View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 [92] 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172

pateen
31/08/2016, 3:28 PM
Any update from whats happening at Derry? Photos or anything?

Dazzy
31/08/2016, 4:51 PM
Any update from whats happening at Derry? Photos or anything?

Good one. Bids from contractors on the first tender was too expensive for the council.

31/08/2016, 10:55 PM
* UCD Bowl excluded too.

Sorry, that's a DLR issue.

*I used to work there. **** that ****.

Philosophizer
01/09/2016, 5:24 AM
Anyone got up-to-date pictures of the MF? I'm interested to see how the other half of ground looks beside the main stand, and also have they built anything behind the goals on the same end of the main stand?

01/09/2016, 8:17 AM
Good one. Bids from contractors on the first tender was too expensive for the council.

There was an electricity sub-station that needed move that wasn't taken account of, apparently.
New tender due to be announced soon(ish), probably, maybe, if they get round to it.

disgruntled
01/09/2016, 9:12 AM
There was an electricity sub-station that needed move that wasn't taken account of, apparently.
New tender due to be announced soon(ish), probably, maybe, if they get round to it.

So don't plan on moving any time soon :rolleyes:
Everything in this country takes an age to get going.

ForzaHoop
01/09/2016, 10:02 AM
Sure Finn Harps are still waiting on the monies from FAI to complete the stadium 1/2 built in Finn Valley

Paddyfield
01/09/2016, 11:58 AM
The proposed move by Connacht is real. They have discussed the matter with IRFU, FAI, Galway FA, NUIG and Galway City Council.

The Council own the waterworks next door (effectively behind the old stand) and are open to handing over the land in the name of a municipal stadium. The green area across the road from the stadium is owned by the University and currently is unused. This would allow for the realignment and widening of the road and there is scope for lots of parking. This site occupies a few hundred meters of river side frontage. The proposal is to extend the pitch the current car park, knock down the current 'old' stand and replace it with a stand not dissimilar to Thomand Park with corporate facilities etc.

I'm skeptical to be honest but have no objection to the theory. I've seen many plans for many stadium developments in this county which never got to see the light of day. But you never know....

01/09/2016, 1:37 PM
So don't plan on moving any time soon :rolleyes:
Everything in this country takes an age to get going.

You can blame the British system on the delays in Derry...

From my visit there recently, there was apparently 2 issues. One related to to the tender awarded (as the council investigated why it was so much cheaper than the others) and another about a sewerage issue related to the back pitch, that needed work done before the stadium (as the greyhounds moved there?)

The lads we talked to seemed to think there'd be no movement this season, even with the Glentoran stand having been knocked down

01/09/2016, 3:15 PM
Deal reached with Shelbourne. Basically the same story the Sun had but 98fm had an interview with DCC to go along with it.

http://www.98fm.com/Dublin-City-Council:-Deal-Reached-With-Shelbourne-To-Move-To-Dalymount

Interesting to note though, there's an artists rendering of what the stadium will look like, although Shels have said:

"We hope to be in a position to announce our part in the project in the coming weeks."
"We expect to be relinquishing our interests in Tolka Park and moving to a revamped Dalymount as Co-Anchor Tenants with Bohemians, but as the plans for the new stadium have neither been drawn up, or discussed in detail, yet we will not be commenting further at this stage.""
http://foot.ie/attachment.php?attachmentid=2458&stc=1

Eminence Grise
01/09/2016, 5:16 PM
Whatever about 11,000 seats, there's no way you'll squeeze that many trees into Phibsboro. Space was tight enough when I lived in Cabra Park!

disgruntled
02/09/2016, 9:36 AM
Whatever about 11,000 seats, there's no way you'll squeeze that many trees into Phibsboro. Space was tight enough when I lived in Cabra Park!

They're not trees, they're cannabis plants :p

fionnsci
02/09/2016, 11:06 AM
My concern about Dalymount is the proposed size of the new stands. From memory, I think the suggestion was two main stands of 4,500 each with two stands <1,000 behind the goals. This would be a terrible environment for a League of Ireland team to play football in. A good home crowd for either Bohs or Shels would still mean a half empty main stand. It would look terrible and be terrible for the atmosphere. So I'm relieved to read above that no plans are set in stone. I hope the clubs realise this and fight for more a more sensible design. Pitchside stands of 2,500, behind the goal stands of 1,500 would be my choice. 8,000 is a more sensible size than 11,000 and satisfies UEFA Cat 4 criteria.

Philosophizer
02/09/2016, 11:44 AM
8.5k is the minimum for a cat4, so anything over that would suffice. Something between 8.5 and 9k should be what were aiming for. It would still probably only be filled for cup finals or European games, bitvthats a good complaint to have.

pateen
02/09/2016, 2:29 PM
I wonder will Dunphy run naked across it when its built?

02/09/2016, 10:14 PM
8.5k is the minimum for a cat4, so anything over that would suffice. Something between 8.5 and 9k should be what were aiming for. It would still probably only be filled for cup finals or European games, bitvthats a good complaint to have.
It's 8,000 exactly for cat 4, and cup finals currently get 15-30k so hopefully they're not back in Dalymount

gufcfan
02/09/2016, 10:24 PM
It's 8,000 exactly for cat 4, and cup finals currently get 15-30k so hopefully they're not back in Dalymount

Playing in the Aviva in front of a decent crowd is a big carrot for teams. Moving it to a stadium with two LOI clubs already playing out of it would be terrible in comparison. That's why I think the FAI will do it.

Philosophizer
03/09/2016, 7:09 AM
You're right. Sorry, my bad.
Well I wouldn't ever want the fai cup final moved from the aviva unless it involved 2 teams who would have v small support, I was thinking more like league cup finals or Leinster cup finals etc

GCdfc
03/09/2016, 9:37 AM
Just reminded of the state of Dalymount last night. Can't wait for it to be knocked and rebuilt. It's a horrible place. I thought Oriel was bad but it's a shambles. It's as if even basic maintenance hasn't been carried out for 20 years. The images produced look great but 11k capacity seems on the high side but I suspect that the council are thinking about using it as a concert venue.

sparky12345678
03/09/2016, 9:53 AM
What happens to Tolka Park then?

03/09/2016, 10:09 AM
Probably knocked and turned into houses?

Just like Ollie always wanted.

fionnsci
03/09/2016, 10:10 AM
Housing. As for the state of Dalymount, the Jodi stand is still good by LOI standards. Yes, the rest should be condemned.

Philosophizer
03/09/2016, 10:55 AM
The jodi is excellent by LOI standards, 2 bars too. But yes the rest is a total eyesore.

oldyouth
03/09/2016, 12:32 PM
What's the story with the huge mound in the goalmouth in Dalymount? It seems to get higher every time I see it

ger121
03/09/2016, 4:36 PM
Just reminded of the state of Dalymount last night. Can't wait for it to be knocked and rebuilt. It's a horrible place. I thought Oriel was bad but it's a shambles. It's as if even basic maintenance hasn't been carried out for 20 years. The images produced look great but 11k capacity seems on the high side but I suspect that the council are thinking about using it as a concert venue.

Are you for real? Dalymount is a shadow of its former self but to say it is worse than Oriel is taking the ****. You must be getting too used to playing in the Aviva and Tallaght to remember what a kip Oriel is. We won't even start on the away end. I'd worry about getting Gerry sorted before having a pop at other stadiums.

Dalymountrower
03/09/2016, 4:41 PM
Are you for real? Dalymount is a shadow of its former self but to say it is worse than Oriel is taking the ****. You must be getting too used to playing in the Aviva and Tallaght to remember what a kip Oriel is. We won't even start on the away end. I'd worry about getting Gerry sorted before having a pop at other stadiums.
Apart from the Jodi it is an eyesore.That's why it's being demolished and re built.
Oriel away end is the worst area to watch in a game in the entire league.Hopefully Dundalk use their cash for a new build, elsewhere.

White Horse
03/09/2016, 4:46 PM
Its a pity that there would be so much competition for a worst stadium award in the LOI.

While I look forward to the new Dalymount, I will miss the old stadium. I attended my first cup final there in 1977 and have retained an affection for the place ever since.

GCdfc
03/09/2016, 5:15 PM

I was in the away section of Oriel for a match last season. Apart from the Jodi it was on par with anything Dalymount has to offer. I don't know why you are so defensive of the Dalymount. 3 sides are a total kip and dangerous including no lighting in the stand we were (Des Kelly stand?) Half of it is closed off due to it being dangerous and there were a few nice big sheets of metal behind the last row of seats that were hanging off. The three sides of the ground can't be defended. As I said, it will be great when it's done up. If anyone says anything bad about it after that then you may have some defence although it will be DCC that will be responsible for the ground.

ger121
03/09/2016, 6:58 PM
I was in the away section of Oriel for a match last season. Apart from the Jodi it was on par with anything Dalymount has to offer. I don't know why you are so defensive of the Dalymount. 3 sides are a total kip and dangerous including no lighting in the stand we were (Des Kelly stand?) Half of it is closed off due to it being dangerous and there were a few nice big sheets of metal behind the last row of seats that were hanging off. The three sides of the ground can't be defended. As I said, it will be great when it's done up. If anyone says anything bad about it after that then you may have some defence although it will be DCC that will be responsible for the ground.

I just think it is a bit rich having a go at another clubs stadium when your own is even worse. Pitch, Main Stand, Away End are all inadequate at Oriel. At least the Des Kelly has a roof for away fans. Very few Supporters of LOI Clubs can rightly feel justified in criticising another side over facilities.

White Horse
03/09/2016, 7:23 PM
I just think it is a bit rich having a go at another clubs stadium when your own is even worse. Pitch, Main Stand, Away End are all inadequate at Oriel. At least the Des Kelly has a roof for away fans. Very few Supporters of LOI Clubs can rightly feel justified in criticising another side over facilities.

I'm not defensive about criticism of Oriel but the stand in Oriel is great.

GCdfc
03/09/2016, 8:02 PM

To be honest I'd prefer to have no roof rather than a structure that has bits falling off and could injure but that may just be my sense of self preservation. Oriel gets plenty of criticism. Sure doesn't it even have a thread of it's own? :rolleyes:

redarmyfaction
03/09/2016, 9:38 PM
Dayler reminds me of Ostrogothic Rome, a crumbling ruin interspersed with scant human habitation, wherein the occupants tell of a once mighty civilisation.

ger121
04/09/2016, 12:31 AM
Dayler reminds me of Ostrogothic Rome, a crumbling ruin interspersed with scant human habitation, wherein the occupants tell of a once mighty civilisation.

What would you barbarians of the far west know of civilisation? You played in a cow field while the greats graced the hallowed turf of the Home of Irish Football.

redarmyfaction
04/09/2016, 9:00 AM
What would you barbarians of the far west know of civilisation? You played in a cow field while the greats graced the hallowed turf of the Home of Irish Football.

Even after 2000 years the Colosseum is in better nick than Dayler , Tolka is it's like something from the salt encrusted stones of Carthage whilst Milltown and its people are like Atlantis buried under a sea of concrete and never to rise again.

04/09/2016, 9:17 AM
Thing is, at least Dalymount is comparable to the Colosseum; it was at least the centre of stuff in times long gone by.

Dundalk (and Oriel) is like one of the semi-rural outposts of the Empire, which now has a few stones strewn around in the rough shape of a stadium, but because there's feck all else of any interest in the town, the impressiveness of the few stones gets blown out of all proportion.

Dalymount is a nicer ground than Oriel. And both should be knocked.

redarmyfaction
04/09/2016, 9:25 AM
Makes sense that Dalymount was once an arena because there appears to the shallow grave of a gladiator in the six yard area.

04/09/2016, 4:52 PM
Thing is, at least Dalymount is comparable to the Colosseum; it was at least the centre of stuff in times long gone by.

Dundalk (and Oriel) is like one of the semi-rural outposts of the Empire, which now has a few stones strewn around in the rough shape of a stadium, but because there's feck all else of any interest in the town, the impressiveness of the few stones gets blown out of all proportion.

Dalymount is a nicer ground than Oriel. And both should be knocked.

There are analogies and then there is there is this - wtf!!!

redarmyfaction
05/09/2016, 6:16 AM
It is a bit far fetched to compare Dundalk to anything within the empire, I was thinking more along the lines of a howling from the Germanic forest or a vision from Harridan's wall, as the mists part the watching sentries are chilled to the marrow to see the natives, naked but daubed head to toe in two tone woad, kick about a grinning human skull (though with great dexterity), their strange guttural accents carried on the occasional breeze.

dong
05/09/2016, 7:46 AM
It is a bit far fetched to compare Dundalk to anything within the empire, I was thinking more along the lines of a howling from the Germanic forest or a vision from Harridan's wall, as the mists part the watching sentries are chilled to the marrow to see the natives, naked but daubed head to toe in two tone woad, kick about a grinning human skull (though with great dexterity), their strange guttural accents carried on the occasional breeze.

Mushroom season in Hazelwood.

ThePrisoner
05/09/2016, 11:04 AM

Looking forward to sharing your new social housing with your neighbours? Two families in the one gaff, sounds great. Hear it's going to be renamed Benefit Park.;)

05/09/2016, 12:07 PM
This is nonsense to be honest. The shed in Dalymount isn't a nice place for fans but it's paradise compared to what passes for an away area in Oriel. And the Jodi is much better than any stand in Oriel. Pitch is a bit ropy yeah but that comes from not being able to afford ground staff. Could be fixed relatively easily.

Dalymountrower
05/09/2016, 12:09 PM
Looking forward to sharing your new social housing with your neighbours? Two families in the one gaff, sounds great. Hear it's going to be renamed Benefit Park.;)
Can't wait actually Delighted that Shels will be reluctantly coming on board.

marinobohs
05/09/2016, 12:24 PM

Sounds like a great description of the San Siro :cool: maybe you should share your views with the Milanese.

Dalymount is crap and it says everything about the LOI that it is still better than most grounds. Thanks be to fcuk people don't go to LOI for the 'luxurious' ground facilities.

redarmyfaction
05/09/2016, 2:57 PM
The degreasing thing about Dalymount it's how it has been allowed to deteriorate.

Real ale Madrid
05/09/2016, 3:16 PM
The degreasing thing about Dalymount it's how it has been allowed to deteriorate.

Spray some WD40 on seat hinges etc may be the solution there. Same with doors etc.

marinobohs
05/09/2016, 3:50 PM

Presume that's depressing ?

Apart from the Jodi Stand, which is in half decent knick, the rest of the ground is rarely used. Not sure why we would waste time/resources on parts of the ground we don't use (and no longer own).

Almost all away fans (except on AGS advice) have access to Jodi Stand and shops, chipper, bars etc. Cant think of many grounds with better facilities for away fans and know most have less. Given the area, public transport, parking etc is all readily available and close to the ground.

what exactly do people want ? (we may ask DCC to look at incorporating an airport in the new stadium :cool:)

05/09/2016, 4:34 PM
what exactly do people want ? (we may ask DCC to look at incorporating an airport in the new stadium :cool:)
I'd settle for an automatic two-goal lead. ;)

gufcfan
05/09/2016, 4:38 PM
Hear it's going to be renamed Benefit Park.;)

Unofficially. Officially, "The THG John Delaney Arena".

Eminence Grise
05/09/2016, 7:06 PM
Since it's an anagram of 'Hey John a neanderthal get' I'm all in favour of that name.

ger121
05/09/2016, 8:25 PM

Can't wait actually. Staying in Dalyer and a new ground. What's not to like:confused: