05/08/2012, 9:07 PM
After watching JJ Nevin I had to run to the shop. Came back and the 100m was over. Is it just me or does anyone else see them all with syringes for legs?
07/08/2012, 12:28 PM
I'm confused - did you honestly think you could run to the shop in faster than 9.63 seconds?
Eminence Grise
07/08/2012, 12:48 PM
Maybe the shop is in a rough part of town...
Spudulika
08/08/2012, 3:18 AM
No, just really needed an ice cream. Yesterday it was 40 degrees in Moscow. Which basically means 40, plus 80% humidity, plus destructive air pollution, plus grumpy people. Lovely hurling!
11/08/2012, 12:41 PM
Off to Longford I go....I dunno why I bother sometimes. I'm just gonna get drunk, shout abuse, and then give out about what Harps did wrong. But I just keep going back for more.
Spudulika
11/08/2012, 6:40 PM
Nigel, what's on my mind is that I watched your video where you're smashing blocks and up on the wall. Liked the song, have to say the whole vibe was a mix of Trailer Park Boys-Hardy Bucks-UCD Freshers. Sent the link around and heard only good things.
12/08/2012, 12:36 AM
Ah good man yourself! Only to happy to be of entertainment, albeit, looking like a right tool.
Cheers for that! I shall reward you with great riches some day.
12/08/2012, 9:30 PM
So, I decide to stick a few quid on Live bets in world football. Decided I'd stick a few quid on this Chilean Premier League team called O'Higgins FC (why not with a name like that).
I got to thinking, and googled the team.
Turns out they are named after Bernardo O'Higgins, the man who essentially won Chile their Independence from Spanish Empire and was the first leader of Independent Chile.
His father was Ambrosio O'Higgins, who was Governor of Chile in the late 1700's, was in fact, born and raised in the townland of Ballynary in County Sligo.
Random fact of the day.
Potential friendly there for Sligo Rovers surely?
12/08/2012, 10:01 PM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/s720x720/418766_10151103858969063_2091440422_n.jpg
13/08/2012, 12:03 PM
So, I decide to stick a few quid on Live bets in world football. Decided I'd stick a few quid on this Chilean Premier League team called O'Higgins FC (why not with a name like that).
I got to thinking, and googled the team.
Turns out they are named after Bernardo O'Higgins, the man who essentially won Chile their Independence from Spanish Empire and was the first leader of Independent Chile.
His father was Ambrosio O'Higgins, who was Governor of Chile in the late 1700's, was in fact, born and raised in the townland of Ballynary in County Sligo.
Random fact of the day.
Potential friendly there for Sligo Rovers surely?
Knew all about the man and the team. Have a mad fascination with Irish figures such as him and Guillermo (William) Brown from Foxford, Co Mayo who founded the Argentine Navy.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/William_Brown_(admiral)
14/08/2012, 2:11 PM
Time to go get me a new gaff. I hope that this is the last one pre-emigration.
14/08/2012, 3:01 PM
Time to go get me a new gaff. I hope that this is the last one pre-emigration.
Moving in 2 weeks myself. Be glad to get out of an apartment overlooking the busiest and noisiest part of Letterkenny and into a nice quiet housing estate on the outskirts of the town centre. More room and a garden for my dog. It's all looking up.
Although I'm going to be flat broke for a while.
17/08/2012, 2:08 PM
There is a plaque by the river in Sligo about them. The started the banking system over there as well.
Definite potential for a friendly with them, would be great to see it.
20/08/2012, 2:49 AM
He did it. My boy did it. I brought him into the world. Brought him up with virtually no input from his dad. Now he is leaving me and going to University. Ummmm. Delighted and heartbroken in one swift move.
20/08/2012, 7:16 PM
He did it. My boy did it. I brought him into the world. Brought him up with virtually no input from his dad. Now he is leaving me and going to University. Ummmm. Delighted and heartbroken in one swift move.
huzzah. Now you can concentrate on the finer things in life. Wine and embarrasing him when he bring mates back from college.
Paddyfield
20/08/2012, 9:46 PM
Well done magicme. Where is he going to college? It's hardly University of Monaghan?
Woah- It's hard enough to believe a Monaghan person would get into college, let's not go mental.
22/08/2012, 8:25 AM
34 degrees in Tokyo. F**k that.
Eminence Grise
22/08/2012, 10:17 AM
Can you bottle some of that and send it to Dublin?
22/08/2012, 10:51 AM
You don't want it. Tokyo summer heat is overrated.
22/08/2012, 12:58 PM
You can take away some of the Donegal heat if you want. Annoyance that is rain in warm weather.
Paddyfield
22/08/2012, 8:57 PM
You can take away some of the Donegal heat if you want. Annoyance that is rain in warm weather.
You just couldn't make this stuff up
http://www.independent.ie/national-news/rte-leaves-mayor-under-the-weather-3207511.html
TOURISTS have been put off visiting Ireland's most northerly county by inaccurate weather forecasts, a town mayor has complained.
Mayor of Letterkenny Dessie Larkin said there is a perception that all it does in Co Donegal is rain when, in fact, this summer has been much better than had been portrayed on RTE by forecasts.
22/08/2012, 9:30 PM
You just couldn't make this stuff up
http://www.independent.ie/national-news/rte-leaves-mayor-under-the-weather-3207511.html
TOURISTS have been put off visiting Ireland's most northerly county by inaccurate weather forecasts, a town mayor has complained.
Mayor of Letterkenny Dessie Larkin said there is a perception that all it does in Co Donegal is rain when, in fact, this summer has been much better than had been portrayed on RTE by forecasts.
I've met Dessie. Did a course with him. Nice chap despite his Blaney leanings.
I would say though that he has a point (kinda) as the perception of Donegal is that the weather is rotten ALL the time.
However people don't go to Donegal cos they assume it's a pain in the ass to get to. It's not. Though it could be better.