View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)
09/11/2014, 10:30 PM
How many times has this happened in the last 30years tell me....
What happened?
LFC Blue
09/11/2014, 10:34 PM
What happened?
That we have gotten crowds in excess of 3,000
09/11/2014, 10:41 PM
That we have gotten crowds in excess of 3,000
I dunno, a dozen??
I can remember seven or eight but Gary Spain would be your man to ask.
What's your point though? Is it that because the team was poor for years we should have a poor new ground? Cos that's a pretty poor point if it is.
You still haven't told us what the LEDP did for us.
bluewhitearmy
09/11/2014, 10:46 PM
If the team were challenging for anything be it Europe or a good cup run anyone that thinks we wouldn't get more than 1700 home fans is kidding themselves imo.
09/11/2014, 11:06 PM
http://leagueireland.blogspot.ie/2012/07/limerick-fc-is-about-to-submitt-plans.html?m=1
Thats not the plan.
LFC Blue
09/11/2014, 11:11 PM
The LEDP have made the long held pipe dream of many a Limerick supporter of moving back to the clubs spiritual home a reality. Without them there is no way on earth that the club could have achieved this.they are going to bring the ground up to premier division licence standard again without them there is no way on earth the club would have the resources to do this. Limerick are goin to be the anchor tenants and for the first time ever are guaranteed a permanent home again all down to the LEDP.Anyone who cannot see this is deluded.without the LEDPs intervention at such a timely juncture of the pat o Sullivan venture this club was screwed and had run out of ideas and options big time.
09/11/2014, 11:15 PM
You know the LEDP didn't actually buy the ground for us ya?
And you know we're just tenants ya?
Deluded indeed.
LFC Blue
09/11/2014, 11:19 PM
What happened?
You know the LEDP didn't actually but the ground for us ya?
Deluded indeed.
So what exactly do you want them to do? Sign the ground over to Limerick and pay for the diesel for the floodlights and cut the grass for us! You can't please some people
09/11/2014, 11:21 PM
So what exactly do you want them to do? Sign the ground over to Limerick and pay for the diesel for the floodlights and cut the grass for us! You can't please some people
Why do you keep changing the argument when somebody says something you don't agree with?
What in the name of Jaysus are you talkin about like
LFC Blue
09/11/2014, 11:29 PM
What happened?
You know the LEDP didn't actually buy the ground for us ya?
Deluded indeed.
Why do you keep changing the argument when somebody says something you don't agree with?
What in the name of Jaysus are you talkin about like
Who's changing the argument here? You are the one dodging the questions here my friend. You asked me did I know that the LEDP didn't buy the ground for us and I asked did u want them to sign it over to us....where's the change of argument there? You can't put a coherent sentence together to dispute the fact that without the LEDPs intervention with the markets field that the club was screwed and had ran out of options.
10/11/2014, 12:03 AM
:bulgy:
LFC Blue: The LEDP did x,y and z
Lim till i die: No they didn't
LFC Blue: Do you want them to sign over the ground or somethin?!
1. The LEDP did not buy the ground for Limerick FC. The LEDP is a registered charity. It buys approxiamately nothing.
2. JP McManus bought the Markets Field. He then handed it over to his pet quango (the LEDP) to develop.
3. The LEDP put together a four or five man committee to oversee the development. Gerry Boland, two or three other lads whos names escape me, and Keith Wood as head of the project. (he played rugby for Ireland don't you know.)
4. It fairly quickly became apparent that Keith Wood didn't know his arse from his elbow.
5. Communications between the LEDP and the club, which were originally (naturally) cordial, became more and more strained as time went on, the LEDP citing a lack of funds while the club refused to commit any to the Markets Field, while (the perception out there at least) pumping money into Bruff.
6. There was a period of at least 6 months where there was absolutely no consultation between Limerick FC and the LEDP.
7. The build (what little there has been so far) has been beset by minor niggles from the start, mainly around the pitch. For example when the perimiter wall of the pitch was first built it had no gaps in it, causing the pitch to flood, swimming pool style.
8. Among the LEDPs original plans for the ground were a permanent concrete 300 seat small stand next to the main stand and a permanent concrete 300 seat away stand which would run from six yard line to six yard line behind the goals. These, frankly nonsense, suggestions were thankfully abandoned after some lobbying.
9. The LEDP has ignored numerous pleas to put a covered structure on the popular side, a move which would have added greatly to the athmosphere of the ground. They have cited cost. Personally I wonder how much more expensive a concrete terrace would be than a massive tarmacking job.
10. The LEDP appear to have ignored advice around turnstiles and entrances. One entrance for home fans is a recipe for big ques. There's no sign of turnstiles on the plans. (maybe they don't have to be included in plans in fairness)
11. Limerick FC will be a tenant of the LEDP.
12. Limerick FC will have access to the ground for a maximum of 22 days a year. They will pay rent for this access.
So I fail to see how it's any more of a home than Hogan Park, or Pike, or Jackman, or Thomond.
The ground itself is a bit of an unimpressive botch job delivered by people with no experience of delivering a project like this.
It'll look grand with all the tarmacking and the main stand done. But it's a missed opportunity which shows very little vision.
The only saving grace is that it's a blank canvass with all the tarmacking and I fully expect to see a Wexford Youths stand on the Popular side come March, or April, or May, or whenever the place is ready for us.
People are more than entitled to point out flaws in the plan. When they are paying a whack of rent, beggars can indeed be choosers.
I actually think (hope?!) myself that the club has played a clever one with this situation. Only time will tell.
10/11/2014, 8:49 AM
stadio du tarmac akin to Mons ground around the stand etc, we shall have....The forth worst ground in Munster
ger121
10/11/2014, 11:13 AM
stadio du tarmac akin to Mons ground around the stand etc, we shall have....The forth worst ground in Munster
At least you'll have a ground and it's a start. There is always the chance of further grants I'm sure to help fund future developments of Markets Fields. As others have said. If you really need a bigger capacity for certain games, you can play them in Thomond or install temporary stands. It's a step forward for your club, not a step back.
blueblood
10/11/2014, 1:20 PM
How can we view the latest plans for our new "stadium"
bluewhitearmy
10/11/2014, 3:34 PM
At least you'll have a ground and it's a start. There is always the chance of further grants I'm sure to help fund future developments of Markets Fields. As others have said. If you really need a bigger capacity for certain games, you can play them in Thomond or install temporary stands. It's a step forward for your club, not a step back.
In what way is having to leave what is supposed to be your home ground if you are expecting a decent crowd a step forward?
SalvadorSanchez
10/11/2014, 4:36 PM
In what way is having to leave what is supposed to be your home ground if you are expecting a decent crowd a step forward?
I can't disagree with these sentiments, proper lack of planning/vision if this is the case. Even with modest development/Temp Stands you'd think any half a*s*d redeveloped ground should be able hold 3000-4000... even if you were only getting 1000 for a normal game. Terryland, over recent seasons regularly just about got 1000 but we had 2900 for the play off, that was some serious coin... What will Thomond cost for Big games? bet the extra costs will eat up the benefits of the bigger crowd and it'll be dead with even 4000 in a 25k ground....
bluewhitearmy
10/11/2014, 4:46 PM
I can't disagree with these sentiments, proper lack of planning/vision if this is the case. Even with modest development/Temp Stands you'd think any half a*s*d redeveloped ground should be able hold 3000-4000... even if you were only getting 1000 for a normal game. Terryland, over recent seasons regularly just about got 1000 but we had 2900 for the play off, that was some serious coin... What will Thomond cost for Big games? bet the extra costs will eat up the benefits of the bigger crowd and it'll be dead with even 4000 in a 25k ground....
Thats it I'm not expecting crowds of 5-6000 or anything but the fact is we could definitely get up to or over 2000 home fans if we were to be challenging for Europe or had a big cup game and with the current plans there seems to be a maximum of 1700 capacity for home fans. This whole thing from people of " when is the last time we had those crowds" is nonsense there is nothing at all to say that in the next few years we wont be challenging for Europe or something like that and that is when problems start. If they throw in a temp stand and there is room for 2500-3000 home fans than fine by me tbh.
Id honestly rather if it came to it that we just turn people away rather than move to Thomond again for a big game cos like you said the cost of Thomond will take away anything the extra crowd gives you.
ger121
10/11/2014, 4:54 PM
You have a home to leave if and when required. That is the step forward from where you are today. This is the LOI, full of hopes and broken dreams. You'll have a ground and that is something, while not perfect in terms of the original design, is better than nothing.
10/11/2014, 5:42 PM
the perimiter wall of the pitch was first built it had no gaps in it, causing the pitch to flood, swimming pool style.
Whereas gaps in the wall at Tallaght turned the pitch in to a swimming pool style too...damned if ye do damned if ye dont in this country:p
bluewhitearmy
10/11/2014, 5:48 PM
You have a home to leave if and when required. That is the step forward from where you are today. This is the LOI, full of hopes and broken dreams. You'll have a ground and that is something, while not perfect in terms of the original design, is better than nothing.
As has been pointed out it is as much a home as Thomond, Jackman, Hogan Park. We don't have nothing now we have exactly what we are gonna have next season somewhere to rent to play games.
So is having a ground to rent a step forward from having a different ground to rent?
NeverFeltBetter
10/11/2014, 5:55 PM
This "Its better than nothing" attitude is starting to grate on me, and I've even expressed it at times. Limerick FC has a home for 22 days and maybe a few extra for cups. Bruff is going to be the home of the club beyond that.
da bishop
10/11/2014, 6:45 PM
limerick needs its own home no doubt about that ,however, how who,and where do people think this home will surface from ,the MF is not the perfect fit for sure but it is the next logical step ...for now.i have great faith in the chairman,i do believe though the ...advice ..he has taken on board from those around him has brought about present circumstances,Bruff being a case in point.
ger121
10/11/2014, 8:14 PM
As has been pointed out it is as much a home as Thomond, Jackman, Hogan Park. We don't have nothing now we have exactly what we are gonna have next season somewhere to rent to play games.
So is having a ground to rent a step forward from having a different ground to rent?
Yes I would say it is. Surely less expensive than renting Thomond and less soul destroying playing in a near empty Stadium. You will be anchor tenants in your spiritual home and that is something to build on over the next few years. I fail to see how that can't be seen as a step forward.
NeverFeltBetter
10/11/2014, 8:31 PM
"Something to build on". That's another one.
10/11/2014, 8:36 PM
It looks more like a limit of development than something to build on. You'd think if LFC are looking long-term, they'll use MF as a short-term option and explore other avenues.
NeverFeltBetter
10/11/2014, 9:35 PM
I know people were talking a bit about Rathbane a while ago, how do the stated MF plans compare?
bluewhitearmy
10/11/2014, 11:25 PM
I know people were talking a bit about Rathbane a while ago, how do the stated MF plans compare?
If you have seen any pictures of the Markets Field recently just picture it with seats in the stand and around the sides with some tarmac that is literally all that is happening.
disgruntled
10/11/2014, 11:43 PM
I wish Limerick well when they move into the Markets Field.
Lets see if the people of Limerick will support them.
When they have gates of 2000 or 3000 they they can complain about better facilities.
David BOHie
10/11/2014, 11:55 PM
There is on facebook and twitter but I have no idea how to get them on here.
On what page? Even just link the page so I can have a gander.
Ta
ger121
11/11/2014, 12:22 AM
"Something to build on". That's another one.
I'd prefer it to "Nothing to build on" any day of the week. Cheer up lads:hug2:
mastershake
11/11/2014, 2:20 AM
The move to Bruff for me seems entirely unnecessary for the club at this point. To develop an old school grounds into a training facility is just not feasible. I use to live nearby and the money required to do this would be enormous. I believe its a vanity project for POS who is a county man from Ballylanders and he seems to want to grow the club to have a broader appeal in the region which is fine but for me it should play 2nd fiddle to finding a "proper home". Does anyone know what happened about the proposed training facilities in Clare to north of the city?
Regarding the LEDP and the Markets Field, I believe its the only option on the table for us. We don't have a leg to stand on. Crowds were a disaster last year and the way POS was talking there doesn't seem to be funds available to push the club forward towards Europe and ultimately drawing the extra crowds. Lets get into the MF see how the first year goes and then go from there. I look at Shamrock Rovers and Cork City who have rented facilities and they seem to be doing well from both a financial and footballing perspective. Lets imitate their models and grow the brand within the city and the region.
bluewhitearmy
11/11/2014, 1:27 PM
I wish Limerick well when they move into the Markets Field.
Lets see if the people of Limerick will support them.
When they have gates of 2000 or 3000 they they can complain about better facilities.
Well that is just complete and utter nonsense really isn't it. It should be a case of having better facilities to attract more people to games not waiting for more people to come to games then get better facilities.
On what page? Even just link the page so I can have a gander.
Ta
https://twitter.com/Cunneen92 Its in his photos.
I'd prefer it to "Nothing to build on" any day of the week. Cheer up lads:hug2:
We have nothing to build on its not our ground and we aren't allowed do anything to it.
Well that is just complete and utter nonsense really isn't it. It should be a case of having better facilities to attract more people to games not waiting for more people to come to games then get better facilities.
You had the best facilities in the league for 2 years
It always disappoints me to think back to all the big European games in oriel park from 1976 to 1982, and we missed only one season, that hardly anything was done to the old ground even then. I think the decision was made to invest the money into the team during this period. It was a lost opportunity in my view.
Temporary stands were installed for both Spurs and Liverpool visits of 1981 and 1982, god knows how we all crammed in for the visit of Celtic in 1979.
I sincerely hope there is some plan for spectator improvements next season.
bluewhitearmy
11/11/2014, 2:15 PM
You had the best facilities in the league for 2 years
We had what was an awful ground for LOI for 2 years I know more people that were put off going to games by Thomond than encouraged to go cos of it. I don't get your point tbh? We need to have good facilities to start building fan base not the other way around.
ger121
11/11/2014, 2:38 PM
We have nothing to build on its not our ground and we aren't allowed do anything to it.
Ridiculous! You have a base to build upon, that is costing you nothing and is in a location that is associated with a successful period in your history. Hardly nothing.
If you look at Tallaght and Turners Cross, both of which aren't owned by the respective clubs, you can clearly see an evolution of the grounds from where they were years ago. I'm sure at various stages fans of both clubs wished for better facilities but that takes time.
Get into MF, establish yourself there, build your crowds and then see what happens with the LEDP when you have a stronger bargaining position. Rome wasn't built in a day. it was only a few years ago you were dying a death in Division 1 and you've done very well since then in progressing the club.
disgruntled
11/11/2014, 2:39 PM
Well you have great facilities in Thomond & no one turns up.
What do you want ?
Someone to build you a nice stadium with great facilities just in case someone decides to turn up.
And who's going to pay for all these facilities ?
bluewhitearmy
11/11/2014, 2:43 PM
Ridiculous! You have a base to build upon, that is costing you nothing and is in a location that is associated with a successful period in your history. Hardly nothing.
If you look at Tallaght and Turners Cross, both of which aren't owned by the respective clubs, you can clearly see an evolution of the grounds from where they were years ago. I'm sure at various stages fans of both clubs wished for better facilities but that takes time.
Get into MF, establish yourself there, build your crowds and then see what happens with the LEDP when you have a stronger bargaining position. Rome wasn't built in a day. it was only a few years ago you were dying a death in Division 1 and you've done very well since then in progressing the club.
Where have you gotten this its costing us nothing from? Its costing us considerable rent. Tallaght from day one was absolute miles ahead of what the Markets Field will be I don't know what Turners Cross was like when Cork first went there but in all my years supporting LOI it was a hell of a lot better than what the Markets Field will be so it isn't the same at all.
You say get into MF build our crowds and see what happens easy to say but in reality MF could be one of the problems we have with building our crowds.
bluewhitearmy
11/11/2014, 2:48 PM
Well you have great facilities in Thomond & no one turns up.
What do you want ?
Someone to build you a nice stadium with great facilities just in case someone decides to turn up.
And who's going to pay for all these facilities ?
I've already addressed the Thomond thing in response to Dodge.
What I want is for decent facilities to put in so that people will actually continue to turn up so that we can build a fanbase hardly that wild of a wish now is it.
They already have the money from JP to do a hell of a better job than they are now.
What a backwards way of thinking you have if you think you should wait to have the crowds to put in any decent facilities yet anytime people discuss how to attract people to the league one of the main things said is facilities need to be improved to encourage people to come.
11/11/2014, 2:49 PM
Some people need to get a grip. We constantly berate facilities in the league, and now a club are being told they've moving into a half finished, poorly designed bucket of a stadium, it's all of a sudden acceptable and they should just 'get on with it'?
Limerick would be as well moving back into Jackman as moving into this mess.
Markets Field has serious potential, as was proven with the initial plans Limerick had for it's redevelopment, so forgive their fans for complaining a bit about it.
Finn Harps are moving into a state of the art 6,700 all seater stadium in a couple of years. If we were now told the plans were downsized, and we'd end up with one stand, and a poor excuse for an away section, there'd be uproar.
Just because they can't fill a 7,000 seat stadium doesn't mean they shouldn't build one. Clubs need to show a bit more ambition or there never will be a chance of obtaining such a ground.
LFC Blue
11/11/2014, 3:25 PM
I think bluewhitearmy and all the other Limerick fans on here whinging should organise a boycott outside the Markets Field on opening night and see how ridiculous your argument will look then....
ger121
11/11/2014, 3:28 PM
Where have you gotten this its costing us nothing from? Its costing us considerable rent. Tallaght from day one was absolute miles ahead of what the Markets Field will be I don't know what Turners Cross was like when Cork first went there but in all my years supporting LOI it was a hell of a lot better than what the Markets Field will be so it isn't the same at all.
You say get into MF build our crowds and see what happens easy to say but in reality MF could be one of the problems we have with building our crowds.
It's costing you nothing to build so you're getting a ground (all be it not a great one) built for you with no contributions from Limerick FC. I absolutely agree with Nigel's point that you don't have to be happy about it and I'm not suggesting you should. What I am saying, is that this is the situation you're in so try and see the positives of moving away from Thomond and potentially what that could evolve into over the coming years. I wish you well anyway and will leave it at that!
bluewhitearmy
11/11/2014, 4:10 PM
It's costing you nothing to build so you're getting a ground (all be it not a great one) built for you with no contributions from Limerick FC. I absolutely agree with Nigel's point that you don't have to be happy about it and I'm not suggesting you should. What I am saying, is that this is the situation you're in so try and see the positives of moving away from Thomond and potentially what that could evolve into over the coming years. I wish you well anyway and will leave it at that!
Ya that does make sense tbh it will be better than being in Thomond no matter what.
disgruntled
11/11/2014, 5:23 PM
I've already addressed the Thomond thing in response to Dodge.
What I want is for decent facilities to put in so that people will actually continue to turn up so that we can build a fanbase hardly that wild of a wish now is it.
They already have the money from JP to do a hell of a better job than they are now.
What a backwards way of thinking you have if you think you should wait to have the crowds to put in any decent facilities yet anytime people discuss how to attract people to the league one of the main things said is facilities need to be improved to encourage people to come.
You want people to come to your games ?
Start winning.
You want to build a fanbase ?
Start winning.
The season before last we couldn't get the dogs in the street to come & see us play.
Last season we couldn't keep them out.
So what changed ?
Were we all of a sudden playing like Barcelona ? No.
Were we all of a sudden giving out prawn sandwiches at half time ? No.
Did our facilities suddenly become five star ? No.
So what changed ?
We started winning games, that's what changed.
Instead of conceding last minute goals we started scoring them.
Instead of turning draws into loses, we started turning draws into wins.
If you start winning games people will come to see you play.
Everyone wants to be part of a winning team.
It won't matter whether you're playing in the Aviva or a car park.
Whether you're playing like Barca or pure ****e.
To the vast majority it won't matter as long as you're winning.
Football is a results game.
You win they will come.
This will bring in the money which you can use to improve facilities.
This will bring in the sponsors who want to be associated with winners.
The hard part is trying to do it without sending the club into financial ruin & this is where League of Ireland clubs have always had problems.
blueblood
11/11/2014, 7:11 PM
I'll try to explain to everyone on here saying "just get on with it" & "it's better than nothing".
Us people giving out about the stupid plans are not greed, we don't want an instant supermodern 10,000 all seater stadium for free.
Think about it this way the LEDP were given the ground for free, they also got funding of 1.5m.
Fair enough the are getting the ground ready(ish) for LOI football but that's their job that's why the ground was given to them in the first place, to build a stadium Limerick can be proud of! They have failed miserably on that.
Think how could anyone make a bigger f*ck up of this, how would this be possible?????
They got a free ground and free money to develop but you'd swear they wanted f*uk it up and f*ck Limerick FC up by building a tiny ugly patchy 1980s LOI ground bits and pieces of sheds plonked here and there, then they decide there'll be no bar (even tho there is already one there) and the club can just bring in a big expensive lorry that sells drinks on match days. Then Limerick can play games in Thomond Park if we're expecting a decent crowd, sure while their at it limit the number of days Limerick FC can use the ground to ah 22 days in a whole year...just in case anyone was thinking it's Limerick FCs permanent home!!
We're not expecting much but this is a big opportunity missed imo.
Seriously how could LEDP have done worse?
Hopefully the pitch will be nice anyway. Oh ya and this has taken about 5 years without any building work being done besides the wall around the pitch.
ger121
18/11/2014, 4:25 PM
Further progress update on the proposed Brandywell Development.
http://www.derrydaily.net/2014/11/18/revamp-to-begin-in-april-great-news-for-brandywell-logue/#.VGsmm5SX_lc.facebook
disgruntled
18/11/2014, 5:14 PM
I'll try to explain to everyone on here saying "just get on with it" & "it's better than nothing".
Us people giving out about the stupid plans are not greed, we don't want an instant supermodern 10,000 all seater stadium for free.
Think about it this way the LEDP were given the ground for free, they also got funding of 1.5m.
Fair enough the are getting the ground ready(ish) for LOI football but that's their job that's why the ground was given to them in the first place, to build a stadium Limerick can be proud of! They have failed miserably on that.
Think how could anyone make a bigger f*ck up of this, how would this be possible?????
They got a free ground and free money to develop but you'd swear they wanted f*uk it up and f*ck Limerick FC up by building a tiny ugly patchy 1980s LOI ground bits and pieces of sheds plonked here and there, then they decide there'll be no bar (even tho there is already one there) and the club can just bring in a big expensive lorry that sells drinks on match days. Then Limerick can play games in Thomond Park if we're expecting a decent crowd, sure while their at it limit the number of days Limerick FC can use the ground to ah 22 days in a whole year...just in case anyone was thinking it's Limerick FCs permanent home!!
We're not expecting much but this is a big opportunity missed imo.
Seriously how could LEDP have done worse?
Hopefully the pitch will be nice anyway. Oh ya and this has taken about 5 years without any building work being done besides the wall around the pitch.
I don't think the €1.5 million will go very far.
blueblood
18/11/2014, 7:29 PM
I don't think the €1.5 million will go very far.
Glad you agree especially when it's wasted on little stands with a capacity of 300 or whatever scattered around the ground, as I said nobody is expecting a 10,000 all seater but you could probably build one half decent stand for that money and refurbish the existing stand and never mind wrecking the rest of the ground, just do it properly from the start with room for expansion.
That's why they were given the ground in the first place so they could get grants and investors and build something the people of Limerick can be proud of, that's not happening and it's a pity but that's life I suppose.
disgruntled
18/11/2014, 11:37 PM
Glad you agree especially when it's wasted on little stands with a capacity of 300 or whatever scattered around the ground, as I said nobody is expecting a 10,000 all seater but you could probably build one half decent stand for that money and refurbish the existing stand and never mind wrecking the rest of the ground, just do it properly from the start with room for expansion.
That's why they were given the ground in the first place so they could get grants and investors and build something the people of Limerick can be proud of, that's not happening and it's a pity but that's life I suppose.
Something I picked up on today.
Oldham Athletic are building a new stand with a capacity of 2340.
Nice size I would say for a League of Ireland ground.
Cost £5 million. That's approx €6.25 million.
So as i said you won't get much for €1.5 million especially if you have to put in a half decent pitch as well.
SalvadorSanchez
20/11/2014, 7:21 AM
Further progress update on the proposed Brandywell Development.
http://www.derrydaily.net/2014/11/18/revamp-to-begin-in-april-great-news-for-brandywell-logue/#.VGsmm5SX_lc.facebook
Any idea where Derry are going to play while redevelopment is happening?