View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)
What's happening with Drogheda United's stadium. It's a big story that has gone cold.
Is it on, off or what?
Nobody really knows at the moment - the club are reluctant to give out too much info incase anything leaked f**** up any possible deal.
By all accounts it won't go ahead on the original site - looking at 2 possible other sites afaik. For the first time in weeks, there have been very 'positive vibes' from people in the club about getting it sorted
But I wouldnt believe any post about it (including my own), as Ive heard about every possible rumour about it in the last few weeks
Paddyfield
23/09/2008, 7:26 PM
Tallaght Stadium will be fully Uefa compliant.
It looks really good. The location is perfect too.
Will the Hoops be playing on Friday nights?
23/09/2008, 8:23 PM
It looks really good. The location is perfect too.
Will the Hoops be playing on Friday nights?
I've heard 7 Saturday evenings. Gardai in Tallaght apparently not keen on Friday evenings due to the very heavy traffic on the N81.
23/09/2008, 9:16 PM
Nobody really knows at the moment - the club are reluctant to give out too much info incase anything leaked f**** up any possible deal.
By all accounts it won't go ahead on the original site - looking at 2 possible other sites afaik. For the first time in weeks, there have been very 'positive vibes' from people in the club about getting it sorted
But I wouldnt believe any post about it (including my own), as Ive heard about every possible rumour about it in the last few weeks
If a new site is needed does the planning process start all over again?
yes of course its a new site so you start from scratch im afraid
24/09/2008, 10:57 AM
A step back of 2 years or so for the project then then!!:o
finnpark
24/09/2008, 1:13 PM
It doesn't take a genius to work out that Dundalk FC and Drogheda Utd should have amalgamated a long time ago. It doesn't make sense to have 2 clubs from Louth.
At least if Dundalk and Drogheda amalgamated the gates would be better and the overall catchment area would be much bigger. The same could be said for Cork-Cobh, Bray-Some Dublin Club, UCD-Shamrock, Waterford-Kilkenny. There are too many clubs in too small an area with names and heritage that excludes a wider catchment area - a recipy for disaster when trying to run a pro football club and attract a large support. It was ok in the olden days but football is much more of a business nowadays and the set-up needs to be reviewed.
Also, the naming of the club Drogheda obviously exclues most of Louth and surrounding areas from supporting.
24/09/2008, 1:16 PM
It doesn't take a genius to work out that Dundalk FC and Drogheda Utd should have amalgamated a long time ago. It doesn't make sense to have 2 clubs from Louth.
At least if Dundalk and Drogheda amalgamated the gates would be better and the overall catchment area would be much bigger. The same could be said for Cork-Cobh, Bray-Some Dublin Club, UCD-Shamrock, Waterford-Kilkenny. There are too many clubs in too small an area with names and heritage that excludes a wider catchment area - a recipy for disaster when trying to run a pro football club and attract a large support. It wa sok in the olden days but football is much more of a business nowadays and the set-up needs to be reviewed.
Also, the naming of the club Drogheda obviously exclues most of Louth and surrounding areas from supporting.
How about Derry-Sligo-Harps merger .... should have been done ages ago imo ;)
Louth4sam
24/09/2008, 1:55 PM
At least if Dundalk and Drogheda amalgamated the gates would be better and the overall catchment area would be much bigger. The same could be said for Cork-Cobh, Bray-Some Dublin Club, UCD-Shamrock, Waterford-Kilkenny. There are too many clubs in too small an area with names and heritage that excludes a wider catchment area - a recipy for disaster when trying to run a pro football club and attract a large support. It was ok in the olden days but football is much more of a business nowadays and the set-up needs to be reviewed.
Some village in Donegal is missing an idiot
No its ok I've found him!
manic da hoop
24/09/2008, 2:55 PM
Aerial photos, scroll down a bit...
http://www.srfcultrasforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=6914&page=10
I must say I totally disagree with the above sentiment. The greatest thing about supporting a football club is the sense of togetherness you develop with your fellow supporters over the years in following your club through thick and thin. To amalgamate with one of your rivals is to totally dissolve this. If Shels were to amalgamte with Bohs, for example, there is no way I would attend the matches. The problem lies with the perceptions people have, not with the actual population in terms of numbers. To hell with franchise football is what I say.
finnpark
24/09/2008, 2:59 PM
How about Derry-Sligo-Harps merger .... should have been done ages ago imo ;)
Well if Harps don't progress it probably would be a good thing. All 3 clubs are struggling fiancially so it would make sense alright to have 1 big club as the population of the entire 3 counties is around 400,000. Even 400,000 is quite a small catchment to support a competitive (european level) professional football club.
Its not a bit wonder the league is struggling to get crowds and finance when there is a club every few hundred meters in some parts and then in other parts no club for 100 miles
finnpark
24/09/2008, 3:02 PM
I must say I totally disagree with the above sentiment. The greatest thing about supporting a football club is the sense of togetherness you develop with your fellow supporters over the years in following your club through thick and thin. To amalgamate with one of your rivals is to totally dissolve this. If Shels were to amalgamte with Bohs, for example, there is no way I would attend the matches. The problem lies with the perceptions people have, not with the actual population in terms of numbers. To hell with franchise football is what I say.
You would find new rivals ie the new St Pats,UCD,Bray combined club ;)
24/09/2008, 7:12 PM
That is a truly awful idea. If you want to merge to maximise crowds, why not just have North-West FC, South-East Rovers, North-East Harps and South-West Ramblers? I'm sure Bray fans, whose club has achieved a lot more than yours over the last few years, are delighted to have themselves lumped together with 'some Dublin club.'
Why not pair Finn Harps with Arranmore Island? Among their 580-odd residents they're bound to have better footballers.
24/09/2008, 7:27 PM
At least if Dundalk and Drogheda amalgamated the gates would be better and the overall catchment area would be much bigger....
First of all, if you were from County Louth, you would realise how different the inhabitants of Dundalk and Drogheda are - in my experience there isn't a superior Louth identity that comes above our Dundalk/Drogheda identity like the one that makes Wexford Youths FC viable. I've noticed that a man from Dundalk is more likely to respond 'Dundalk' when asked where he is from, whereas a man from Enniscorthy would most likely reply 'Wexford'.
Secondly, the towns are at different ends of the county with separate catchment areas (apart from areas right in the middle).
Thirdly, I can't answer about Drogheda on this point but I know Dundalk fans from Ardee, Togher and Carrickmacross (in Co. Monaghan!) that have no problem calling themselves Dundalk fans.
hedderman
24/09/2008, 7:29 PM
In terms of location, and using the logic of catchment areas, Finn Harps should be building a new stadium in Letterkenny rather than Stranorlar.
brianw82
24/09/2008, 8:05 PM
Can this thread please be brought back on topic?
HulaHoop
24/09/2008, 9:56 PM
Latest Tallaght pics
http://i33.tinypic.com/2ii75f6.jpg
http://i34.tinypic.com/123xhlk.jpg
24/09/2008, 10:24 PM
The pitch looks brilliant.
24/09/2008, 10:30 PM
Its a bit dark but the roof is taking shape over St Annes End in Turners Cross
http://www.ccfcforum.com/forum/uploads/1181072264/med_gallery_56_118_32214.jpg
the-blue-harp
25/09/2008, 12:36 AM
so what is the plans for the other 3 sides in the tallaght stadium, that stand looks absolutely class. would be great if it was like that the whole way around. because i dont know if people agree or not, that when your watching eircom league on telly, it looks **** when there is no stand behind the nets and its just advertising boards.
Boh_So_Good
25/09/2008, 1:08 AM
Rovers have a huge amount of expansion possibility with that site.
GalwayFrancis
25/09/2008, 1:32 AM
whats the capacity of that stand in tallaght? looks deadly.
oldyouth
25/09/2008, 7:49 AM
Exceptional for Tallaght Stadium and can't wait to see Turners Cross finished. It was lovely before the roof and that'll crown it.
It makes you wonder why anyone who makes decisions on planning for THEIR OWN locality could ever object to such fine facilities being built.
Celdrog
25/09/2008, 12:36 PM
Rovers have a huge amount of expansion possibility with that site.HavE Rovers the authority to expand on their own or does it need SDCC approval or can SDCC themselves only do it?
How long until Shels or Pats move in?
passerrby
25/09/2008, 1:33 PM
How long until Shels or Pats move in?
if an other club come in (and i think it is madness not to) will they both be ahchor tenents or will rovers be the club with first dips
eamoss
25/09/2008, 4:42 PM
First of all, if you were from County Louth, you would realise how different the inhabitants of Dundalk and Drogheda are - in my experience there isn't a superior Louth identity that comes above our Dundalk/Drogheda identity like the one that makes Wexford Youths FC viable. I've noticed that a man from Dundalk is more likely to respond 'Dundalk' when asked where he is from, whereas a man from Enniscorthy would most likely reply 'Wexford'.
Yeah I have also found this, like a girl I know from Adree said she was from South Dundalk when she was asked where she was from in college. What I tend to find is people from North Louth say they are from Dundalk and South Louth say they are from Drogheda.
adamd164
26/09/2008, 10:53 PM
Turner's Cross new roof on St Annes End, getting there! About a week's worth of work left in it. These pics are copyright Optimus.
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3047/2890279041_a6716f8b8a.jpg
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3057/2891114384_3a59fa0eb5.jpg
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3256/2890278399_4d30afcc69.jpg
27/09/2008, 12:02 AM
Looks great, once they get the sheeting an the back walls built it will turn Turners into a fantastic ground. Really nice structure and looks relatively low cost with the angle iron, steel purline use. Maybe something other clubs could use in the future.
adamd164
27/09/2008, 5:22 PM
You can just about see in the first picture there the space in between where the structure and roof start at the back of the seats. That will be for toilet facilities, a chipper, and a shop.
More pics here: http://pix.ie/hincha/691971
Blue-Army
28/09/2008, 1:06 AM
Mick Wallace said tonight that Wexford have asked for planning permission to build a new 2,500 seater covered stand at Ferrycarrig Park. It's going to be a really nice little ground!
28/09/2008, 10:49 PM
Dont think there is any photos on the website yet. Its just a stand that was clipped together so was able to be put up within a few days.
Its not a stand its one of those agricultural seated viewing things with no roof whiich i said when it was announced, what it would be. I also said whats the point as kildare dont have fans to fill thir existing stand. Yes it looks nice cleans up the ground but its on the pitch and going onto the dugouts which is bad. Its a lovely junior set up
29/09/2008, 1:00 AM
You can just about see in the first picture there the space in between where the structure and roof start at the back of the seats. That will be for toilet facilities, a chipper, and a shop.
More pics here: http://pix.ie/hincha/691971
Its gonna be sweet, cant wait until this is done. And it WILL be the side to go to, covered over with good facilities. That could be the best side of the ground when its done.
29/09/2008, 5:49 AM
if an other club come in (and i think it is madness not to) will they both be ahchor tenents or will rovers be the club with first dips
Shamrock Rovers only have permission to play a strictly limited number of games at prescribed days/times, it's hard to see how another club to fit into that without another laborious legal/logistical process.
29/09/2008, 6:51 AM
Shamrock Rovers only have permission to play a strictly limited number of games at prescribed days/times, it's hard to see how another club to fit into that without another laborious legal/logistical process.
Around the time that the first sod was turned in Tallaght I'm sure Rovers were limited to 30 games a season. Also remember that the FAI agreed to put money into the stadium on condition that the Irish ladies got to play their home matches there.
finnpark
29/09/2008, 10:42 PM
Mick Wallace said tonight that Wexford have asked for planning permission to build a new 2,500 seater covered stand at Ferrycarrig Park. It's going to be a really nice little ground!
Fair play to Wallace and all at Wexford.
It would be great to see a full time professional team in an all seater stadium there some day. Im sure its a dream for all Wexford fans. Nice club, built on a youth structure which is the way every club should be.
29/09/2008, 10:44 PM
Fair play to Wallace and all at Wexford.
It would be great to see a full time professional team in an all seater stadium there some day. Im sure its a dream for all Wexford fans. Nice club, built on a youth structure which is the way every club should be.
Definately have the potential. It's just a matter of having the patience to see it through, which to be fair it seems Mick possesses alright. Pitch was one of the best I've ever seen on Saturday.
07/10/2008, 10:58 AM
The new Finn Park is due to start in the next few weeks :D
The club and developer are both raring to go and its just a matter of waiting on the fire safety cert before work can commence. Ive had to deal with this before on apartment complex and its a balls of a system but, its the final piece of the puzzle and more than likely work will be started within 2/3 weeks.
finnpark
07/10/2008, 11:13 AM
The new Finn Park is due to start in the next few weeks :D
The club and developer are both raring to go and its just a matter of waiting on the fire safety cert before work can commence. Ive had to deal with this before on apartment complex and its a balls of a system but, its the final piece of the puzzle and more than likely work will be started within 2/3 weeks.
Well tell the board to rush any money through because a major Irish bank will go bust in the coming 4 months (I will not mention which one it is) and these projects will be scraped. Clubs should be aware of the insecurities of the banks.
The back up claims by the Government are a joke. There is no way that they can realistically back up 400B. Not a chance.
As regards the Harps stadium and Bohs new stadium; I will beleive them when I see them. :(
10/10/2008, 4:45 PM
As regards the Harps stadium and Bohs new stadium; I will beleive them when I see them. :(
Machinery has been moved in today with work to commence on Monday. Some brilliant news for Harps.
cheech
10/10/2008, 4:54 PM
Well tell the board to rush any money through because a major Irish bank will go bust in the coming 4 months (I will not mention which one it is) and these projects will be scraped. Clubs should be aware of the insecurities of the banks.
The back up claims by the Government are a joke. There is no way that they can realistically back up 400B. Not a chance.
What a load of rubbish.
Beat it up ye.
I've my doubts your even a Harps fan.
carrickharp
10/10/2008, 6:01 PM
RTE Report:
Work to begin on Finn Harps stadium
Friday, 10 October 2008 15:00
The eircom League of Ireland has received a timely boost with the news that work on Finn Harps' new 6,600 all-seated stadium is to commence within the next fortnight.
The news comes after the club received the final piece of documentation required for the project to start.
The Donegal club's Ground Development Officer Patsy Lafferty confirmed that a Fire Safety Certificate had been granted and that work was imminent.
The delay in the granting of the certificate was due to some slight adjustments to the plans to allow it to stage outdoor concerts and other big sporting events. The alterations will enable Harps to cater for crowds of up to 15,000 for such events in their new home.
'It is a massive boost for the club,' Mr Lafferty said.
'It gives everyone involved a huge lift at this time. There has been a lot of sleepless nights to be fair and a lot of times when we thought that maybe it wouldn't go ahead.'
The original timescale on the project is two years, which could mean Harps could be playing at the state-of-the-art venue in 2011.
The development in Stranorlar will be built to completion before Harps move in. As well as 6,600 seats and a second pitch for junior soccer in the area, the development includes all facilities required for UEFA Licencing, a three-storey administration block and ample car parking.
Already, funding of €1.2 million has been granted to the development. Earlier this year, the first sod was turned by Pat The Cope Gallagher.
six flags
10/10/2008, 6:04 PM
Great news and well done to all those involved. Can't wait to see the stadium take shape.
corkharps
10/10/2008, 7:51 PM
Great news for Harps and the whole League in the current climate! Congrats again to the Harps Board!:)
10/10/2008, 10:06 PM
Fair play to Harps. Just wondering will there be room to put in more than 6,600 seats later on? I mean is there room to expand on the new site?
dcfc1928
10/10/2008, 10:36 PM
Excellent news Harps. Well done.
oldyouth
11/10/2008, 8:18 AM
Great news Harps, are there any artist's impressions, drawings plans or the like to have a look?
fionnsci
11/10/2008, 9:48 AM
Great news Harps, are there any artist's impressions, drawings plans or the like to have a look?
http://finnharps.openhosts.com/Stadium/05Feb03NewStadium.htm
Looks really modern.