View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)
ger121
26/02/2018, 8:58 AM
I don’t get it, surely the hardcore fans are already in the Shed end? The Shed from my perspective, hasn’t lacked in singing or displays over the years. Strange one.
sbgawa
26/02/2018, 9:31 AM
Obviously some issues between the "regulars" and the people who showed up in the last year with the great run Cork had.
The Club should prioritise the hard core , they will still be coming when the good times aren't there
El-Pietro
26/02/2018, 9:44 AM
Obviously some issues between the "regulars" and the people who showed up in the last year with the great run Cork had.
The Club should prioritise the hard core , they will still be coming when the good times aren't there
Thats pretty it as far as I can see. This has been handled poorly though, a members card isn't a terrible idea but charging for it beyond a nominal fee alienates supporters. Its unworkable unfortunately with the set up of that end of the ground though.
Yossarian
26/02/2018, 9:52 AM
It’s a good idea in essence as the hardcore will always be there no matter what. It’s just been handled abysmally and charging people who are already paying is ridiculous. Surely just having a specially categorised season ticket that doesn’t cost extra would be the way to go.
dundalkfc10
26/02/2018, 9:53 AM
Agree same thing happens in Oriel (especially big games), people who don’t go regularly getting on early and sitting on seats at back of Shed then giving out when been forced to move as everyone around them is standing
topfan
26/02/2018, 10:05 PM
The surface in the Markets Field is fecked, I mean proper f**ked. Rugby played on it in January and destroyed it another rugby match there this Wednesday, god knows what it'll be like from Rovers on Saturday.
fionnsci
26/02/2018, 11:01 PM
The surface in the Markets Field is fecked, I mean proper f**ked. Rugby played on it in January and destroyed it another rugby match there this Wednesday, god knows what it'll be like from Rovers on Saturday.
That's awful. No club should have to tolerate Shamrock Rovers coming to their stadium.
RathfarnhamHoop
27/02/2018, 1:50 PM
Didn't look too bad on Soccer republic, is it really that much worse in person?
27/02/2018, 2:27 PM
The real pity is that it's not against Derry.... Kenny Shiels reaction would have been worth it.
DannyInvincible
27/02/2018, 10:04 PM
Some photos here of the redeveloped Brandywell, which will be ready to train and play in once it receives its health and safety certification: https://www.derryjournal.com/image-gallery/in-pictures-14-sneak-peek-photos-from-behind-the-scenes-at-the-new-brandywell-stadium-1-8394488/8394381/img18394487
There's a video tour of the new stand here: https://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/derry-city/derry-city-s-first-brandywell-training-session-cancelled-by-council-1-8394957
https://res.cloudinary.com/jpress/image/fetch/w_700,f_auto,ar_3:2,q_auto:low,c_fill/https://www.derryjournal.com/webimage/1.8394956.1519727103!/image/image.jpg
peadar1987
27/02/2018, 10:19 PM
That looks great!
Yossarian
27/02/2018, 10:47 PM
Looks great alright, just the small matter of the safety cert a couple of days before the first game there.
DannyInvincible
28/02/2018, 2:33 AM
I don't think there are any concerns over the green light not been given by Friday, so the match should be OK.
The club released a brilliantly produced promo video ahead of Friday nights' return to the stadium. Here it is:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ioAN4HZOVXo
Candystripe
01/03/2018, 10:00 AM
I don't think there are any concerns over the green light not been given by Friday, so the match should be OK.
The club released a brilliantly produced promo video ahead of Friday nights' return to the stadium. Here it is:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ioAN4HZOVXo
I've watched this about 100 times lol.
With the Dundalk game called off I'm like a kid at Christmas being told theirs no Santa on Christmas eve.
disgruntled
01/03/2018, 10:15 AM
I've watched this about 100 times lol.
With the Dundalk game called off I'm like a kid at Christmas being told theirs no Santa on Christmas eve.
Stadium looks great.👍
Good luck with it.
pateen
06/03/2018, 12:33 PM
I see some hoarding has gone up in Tallaght to the left of the TV camera view behind the goal.
New terrace started?
EatYerGreens
06/03/2018, 12:43 PM
I see some hoarding has gone up in Tallaght to the left of the TV camera view behind the goal.
New terrace started?
Or was it due to a rumour that the stadium was next in line after that Lidl got looted ? :D
RathfarnhamHoop
06/03/2018, 1:35 PM
New terrace started?
Yeah building the new stand there, started just before the season did.
Brandywell capacity capped at 2,600 for first game and apparently will be gradually increased as the season goes on
EatYerGreens
06/03/2018, 2:15 PM
Yeah building the new stand there, started just before the season did.
Brandywell capacity capped at 2,600 for first game and apparently will be gradually increased as the season goes on
It will be at full capacity a game or two later. Standard stuff for 'new' venues, .
redarmyfaction
08/03/2018, 7:23 PM
Some photos here of the redeveloped Brandywell, which will be ready to train and play in once it receives its health and safety certification: https://www.derryjournal.com/image-gallery/in-pictures-14-sneak-peek-photos-from-behind-the-scenes-at-the-new-brandywell-stadium-1-8394488/8394381/img18394487
There's a video tour of the new stand here: https://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/derry-city/derry-city-s-first-brandywell-training-session-cancelled-by-council-1-8394957
https://res.cloudinary.com/jpress/image/fetch/w_700,f_auto,ar_3:2,q_auto:low,c_fill/https://www.derryjournal.com/webimage/1.8394956.1519727103!/image/image.jpg
Looks good, but why did it take so long, nearly 18 months to do, was it the council or funding? Blink of an eye compared to Harps I suppose.
RathfarnhamHoop
08/03/2018, 7:46 PM
Is the brandywell Derrys new training base too now?
I would imagine they will train at the Brandywell in preparation for home games but look to use a grass pitch every other week or when they have an away game.
This is what Dundalk do, but they have a grass pitch behind the goal near the away end that they have an arrangement to use, it works out well as it was a pitch that was previously owned by DFC and the squad can still use the nearby dressing rooms and the recently installed gym inside the YDC.
Candystripe
08/03/2018, 11:04 PM
Is the brandywell Derrys new training base too now?
The dog track is now moved to where the showgrounds end pitch was and the old changing rooms. Theirs also a full size grass pitch there too so I'm hoping/guessing that Derry City have use of it.
RathfarnhamHoop
09/03/2018, 11:52 PM
The dog track is now moved to where the showgrounds end pitch was and the old changing rooms. Theirs also a full size grass pitch there too so I'm hoping/guessing that Derry City have use of it.
Yeah thats what I thought would be the situation when I saw they put a managers office in the new stand. Home dressing room is very basic for a new stand with a regular home team though which is odd especially if its their training base too.
The main thing is that changes and work is progressing with the Brandywell with further improvements to follow, not like Finn Park, Tolka or Dalymount which seem to be dragging on forever!
12/03/2018, 12:37 PM
Yeah thats what I thought would be the situation when I saw they put a managers office in the new stand. Home dressing room is very basic for a new stand with a regular home team though which is odd especially if its their training base too.
I though the same myself.
I'm delighted for Derry that they've had the improvements, but when you see the images, and realise that the existing stand covers much of the capacity, I was hoping for more, particularly given Derry is a footballing hotbed.
RathfarnhamHoop
21/03/2018, 11:59 AM
Town end in oriel getting some, very very basic, work done to it judging by twitter, got to start somewhere i suppose
oriel
21/03/2018, 12:37 PM
https://twitter.com/DundalkFC
EatYerGreens
21/03/2018, 12:43 PM
I though the same myself.
I'm delighted for Derry that they've had the improvements, but when you see the images, and realise that the existing stand covers much of the capacity, I was hoping for more, particularly given Derry is a footballing hotbed.
I'd say everyone in the town was hoping for more as well.
The extension to the new stand is reliant upon money from a Stormont stadium fund, and there is no Stormont to dole it out.
EatYerGreens
21/03/2018, 12:45 PM
https://twitter.com/DundalkFC
Drainage works by the looks of it. Not that minor if it involves a digger, but not going to change the stadium much either.
sbgawa
21/03/2018, 12:48 PM
Any work being done is a positive and I wouldn't dismiss it.
At least it shows a mindset towards improving things.
RathfarnhamHoop
21/03/2018, 1:14 PM
Drainage works by the looks of it. Not that minor if it involves a digger, but not going to change the stadium much either.
I was just saying basic so I didn't accidentally get peoples hopes up, especially seeing as that'd be the easiest end to start any potential face-lift at.
DFC have given no other details on whats going on, definitely looks drainage improvement though, but would be nice if they could clean that area up a good bit while they are at it.
Next home game not until Friday 30th so whatever they are doing they will have a bit of time to complete.
Ezeikial
21/03/2018, 3:21 PM
The work is described on DFC Twitter as "renovation work" . The new investors made a commitment to sort out the puddle on that town end corner that gives access to the Shed.
It looks like they are meeting that commitment.
No imminent stadium overhaul expected, unfortunately.
https://twitter.com/search?src=typd&q=dundalkfc
21/03/2018, 3:44 PM
They'd be as well off throwing down some concrete similar to Finn Park at least. Small improvements are still improvements.
I would love if renovation of the puddle meant making it a six foot deep random death trap.
Ezeikial
21/03/2018, 5:00 PM
They'd be as well off throwing down some concrete similar to Finn Park at least. Small improvements are still improvements.
The power of foot.ie as requests for "throwing down some concrete" pays off handsomely
https://twitter.com/DundalkFC/status/976516934744399872
The temptation for Drogheda fans to sneak in tonight and write messages in the cement must be immense.
The work is described on DFC Twitter as "renovation work" . The new investors made a commitment to sort out the puddle on that town end corner that gives access to the Shed.
It looks like they are meeting that commitment.
No imminent stadium overhaul expected, unfortunately.
https://twitter.com/search?src=typd&q=dundalkfc
They also said they would look at making improvements to the away end. This job that was done today might be a minor improvement in terms of what needs to be done to the ground, but it's a big deal for well over 1,000 fans who had to navigate past it on wet days, which was completely unacceptable.
Another thing too, it looks a proper job, someone said to me today, they thought it might have just been filled in with gravel.
A small start but at least it's something.
Ezeikial
21/03/2018, 8:52 PM
They also said they would look at making improvements to the away end.
I will not be holding my breath on that one.
The Puddle Project was the only solid commitment that I heard
This job that was done today might be a minor improvement in terms of what needs to be done to the ground, but it's a big deal for well over 1,000 fans who had to navigate past it on wet days, which was completely unacceptable.
Another thing too, it looks a proper job, someone said to me today, they thought it might have just been filled in with gravel.
Fair play to them for seeing through on this and for doing what appears to be a decent job
A small start but at least it's something.
I'm afraid there is absolutely zero reason to believe that this is a forerunner of anything more substantial.
21/03/2018, 9:26 PM
The power of foot.ie as requests for "throwing down some concrete" pays off handsomely
https://twitter.com/DundalkFC/status/976516934744399872
https://frinkiac.com/meme/S04E13/1249530.jpg?b64lines=IEkgQU0gVEhFCiBMSVpBUkQgUVVFR U4h
Eminence Grise
21/03/2018, 10:16 PM
The temptation for Mark McNulty to sneak in tonight and write messages in the cement must be immense.
Fixed that for you.;)
22/03/2018, 12:24 PM
http://galwayunitedfc.ie/notice-of-egm-on-march-27th/
RathfarnhamHoop
22/03/2018, 6:13 PM
http://galwayunitedfc.ie/notice-of-egm-on-march-27th/
That all sounds brilliant. Even better that the Galway fa aren't involved
nr637
23/03/2018, 11:02 AM
Town end in oriel getting some, very very basic, work done to it judging by twitter, got to start somewhere i suppose
Just curious to know how much would it cost to concrete the Town end at Oriel for terracing?
Any builders in the know?
And if it was done what would be the safe capacity for that end........1,000+ maybe!
It would really clean up that end of the ground and make it look more inviting than the dirty looking white washed walls and muddy grass bank of ground.
Any hope of that happening!
RathfarnhamHoop
24/03/2018, 12:14 PM
Were rovers fans in the normal away end last night? Hearing the toilet facilities were disgraceful, like worse than cork last year disgraceful.
trevy
24/03/2018, 12:58 PM
There's good toilets around the back of that stand but I'd guess they were fenced off to prevent access to away fans. I noticed fencing behind the stand at away fans end at the Bohemians game which I hadn't seen before. Were there portaloos at Rovers end?
RathfarnhamHoop
24/03/2018, 1:09 PM
There's good toilets around the back of that stand but I'd guess they were fenced off to prevent access to away fans. I noticed fencing behind the stand at away fans end at the Bohemians game which I hadn't seen before. Were there portaloos at Rovers end?
3 potaloos on grass, on a rainy day with 400 fans no prize for guessing how that went. And women had to argue with stewards to gain access to the designated women's toilets, a licencing requirement. A lot of people not impressed at all.
Yossarian
24/03/2018, 1:33 PM
3 potaloos on grass, on a rainy day with 400 fans no prize for guessing how that went. And women had to argue with stewards to gain access to the designated women's toilets, a licencing requirement. A lot of people not impressed at all.
Disgraceful that a club closes off proper toilet facilities to away fans.
RathfarnhamHoop
24/03/2018, 2:00 PM
Disgraceful that a club closes off proper toilet facilities to away fans.
I know what you're getting at but in the instance youre wanting to bring up was different as it was a reaction to past behaviour in the ground by that set of supporters, also the portaloos weren't then put on grass in the rain.