View Full Version : The say anything, what's on your mind thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 [125] 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158

12/02/2013, 10:06 AM
A day to relax and lay in bed with the laptop. Recording a metal band for the past 4 days has my head fried. I can't wait to open a recording studio.

12/02/2013, 1:28 PM
Thanks lads! Night one of RAG week also complete :D

14/02/2013, 9:27 AM
This reminded me of my girl in Bankcentre.

http://cdn.iwastesomuchtime.com/1182012170087.jpg

Happy Valentines Day! :O

14/02/2013, 12:36 PM
Oh dear..Valentines Day. Never a worse day to forget. Must do something quickly before she gets home from work.

peadar1987
14/02/2013, 1:09 PM
Oh dear..Valentines Day. Never a worse day to forget. Must do something quickly before she gets home from work.

Luckily the other half hates Valentine's Day with a passion. I've been told I'm to avoid her all day, but after midnight when it's no longer Valentine's, I'm allowed to come over to her flat and go to bed.

Ah, young love!

14/02/2013, 1:42 PM
I make it part of the relationship "deal" that V day and smoking don't happen.

And to think I'm single.

14/02/2013, 2:14 PM
Meh, she claims she doesn't care in the slightest about it. But I know, with a woman being a woman, it'll come back and bite me in the ass if I don't get her something.

Spudulika
14/02/2013, 6:35 PM
The scariest words a woman can utter:
I'm fine
It's grand
Nothing
It's okay
Go on, meet your friends

and the one that means you'll end up lying in a bloody pulpy mess in the hallway as she washes her knuckles:
I don't care

Spudulika
14/02/2013, 6:37 PM
I picked my other half up from the metro tonight and had dinner waiting. And a movie (Say Anything). She liked the spuds, chicken, gravy and veg, started to doze after 10minutes of the movie and went to bed. In a way it made the movie better :-)

14/02/2013, 9:35 PM
I picked my other half up from the metro tonight and had dinner waiting. And a movie (Say Anything). She liked the spuds, chicken, gravy and veg, started to doze after 10minutes of the movie and went to bed. In a way it made the movie better :-)

Let's just hope she doesn't read that last bit ;)

14/02/2013, 10:23 PM
I now hate Valentines day. I dumped a guy last year a few days before Valentines day to get back with a guy I had been seeing on and off for most of the year before then.

The boyfriend had decided he was ready to step up and be in a proper relationship so on this day last year he brought me lovely flowers and we started our proper relationship. Fast forward to this year and he finally text me at 7.30 this evening to say happy Valentines day and to see if I would call over for an hour after the football coz he had a card for me.

An hour of his time? Our anniversary and valentines and he gives me an hour and a card. No way José! Just dumped his sorry lazy ass.

Moral of the story.....make a fuss of your women on Valentines day even if that fuss is only a text saying you love her and cant wait to see her later. :-(

14/02/2013, 11:32 PM
So Magicme is single...

How you doin'?

15/02/2013, 12:17 AM
I now hate Valentines day. I dumped a guy last year a few days before Valentines day to get back with a guy I had been seeing on and off for most of the year before then.

The boyfriend had decided he was ready to step up and be in a proper relationship so on this day last year he brought me lovely flowers and we started our proper relationship. Fast forward to this year and he finally text me at 7.30 this evening to say happy Valentines day and to see if I would call over for an hour after the football coz he had a card for me.

An hour of his time? Our anniversary and valentines and he gives me an hour and a card. No way José! Just dumped his sorry lazy ass.

Moral of the story.....make a fuss of your women on Valentines day even if that fuss is only a text saying you love her and cant wait to see her later. :-(

You should know better than most women that football comes first!

15/02/2013, 1:01 AM

No reason I couldn't have watched it with him and given him ummmm pleasure during half time.

Oh well get to flirt with oops I mean feed Derry City squad tomorrow. Whoopi!

peadar1987
15/02/2013, 7:34 AM

Only LOI football. Not the Europa League!

15/02/2013, 10:23 AM
Jeepers, seems a bit excessive Magicme. A lot excessive actually.

15/02/2013, 12:39 PM
Not really. He wasn't willing to make an effort to spend our anniversary and valentines day together only offering me an hour of his time. If after a year together properly he cant make some effort he is not the man for me. And before you say it am not high maintenance. I wasn't expecting a fuss just to curl up on sofa with some wine and watch the football.

15/02/2013, 12:59 PM
If you're going to ditch him it should be for his behaviour over the year. Not for a once off act of (maybe) selfishness when you have - clearly - got the painters in and aren't thinking straight... :)

15/02/2013, 1:12 PM
If you're going to ditch him it should be for his behaviour over the year. Not for a once off act of (maybe) selfishness when you have - clearly - got the painters in and aren't thinking straight... :)

Ha I don't have the painters in and its fairly typical of him to make no effort but I was willing to make enough for both of us but just worn out from it all and this was the straw that broke the camel's back. We had an issue on Sunday night and I spent the next 2 days suggesting we meet up and talk it through so we could move on but he just wanted to forget about it yet it was an issue that was a fundamental part of who I am. I needed some clarity from him on some of the issue so I could move on and let it go and he wasnt willing to do so.

Then, me making all the effort as usual text him tues nite and he said he would see me Friday. I asked how about spending some time together Thurs as it was a bit of a special day and he told me I could call over before the football or after it. Then didnt text me again until yesterday evening saying I could call over for an hour. We live 5 minutes away from each other and unless I suggest calling over for a cuppa during the week I only see him Fridays and Sundays in the pub and then back to his. Just fed up of feeling used and unappreciated. Thought that at least if we spent Valentines day together that we could maybe up the commitment levels a little but he is too lazy and laid back to make that effort so I just dont think he could be the person for me.

Spudulika
15/02/2013, 6:12 PM
I think to break up over such a trivial issue is a great excuse to end something which wasn't working or going to work. At least that's what my other half tells me regularly!

15/02/2013, 7:23 PM
Who knows if we get a chance to talk we might sort things but his reluctance to deal with issues is very hard to take. If we are together I want us to spend time together and be a bit more involved in each others lives. I don't think that is too much to ask of someone who claims to have bee. In love with me since the early 90's!

15/02/2013, 7:24 PM
Oh and cocktails rock. Kill pain quickly.

18/02/2013, 10:01 AM
Oh and cocktails rock. Kill pain quickly.

They really do. They really do. Though usually they create a new pain the following day. And that awkward moment when you're trying to hoosh her out the door ASAP.

18/02/2013, 10:02 AM
This was an enjoyable little wander this morning.

http://balls.ie/football/the-balls-ie-guide-to-being-a-football-hipster/

I can spot at least one of everyone here falling into one bracket. Intentionally or not.

peadar1987
18/02/2013, 10:12 AM
This was an enjoyable little wander this morning.

http://balls.ie/football/the-balls-ie-guide-to-being-a-football-hipster/

I can spot at least one of everyone here falling into one bracket. Intentionally or not.

Damn it, I was doing okay until I got down to 24. It's absolute nails-down-a-blackboard for me whenever someone pronounces the "n" at the end of Lyon!

18/02/2013, 10:14 AM
Damn it, I was doing okay until I got down to 24. It's absolute nails-down-a-blackboard for me whenever someone pronounces the "n" at the end of Lyon!

Well I clearly fall into the "Horn for Dortmund and Klopp" section.

But I do enjoy WSC still.

18/02/2013, 2:47 PM
Oh dear, I fell at the first hurdle. I have a whole load of football shirts, from Olympiakos to Bordeaux to even Walsall.

18/02/2013, 3:02 PM
Oh dear, I fell at the first hurdle. I have a whole load of football shirts, from Olympiakos to Bordeaux to even Walsall.

It's only a first hurdle if you have those shirts to be "cool".

You support Finn Harps. You could never be accused of being cool.

18/02/2013, 3:11 PM
It's only a first hurdle if you have those shirts to be "cool".

You support Finn Harps. You could never be accused of being cool.

That makes me feel better. I'm not a hipster after all. I felt kind of bad for wearing a Newcastle jersey the other day.

18/02/2013, 3:45 PM
Very funny Bonnie... I found 12 & 13 and the first part of 7 a little bit too familiar!

18/02/2013, 3:51 PM
I think it's just easier to say AVB. That's my excuse. But now I may reconsider.

Spudulika
19/02/2013, 7:18 AM
Nothing, not a thing. Is there something wrong with me? Off The Ball I find annoying at times and at best boring. I don't like James Richardson as he was a rude twonk the few times I met him. Maybe I'm just not a football fan. Oh, but I guess I have one thing, a Dundalk FC shirt from 1984, it's a wee bit mouldy now, but still. Oh, and I despise Dortmund, them, Barcelona and Bayern. Cheats the lot of them!

19/02/2013, 8:49 AM
Ooooooooooh.

I like OTB. And whilst Ken Early can be a git sometimes at least there's decent discussion on there.

Plus they have given me the funniest radio moment ever when Murph interviewed Jason Ryan last year during the Championship after a match and thanked him for coming. Still tickles my funny bone when I hear the clip. Radio Gold.

Edit: It was Sports Saturday/Sunday that that happened on.

19/02/2013, 1:32 PM
I'm drinking normal coffee today.

19/02/2013, 1:35 PM
You're like this forum's resident Jessie.

http://ourtenerifefincaproject.info/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/jesse-fast-show-520-x-389.jpg

19/02/2013, 11:10 PM
But I wear nicer clothes.

Like foreign football jersies.

Today was Bordeaux.

20/02/2013, 9:46 AM
I'm drinking Tim Hortons coffee from a Toronto Maple Leafs Mug and have a Mr Big chocolate bar as well.

It's all going Canadian over here.

20/02/2013, 11:38 AM
I seen a duck on the wall of a bridge on a canal I cross every day to get to college this morning, he looked at me, I looked at him(?), I was all like, ''da feck are you doing up on that wall duck?'' and all he had to say for himself was ''quack''. We parted ways, I'll probably never see that duck again..

DannyInvincible
21/02/2013, 8:59 AM
I managed to get myself a bloody Fixed Penalty Notice for cycling on a pavement yesterday on my way to work. Admittedly, I was in the process of committing the offence (describing it as such makes it sound all very serious, but cycling on the footpath is indeed an offence) when a fairly rotund policewoman positioned herself between a phone box and a pizza parlour wall to block off my route and stop me. The police did appear to be out on watch to make examples of pavement-hogging cyclists like myself as there was another officer issuing what I assume was a similar notice to another cyclist across on the other side of the road.

I did feel it a bit harsh, however, as that specific section of Oxford Road in Manchester (Europe's busiest bus corridor apparently) doesn't actually have a cycle path. A cycle path is evident only further north and south, but not at that part - the most hectic part - just outside a university as connecting routes converge upon entry to the city centre, incredibly. It can be very dangerous with a constant stream of double-decker buses, taxis, lorries and cars breathing down your neck from behind and quite daunting having to weave in and out between them as they're both moving and stopped to pick up passengers. Anyway, the policewoman was having none of my attempts to extenuate myself and simply suggested I "stay safe". Which is kinda what I was doing on the pavement at the time...

So, I have three options:

Pay a £30 fine.
Attend what the issuing policewoman described in somewhat Orwellian terms as a "community re-education session" at a local fire station some evening between the 28th of February and the 7th of March; basically, they play a video on safe cycling for half an hour to a group of up to thirty "offenders" and waive the £30 fine/notice.
Dispute the notice and elect a Magistrate's Court Hearing.

I think I'll go for the second.

peadar1987
21/02/2013, 9:26 AM
Airstrip One is alive and well! ;)

21/02/2013, 9:39 AM
Go for the third option and make the magistrate think about breaking the law and fairness in the application of the law.

21/02/2013, 9:40 AM
Airstrip One is alive and well! ;)

What?

DannyInvincible
21/02/2013, 9:59 AM
It's a '1984' reference.

I had a read through this: http://ukcyclerules.com/2012/01/04/challenging-a-fixed-penalty-notice/

If you don’t want to pay the fine, the alternative is to request a hearing. As I’ve said above, if you request a hearing and the police choose to proceed with the matter, you’ll be prosecuted in the magistrates’ court.

If you’re right, and what you did wasn’t an offence, it should follow that you’ll be acquitted.

But if you’re wrong (or the court doesn’t accept what you say), you will presumably be convicted and sentenced. Sentences in the magistrates’ court can be significantly higher than if you’d just paid the FPN – as you can see from the case of the man who pleaded guilty to carrying a child on a bike not adapted for the purpose.

So if you’re going to request a hearing on the grounds that you didn’t commit the offence, it’s a good idea to be sure of your position. It’s also a good idea to consult a lawyer – although this may well cost you more than the £30 you’d have to pay for the FPN.

What about the situation where you did commit the offence, and the penalty in the notice is right, but when the police officer gave you the FPN it was simply the wrong thing to do in the circumstances?

This point can arise in lots of different ways. I’ll look at a few examples.

You shouldn’t have got an FPN because what you did was justified. For example, if you went up onto the pavement to get out of the way of a lorry bearing down on you, you might have a defence which would mean that riding on the pavement in those circumstances wasn’t against the law (so in other words, you didn’t commit the offence – as I’ve considered above). But the defence is narrowly drawn, so will apply only in rare cases. As I’ve said, if you want to challenge a FPN for this reason, the key thing is to be sure of your position (because if you get it wrong, the penalties in court can be much higher). Again, this is a situation where it will be a good idea to consult a lawyer.

The third option might be more hassle than its worth. Plus, I was in the wrong, after all. I was using the pavement because I thought it the safer option rather than to specifically avoid a certain collision. I guess I'm somewhat lucky the Greater Manchester Police offer another alternative in the form of attending the training presentation.

21/02/2013, 11:51 AM
Duh, me! Only copped that.

RE your FPN, If you feel the junction isn't safe then you are justified in using the path. However, I would have dismounted. :P

Out of curiousity can you Google Map the area in question. Wanna have a gander.

DannyInvincible
21/02/2013, 2:03 PM
Here it is: https://maps.google.co.uk/maps?q=oxford+road+manchester&hl=en&ll=53.4705,-2.237479&spn=0.001766,0.005284&sll=52.8382,-2.327815&sspn=7.341789,21.643066&t=h&hnear=Oxford+Rd,+Manchester,+United+Kingdom&z=18&layer=c&cbll=53.4705,-2.237479&panoid=TRm08F4tbxxW_-9ANEYLGw&cbp=12,355.5,,0,13.25

You can see that there is no bicycle lane on the left (it ends here: https://maps.google.co.uk/maps?q=oxford+road+manchester&hl=en&ll=53.46992,-2.236914&spn=0.001766,0.005284&sll=52.8382,-2.327815&sspn=7.341789,21.643066&t=h&hnear=Oxford+Rd,+Manchester,+United+Kingdom&layer=c&cbll=53.46992,-2.236914&panoid=sTmnBaCv_PF4jKiD33V1NQ&cbp=12,289.8,,0,5.85&z=18), but there is on the other side going in the opposite direction.

This junction slightly on up the road is particularly dangerous as there is just no space for a bike at the side of the road when you've got a queue of buses: https://maps.google.co.uk/maps?q=oxford+road+manchester&hl=en&ll=53.474111,-2.240723&spn=0.001766,0.005284&sll=52.8382,-2.327815&sspn=7.341789,21.643066&t=h&hnear=Oxford+Rd,+Manchester,+United+Kingdom&layer=c&cbll=53.474378,-2.240973&panoid=SUQmPjt8zuLcKLPs3v2rbA&cbp=12,318.59,,0,-0.36&z=18

Only after that does the cycle path into the city centre recommence: https://maps.google.co.uk/maps?q=oxford+road+manchester&hl=en&ll=53.474812,-2.241367&spn=0.001766,0.005284&sll=52.8382,-2.327815&sspn=7.341789,21.643066&t=h&hnear=Oxford+Rd,+Manchester,+United+Kingdom&layer=c&cbll=53.474812,-2.241367&panoid=IKuNfwA-9LztXKR2w-LPyg&cbp=12,264.95,,0,35.27&z=18

I was travelling in the direction of the tower of the Palace Theatre in the distance of the first street-view. You can see the phone box and the restaurant on the right. Sure, I wasn't technically on the "correct" pavement side anyway, but I know the route and am well aware there's no bicycle path on the road-side across the other side so wouldn't have been where I was had I had that facility. I usually use the left side but came up a different route yesterday as I'd luckily left a bit earlier. Cycling up the pavement on the other side wouldn't have made a material difference anyway as they were stopping cyclists using that admittedly wider side too. If I was going to be using the pavement beside what I thought was an unsafe stretch of road, what difference would it have made anyway as long as I was being careful to avoid pedestrians?

DannyInvincible
21/02/2013, 2:16 PM
I mean, this designated zone apparently for bikes to wait at the traffic lights is a bit of a joke: https://maps.google.co.uk/maps?q=oxford+road+manchester&hl=en&ll=53.474622,-2.241345&spn=0.001766,0.005284&sll=52.8382,-2.327815&sspn=7.341789,21.643066&t=h&hnear=Oxford+Rd,+Manchester,+United+Kingdom&layer=c&cbll=53.474483,-2.241071&panoid=leRSaKqsdHJwk5vMIBwxxw&cbp=12,353.4,,0,15.35&z=18

Is it just there for show, because there's no way a cyclist can get ahead of traffic when those three lanes are full of queuing cars and buses? And if you wait behind them and travel in line with them, you're inevitably only holding them back. My poor legs can only peddle so fast up that dastardly hill! It much less stressful using the pavement in a careful manner, as I try to do.

21/02/2013, 2:50 PM
It's funny looking at that that it was the Cornerhouse where the bike lande starts as I only heard of it yesterday as they have changed their logo.
http://www.underconsideration.com/brandnew/archives/home_is_where_the_holes_is.php

I don't know Manchester at all and the images from StreetView are 4.5 years old. Can you tell me if the markings on the road are in better shape?

What I will say is that the Bus Lane is a bicycle lane by default generally and the road is much too narrow to incorporate a segregated cycle lane for that stretch that is indicated. There is no reason however for a shared lane to be marked after the point where the bus lane ends. I'd get onto Manchester City Council about that Danny.

DannyInvincible
21/02/2013, 3:00 PM
The road markings are the exact same, as far as I can make out.

peadar1987
21/02/2013, 3:07 PM
Most cities are notoriously cyclist-unfriendly. It really annoys me when you can get fined for cycling on the pavement, but people can leave their wheelie bins, cars, broken glass and scorpions sitting in the cycle lane with zero consequences.

DannyInvincible
21/02/2013, 3:22 PM
Christ, broken glass... Don't talk to me about it. That's another issue. I had three punctures in four days one week there not so long ago. I also work early on Saturday mornings meaning I cycle to work before the council have had the opportunity to clear the road-sides and pavements of broken bottles from the Friday night before. It's a hazard course!