View Full Version : The say anything, what's on your mind thread
27/03/2010, 12:58 PM
my rag week during the week hence why you havn't had to read all my mispelf bullcrap :P but i'm back! won a boiled egg eating comperition 14 eggs! we failed misrably at breaking the world record for the most mohawks in one place but sure i got a free lovely haircut :)
27/03/2010, 1:51 PM
On my way home from Dublin at the moment, and just gone past the famous Sligo Dooley Express.Was it everything you dreamed it would be? :D
27/03/2010, 9:30 PM
Was it everything you dreamed it would be? :D
Yes, and more.
29/03/2010, 1:02 PM
The Limerick-Galway train route reopened today after a hiatus of 34 years.
well done to them, and I don't mean to be overly critical, but if I were to take a day trip to Galway from Limerick with my wife, it would cost 114 euros for tickets, and we'd be on the train for 1 hour 59 minutes each way. (if I've got my figures correct for both - I've calculated the prices as 4 one-way tickets, seeing as I can't find return ticket prices on the website.)
I wonder how attractive it will be as a travel option.
29/03/2010, 1:19 PM
well done to them, and I don't mean to be overly critical, but if I were to take a day trip to Galway from Limerick with my wife, it would cost 114 euros for tickets, and we'd be on the train for 1 hour 59 minutes each way. (if I've got my figures correct for both - I've calculated the prices as 4 one-way tickets, seeing as I can't find return ticket prices on the website.)
Return tickets on the trains are usually much cheaper than 2 singles.
29/03/2010, 1:24 PM
Return tickets on the trains are usually much cheaper than 2 singles.
I know, they're usually not much more expensive than a single. I just can't find the prices on the site. It's 28.50 for a single - so let's say 35 for a return - 70 for both of us. Still not all that attractive an option for me, I have to say.
EDIT: Read something about 20euro day return on boards.ie, so my anger is subsiding somewhat. It is interesting to see what the people of Limerick (as represented on boards.ie) think about the new service though.
http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055868162&page=2
BigfeetBigsocks
29/03/2010, 1:32 PM
Note to self remember this it might come in useful "Honey How do you expect me to remember your birthday when you never look any older?"
BigfeetBigsocks
31/03/2010, 3:00 PM
Less of the Old....:-)
buy her the crystal swing cd to make it up to her:wink:
31/03/2010, 11:59 PM
doors reali harm the old noggin :(
01/04/2010, 11:17 AM
Radio station at work is playing 'Free Nelson Mandela'. Bit late there lads.
03/04/2010, 9:51 AM
First chance I've had this season to 'follow' City game on Foot.ie :) Roll on 7:30...
03/04/2010, 3:06 PM
Dear whoever reported me for "aggressive driving" on the n7 yesterday
f*ck you
sincerely, etc.
03/04/2010, 3:21 PM
Dear whoever reported me for "aggressive driving" on the n7 yesterday
f*ck you
sincerely, etc.
Somebody reported you?
How did you find out about it? And what are the consequences for you?
03/04/2010, 3:31 PM
Somebody reported you?
How did you find out about it? And what are the consequences for you?
yeah, they took the time to note my reg plate and call the gardai to report me for whatever it is I did.
Got pulled over by the traffic corps just beyond the Portarlington exit off the motorway. Thought I was being done for speeding.
The garda told me they had received a call about my driving, asked if I had overtaken aggressively at any point, or had been tailgating. There was so much traffic on the road (because of the Munster - Leinster game) that I didn't really overtake anyone, and traffic was so heavy at various points that everyone could have been accused of tailgating.
Said he could smell alcohol, and I would have to be breathalysed. I haven't had a drink in two weeks, so I don't know where he got the smell from. Passed the test. According to him, nothing more will be done about it. No points on my license, no fine.
Still majorly ****ed off about it, wasn't a great day for me yesterday.
03/04/2010, 7:47 PM
On another note, the Irish Rail website is one of the slowest, most glitch-ridden sites I've had the misfortune to use. Actually, all transport related sites in Ireland are abysmal- Bus Eireann, Ulsterbus etc. All completely non-user-friendly. (I genuinely can't remember what the opposite of 'user-friendly' is...it's late, I'm tired...)
04/04/2010, 10:39 AM
that lad from derry had crazy trousers i want them!
08/04/2010, 3:24 PM
http://www.babble.com/CS/blogs/strollerderby/legos.jpg
right, random question I know, but I'd like people to give me names for the various parts of a lego block. Top, bottom, sides....no problems so far. But what is the name of the little pieces at the top, and what is the name of the hole they slip into when building with lego?
Battery Rover
08/04/2010, 3:57 PM
But what is the name of the little pieces at the top
Studs
08/04/2010, 7:34 PM
They would be the male parts of the lego brick. All true lego bricks are multiple-ly hermaphrodite, featuring a pair (or more) of male bits and a pair (or more) of female bits, though these tend to be blurred in distinction.
Sticklebricks are homosexual.
08/04/2010, 10:02 PM
and these would then be asexual crossdressers... its a complicated field, this lego sexuality business...
http://blogs.crikey.com.au/crikey/files/2008/11/lego-man-woman.jpg
what is the name of the hole they slip into when building with lego?
Holes... just a wild guess like.
stann
09/04/2010, 12:43 AM
right, random question I know, but I'd like people to give me names for the various parts of a lego block. Top, bottom, sides....no problems so far. But what is the name of the little pieces at the top, and what is the name of the hole they slip into when building with lego?
Wait a minute...
The little pieces at the top (technically termed knobs by the way) don't slip into any holes. They go into the gap between the bottom edges of the block and the roundy things that fit in the central space between any four knobs.
You know, I'm beginning to think you've not got any lego blocks at all! :mad2:
http://pictures.directnews.co.uk/liveimages/Lego+blocks_2080_19384262_0_0_7040007_300.jpg
I'm beginning to think you've not got any lego blocks at all!
He's got Duplo!
Wolfie
09/04/2010, 7:58 AM
Duncan from "About the House" just gave me a shout and he has a few concerns about the sturdiness of that structure - no foundation dug for a start!!!!! Schoolboy error there.
Have you given any thought to insulating this structure? Dunc was just saying that research has shown that much heat is lost through the walls and roof without proper insulation. Food for thought, there.
There was also the point abo....................hang on.............phone call..................its Dermot Bannon.
Dermot has a few concerns about the colour scheme. Are you sure about the blue/red/yellow/white combo???
09/04/2010, 12:04 PM
Dermot has a few concerns about the colour scheme. Are you sure about the blue/red/yellow/white combo???
Now we know who came up with the colour scheme for Tallaght Stadium!
09/04/2010, 5:30 PM
getting warts removed hurts like a hoor
I imagine the genital kind do alright :P
12/04/2010, 10:26 AM
first day of sunshine and I get burnt. Ouch!!!
Wait a minute...
The little pieces at the top (technically termed knobs by the way)
Indeed, hence the expression 'a Lego of Derry fans'.
12/04/2010, 1:15 PM
Just in the nick of time:
Dear TCM,
Pleasurably we would like to announce that MFA has finally issued your visas.
Your Visas has been issued and now you can collect it at Iranian Embassy in Ankara. Please contact the embassy to arrange the collecting date. Please notice that You have only one month to collect the visa and then you will have 3 months time to enter to Iran .
BigfeetBigsocks
12/04/2010, 1:30 PM
I think i have increased " People who want to kill me " List at the weekend by one....
BigfeetBigsocks
12/04/2010, 2:52 PM
Has anyone here been tempted by the ad banner in the forum page with catchy grabline "Play with me" and pixie/fairy who don't look so innocent :drool:
EDIT- It seems its gone now or i had beer googles on some other ad :-)
12/04/2010, 5:01 PM
Based on some very brief research comparing the spoken section of the British National Corpus (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/British_National_Corpus) and the Limerick Corpus of Irish English (http://www.ul.ie/~lcie/), it seems that an Irish person will say 'f**ked' 6.02 times as often as a British person will.*
(*Yes, there are whole lot of variables which mean that statistic is by no means perfect, but it's still meaningful.)
12/04/2010, 11:09 PM
Sniffles and sunburn.. maybe that's what I'll call the album.
Wolfie
13/04/2010, 12:30 PM
I was headed for Warsaw on a stag weekend. Not any more!!!
Hasten to add, an awful tragedy for the Polish people and I'm genuinely sympathetic re same.
Plan B = SLIGO HERE WE COME!!!!!
13/04/2010, 2:18 PM
I was headed for Warsaw on a stag weekend. Not any more!!!
Hasten to add, an awful tragedy for the Polish people and I'm genuinely sympathetic re same.
Plan B = SLIGO HERE WE COME!!!!!
A worthy replacement :D
13/04/2010, 2:46 PM
Based on some very brief research comparing the spoken section of the British National Corpus (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/British_National_Corpus) and the Limerick Corpus of Irish English (http://www.ul.ie/~lcie/), it seems that an Irish person will say 'f**ked' 6.02 times as often as a British person will.*
(*Yes, there are whole lot of variables which mean that statistic is by no means perfect, but it's still meaningful.)Does that include 'f**ked' with an e?
Wolfie
13/04/2010, 3:21 PM
A worthy replacement :D
Hell Yeah!!! Looking forward to it.
Would the Sligo community care to recommend any decent boozers (preferably with a juke box!!)?
13/04/2010, 5:50 PM
Does that include 'f**ked' with an e?
As in 'Fecked'? No, it's a comparison of the 'u' variety only.
Taking 'fecked' into account, the ratio would be even higher, although it would be skewed, as in my opinion, they perform different functions. Also, there may be British varieties (their equivalent of 'feck') that would need to be included.
13/04/2010, 10:40 PM
If anyone is looking for a way to spend an evening, I can highly recommend Traces in the Olympia. It's a 5 person (4 guys and a girl) acrobatic performance.
It's amazing to see. More details here: http://www.mcd.ie/listings/fg.php?c=3053324&ar=traces&cat=
14/04/2010, 10:54 AM
Guy's dont bother with fancy aftershaves, there is nothing sexier than the smell of deep heat. I now know that is why I work in football. ummmm
Wolfie
14/04/2010, 12:45 PM
Hell Yeah!!! Looking forward to it.
Would the Sligo community care to recommend any decent boozers (preferably with a juke box!!)?
Garavogue it is. Thanks!!!
pauliek
14/04/2010, 2:31 PM
Lovely day out, might head to the beach :)
is there anything funnier in football than Arsene Wengers face when Arsenal are losing? Really is a face like a smacked arse.
14/04/2010, 11:16 PM
this is what happens when you give retards computers
14/04/2010, 11:19 PM
Some Sligo fans decided to go out in a blaze of idiocy.
14/04/2010, 11:25 PM
i'm asuming he has a disagreement with the hamster and didn't take it well..
14/04/2010, 11:27 PM
i think there was more than just one AV - they recently got their own messageboard/forum and i guess some of them wanted to say goodbye to Adam in their own "special" way.