View Full Version : The say anything, what's on your mind thread
Tell people bizarre lies. Then contradict those lies. Then lie about it when challenged, telling third, unrelated stories.
21/05/2013, 12:24 AM
Tell people bizarre lies. Then contradict those lies. Then lie about it when challenged, telling third, unrelated stories.
Practice on your significant other!
21/05/2013, 8:11 PM
Degree show hung yesterday, just putting my portfolio together now, assessments this Thursday, results next Friday and Show opens that Saturday. The end is nigh :(
Spudulika
22/05/2013, 8:29 AM
Good luck Acornvilla!
Keen2win
23/05/2013, 6:20 PM
Exams are all finished for the summer, a nice relief, fixed with apprehension, heading off to Boston for the summer! Alas, a job has fallen through, but everyone seems convinced that it will be easy enough to source something when I am over there! Here's hoping! :ball:
My brother moved over there a few months ago and has found various bits of work since- he's been moving around looking for something that suits. Seems be be no shortage of jobs anyway.
DannyInvincible
27/05/2013, 4:12 PM
Degree show hung yesterday, just putting my portfolio together now, assessments this Thursday, results next Friday and Show opens that Saturday. The end is nigh
Best of luck with everything! Any photos?
If you've been feeling very stressed the past few weeks, I can certainly empathise as I'm in a similar boat myself. The past two weeks or so have been exceptionally taxing ones for me both physically and psychologically. I'm in the midst of setting up a fairly ambitious multi/mixed-media installation incorporating sound recordings, lighting effects and a replica "peace wall" two-and-a-half metres high and constructed out of over 400 whitewashed texts as bricks (I actually used Argos catalogues* painstakingly collected throughout the past few months via cycles back and forth from the local Argos to the art school) all inside a dark, claustrophobic cube that I've painted entirely black and covered with black curtains for my degree show. I also have to have a whole year's work documented for assessment. The deadline for everything is this Friday, but still have a long list of things to complete before then. I cannot wait. Everything must also satisfy health and safety concerns and a risk assessment, so I've had to construct a supporting plinth and cut concrete slabs to ensure stability. It's all been very intense and laborious, and then I've had to pretty much re-paint the whole studio area outside, floor and all. My body was still aching yesterday morning when I woke up from the physical labour of the previous week. There'll be more of the same this week. Have attached some photos of my progress so far below.
*There is no conceptual significance in the fact I've used Argos catalogues. I used them as they were readily collectable, freely available and have a heavy, brick-like appearance when stacked.
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc12/poguemahone85/20130520_152358_zpsd517f8f4.jpg (http://s218.photobucket.com/user/poguemahone85/media/20130520_152358_zpsd517f8f4.jpg.html)
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc12/poguemahone85/20130523_102925_zpsa0b21acf.jpg (http://s218.photobucket.com/user/poguemahone85/media/20130523_102925_zpsa0b21acf.jpg.html)
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc12/poguemahone85/20130523_131949_zps94e7c02d.jpg (http://s218.photobucket.com/user/poguemahone85/media/20130523_131949_zps94e7c02d.jpg.html)
27/05/2013, 10:34 PM
Stabbing is not fun. Especially when you hit yourself.
My arm hurts.
30/05/2013, 12:42 AM
Went out last night, ended up getting pretty drunk. Tried to noiselessly plug in my phone and get into bed without waking the girlfriend.
Instead, I ended up tripping on a shoe, falling INTO the wall beside the bed and landing on the floor, breaking both a mug and my phone charger, and cutting my shoulder. And pulling the lamp down on top of myself.
As I sat on the floor my one thought was that the lamp must be broken, so I flicked it on to make sure it worked, just in time to shine it directly into the girlfriend's eyes as she woke up to what all the commotion was about.
I then woke up late for work thanks to said phone charger being broken and my alarm not going off on my phone.
All in all, not one of my finest mornings.
30/05/2013, 12:58 PM
Hate that. No matter how quiet you try to be, you're always louder than you are when you're not trying to be quiet.
What's worse is stepping on the dog when not realising he's in the bedroom and completely scaring the sh*t out of your girlfriend with a loud bark.
Hate that. No matter how quiet you try to be, you're always louder than you are when you're not trying to be quiet.
What's worse is stepping on the dog when not realising he's in the bedroom and completely scaring the sh*t out of your girlfriend with a loud bark.
And then the dog wakes up and makes it even worse.
30/05/2013, 10:37 PM
Best of luck with everything! Any photos?
If you've been feeling very stressed the past few weeks, I can certainly empathise as I'm in a similar boat myself. The past two weeks or so have been exceptionally taxing ones for me both physically and psychologically. I'm in the midst of setting up a fairly ambitious multi/mixed-media installation incorporating sound recordings, lighting effects and a replica "peace wall" two-and-a-half metres high and constructed out of over 400 whitewashed texts as bricks (I actually used Argos catalogues* painstakingly collected throughout the past few months via cycles back and forth from the local Argos to the art school) all inside a dark, claustrophobic cube that I've painted entirely black and covered with black curtains for my degree show. I also have to have a whole year's work documented for assessment. The deadline for everything is this Friday, but still have a long list of things to complete before then. I cannot wait. Everything must also satisfy health and safety concerns and a risk assessment, so I've had to construct a supporting plinth and cut concrete slabs to ensure stability. It's all been very intense and laborious, and then I've had to pretty much re-paint the whole studio area outside, floor and all. My body was still aching yesterday morning when I woke up from the physical labour of the previous week. There'll be more of the same this week. Have attached some photos of my progress so far below.
*There is no conceptual significance in the fact I've used Argos catalogues. I used them as they were readily collectable, freely available and have a heavy, brick-like appearance when stacked.
That all looks and sounds like an unholy amount of effort! Looks cool thou so hopefully its all worth it :D
I'll put up a few photos on Sunday after the show opens and I'm too hungover to do anything more productive!
31/05/2013, 11:58 AM
98FM and FM104 are the pits.
31/05/2013, 6:07 PM
Got my results today, got a 2.1 thank Christ that's over.. Have to wait until next week now to find out if I got a place in the Masters or not, hon down to limerick tomorrow some of ye for free wine our degree show is opening!
Eminence Grise
31/05/2013, 8:13 PM
Congrats!:drink:
01/06/2013, 12:16 AM
Nice one man. Fair play
01/06/2013, 2:18 AM
Cheers chaps! Heres what the finished show looks like Danny. I might have a few better pics over the next few days but you'll get the idea http://www.behance.net/gallery/LSAD-Degree-Show-2013/9028259
DannyInvincible
01/06/2013, 6:07 AM
Looks fantastic. Some really nice shots there. Again, congrats on the result and best of luck with everything.
You should check out Roddy Buchanan if you haven't encountered him already; a Scottish artist who explores themes of sport/football and identity. Leo Fitzmaurice's dicarded cigarette packet series, 'Post Match', is also great:
http://www.transitiongallery.co.uk/Images/art_blitz/leo_fitzmaurice.jpg
Here are my 'Sterling Superkings':
https://fbcdn-sphotos-f-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/423360_3001901841181_2096645311_n.jpg
No place for Tony Benson and Ron Hedges, mind.
gastric
04/06/2013, 2:37 AM
In their drive for efficiency, our overlords have created some amazing words!
http://www.theage.com.au/world/sixtythreecharacter-word-is-now-verboten-20130604-2nmy5.html
In their drive for efficiency, our overlords have created some amazing words!
http://www.theage.com.au/world/sixtythreecharacter-word-is-now-verboten-20130604-2nmy5.html
They could help out our own word association game thread... we're screwed!!
05/06/2013, 11:23 AM
They could help out our own word association game thread... we're screwed!!
The feedback loop was tempting...
http://foot.ie/threads/63644-Word-Association-game?p=1690224&viewfull=1#post1690224
DannyInvincible
05/06/2013, 1:53 PM
After blood, sweat and tears (literally), my multimedia degree show installation is finally complete and in place. Had a bit of an issue with technical assistance that I'd been continually promised for the past two weeks on Monday morn but it never arrived as the 10AM deadline passed, so I had quite an ordeal stressing out and trying to sort matters. Thankfully, the issue was eventually rectified yesterday morning by my tutor. Delighted with how it's all worked out though and can relax now without having to worry about impending deadlines and the like. Praise the fupping Lord!
Here's my online profile for the show: http://degreeshow.mmu.ac.uk/2013/DanielCollins/
Some photos:
https://fbcdn-sphotos-f-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/941661_10200504698474585_752884696_n.jpg
https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/944701_10200504698434584_367233765_n.jpg
https://fbcdn-sphotos-g-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/944855_10200504698954597_1037471092_n.jpg
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/970701_10200504699114601_1059260234_n.jpg
https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/946502_10200504699234604_125139468_n.jpg
https://fbcdn-sphotos-e-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc1/601069_10200504699354607_2115907169_n.jpg
https://fbcdn-sphotos-f-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/931424_10200504699594613_164866884_n.jpg
https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/600934_10200504698514586_1037603618_n.jpg
And a short video to give an idea:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D5T6Y6Y1RcQ
DannyInvincible
10/06/2013, 10:40 AM
Just a few more photos of the wall I constructed:
https://fbcdn-sphotos-g-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/971094_10200529652538421_1538105079_n.jpg
https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/1001829_10200529653058434_1005355690_n.jpg
https://fbcdn-sphotos-e-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/1003289_10200529653138436_1835092146_n.jpg
https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/945927_10200529653458444_509116706_n.jpg
10/06/2013, 11:57 AM
I'm very sad about being called an idiot by an Athlone fan.
This comes only a few days after a Longford reporter called me a ****** on her Facebook page.
Something weird in the water in the midlands.
10/06/2013, 12:23 PM
What did you do just before that incident
10/06/2013, 12:27 PM
I'm not entirely sure.
atfconline
10/06/2013, 3:20 PM
Excellent stuff again Gareth, but holy feck, Denise O'Flaherty is horrible to listen to, especially when she talks about Longford.
http://foot.ie/threads/179245-The-Extratime-ie-Sportscast-Episode-1?p=1690126&viewfull=1#post1690126
Yes, it is a mystery alright!
10/06/2013, 9:03 PM
Meh..
10/06/2013, 9:39 PM
Saw a disabled woman shuffling back to her car at the shops yesterday. Not that old - 60s maybe - but with a zimmer-frame type thing, and shuffling quite slowly. Recovering from a crash or something possibly.
Anyway, she'd parked taking up two non-handicap spaces. I found I didn't entirely have a ready response for that.
Brigitte Bardot was some fcking ride. Jaysus.
bullit
14/06/2013, 6:05 PM
Pics or GTFO !
http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/republic-of-ireland/women-arrested-after-topless-brawl-outside-school-29344418.html
The fight broke out at around 9.15am when parents were bringing their children to schools and child-minding facilities in Doon, Co Limerick.One eye-witness said: "It was surreal, unbelievable. They just went at each other. Biting, scratching, pulling hair, kicking, everything, you name it.
"They were beating the heads off each other. The next thing the tops were pulled off each other and then a bra went flying through the air.
"You would think that this would have stopped them, but not a bit of it, they kept at it.
"It wasn't a few slaps either, this was vicious stuff. There was blood on the ground."
It is understood that the two women involved in the row at Monastery Road last Friday morning, both aged in their 30s, were the best of friends but have had a serious falling out in recent times.
Following garda investigations, two women were arrested on Monday.
They were released without charge with a file to be sent to the DPP.
18/06/2013, 11:40 AM
Irish Legal drafting at it's finest:
(3) (a) A reference in these Regulations to a Regulation is to a Regulation
of these Regulations, unless it is indicated that reference to some
other Regulations is intended.
18/06/2013, 1:50 PM
http://i402.photobucket.com/albums/pp103/fish-food-carl/Bernard_confused.gif
gastric
19/06/2013, 1:31 AM
Australia have just qualified for the WC after finising a distant second to Japan and having beaten those world powers Jordan and Iraq. Just isn't right!
19/06/2013, 1:39 AM
Australia have just qualified for the WC after finising a distant second to Japan and having beaten those world powers Jordan and Iraq. Just isn't right!
I guess it's better than hammering teams 20-0 in Oceania qualifiers.
gastric
19/06/2013, 1:46 AM
I guess it's better than hammering teams 20-0 in Oceania qualifiers.
Ye, but once they had won the Oceania region they had to play a South American team in a play off which meant they didn't qualify. Now, even though they are bloody ordinary, they have qualified. I know I'm whinging, but the whole qualifying thing is unjust!
19/06/2013, 9:19 AM
Ye, but once they had won the Oceania region they had to play a South American team in a play off which meant they didn't qualify. Now, even though they are bloody ordinary, they have qualified. I know I'm whinging, but the whole qualifying thing is unjust!
We should move to the AFC.
It's bull.
19/06/2013, 10:38 PM
I have been thanked a leet (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leet) amount of times. This makes me happy. :)
19/06/2013, 10:39 PM
You'd probably be really annoyed if I thanked that post right now then.
20/06/2013, 10:05 AM
Supremely hot new girl in work has a bf. :(
And she's 20... So I can't really tap that.
20/06/2013, 2:53 PM
Shameless plug for my brothers business venture that he starts up this Saturday. Bloody brilliant idea and now in Ireland, I'd love to give it a go myself. Would love if a few of you budding Tiger Messi's would go out and support him. It's getting great coverage!
----------------------------------
http://youtu.be/cPDOExChuVM
Footee is a bit like testing the football skills of Lionel Messi on an undulating golf course with Rory McIlroy as his caddie.
Footee is a top class novelty sports game that blends two of the world’s best and most popular sports – football and golf. It is a competitive, skilful and addictive sports game that mixes the passion and strength of football with the elegance and tradition of golf.
It's played on a 12-hole golf course by groups or individuals but instead of swinging golf clubs and hitting golf balls, players kick footballs.
The game rules are identical to golf – each hole carries a par (3, 4 and 5) and the aim is to get the football into a (bigger) hole in as few shots as possible. The scores from each hole are accumulative and the player with the lowest score at the end of the round wins. The usual golfing lingo applies; bogeys, birdies and eagles, with the exception of a hole in one which is now called a "goal in one"
Situated just 5 minutes from the M50 at the old Dublin City Golf Club, Ballinascorney, Tallaght, Dublin 24, Footee is opening for business this Saturday, the 4th of May at 12:00pm.
A round of footee costs between €10 and €15 depending on peak times, with further discounts for students and unemployed people. You can rent a football for €2.50 or you can simply bring your own.
www.footee.ie
www.facebook.com/footeeireland
@footeeireland
Heading up there this evening. A good few of the lads from the club have played already and though it was great. Seems to be doing good business too so far as it can be hard to get a tee time when the weather is decent.
20/06/2013, 9:14 PM
Footee was great craic, highly recommend a trip up there to anyone. I'm also utterly terrible at it.
gastric
21/06/2013, 4:03 AM
Typical subtlety from the Aussies! At least it would be funny as you come into land at Melbourne Airport.
http://www.theage.com.au/victoria/huge-betting-ad-not-a-good-look-20130621-2omxv.html
24/06/2013, 2:41 PM
am I the only poster who wants to see Stills87, Nash87 & Young87 added as members?
28/06/2013, 9:39 AM
Came in this morning to find my team lead stayed late and did most of the work I had planned for today. I shouldn't be annoyed, but I was really looking forward to doing some angular (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AngularJS) development.
28/06/2013, 12:23 PM
Time to hit CORK!
28/06/2013, 12:34 PM
Hit El-Pietro a slap for me.
28/06/2013, 1:05 PM
Feckin Paddypower casino...whoever put me on there in the first place would want to be shot.
Señor Willy
28/06/2013, 11:05 PM
Ventured through unknown wilds today...
DannyInvincible
29/06/2013, 12:45 PM
The months of stressing have paid off; I was awarded first class honours in my fine art degree. I'm absolutely over the moon. :D