View Full Version : The say anything, what's on your mind thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 [152] 153 154 155 156 157 158

TheOneWhoKnocks
14/02/2017, 2:06 PM
Really?

I've been hanging on by a thread for over three years.

Touch wood.

KrisLetang
14/02/2017, 6:32 PM
That's what you do every morning isn't it?

KrisLetang
23/02/2017, 8:56 PM
Kerrygold butter banned from America's heartland!
http://www.foxnews.com/food-drink/2017/02/23/wisconsin-s-irish-butter-ban-spurs-statewide-dairy-debacle.html

24/02/2017, 11:09 AM
I was very drunk when I posted that.

British monarch references painted over on street signs in Cork

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/british-monarch-references-painted-over-on-street-signs-in-cork-775233.html

I will say this. The British gave us fabulous architecture, particularly in Limerick, which we seem hellbent on destroying for some reason.

I also love the old postboxes.

"we"?

Yer man is a nutter.

24/02/2017, 11:10 AM
Wow, just realized this month marks my 10 year anniversary on here. I was nearly released for bad behaviour a few times but hung in there.

I passed my 8th anniversary in January. Insane.

I actually can't believe TOWK is here that long.

24/02/2017, 10:49 PM
8 years for me tomorrow. I'm going to celebrate it like a birthday.

Averaged just under 3 posts a day in that time.

25/02/2017, 4:04 AM
Just after my wife had given birth, I asked the doctor, "How soon do you think we'll be able to have sex?"

He winked at me and said, "I'm off duty in 10 minutes - meet me in the car park."

27/02/2017, 11:05 AM
8 years for me tomorrow. I'm going to celebrate it like a birthday.

Averaged just under 3 posts a day in that time.

3.71 per day for me. And this post is my 11001st post!

KrisLetang
28/02/2017, 4:34 PM
New Orleans Saints players barred from London club for being "Too Urban."

http://www.espn.com/nfl/story/_/id/18787545/mark-ingram-new-orleans-saints-teammates-denied-entry-london-club-being-too-urban

11/03/2017, 2:13 PM
The worst thing about dying at sea or in a tsunami would have to be the salt water. Yuck!

TheOneWhoKnocks
11/03/2017, 6:16 PM
http://www.thejournal.ie/missing-man-declan-whyte-renewed-appeal-3283042-Mar2017/

I'm not going to go into detail but I had an unpleasant experience with this guy less than a month ago, so I don't know how he hasn't been found yet.

He's not hard to miss. Tattoos, piercings and self-harm marks from head to toe.

I'm more concerned for the people who cross his path than I am for him.

Anyways - I've passed on my information.

DeLorean
13/03/2017, 6:45 AM
The worst thing about dying at sea or in a tsunami would have to be the salt water. Yuck!

I'm always advised to gargle salt-water whenever I have a sore throat. I usually leave it off though as it's more unpleasant than the sore throat itself.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ql1EnjVYrZM

13/03/2017, 8:21 AM
http://www.thejournal.ie/missing-man-declan-whyte-renewed-appeal-3283042-Mar2017/

I'm not going to go into detail but I had an unpleasant experience with this guy less than a month ago, so I don't know how he hasn't been found yet.

He's not hard to miss. Tattoos, piercings and self-harm marks from head to toe.

I'm more concerned for the people who cross his path than I am for him.

Anyways - I've passed on my information.

You okay hun?

TheOneWhoKnocks
25/03/2017, 12:59 PM
Anyone else a John Grisham fan?

I thought The Street Lawyer was a dud but The Pelican Brief and The Brethren are excellent.

Currently reading A Painted House.

He's outdoing himself again!

I can even forgive his views on child pornography related sentencings.

26/03/2017, 2:00 AM
That started off as a pretty normal post but after that last line nobody's going to start talking about John Grisham novels.

TheOneWhoKnocks
26/03/2017, 9:59 PM
http://edition.cnn.com/2014/10/16/showbiz/celebrity-news-gossip/john-grisham-child-pornography/

See, even people like John Grisham can say stupid things sometimes.

26/03/2017, 11:20 PM
I remember it. It's more than stupid, it is probably an insight into somebody he knows, and it's scary that there are people (and there are a lot of them) who think like that.

But if you wanted to have a chat about his novels (I've only read a couple but was really engrossed by the Chamber) then that last line was always going to ruin it!

TheOneWhoKnocks
31/03/2017, 10:39 PM
I love the standard "she looked 18/21" and "she dresses like a 30 year old" defenses.

I'm currently chain smoking my way through The Runaway Jury, ironically enough.

23/04/2017, 12:29 PM
33 years of age and finally going to my first Glastonbury! OH YEAH!!!

KrisLetang
04/05/2017, 5:31 PM
Do you guys think that one rare thing all of society can agree on would be putting an end to having to say "God Bless you" when someone sneezes? I have horrible allergies lately and I find myself having to say "Thank You" needlessly throughout the day.

According to office gossip, The origins of saying that are in the 1800's they thought your soul could escape your body when you sneezed which is ridiculous. So why do we still have to say it? It breaks the wall of silence we all accept and like in stupid situations like being on an elevator or on mass transit or whatever.

I stopped saying it to other people BC i said it to some woman on the subway and she said "Oh, I'm not religious." But now i wonder if some people are insulted that I don't say it. Yesterday I'm walking down 5th avenue and I sneezed really loudly. I was out of tissues and only had a wet mess of a torn clomp of 3 or 4 in my pocket. And rainy snots were coming out of my nose. So I had my hands full. And like literally 4 people yelled "GOD BLESS YOU!" At me. So i had to cover my mouth and nose BC it was disgusting and yell "Oh Thank you Thank you all Oh Sweet surfing Moses Thank You All!!" Which was annoying. If there is a God why would He/She care about me sneezing with all that is going on in North Korea and stuff. Grumpy New Yorkers who wouldn't brake if they saw me crossing the street are suddenly prompted to be so concerned with me sneezing.

And what's considered de rigueur when you are in one place and the person sneezes multiple times? Do you keep saying it? If they say nothing do you assume they didn't hear you and say it again? Isn't it time to put this silly antiquated custom to bed once and for all? Are snots in reality my brains leaking out? And when I try not to sneeze it only makes me sneeze more. It's like sex. So ill be on a plane and it will happen one time and everyone will say it and then ill be like Oh Jaysus Christmas. Here we go. Finally the flight attendant will be like Do you want a tissue or should we just taze you? And i'll be like no i have 30 tissues. Just stop feeling the need to Bless me from you God just BC I sneezed.

04/05/2017, 9:11 PM
Early enough in the day to be three sheets to the wind? I salute you sir. God Bless you.

KrisLetang
04/05/2017, 9:12 PM
Come on. I can't drink at work. I did have a new flavor Gatorade before.

05/05/2017, 3:18 PM
Do you guys think that one rare thing all of society can agree on would be putting an end to having to say "God Bless you" when someone sneezes? I have horrible allergies lately and I find myself having to say "Thank You" needlessly throughout the day.

According to office gossip, The origins of saying that are in the 1800's they thought your soul could escape your body when you sneezed which is ridiculous. So why do we still have to say it? It breaks the wall of silence we all accept and like in stupid situations like being on an elevator or on mass transit or whatever.

I stopped saying it to other people BC i said it to some woman on the subway and she said "Oh, I'm not religious." But now i wonder if some people are insulted that I don't say it. Yesterday I'm walking down 5th avenue and I sneezed really loudly. I was out of tissues and only had a wet mess of a torn clomp of 3 or 4 in my pocket. And rainy snots were coming out of my nose. So I had my hands full. And like literally 4 people yelled "GOD BLESS YOU!" At me. So i had to cover my mouth and nose BC it was disgusting and yell "Oh Thank you Thank you all Oh Sweet surfing Moses Thank You All!!" Which was annoying. If there is a God why would He/She care about me sneezing with all that is going on in North Korea and stuff. Grumpy New Yorkers who wouldn't brake if they saw me crossing the street are suddenly prompted to be so concerned with me sneezing.

And what's considered de rigueur when you are in one place and the person sneezes multiple times? Do you keep saying it? If they say nothing do you assume they didn't hear you and say it again? Isn't it time to put this silly antiquated custom to bed once and for all? Are snots in reality my brains leaking out? And when I try not to sneeze it only makes me sneeze more. It's like sex. So ill be on a plane and it will happen one time and everyone will say it and then ill be like Oh Jaysus Christmas. Here we go. Finally the flight attendant will be like Do you want a tissue or should we just taze you? And i'll be like no i have 30 tissues. Just stop feeling the need to Bless me from you God just BC I sneezed.

I think people say it because "bless you" sounds like a sneeze (ah-choo). In our family we always used to wait for the 4th or 5th sneeze before the blessing because the sneezes seldom came in ones.

05/05/2017, 7:18 PM
They never give you enough hardener with chemical metal. Never.

07/05/2017, 7:28 AM
NSFW

http://thumb9.shutterstock.com/display_pic_with_logo/76219/142925572/stock-photo-handsome-man-surfing-his-office-chair-and-having-fun-142925572.jpg

07/05/2017, 3:05 PM
I am very hungover today.

KrisLetang
07/05/2017, 5:13 PM
Did you drink anything dark? I never drink anything but Vodka anymore and I never am hungover anymore. Anything with properties in it killed me the next day and I would have to drink a gallon of water.

07/05/2017, 5:35 PM
Did you drink anything dark? I never drink anything but Vodka anymore and I never am hungover anymore. Anything with properties in it killed me the next day and I would have to drink a gallon of water.
You're never hungover because you're always drunk.

07/05/2017, 5:41 PM
Gin is my go to when I'm switching up but I'll have the odd spiced rum from time to time. I fcking love gin.

KrisLetang
07/05/2017, 5:51 PM
You're never hungover because you're always drunk.

Nah, it's not good for you. Pickles your organs. Just once in a while.

What's your brand Stu?

07/05/2017, 6:00 PM
I couldn't do a whole night of spirits. It's usually whiskey or spiced rum when I do. Those nights tend to be messy.

Mixing drinks is probably why I feel so damn hungover today though.

KrisLetang
07/05/2017, 6:08 PM
You should have Dr. Peepee come over to give you a Saline IV with some electrolytes. Works like a charm. He'll give you a nice back rub if you tip him too according to Charlie Darwin.

07/05/2017, 6:33 PM
Nah, it's not good for you. Pickles your organs. Just once in a while.

What's your brand Stu?

Usually whatever the bar sells is fine by me but I usually have a bottle of Tanqueray in the house at all times and just got in a bottle of Black Fox, a local distillation, that was recently voted best gin in the world.

08/05/2017, 10:54 PM
I couldn't do a whole night of spirits. It's usually whiskey or spiced rum when I do. Those nights tend to be messy.

Mixing drinks is probably why I feel so damn hungover today though.

Morgan is the devil. Can't stomach the stuff. The hangovers from that are from the ages.

KrisLetang
09/05/2017, 5:06 PM
Irish beach reappears after 33 years? Great. Another reason for Nigel Harps to don his infamous Borat bathing suit.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2017/may/08/irish-beach-washed-away-reappears-freak-tide

DannyInvincible
11/05/2017, 6:11 PM
According to the RTÉ One weather there, there has been no rain in the whole of Ireland so far this May.

Crazy.

KrisLetang
11/05/2017, 7:24 PM
But there have been many, many tears.

11/05/2017, 8:17 PM
According to the RTÉ One weather there, there has been no rain in the whole of Ireland so far this May.

Crazy.
rained on me cycling home this evening. Thanks Danny.

11/05/2017, 11:18 PM
If it stays away for the weekend, I'll be quite happy. Planned barbeque on Saturday....

KrisLetang
12/05/2017, 4:47 PM
Watch this guy eat Ghost Peppers.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OvdjBtw-XbE

KrisLetang
15/05/2017, 3:21 PM
So The Mets baseball season is crashing and burning in spectacular fashion. I was perusing their minor league system BC they are in desperate need of pitching. Just wanted to see if they have anyone coming up the pike who could help this year. I was surprised that one of their better prospects is a Belfast born fella named P.J. Conlon. Born in 1993. There have been 47 Major League players who were Irish Born, but none since 1945 so it would be quite something if he reached the majors. Any chance any of you sports fans have heard of him or know anything about him?

17/05/2017, 2:16 PM
Cheerio fellas. I've decided to hang up my foot.ie boots for good. Great little community here so keep the information and opinions flowing.

COYBIG!

KrisLetang
17/05/2017, 9:09 PM
Just take a sabbatical like Noelys Guitar.

18/05/2017, 12:12 AM
Cheerio fellas. I've decided to hang up my foot.ie boots for good. Great little community here so keep the information and opinions flowing.

COYBIG!

10 years and whoosh...

KrisLetang
18/05/2017, 5:07 PM
These articles in all the papers the last few days about this trash island in the Pacific...we really should do something about plastics. Bamboo phone cases for all! I fear Stu is headed there as we speak for his exile. But can you imagine 13,000 pieces of garbage every damn day? How sad. I'm going to make more of an effort to stop using plastics. I never use plastic bags etc..Bring your own hemp bags grocery shopping. Who but the Irish can lead us to be Green?

https://www.nytimes.com/2017/05/16/world/australia/henderson-island-plastic-debris-south-pacific.html

CraftyToePoke
19/05/2017, 3:50 AM
Which one of ye drove SkStu away anyway ? This place is withering on the vine as it is without friendly fire casualties.

gastric
19/05/2017, 4:28 AM
Which one of ye drove SkStu away anyway ? This place is withering on the vine as it is without friendly fire casualties.

Thank God he is gone. No good, moose loving,Trump loving, right wing Fascist! I wonder will this tempt him back?

DannyInvincible
19/05/2017, 1:01 PM
Didn't Stu prematurely announce retirement from Foot.ie once before only to return some time later? Fear not; he'll be back. ;)

19/05/2017, 2:37 PM
One does not simply leave foot.ie.

TheOneWhoKnocks
19/05/2017, 11:47 PM
Second last time I went to the off-licence and my favourite member of staff was there she had a corny smile on her face when she was bagging my West Coast Cooler Rose.

I got the impression she liked me.

Last time I went to the off-licence and got my Coors Light out of the fridge I turned around to see her staring at me with a smile on her face.

Now I really get the impression she likes me.

I made the excuse that I didn't come on to her because her friend was there and it wasn't the right moment, but the truth is I am really bad at reading social cues and don't know how to broach it with her.

What small talk should I use to try and gauge the situation further?

*Give me a break. It's easier in nightclubs.

tl;dr Maybe it's because I was buying West Coast Cooler Rose.