View Full Version : The say anything, what's on your mind thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 [150] 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158

29/07/2016, 10:50 PM
Feck football.

TheOneWhoKnocks
30/07/2016, 1:59 AM
Judge praises good character of 26 year old man who viciously raped a 73 year old woman.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/man-26-who-raped-woman-73-twice-in-her-home-jailed-for-13-years-34910281.html

What a country!

Fizzer
30/07/2016, 7:50 AM
He didn't praise his good character,he said he was considering it.hes obliged to do so.if he didn't,then the rapist may have grounds to appeal the severity of his sentence.presumably you'd like that to be avoided both because of the cost to the state and more importantly,further distress to the poor victim.

01/08/2016, 6:26 AM
Just imagine, women give out about childbirth....it's all this waiting around in the hospital that's a real pain in the hole.

01/08/2016, 2:44 PM
And then you'll name them Clárseach ;)

01/08/2016, 9:56 PM
And then you'll name them Clárseach ;)

That'd be Cláirseach ;)

But no, thankfully, little Oisín arrived this evening just after half 5, healthy, happy and content at a sizeable 9lb 12oz. A wonderful moment.

Eminence Grise
02/08/2016, 9:02 PM
Congratulations, Nigel. Better tell the builders to add another seat to the new stadium.

Health and happiness to you all.

03/08/2016, 1:05 AM
Congrats Nigel *imaginary high five*

03/08/2016, 3:25 AM
I'm glad Kat got to pick the name this time man...not sure the world is ready for the name "Harps" yet.

03/08/2016, 3:54 AM
I'm glad Kat got to pick the name this time man...not sure the world is ready for the name "Harps" yet.
Harpo could work though.

(Oh god, what have I done?)

03/08/2016, 10:01 AM
Harper just didn't sit right sadly. Don't worry Stu, there's time to rectify this yet.

03/08/2016, 10:36 AM
Harper just didn't sit right sadly. Don't worry Stu, there's time to rectify this yet.

I'd say that gun toting prairie dweller Stu, would love you to call your son Harper.

03/08/2016, 2:03 PM
That'd be Cláirseach ;)

But no, thankfully, little Oisín arrived this evening just after half 5, healthy, happy and content at a sizeable 9lb 12oz. A wonderful moment.

A fine size, for a turkey. Congrats!

03/08/2016, 3:50 PM
Finn would have been a good one though ?

03/08/2016, 4:18 PM
He already has a son called Finn so it would've been slightly weird to use it again.

TheOneWhoKnocks
03/08/2016, 5:01 PM
Remember this guy?

https://img.buzzfeed.com/buzzfeed-static/static/2014-06/12/9/enhanced/webdr07/anigif_enhanced-31481-1402581548-2.gif

He's a "woman" now.

https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/1533600/star-of-viral-gingers-have-souls-meme-becomes-a-woman-after-undergoing-sex-change-procedure/

03/08/2016, 6:19 PM
Remember this guy?

https://img.buzzfeed.com/buzzfeed-static/static/2014-06/12/9/enhanced/webdr07/anigif_enhanced-31481-1402581548-2.gif

He's a "woman" now.

https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/1533600/star-of-viral-gingers-have-souls-meme-becomes-a-woman-after-undergoing-sex-change-procedure/

What's a "woman"?

Not getting into a whole debate over gender and identity in here but posting that with the clear sentiment you were going for is unacceptable in my view.

03/08/2016, 9:13 PM
Finn would have been a good one though ?

He already has a son called Finn so it would've been slightly weird to use it again.

Finn 2 might have worked. Sort of like Johnny 5.

03/08/2016, 9:16 PM
Remember this guy?

He's a "woman" now.

Wow, man.

03/08/2016, 9:39 PM
have seen on a forum that he is a windup merchant, what you think?

03/08/2016, 10:40 PM
He could've used Benson, O'Donnell, Barrett, Boyle. The possibilities were endless.

04/08/2016, 4:22 PM
http://i.imgur.com/cIUn9FT.jpg

05/08/2016, 9:05 AM

What about Fionn or Harpo ?

05/08/2016, 1:35 PM
What about Fionn or Harpo ?

Harpal maybe.

05/08/2016, 9:45 PM
There's so much fantastic about this.

http://foot.ie/attachment.php?attachmentid=2446&stc=1

06/08/2016, 6:56 AM
Oh yes! I'm stealing that!!

12/08/2016, 9:05 PM
This is mind boggling:

Greenland sharks can live to be 400 years old, says research
The Greenland shark, a big and slow-moving deep-ocean predator that prowls the waters of the Arctic and North Atlantic, can claim the distinction of being the planet's longest-living vertebrate, with a lifespan perhaps reaching about 400 years.

Its extremely sluggish growth rate, about four-tenths of an inch (1 cm) per year, had already tipped off scientists that it lived a very long time, and research published yesterday calculated the Greenland shark's lifespan for the first time.

Danish marine biologist Julius Nielsen said radiocarbon dating that analysed the shark's eye lens found that the oldest of 28 sharks studied was likely about 392 years old, with 95% certainty of an age range between 272 and 512 years.

Females did not reach sexual maturity until they were at least 134 years old, Ms Nielsen said.

The Greenland shark, up to about 5.5 metres (18 feet) long, is among the largest carnivorous sharks.

Ms Nielsen, a University of Copenhagen doctoral student who led the study published in the journal Science, said the findings should bring this shark much-deserved respect.

“This species is completely overlooked, and only a few scientists in the world are working with this species,” Ms Nielsen said.

Ms Nielsen said that until now the vertebrate with the longest-known lifespan was the bowhead whale, topping 200 years.

Greenland sharks have a plump elongated body, round nose, relatively small dorsal fin, sandpaper-like skin and gray or blackish-brown coloration.

They are slow swimmers and are nearly blind, but are capable hunters, eating fish, marine mammals and carrion.

They are known to be relatively abundant throughout the North Atlantic and Arctic, particularly from eastern Canada to western Russia.

They are occasionally spotted by deep-sea robotic submarines at latitudes further south, such as in the Gulf of Mexico.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2016/0812/808829-greenland-shark-age/

29/08/2016, 2:06 PM
Mental picture from the triathlon yesterday:

http://img.rasset.ie/000cc534-642.jpg

Stag collides with cyclist during Phoenix Park race

One participant in yesterday's Dublin city triathlon had to contend with more than he expected in the gruelling event.

Photographer Erik Scraggs captured this moment competitor Shane O'Reilly and a stag collided on the course.

Following the crash the cyclist managed to get up and carry on.

The Phoenix Park is home to a herd of around 500 deer.

Over 1,000 people took part in the race.

The collision happened with 10km to go in the cycle.

30-year-old Mr O'Reilly, from Backrock in Co Dublin, said he was left with a cracked helmet.

He said: "The helmet definitely saved me. Apart from that my shoulder was a bit sore and had a headache."

Mr O’Reilly finished the race in two hours 25 mins.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2016/0829/812657-stag-collides-with-cyclist-duringphoenix-park-race/

29/08/2016, 4:07 PM
Recorded the "Top UK sitcoms" last night as voted by the UK public. Part 2 is on tonight. I am anticipating it will be down to either Fawlty Towers or Only Fools and Horses. I'll say the former.

01/10/2016, 2:39 PM
15,000 posts! I need to get out more.

03/10/2016, 9:38 PM
Great to see our own Gustavo featured on 'Keeping Ireland Alive' programme on RTE tonight. Aengus attitude is a proper inspiration. Fair play to you.

TheOneWhoKnocks
04/10/2016, 11:38 PM
"When you blow your nose and your handkerchief looks like the flag of Japan, you know you're doing too much (cocaine)."

Glenn Frey

10/10/2016, 10:29 PM
I like how the US presidential election is such a complete freak show that it doesn't even have its own thread in the Current Affairs sub forum.

By the way the fact that Trump and Clinton are the best candidates their system can produce speaks volumes about their version of democracy. Two complete and utter scumbags. The USA is in a lot of trouble.

13/10/2016, 12:51 PM
The whole world is in a lot of trouble right now. The rhetoric flying around the place is terrifying.

13/10/2016, 5:30 PM
The term 'World War 3' is being brandished a little bit too much over the past few days. That's rather terrifying. Are we really on the brink of another potential Cold War?

TheOneWhoKnocks
16/10/2016, 2:34 PM
I like how the US presidential election is such a complete freak show that it doesn't even have its own thread in the Current Affairs sub forum.

By the way the fact that Trump and Clinton are the best candidates their system can produce speaks volumes about their version of democracy. Two complete and utter scumbags. The USA is in a lot of trouble.

Trump speaks to me.

Definitely the lesser of the two evils IMO.

16/10/2016, 2:59 PM
If Trump is speaking to you you should file for a restraining order.

Eminence Grise
16/10/2016, 8:17 PM
I thought you were Trump, TOWK. Until I realised he'd wound up fewer people.

20/10/2016, 1:26 AM
Trump speaks to me.

Definitely the lesser of the two evils IMO.

Oh dear Christ.

What were your thoughts on Bernie Sanders?

20/10/2016, 10:11 PM
Lads, ye're all veterans here, you know better. Stop feeding the trolls.

22/10/2016, 8:42 PM
This was actually good from Donald in fairness in some parts.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JOUFsCS7xYE

27/10/2016, 10:49 PM
Laughed a bit too hard at this.

http://foot.ie/attachment.php?attachmentid=2480&stc=1

TheOneWhoKnocks
01/11/2016, 6:10 PM
An attractive woman started chatting to me in the smoking area of a club Sunday night and we shared a cigarette. She asked me my life story - where I work, where I live, do I have a girlfriend, complimented my smile etc, etc.

I FINALLY make my move and then she casually drops the fact her husband was "over there".

Biggest case of blue balls ever.

Where the hell do women get off doing this stuff? She knew fully well what she was doing.

TheOneWhoKnocks
01/11/2016, 6:13 PM
Lads, ye're all veterans here, you know better. Stop feeding the trolls.

I said lesser of two evils, which he clearly is. They are both, clearly, unfit to be President.

I'll just drop this here..

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2016/11/01/donald-trump-leads-hillary-clinton-in-new-poll-in-wake-of-email/

01/11/2016, 7:03 PM
An attractive woman started chatting to me in the smoking area of a club Sunday night and we shared a cigarette. She asked me my life story - where I work, where I live, do I have a girlfriend, complimented my smile etc, etc.

I FINALLY make my move and then she casually drops the fact her husband was "over there".

Biggest case of blue balls ever.

Where the hell do women get off doing this stuff? She knew fully well what she was doing.
Hilarious.

01/11/2016, 8:38 PM
How this story could have gone... (true story) I lost my virginity to a Scottish girl in a nightclub (classy I know) in Majorca when I was 17. She was a bit older. After some flirting etc I asked her if she had a boyfriend and she pointed towards a guy at the bar with a load of other scots and said "there's one over there, my other boyfriend is back in Scotland" and then she told me to follow her! Good times :)

TOWK I thought from previous posts that you already had a girlfriend...?

Eminence Grise
01/11/2016, 9:47 PM
So there I was at a Hallowe’en fancy dress in the local dive of a club – charity thing y’know, wouldn’t be seen dead there otherwise. I’d gone as a troll in drag (have a look if you want (http://foot.ie/threads/22183-NSFW-Celeb-Totty-(DON-T-QUOTE-PICS)?p=1894125&viewfull=1#post1894125)), and the night was well on when I needed to step outside. Anyway, this young fella comes over and starts hitting on me right away. Couldn't have been more than 19. Pulls out a packet of cigarettes and goes all James Dean meets Alan Partridge. Now, I didn’t want to embarrass the poor chap, so I played along politely until FINALLY he made his move, and I had to point at one of the bouncers and yell – I mean yell – at this lad that that was my husband.

Seriously, next Hallowe’en I’m staying at home.

TheOneWhoKnocks
01/11/2016, 10:19 PM
How this story could have gone... (true story) I lost my virginity to a Scottish girl in a nightclub (classy I know) in Majorca when I was 17. She was a bit older. After some flirting etc I asked her if she had a boyfriend and she pointed towards a guy at the bar with a load of other scots and said "there's one over there, my other boyfriend is back in Scotland" and then she told me to follow her! Good times :)

TOWK I thought from previous posts that you already had a girlfriend...?

I do!

02/11/2016, 12:08 AM
So there I was at a Hallowe’en fancy dress in the local dive of a club – charity thing y’know, wouldn’t be seen dead there otherwise. I’d gone as a troll in drag (have a look if you want (http://foot.ie/threads/22183-NSFW-Celeb-Totty-(DON-T-QUOTE-PICS)?p=1894125&viewfull=1#post1894125)), and the night was well on when I needed to step outside. Anyway, this young fella comes over and starts hitting on me right away. Couldn't have been more than 19. Pulls out a packet of cigarettes and goes all James Dean meets Alan Partridge. Now, I didn’t want to embarrass the poor chap, so I played along politely until FINALLY he made his move, and I had to point at one of the bouncers and yell – I mean yell – at this lad that that was my husband.

Seriously, next Hallowe’en I’m staying at home.

Bwahahahaha! Love the link :D

TOWK you dirty dog...

Eminence Grise
02/11/2016, 9:51 AM
Ah, that photo... It's so good that since I pasted it to the front door we've had no junk mail, no door to door sellers, no trick or treaters - win!

Unfortunately, it's also so bad I've had to start using the back door, and the postie has blacklisted us!