View Full Version : The say anything, what's on your mind thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 [89] 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158

29/01/2011, 8:18 AM
Didn't bother with any of that crap thank feck. Made the mistake of having my daughter christened (basically for the party) and it was just bizarro, it won't be happening again when number 2 arrives.

31/01/2011, 1:19 AM
When or if?

FCUKING ASSIGNMENTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

horton
31/01/2011, 12:32 PM
Why is it such a social taboo to speak ill of the dead? In life we all know people that would likely be described using profanities, yet as soon as they die everyone makes out they were martyrs who did no wrong? I'm not thinking of anyone in particular, just a general thought.

31/01/2011, 4:12 PM
Why is it such a social taboo to speak ill of the dead? In life we all know people that would likely be described using profanities, yet as soon as they die everyone makes out they were martyrs who did no wrong? I'm not thinking of anyone in particular, just a general thought.

Fully agree. A certain decorum is one thing (i.e. don't slag them off in front of grieving relatives) but otherwise the level of hypocrisy around this drives me mad.

Onefootednopace
31/01/2011, 5:59 PM
It's common following the death of gangland figures to hear tributes paid to the deceased. "He was a kind hearted man who loved his family and adored his racing pigeons" No mention of the mayhem the individual caused during his lifetime on the planet.

I suppose it's a bit like when you see a new born baby and everyone is awash with compliments - "oh what a lovely baby, he's the spit of his daddy". I wonder has anyone uttered the words "My god what an ugly child, no doubt there who the father is"

31/01/2011, 7:29 PM
I suppose it's a bit like when you see a new born baby and everyone is awash with compliments - "oh what a lovely baby, he's the spit of his daddy". I wonder has anyone uttered the words "My god what an ugly child, no doubt there who the father is"

Some more advanced theorists have postulated that theory:

K6bve1aGBgk

theworm2345
31/01/2011, 9:35 PM
I don't think I've ever seen a "lovely" or "cute" baby. The things look like little aliens and all they do is cry, eat, **** themselves, throw up on people, and sleep. Nothing against babies, obviously everyone starts out as one and the human race cannot subsist without them, but they are not cute and they rarely ever actually look like anything but a blob.

stann
31/01/2011, 11:20 PM
all they do is cry, eat, **** themselves, throw up on people, and sleep.
The jammy, jammy b****rds!
All downhill from there on in.

theworm2345
01/02/2011, 1:47 AM
The jammy, jammy b****rds!
All downhill from there on in.
As I said, nothing against them, we all did it at one point, but theres nothing "lovely" or "cute" about them.

01/02/2011, 9:47 AM
I once got thrown out of a class after responding to a remark from the teacher about his "beautiful children" with, "They must take after their mother so." He was a raving loon I was quite content to bait as he'd no intention of actually teaching anything that day.

01/02/2011, 9:48 AM
...Nothing against babies... the human race cannot subsist without them...
Baby-eater!

shantykelly
01/02/2011, 12:01 PM

not speaking ill of the dead and rewriting their past deeds are two different things. if ye can't say anything nice, don't say anything at all.
just playing devils advocate by the way. if you're a ****** in life, then you'll stay one when you're dead.

01/02/2011, 8:25 PM
9,000th post!
(I have a life outside foot.ie, honest)

01/02/2011, 11:21 PM
9,000th post!
(I have a life outside foot.ie, honest)

6,279th post.

And I don't.

02/02/2011, 8:21 AM
I hate it when I'm using foot.ie on my phone and I press 'Mark all forums read' by mistake.

02/02/2011, 8:41 AM
I hate it when I'm using foot.ie on my phone and I press 'Mark all forums read' by mistake.
http://www.portlandmercury.com/images/blogimages/2010/08/17/1282032847-1nelson_ha_ha.jpg

02/02/2011, 11:10 AM
Cool blood and guts war game.

http://www.agame.com/game/warfare.html

07/02/2011, 6:04 PM
53 years yesterday.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2PVFIUqrUPQ

http://i56.tinypic.com/rc1u8y.jpg

08/02/2011, 11:12 PM
Read this, then read the comments: http://www.joe.ie/football/football-features/three-years-on-time-to-show-trap-the-door-009456-1
I'm counting it as a win

horton
09/02/2011, 5:03 PM
I'm sure plenty of people have had gripes with Ryanair in the past but my recent one takes the micky. At the boarding gate they were weighing everyones bag, mine was 11.5kg (max allowed is 10kg), the woman told me to get it under 10, that I'm only allowed 1 bag or pay 35 quid citing some health and safety reg's about maximum safe weight etc. Queue me trying to shove everything I can into my jacket. A guy behind me got caught to, couldn't hear what he said but he took out a few files and his laptop, weighed the bag with them in his hand, he was under so she let him through. I asked her could I do the same, so I took my laptop/books/notes and sat them on the seat beside the scales. Weighed the bag and was well under so she told me to go through, I moved to the side and put all the stuff back in the bag and walked on. WHAT THE HECK?! Is it Ryanair policy to be more flexible if you have 'business' things in your bag and not just a load of clothes? Did the woman simply think that as long as she can say the bag was under the 10kg when weighed, she did her job even though I obviously had more stuff than allowed? Not that I'm complaining that I avoided paying, but where is the logic?

11/02/2011, 9:48 AM
After a traumatic January, I came back to London expecting some temping work to take mind off things. Only three days work in three weeks and a few interview rejections... March had better make up for it.

11/02/2011, 9:58 AM
After a traumatic January, I came back to London expecting some temping work to take mind off things. Only three days work in three weeks and a few interview rejections... March had better make up for it.

Don't know what line of work you're in but I found Covent Garden Bureau (http://www.coventgardenbureau.co.uk/) really helpful in the past few months. They're really friendly and they got me work pretty sharpish. They also pay weekly, which is nice :)

Hope you find something soon.

11/02/2011, 10:22 AM
Thanks mate, I'm working as a Mac Operator/Reprographic Operator, generally printing. Not much out there at the moment and have had to go on the rock 'n' roll for a bit. Not worth much in the Uk either.

Don't know what line of work you're in but I found Covent Garden Bureau (http://www.coventgardenbureau.co.uk/) really helpful in the past few months. They're really friendly and they got me work pretty sharpish. They also pay weekly, which is nice :)

Hope you find something soon.

11/02/2011, 3:11 PM
Read this, then read the comments: http://www.joe.ie/football/football-features/three-years-on-time-to-show-trap-the-door-009456-1
I'm counting it as a win
bumping this, as the original author of the piece wrote a defence of it following my criticisms, which was more than half the length of the original
Click the quoted link above to read

11/02/2011, 3:42 PM
That bloke is a ballbag.

Bray-Z
11/02/2011, 4:09 PM
Women are a fecking mystery!

11/02/2011, 7:05 PM
Women are a fecking mystery!

A wondrous, magical mystery?

11/02/2011, 7:06 PM
I know, its great being one!

Bray-Z
11/02/2011, 7:13 PM
A wondrous, magical mystery?

Not quite what I had in mind!

13/02/2011, 1:20 AM
have a new found respect for malibu and coke (always drank it with orange) it rocks. Also going home alone leaving him is a new one on me. Nice!!!

13/02/2011, 7:25 AM
Try it with pineapple. (The Malibu. Not Stu.)

13/02/2011, 10:08 AM
I used to drink it with pineapple and would drink it with stu any day! It's also yummy with lilt.

13/02/2011, 7:23 PM
Eh...I have been zinged and I love it! :p

pauliek
13/02/2011, 7:45 PM
I remember the first time I seen Pineapple, it was in Bray as we left the ground. The second time I seen him was in the Bowl at the back of the stand. My only regret in life was to never have met him in Belfield, great ground that

14/02/2011, 7:40 PM
For anyone not interested in the leaders debate tonight, I have a small cameo in the last sketch of tonight's Savage Eye

Red Army
14/02/2011, 8:31 PM
Malibu and pineapple? Are you gay?

14/02/2011, 10:31 PM
If thats directed at me I do admit to loving men.

horton
14/02/2011, 10:42 PM
Yes, the stereotype of various drinks is a complete reflection of the kinda person that drinks them. I like poitin, does that mean I'm an alcoholic?

14/02/2011, 11:35 PM
Leave Red Army alone, apparently an appletini made inappropriate advances in a bar once. It was a COCKtail bar, hence the scientific correlation.

tets, any repeat?

theworm2345
15/02/2011, 3:09 AM
For anyone not interested in the leaders debate tonight, I have a small cameo in the last sketch of tonight's Savage Eye
Which one are you, one of the guys leaving hugging the big Ireland? You want me to send you the show for your keeping?

tets, any repeat?
http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1091699

shantykelly
15/02/2011, 3:18 AM
god I hate working nights on the Craigavon Bridge. Bad enough last summer, it's bloody freezing now! Roll on 6am.

Red Army
15/02/2011, 7:47 AM
Good day fishing. chomp chomp.

15/02/2011, 9:14 AM
Which one are you, one of the guys leaving hugging the big Ireland? You want me to send you the show for your keeping?

http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1091699
Cheers, I watched it, they cut out most of the stuff with me in it :(
We rehearsed a crowd dance scene for over an hour that wasn't used at all.
I was in the scene with everyone walking past the big Ireland, I walked up to him, shook his hand, and kept on going but you can only see me walking away in the background when one of the lads walks past.

15/02/2011, 9:19 AM
Tets that crowd dance scene is on youtube. One of the girls I went to college with works on the production side on the show and posted it last night. In work now but I'll post it tonight if you can't find it.

15/02/2011, 9:25 AM
Tets that crowd dance scene is on youtube. One of the girls I went to college with works on the production side on the show and posted it last night. In work now but I'll post it tonight if you can't find it.
cheers, found it. You can't really see me in it, I'm at the back, just in front of the right pillar, in a blue tshirt
was absolutely baltic
68EaFvGRJWc

17/02/2011, 11:24 AM
http://twitpic.com/40g3k9/full

Christian Ronaldo with all hands on deck.

horton
17/02/2011, 3:38 PM
Why do companies complain about not getting enough trade yet charge excessive mark ups on some items? Laptop charger packed in the other day, went to a local IT shop and they offered a new lead for £40. Thought this was a bit excessive so tried PC World, they had a generic one with adaptors for all brands for £60 :eek: Ended up getting one off ebay for £7!

17/02/2011, 10:18 PM
This is a message for the driver who tried to overtake me on the M7 near Nenagh tonight. You sat behind me for 4 or 5 kilometres, with overtaking opportunities readily available.
Then, after having (presumably) read the various signs warning motorists of roadworks ahead which meant the overtaking lane would be closed, you decided to try and pass me at the exact location where the bollards actually closed off the overtaking lane. Upon realising this, your reaction was to put the pedal to the floor and attempt to get past me even though there was nowhere near enough room for you to pass. It was one of the worst pieces of driving I've ever seen in my life.

Sir (or indeed, Madam), I salute you and your stupidity.

17/02/2011, 10:28 PM
How am I meant to sleep tonight? Cant bare the thoughts of premier football being snatched away again, 3 times in one season. :-(

18/02/2011, 6:31 AM
Whoa me thinks revenue database may have been hacked. Got an email from services@revenue.ie saying to claim my rebate but email blank, sent at 2.15am, I am not registered with them online and not due any money back.