View Full Version : The say anything, what's on your mind thread
gastric
09/06/2016, 1:55 AM
I like the compulsory voting here; at least it means you're less likely to have someone like Trump rear his head. It makes for more reasonable candidates. In general you don’t see as much dog-whistling to certain extreme elements as you do in the USA or UK.
I mean, I don’t think it’s perfect. But it does change the focus of election campaigns in generally good ways. And it forces people to take more of an interest in politics and their vote. And I think it’s small price to pay to not the bull**** you see in the States where young people can't get time off work to vote, or minimum-wage earners aren't to afford to vote.
Plus, sausage sizzles!
The problem with compulsory voting is that you have to make promises to everyone and try and placate all minority groups, hence the turn back the boat policies which is absolutely disgusting. It might also explain why, of late, prime ministers are being kicked out in office usually due to low opinion poll results and the crazy idea of having federal elections every three years. In terms of extreme politics, in the 1990s One Nation was the equivalent of UKIP, and how John Howard dealt with it was by taking their policies leading to the Liberals regaining power and the end of any compassion towards asylum seekers.
gastric
09/06/2016, 2:06 AM
But Tony Abbott still sneaked through... And John Howard on several occasions... Oh wait.
Abbott was reptilian in every sense, makes Enda look like a big, lovable teddy bear.
09/06/2016, 7:28 AM
It does help that Labor are utterly abject.
Howard was in his pomp when Kim Beazely was his opposite number. Come on like.
And then the constant bickering where we have had that messing with Rudd and that cretin Hillard.
TheOneWhoKnocks
24/06/2016, 2:47 AM
16 year old murders 7 year old in satanic ritual in Palmerstown, Dublin, in 1973.
https://dialogueireland.wordpress.com/2011/10/19/public-servant-and-pillar-of-the-church-guilty-of-the-nations-most-gruesome-ever-ritual-murder/
New article on Broadsheet.
http://www.broadsheet.ie/2016/06/22/the-devil-is-in-the-detail/
Probably the most disturbing thing I have read in my entire life.
TheOneWhoKnocks
28/06/2016, 7:57 PM
What is the best way of getting back to Leopardstown after a concert on a Friday night?
Would it be feasible/possible to get a Luas if the concert were to end at approximately 11:30?
Bus?
How much would/should a taxi cost from the 3 Arena to Leopardstown?
28/06/2016, 8:06 PM
Taxi could be 40 quid anyway.
Last Luas on Fridays is 12:30am. So Luas from Point to O'Connell Street, then walk, then Luas from Stephen's Green. Tight, but you should be ok.
28/06/2016, 8:35 PM
Luas isn't going to the 3Arena/o2/The point at the moment due to works, there's a shuttle bus that goes from Abbey Street
28/06/2016, 9:23 PM
What is the best way of getting back to Leopardstown after a concert on a Friday night?
Would it be feasible/possible to get a Luas if the concert were to end at approximately 11:30?
Bus?
How much would/should a taxi cost from the 3 Arena to Leopardstown?
I wouldn't be taxiiing. If you can manage to get to the Green to get the Green Line Luas by 1230 then do that.
Otherwise Hop a Nitelink (46N) from D'Olier St. All depends on what part of Leopardstown you're going to. It goes into Leopardstown Valley/Ballyogan.
Luas Point to Jervis is reopening on Sunday. Whoop.
TheOneWhoKnocks
28/06/2016, 9:29 PM
If "doors open 6:30" and "show starts 8:00" does that mean the support act starts at 8 or the main act starts at 8? Cos if the main act starts at 8 then I'd be a lot more confident about getting Luas in time.
28/06/2016, 10:14 PM
If "doors open 6:30" and "show starts 8:00" does that mean the support act starts at 8 or the main act starts at 8? Cos if the main act starts at 8 then I'd be a lot more confident about getting Luas in time.
Don is being being supported by JD and the Straight Shot. So they're on at 8. I'd say they'd be finished about 830-845 and then Don is on about 9-930. I would doubt you're getting that last Luas to Leopardstown.
Here's his setlist from Manchester last night.
http://www.setlist.fm/setlist/don-henley/2016/manchester-arena-manchester-england-33ffb0c9.html
29/06/2016, 12:06 AM
The curfew at 3Arena is before 11 so you'll be grand.
29/06/2016, 12:25 AM
The curfew at 3Arena is before 11 so you'll be grand.
Someone should have told Fleetwood Mac that.
Plus he's got no access to a spaceship or a direct bus.
29/06/2016, 12:30 AM
Someone should have told Fleetwood Mac that.
Plus he's got no access to a spaceship or a direct bus.
Don't play dumb with me. You well know Fleetwood Mac had a prior arrangement with the Gardaí and mypost for that.
TheOneWhoKnocks
29/06/2016, 1:12 AM
Would it be easy to get a taxi outside the 3 Arena after the concert?
Cos the plan is to get a taxi to Stephens Green Luas from the 3 Arena.
What time would I want to be leaving the arena if I was to give myself enough time to get a taxi to the luas and not be rushing? 11, 11:15, 11:30?
He plays Desperado as the encore and that's my favorite song.
Be raging if I have to miss it.
My other half has travel sickness so I can't get the shuttle bus or a taxi straight to Leopardstown. Otherwise I would do one of those two things.
29/06/2016, 2:31 AM
Regardless of what Fleetwood Mac done he's not going to be playing at 11.30. If you're on your feet and ready to leave once Desperado is done, you'll be ahead of most people for taxis, but I'd still just go for the Luas as it's predictable. 10 minutes to Abbey St, 10-15 minute walk to Stephen's Green, then you're set.
29/06/2016, 9:47 AM
Would it be easy to get a taxi outside the 3 Arena after the concert?
Cos the plan is to get a taxi to Stephens Green Luas from the 3 Arena.
What time would I want to be leaving the arena if I was to give myself enough time to get a taxi to the luas and not be rushing? 11, 11:15, 11:30?
He plays Desperado as the encore and that's my favorite song.
Be raging if I have to miss it.
My other half has travel sickness so I can't get the shuttle bus or a taxi straight to Leopardstown. Otherwise I would do one of those two things.
Jesus,
Calm yourself. Enjoy the gig. Wander to town. Get the nitelink.
29/06/2016, 10:47 AM
when is the gig? Luas to 3Arena to restart on Sunday: https://twitter.com/Luas/statuses/748034036384268288
TheOneWhoKnocks
29/06/2016, 12:20 PM
Gig is on Friday.
Raging about the whole Luas thing.
10 years in Canada...it was only supposed to be 3-5 years.
Best decision I ever made.
30/06/2016, 3:41 PM
Any craic lads,? I'm still alive. I do miss the sunshine we had there for a few weeks. Cycled to a shop at about 1am last night to buy supplies to make banana bread. Everything went better than expected.
30/06/2016, 4:30 PM
Any craic lads,? I'm still alive. I do miss the sunshine we had there for a few weeks. Cycled to a shop at about 1am last night to buy supplies to make banana bread. Everything went better than expected.
Your adventures have become boring. Any chance you could just beat up people for the craic and see what happens?
30/06/2016, 5:36 PM
Your adventures have become boring. Any chance you could just beat up people for the craic and see what happens?
hah! Well, if it helps, I also got in to a major dispute with two housemates, which resulted in my needing to kick them out, after a few months of absurdity. So since then it's all quiet and banana bread for AV.
30/06/2016, 7:35 PM
Did you physically kick them out? There's a story in that if so.
Hitman
01/07/2016, 8:14 AM
Did you physically kick them out? There's a story in that if so.
"This is 29 Acacier Road. And this is Eric - the schoolboy who leads an exciting double life. For when Eric eats banana bread, an amazing transformation occurs!"
TheOneWhoKnocks
02/07/2016, 6:06 PM
Haggled taxi driver down to 20 euros and told him to take the Stillorgan dual-carriageway. Result.
Managed to **** off the people in my row by repeatedly going to get more beer and go to the toilet - even though I deliberately went and came back during intervals.
Some people will get ****ed off at anything.
02/07/2016, 7:06 PM
I was at this gig the other night. Some inconsiderate alcoholic a$$hole kept getting up at ridiculous times and coming back stinking of p!ss and beer, crossing over me and my mates who were just there trying to enjoy ourselves.
Wouldn't shut up talking about how to get to Leopardstown either for some reason.
TheOneWhoKnocks
02/07/2016, 8:01 PM
http://picresize.com/images/rsz_a.jpg
02/07/2016, 9:11 PM
Haggled taxi driver down to 20 euros and told him to take the Stillorgan dual-carriageway. Result.
Managed to **** off the people in my row by repeatedly going to get more beer and go to the toilet - even though I deliberately went and came back during intervals.
Some people will get ****ed off at anything.
I've been to thousands and millions of gigs over the last 16-18 years and if there's one thing that ****es me off is someone constantly leaving their seat.
It's absolutely frustrating when it's constant. So I feel their pain, and judging by the lead up to you actually getting to that bloody gig you don't strike me as a regular gig goer. So probably devoid of the sense of others being around you. Ah millennials.
Eminence Grise
08/07/2016, 2:48 PM
Just mailed a book off to the publisher. Very weird feeling of euphoria and tiredness and nervousness.
08/07/2016, 3:45 PM
Just mailed a book off to the publisher. Very weird feeling of euphoria and tiredness and nervousness.
Congratulations.
If there's not at least one Termonbarry or umbrella reference in there for our delectation then I'll be sorely disappointed.
08/07/2016, 3:49 PM
http://picresize.com/images/rsz_a.jpg
What?
Eminence Grise
08/07/2016, 4:34 PM
I've always said it's a mistake to click on those Russian brides emails. Before you know it it someone's ringing your doorbell with a legally binding contract.
Eminence Grise
08/07/2016, 4:37 PM
Congratulations.
If there's not at least one Termonbarry or umbrella reference in there for our delectation then I'll be sorely disappointed.
Thanks, Bonnie. I'm holding them over for the second edition - a cunning ploy to get the sales figures into triple figures, you know.;)
10/07/2016, 11:46 AM
Wimbledon final, and then Euros final later, today will be a good day.
Lads, on an aside, I'm having a quick 3/4 night stay over in Amsterdam at the end of the month. Never been before. Any advice as to what to go and see?
Will be checking out the likes of the Van Gough gallery, and got online tickets to have a gawk at Anne Franks house, to avoid the queues there, so I have some plans, but I'm all ears!
10/07/2016, 4:14 PM
Wimbledon final, and then Euros final later, today will be a good day.
Lads, on an aside, I'm having a quick 3/4 night stay over in Amsterdam at the end of the month. Never been before. Any advice as to what to go and see?
Will be checking out the likes of the Van Gough gallery, and got online tickets to have a gawk at Anne Franks house, to avoid the queues there, so I have some plans, but I'm all ears!
I did a drugs tour while I was there. Now mad as that sounds it was one of the informative ones, took in the history of it all and the history of the red light zone. was kind of cool to get the low down on it all
Here is the link http://www.drugstour.com/
11/07/2016, 8:18 AM
Really depends what you're interested in I guess, but I liked the Rijksmuseum more than most museums of its kind.
Any matches on? Ajax stadium tour maybe? Though one stadium tour is a lot like any other if you have done one.
Go for a walk in general - it's a scenic city away from the crowds; lots of canals, nice old buildings and quiet squares.
11/07/2016, 11:21 AM
Finally getting back into employment after a few years of no work.
It's wonderful.
Eminence Grise
11/07/2016, 2:16 PM
Very, very best of luck with it.
TheOneWhoKnocks
12/07/2016, 12:11 AM
I was in Bruges or Brussels on a school tour once, I want to say Bruges, and I've been trying to convince my girlfriend to come with me but she's not having it.
http://24.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lktyrmNkVN1qf7wzdo1_500.gif
Lads, on an aside, I'm having a quick 3/4 night stay over in Amsterdam at the end of the month. Never been before. Any advice as to what to go and see? Will be checking out the likes of the Van Gough gallery, and got online tickets to have a gawk at Anne Franks house, to avoid the queues there, so I have some plans, but I'm all ears!
A few years since I was last there, but apart from the Rijks- and Van Gogh museums which are well worth a visit, the two big tourist churches are worth a look too if you have any interest in the historical, the Westerkerk is where Rembrandt was buried, and the Oude Kerk dates from the 1300s (and is near the red light, and not far from the oldest street in the city, with suitably slanty buildings, called the Zeedijk, which is also the centre of Chinatown).
The De Gooyer windmill (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/De_Gooyer,_Amsterdam) is also worth a visit, though you can't go inside it. The real reason for going is next to it, though, the Brouwerij 't IJ (http://brouwerijhetij.nl/), a nice little microbrewery with pub & beergarden.
If you're about in the pubs of the town at any stage, and not a vegetarian, try the bitterballen, a very tasty bar snack, and late of an evening a visit to one of the many shoarma kebab houses is a must. Just steer clear of the yellow chili sauce. Mental.
16/07/2016, 9:52 AM
Too. Many. Drink.
19/07/2016, 11:12 PM
Just tried a bottle of the Guinness 'Dublin Porter'. It went down well enough, but I can't say I'd be rushing out the door to go buying a crate of it any time soon.
I've got myself a bottle of their Golden Ale too. That'll be tomorrow nights TV drink. I hope it's a little more impressive.
Anyone else enjoying Guinness Brewers Project? Have to say, it's good to see them having a go at it anyway.
20/07/2016, 5:54 AM
Had the West Indies Porter, thought it was horrible tbh.......:o
Anyone else enjoying Guinness Brewers Project? Have to say, it's good to see them having a go at it anyway.
I try to stick to the actual craft breweries, but I do quite like some of the commercial bandwagon pretend craft ales - isn't it "Craft Syle" they try to fool people with? The Smithwicks Pale Ale is drinkable, and the Murphys Cute Hoor and Irish Red are nice too.
Like I say, I'd go for a proper craft ale given the option, but where they aren't, these are alright alternatives and it's certainly welcome that things have moved on from the old style, Guinness/ Bulmers/ Bud/ Heino or Carlsberg "choice" we used to have.
Haven't tried any of the other Guinness Project ones except Hop House 13 (which is ok as lagers go). I actually prefer my Porters Nitro'd, so don't tend to go for them. Not really mad about Brown Ales either - Pale or Red ales are my go to really.
It is brilliant to see so many options - a few years ago I was doing homebrew to get some ales. Now I can pick up Craft Ales (both real and pretend) for 4 for a tenner in the local centra, and the offie near work has O'Hara's (including the Hop Adventures) on the same deal. That's before you even get onto Aldi. Lidl expanding their range too. 3 out of 4 of my local pubs have some draft option too (although not the local). Well one's Franciscan Well, which at least started as a craft brewery.
20/07/2016, 11:31 AM
I agree Macy, don't get me wrong, I'd prefer a proper craft beer all day. Loving some of the stuff coming through over the past couple of years. Kinnegar and Franciscan Well have impressed me most out of anything I've tried.
I just think it's great, as you say, the likes of Guinness and Smithwicks are having a go at doing something different. While not much of the Guinness stuff has jumped out at me too much, apart from the limited edition Black Lager which I thought was fantastic, Smithwicks foray into new ales has been a resounding success. Their Pale Ale, Blonde Ale, Long Irish Summer Ale and Winter Spirit Ale are all top quality beers.
20/07/2016, 5:07 PM
I quite like the Guinness North Star and Toucan Brew from a few years ago
20/07/2016, 5:48 PM
I quite like the Guinness North Star and Toucan Brew from a few years ago
So...essentially, you like plain old Guinness? I found absolutely no difference in the North Star to a normal pint of Guinness. Didn't try the Toucan Brew.
20/07/2016, 6:20 PM
North star had a much "fresher"taste than regular Guinness, I can't explain it well. Toucan brew had more of a cocoa after taste.
24/07/2016, 3:28 PM
Fascinating stuff.
https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/13769510_499757623558053_4067008824871795039_n.png ?oh=768965d68b549803470a4b654a3ca3dd&oe=57EB1991
29/07/2016, 10:19 AM
I know this is satire. But if you didn't know that, it is shockingly believable.
http://www.newyorker.com//borowitz-report/stephen-hawking-angers-trump-supporters-with-baffling-array-of-long-words