View Full Version : The say anything, what's on your mind thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 [141] 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158

13/08/2014, 12:18 PM
If you ask me, the story is just a load of pants.

13/08/2014, 12:19 PM
Fortunately he has been placed under a vest.

The Fly
14/08/2014, 5:42 AM
http://z5.ifrm.com/5902/57/0/e14552//e14552.gif

16/08/2014, 10:21 AM
These pictures reminded me of going to LOI games:

http://www.theguardian.com/artanddesign/gallery/2014/aug/15/pictures-of-the-week-around-the-floodlit-grounds-by-ian-hughes?CMP=fb_gu

16/08/2014, 11:31 AM
A bit strange..as I clicked onto this thread and scrolled down, This Charming Man by the Smiths was playing over the tannoy in Old Trafford on the television at exactly the same time as the post above came into view.

17/08/2014, 2:29 AM
A bit strange..as I clicked onto this thread and scrolled down, This Charming Man by the Smiths was playing over the tannoy in Old Trafford on the television at exactly the same time as the post above came into view.

Still Ill would surely have been a more appropriate choice.

27/08/2014, 1:47 PM
I've packed it in lads... It feels great...

http://www.krank.ie/category/opinions/end-fantasy-finally-learned-loathe-fantasy-football/

27/08/2014, 3:32 PM
I think everyone hates it really.

27/08/2014, 4:45 PM
But will everyone quit?

27/08/2014, 5:20 PM
As usual, I'll give up in a few weeks when it's patently obvious that my team is going nowhere. There's be a flurry of interest for the Harps cup competition, but once out of that I'll go back to ignoring it.

27/08/2014, 9:01 PM
I'm pretty decent generally at it and to be honest there's enough of us in leagues to find your place therein. But I honestly felt ill watching the results coming in from Man City-Liverpool came on Monday. Screw that. I don't even support either team for crying out loud.

31/08/2014, 10:36 AM
There should be an investigation into what the flip is going on in Pontypandy. A massive proportion of the population are part of a superbly equipped fire service where suspiciously enough there are constantly major health and safety incidents. It fecking stinks if you ask me.

05/09/2014, 7:04 PM
Only just realised today that, as of two days ago, I've quit smoking for a full year. It's a good feeling.

05/09/2014, 7:15 PM
Only just realised today that, as of two days ago, I've quit smoking for a full year. It's a good feeling.
Not as good as the feeling a lovely fresh smoke.

05/09/2014, 7:29 PM
Not as good as the feeling a lovely fresh smoke.

I don't know. I quite like the ability to breathe in the morning when I wake up.

05/09/2014, 7:32 PM
I don't know. I quite like the ability to breathe in the morning when I wake up.
You ruined it now. You were supposed to start craving it and I'd laugh at your discomfort.

05/09/2014, 8:19 PM
You ruined it now. You were supposed to start craving it and I'd laugh at your discomfort.

Your failure pleases me.

09/09/2014, 8:12 AM
First day in first year in 10years.

May lord have mercy on my soul this fresher's week.

gastric
09/09/2014, 9:07 AM
The very best of luck Bonnie, rather you than me! Be tolerant of all the whipper snappers, they know no better.

09/09/2014, 3:18 PM
It's a strange feeling walking into registration for first year and seeing all the young'uns coming in. I just looked around, immediately picking out those that'll drop out in a matter of weeks.

Also, the lack of puberty is dreadful. College needs more beards. I'm hoping myself and BonnieShels will have somewhat rectified this injustice.

The Fly
09/09/2014, 9:56 PM
U2's new album is very, very good.

09/09/2014, 11:01 PM
The very best of luck Bonnie, rather you than me! Be tolerant of all the whipper snappers, they know no better.

My course (Geomatics) is pretty technical so there's not much room for messing. The whippersnappers will be snapped soon enough.

It's a strange feeling walking into registration for first year and seeing all the young'uns coming in. I just looked around, immediately picking out those that'll drop out in a matter of weeks.

Also, the lack of puberty is dreadful. College needs more beards. I'm hoping myself and BonnieShels will have somewhat rectified this injustice.

The age of them is just mental. Fresher's week looks horrific and there's no way I'll be at a neon paint party... I mentioned my age to some today and there were looks of sheer shock.

In typical fashion my age has of course led to the course's one girl latching onto my every word. She has no time for the wee berns. I was telling Ms BonnieShels earlier... she can't quite figure out why anyone would bother listening to my "wisdom".

09/09/2014, 11:14 PM
I listen to all our your widsom, thirstily, BS.

10/09/2014, 12:30 PM
Your senses seem confused. I'd get that checked.

10/09/2014, 3:52 PM
I had a 20 year old tell me today he feels old in college. I'll let that sink in.

I laughed.

10/09/2014, 8:14 PM
Have you started classes already?

10/09/2014, 9:37 PM
Nope, full week of induction. It's awfully annoying all this 'team building' rubbish. Starting classes on Monday far as I'm aware.

11/09/2014, 12:18 AM
A whole week? We had one day of it. I don't start classes til Monday.

12/09/2014, 1:51 PM
A whole week indeed, and only got my timetable today. Woe is me. Too many hours.

TheOneWhoKnocks
16/09/2014, 5:00 PM
I'm back at college. Will never understand why all the eramus students dress so formally. It's college ffs not a funeral. Hipsters one and all.

16/09/2014, 11:22 PM
I left college a year and a half ago, but all the same freshers week has been a good laugh so far :D

19/09/2014, 12:37 PM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-f-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xaf1/v/t1.0-9/1013295_10202871971905643_6025477984728209675_n.jp g?oh=c043eeac2691b264a67a01fec756de77&oe=54C48BD2&__gda__=1422345317_a53d46687316b7d6c38acc7a0b8df15 6

22/09/2014, 2:46 AM
Scotland votes No

Kerry "win" the All-Ireland

What a pox of a weekend!

02/11/2014, 12:50 AM
Missus graduated yesterday, I'm still in a hoop.

02/11/2014, 12:55 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o0u4M6vppCI

02/11/2014, 1:14 AM
He's just so ****ing wiggly

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=758295800874574

13/11/2014, 8:53 PM
Graham Hunter is an awful boring windbag.

Spudulika
04/12/2014, 10:39 AM
I didn't realise how long it was since I'd last posted until Bonnie commented (kindly) and it has been a rollercoaster.
I went on holidays to Ireland (with a brief stopover both ways in Manchester) last August-September. Work was great, lots of things happening and was dragged into a project for Sochi as well as landing some tasty clients to work with. When I was home Dad took a turn (he'd had a heart attack the November-December 2012) down visiting his sister and luckily we got him to the hospital.

We returned home whereupon things went pearshaped relationshipwise, my (now) ex told me it was over the night before I was due to fly home for a 4 days weekend to Ireland (early-October), she'd been knocking about with her married boss for a couple of months and he left his wife (this May) to keep it simple. Anyway, my time at home was pretty miserable, though I'd a lovely evening with my Dad watching rugby on tv (at his house in Drogheda). It was our last time together. At the start of November I finished one contract with the state broadcaster and suddenly a new chance landed in my lap, in a totally different field. I decided to go for it as it was a decent payday and new city, Voronezh.

I started work November 11 and life was pretty up and down but not boring. This day last year he was on the verge of being released from hospital (after another wee turn) and we were yapping away on the phone. For 2 weeks solid we'd been in touch daily, including one mad text-by-text account of the Ireland-All Blacks match as I was on a train back here. I was on skype/phone with him and my sister and we were laughing and joking about shacking him up with some ould wan who'd look after him, he insisted on some hot young chick! It was late evening here and I got cut off just after some fun, parting words.

I woke the night of the 5th with a strange shock, not really thinking. Then the phone rang and I answered, it was my Mam. I immediately said - "Dad's dead, he died an hour ago or so." It was the weirdest feeling but yet calming also. I got a flight to Moscow the next evening, then on Friday morning flew home (and into a warzone). After that the year seemed to sail past, I've not been back to Ireland but my Mam visited here (and Moscow) in April/May, I met my sister in Germany last month and I'm in touch with my brother (who's now in Thailand).

And of course my Dad's beloved Dundalk won the league, Louth didn't do much and the Dubs flattered to deceive. But a year later I still feel he's here with me. And now to visit the loony bin :-)

04/12/2014, 10:46 AM
Jaysus, that's a fierce year you've had. Takes a lot to come out the other side of that still standing strong. Fair play to you.

Spudulika
04/12/2014, 11:00 AM
Thanks Nigel! We all have our own mad periods, this just seems/ed to go on for a bit. Was hoping to get home for Christmas or at worst New Year (we have 10 days free after Jan 1st), but the rouble has nosedived, so my salary has been cut by 30%, still, life goes on and is good!

The Fly
05/12/2014, 3:34 AM
Googled Sherlock Holmes earlier and had a laugh at the first result (In the news)

09/12/2014, 7:23 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oOOPcVyuYHw

Also, my favourite tweet of all time:

http://static.nme.com/images/gallery/dannydyertweet.jpg

Spudulika
09/12/2014, 1:32 PM
The company I work for are firing 30% of staff, which means my contract won't be renewed (am a happy camper), but in "cost-cutting" measures they are breaking their contract with Guinness-Heineken! With the quality of meat at an all time low (no decent imports) it's like end of times or something. Local beers are pretty cat, so right now it's deciding whether to buy some of the remaining kegs with my bonus and having a mega party, or some heavy winter clothes!

09/12/2014, 3:35 PM
Christmas has broken me already..

11/12/2014, 9:55 AM
9am to 9pm on Tuesday... 830am to 930pm on Wednesday... Up til 3am this morning even after all that...

College gets easier doesn't it?

And it's only the end if the first semester!

11/12/2014, 11:09 AM
On the contrary, I slept in today and decided to skip the whole day as a result.

College, eh?!

Spudulika
11/12/2014, 12:08 PM
Damn you student types! Why did I spend my time being active and pretending to study, I have to return to Uni and relive my lost teenage years and listen to whatever the youngsters are listening to now!!! :-)

11/12/2014, 12:10 PM
Damn you student types! Why did I spend my time being active and pretending to study, I have to return to Uni and relive my lost teenage years and listen to whatever the youngsters are listening to now!!! :-)

You really don't want to be doing that.

13/12/2014, 7:12 AM
Back to Ireland on Wednesday, for the first Christmas at home in 3 years. It's just not the same in Sydney...

13/12/2014, 5:58 PM
Finding out that you're top of the class in college is pretty sweet. Feeling like a right smarty-pants now. Pity it's not final results I'm getting and only first semester.