View Full Version : The say anything, what's on your mind thread
23/12/2010, 9:04 AM
I'm head chef for cooking Christmas dinner for 22 people
I'd die if I had to spend xmas day with 22 people. We're having 7 including ourselves, and I'm looking forward to booting them out of the house afterwards and getting utterly trousered for my wife's entertainment.
23/12/2010, 7:15 PM
Reading 'The Human Stain' by Philip Roth at the moment. It's excellent.
I'd die if I had to spend xmas day with 22 people. We're having 7 including ourselves, and I'm looking forward to booting them out of the house afterwards and getting utterly trousered for my wife's entertainment.
Just myself, mother and the girlfriend this year!
23/12/2010, 10:48 PM
Well looks like I'm having a similar Christmas now. So heartbroken. Cousin and her lot flight cancelled and my aunt and uncle mite not get over from Holland. Others may not make it from Dublin and enniskillen and Dylan is so sick he may not be able to mix with 2 people with heart problems so it may be a case of cancelling it all and staying home for worst Christmas ever.:-( my idea of hell is a Christmas falling asleep in front of tv. Oh and having no water and my mum in pain is really making life happy.
wow..
24/12/2010, 1:46 AM
Always look on the bright side of life... everybody!
24/12/2010, 2:00 AM
I'm home with my family, was out drinking with my brother and a friend who managed to make it home from London despite the weather earlier. Right now my biggest problems are that the presents I've "hidden" under my bed aren't wrapped yet and I still have to collect my suit from the cleaners for a wedding on Tuesday.
<EDIT>
Scratch that, in the grand scheme of things, I have no problems whatsoever
24/12/2010, 11:19 AM
Left house in London at 6:45am yesterday, arrived home at 11:05 last night. Took best part of 6 hours to get from Dublin to Derry. But I'm home, which is the important thing :)
24/12/2010, 5:19 PM
Things are looking up a little. Dutch crew made and enniskillen lot still coming up. Got Dylan a flu mask so will be 13 for dinner now.
24/12/2010, 10:18 PM
I know it;s played te f**k but still cant beat it at xmas....:)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HwHyuraau4Q&feature=related
The Fly
25/12/2010, 3:24 AM
Merry Christmas.
28/12/2010, 7:25 PM
Got a nasty lingering cold. I'm looking for your remedies, no matter how unscientific they may be.
Paddyfield
28/12/2010, 10:43 PM
Left house in London at 6:45am yesterday, arrived home at 11:05 last night. Took best part of 6 hours to get from Dublin to Derry. But I'm home, which is the important thing :)
I just can't think of any Londonderry puns but my intentions are good.
Welcome home.
29/12/2010, 10:24 AM
Got a nasty lingering cold. I'm looking for your remedies, no matter how unscientific they may be.
You need this,specifically:
http://www.oneclickpharmacy.co.uk/images/products/Medicines/Coughs,%20Colds%20&%20Flu/Colds%20and%20Flu/Hot%20Drink%20Sachets/Beechams%20Flu%20Plus%20Hot%20Berry%20Fruits.Jpeg
29/12/2010, 11:59 AM
Supermac's sausages; ye never order them, but they're feckin lovely.
31/12/2010, 2:25 AM
Ugh. Heartburn city. Wonder was it the Malibu and Orange or the beers or the Mojitos or the rest of the Malibu and Orange that is to blame? Think it must be the crisps myself.
31/12/2010, 12:49 PM
Listened to the "best bits" of the Gerry Ryan show this morning. Whatever your feelings on the man, its all very sad. A great broadcaster who is irreplaceable on the radio. Many a lazy morning in college was spent listening to his show, he is sorely missed.
31/12/2010, 1:51 PM
I was working in a warehouse about 15 years ago as a summer job. We were putting always stuff into boxes, or taking stuff out of boxes at one particular spot every morning, and Gerry Ryan's show was playing on the radio provided for our diversion. We'd all been there at least a month before one of us mentioned that they couldn't stand his show, and then one after the other, all of us (maybe 6 people in total) revealed exactly the same thing, which we'd previously kept secret because we assumed that everybody else loved listening to him.
Paddyfield
31/12/2010, 6:15 PM
Listened to the "best bits" of the Gerry Ryan show this morning. Whatever your feelings on the man, its all very sad. A great broadcaster who is irreplaceable on the radio. Many a lazy morning in college was spent listening to his show, he is sorely missed.
I was flicking stations this morning when I unexpectedly came upon Gerry's voice roaring out out of the radio and he was talking about... ghosts.
Surreal moment.
01/01/2011, 1:42 AM
merry new thingy everyone,
be well and make happy and so forth
02/01/2011, 10:47 AM
Not preaching here, but St. Anthony, what a guy. Lost a few things in a cramped house over Christmas, said a quick prayer and found missing items within a few minutes!
02/01/2011, 12:48 PM
I usually say "Jesus was lost Jesus was found" coz my granny swore by it and it seems to work but I think that is mainly coz I relax my mind by repeating it and rem where to look.
02/01/2011, 1:26 PM
I find that offering the still-beating heart of a small orphan child to Cthulu usually works. That or searching a bit more thoroughly. A house isn't really all that large a space to lose something in, and orphans aren't two a penny any more.
Aberdonian Stu
02/01/2011, 2:07 PM
Now John, it all depends on the desperation of the searcher. You may recall my infamous passport hunt where it was in literally the last place available to look (as opposed to the obvious last place I looked).
02/01/2011, 3:19 PM
The local orphan shortage is an embarrassment in a modern country where you would expect all luxury items to be readily available, never mind the basic essentials. It is as bad as the water shortages. No wonder people are taking trips abroad to get them now. Personally I have started to make them myself: a messy and time consuming business, worse than trying to make your own salt! You would think that an enterprising person with an eye on the market would surely make a killing going into business supplying them, but perhaps that is why Ireland is in the state it is today.
02/01/2011, 4:34 PM
I find that offering the still-beating heart of a small orphan child to Cthulu usually works. That or searching a bit more thoroughly. A house isn't really all that large a space to lose something in, and orphans aren't two a penny any more.
Quality reference. I used to (actually, still do) love H. P. Lovecraft's stories. Even the pictures on the front covers had me gripped as a child.
On a different note, I'm going to start Mad Men Season 1 tonight.
02/01/2011, 7:29 PM
One my favourite pieces of writing ever in the English language.
After the Christmas thing
was over, the goddam picture started. It was so putrid I couldn't take
my eyes off it. It was about this English guy, Alec something, that was in
the war and loses his memory in the hospital and all. He comes out of the
hospital carrying a cane and limping all over the place, all over London,
not knowing who the hell he is. He's really a duke, but he doesn't know it.
Then he meets this nice, homey, sincere girl getting on a bus. Her goddam
hat blows off and he catches it, and then they go upstairs and sit down and
start talking about Charles Dickens. He's both their favorite author and
all. He's carrying this copy of Oliver Twist and so's she. I could've puked.
Anyway, they fell in love right away, on account of they're both so nuts
about Charles Dickens and all, and he helps her run her publishing business.
She's a publisher, the girl. Only, she's not doing so hot, because her
brother's a drunkard and he spends all their dough. He's a very bitter guy,
the brother, because he was a doctor in the war and now he can't operate any
more because his nerves are shot, so he boozes all the time, but he's pretty
witty and all. Anyway, old Alec writes a book, and this girl publishes it,
and they both make a hatful of dough on it. They're all set to get married
when this other girl, old Marcia, shows up. Marcia was Alec's fiancйe before
he lost his memory, and she recognizes him when he's in this store
autographing books. She tells old Alec he's really a duke and all, but he
doesn't believe her and doesn't want to go with her to visit his mother and
all. His mother's blind as a bat. But the other girl, the homey one, makes
him go. She's very noble and all. So he goes. But he still doesn't get his
memory back, even when his great Dane jumps all over him and his mother
sticks her fingers all over his face and brings him this teddy bear he used
to slobber around with when he was a kid. But then, one day, some kids are
playing cricket on the lawn and he gets smacked in the head with a cricket
ball. Then right away he gets his goddam memory back and he goes in and
kisses his mother on the forehead and all. Then he starts being a regular
duke again, and he forgets all about the homey babe that has the publishing
business. I'd tell you the rest of the story, but I might puke if I did. It
isn't that I'd spoil it for you or anything. There isn't anything to spoil
for Chrissake. Anyway, it ends up with Alec and the homey babe getting
married, and the brother that's a drunkard gets his nerves back and operates
on Alec's mother so she can see again, and then the drunken brother and old
Marcia go for each other. It ends up with everybody at this long dinner
table laughing their asses off because the great Dane comes in with a bunch
of puppies. Everybody thought it was a male, I suppose, or some goddam
thing. All I can say is, don't see it if you don't want to puke all over
yourself.
(Mods, hope this isn't any copyright issue - apologies if it is)
03/01/2011, 2:28 AM
Fed up of falling in love with guys who don't love me back.2011 better get better.
04/01/2011, 9:23 AM
Some really good journalistic cliches here:
http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/games-up-for-surplus-hacks-2480934.html
6 If Alex Ferguson is ranting and raving and slagging off the opposition and the referee, he is playing 'mind games,' as part of a cunning master plan. If Arsene Wenger is ranting and raving and slagging off the opposition and the referee, he has 'lost the plot' and proved that he is a whiny foreigner who will never win anything.
18 Asian players are only there for the purpose of shirt sales.
23 The death of anyone puts sport 'into perspective'.
25 Everyone in Ireland is filled with delight when some millionaire's horse wins in Cheltenham.
36 2-0 is the most dangerous lead in football. Which should mean that a team should be delighted to get pegged back to 2-1, but doesn't somehow.
39 Features should conclude with a short ominous sentence. 'He does now.' 'It is his.' 'A man alone,' 'Love me tender,' 'Stairway to Heaven,' something like that.
48 The African teams in the World Cup are 'defensively naive'.
Wolfie
04/01/2011, 12:37 PM
I suppose it begs the question, exactly how absent minded are Angelina Jolie and Madonna!!!!!!!
"Where's the remote. Best acquire an orphan to solve this one"
"Where's the car keys....... Damn......... Hi, Is that Orphans R US?????"
Maxi Cane
04/01/2011, 6:01 PM
A mate of mine was being a smug ******* when he told me he won the "Orphan of the year Award..."
...So I told him, "Your parents must be so proud."
Wolfie
05/01/2011, 12:20 PM
You need this,specifically:
http://www.oneclickpharmacy.co.uk/images/products/Medicines/Coughs,%20Colds%20&%20Flu/Colds%20and%20Flu/Hot%20Drink%20Sachets/Beechams%20Flu%20Plus%20Hot%20Berry%20Fruits.Jpeg
WARNING - The above post contains product placement.
05/01/2011, 12:31 PM
It's just a little extra cash.
Which is exactly what you could be earning if you consolidate all your loans into...
Wolfie
05/01/2011, 12:53 PM
It's just a little extra cash.
Which is exactly what you could be earning if you consolidate all your loans into...
Indeed - and if its one thing I won't tolerate, its dandruff. That's why you need Wolfie's "HEADSTART" for all of your dandruff issues - now with the great taste of Anchovies!!!!!!!! RADICAL!!!
05/01/2011, 3:57 PM
http://www.kevinmuldoon.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/04/waynes-world-pepsi.jpg
Benjamin: Wayne! Listen, we need to have a talk about Vanderhoff. The fact is he's the sponsor and you signed a contract guaranteeing him certain concessions, one of them being a spot on the show.
Wayne: [holding a Pizza Hut box] Well that's where I see things just a little differently. Contract or no, I will not bow to any sponsor.
Benjamin: I'm sorry you feel that way, but basically it's the nature of the beast.
Wayne: [holding a bag of Doritos] Maybe I'm wrong on this one, but for me, the beast doesn't include selling out. Garth, you know what I'm talking about, right?
Garth: [wearing Reebok wardrobe] It's like people only do these things because they can get paid. And that's just really sad.
Wayne: I can't talk about it anymore; it's giving me a headache.
Garth: Here, take two of these!
[Dumps two Nuprin pills into Wayne's hand]
Wayne: Ah, Nuprin. Little. Yellow. Different.
Benjamin: Look, you can stay here in the big leagues and play by the rules, or you can go back to the farm club in Aurora. It's your choice.
Wayne: [holding a can of Pepsi] Yes, and it's the choice of a new generation
05/01/2011, 8:39 PM
State of the health system....5 hours yesterday and 8 hours today my mum sat in A&E in Drogheda waiting to get an x-ray. So bloody busy, with loads of people in flu masks. Scary stuff.
05/01/2011, 10:51 PM
Seamie Coleman.
07/01/2011, 8:23 AM
Friday.
I am thinking af applying for the Sligo job when Paul Cooke goes to Stockport.
08/01/2011, 7:06 AM
In Fantasy League, why do players you've just got rid of, end up scoring in the next game?
Bray-Z
08/01/2011, 7:00 PM
There's no thread called 'Newcastle fan floors Stevengae player after today's match' so I'll just stick this here: http://yfrog.com/n27jxz
Big trouble ahead!
horton
09/01/2011, 10:07 AM
I'm never going near Belfast International Airport again. For any other nordies, did you know that you get charged a quid to drop someone off? I didn't and got stuck searching the car for money to get out. They must be getting advice from Ryanair, charging ye for absolutely anything. Its probably only a matter of time before they start charging for the toilets. I don't even think theres a footpath for people to walk in from the main road so theres no way to avoid it. Completed P'd be off:mad:
shantykelly
09/01/2011, 1:23 PM
this working saturday and sunday lark isn't up to much. completely scunnered at the minute.
09/01/2011, 10:21 PM
R.I.P. Martinho and Pauro's mum who died today. My heart breaks for them and their family.
Bray-Z
09/01/2011, 11:46 PM
R.I.P. Martinho and Pauro's mum who died today. My heart breaks for them and their family.
RIP. Very sad news.
pauliek
10/01/2011, 3:10 AM
Awful to hear that, looking for to seeing Marty Feb 9th
Wolfie
10/01/2011, 1:01 PM
Very sorry to hear that - condolences Pauro and Marty.
10/01/2011, 1:07 PM
Sincere condolences to both Pauro and Martinho. R.I.P.
Very sorry to hear that. My condolences to Pauro and Marty.
10/01/2011, 3:30 PM
RIP,god bless her.