View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 [114] 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172

13/07/2018, 8:52 AM
Not far off it yeah, slightly bigger admin block at the back rather than all being under the stand.

1954 seats in it, by an interesting cosmic coincidence.

13/07/2018, 10:07 AM
I think it's to be closer to resembling the new stand in Terryland rather than Athlone.

CorribsideSteve
13/07/2018, 4:16 PM
I think it's to be closer to resembling the new stand in Terryland rather than Athlone.

One of the nicest, but coldest stands in the League :) Proximity to the Corrib is the culprit there though. If FH end up with a ground similar to Terryland, it wouldn't be such a bad thing. 2900 seats (i think) in Terryland, which is more than enough for Galway. I've only ever witnessed the place full on 4 occasions. What would the total seating be with redrawn plans?

13/07/2018, 4:34 PM
One of the nicest, but coldest stands in the League :) Proximity to the Corrib is the culprit there though. If FH end up with a ground similar to Terryland, it wouldn't be such a bad thing. 2900 seats (i think) in Terryland, which is more than enough for Galway. I've only ever witnessed the place full on 4 occasions. What would the total seating be with redrawn plans?

Anyones guess really. Have heard figures ranging from 4,500 to 6,000. All depends on the size of the second stand and terracing on either end. Main stand with 1,954 seats, second stand is supposed to be smaller and simpler, and terraces are supposed to be similar to that of the one in Finn Park on either end, safe capacity of that is 900 I think. Safe to assume somewhere in the region of 5,000 capacity, which would be plenty for any need we'll have.

14/07/2018, 5:35 PM
I don't know what the Bray thing means to be honest.

Partly things that have been said before in this thread before and basically a developer wanting to get hold of prime land in a town centre in exchange for a newly built ground elsewhere. In this its is similar to what was hoped for by the developer at Bray, I was being (maybe unfairly) cynical with the whole developer looking to exploit things at the expense of clubs, fans et al for cheaply gained profit. The difference of course is that Donegal CC were more South Korea and ok with rezoning the land for development.

From what I gathered from Nigel in particular was that the project was fully funded. This was from both sports capital grants and from the proceeds the land swap deal. The project started and stalled due to the collapse of 'the boom'. I can understand why an issue arose but even over the cycle of change in economic circumstances Nigel said that the funding was in place but that there was an issue with the builder. It wasnt said what that issue was but i will speculate that the builder either fell on some lean times or balked at the prospect of getting a patch of land that was no longer as valuable so they stalled on the build.

Iirc in 2015(?) it was reported that €500k had been spent and another €500k grant was to be allocated imminently. The original grant in 2007/8 was €800k. Some of these grants must obviously have been drawn down to start the project with one of the stands started. If funding was fully in place as Nigel claimed surely at least one stand should have been completed by now and prior scaling back. Now either the reported funding wasnt accurate, grants were let lapse etc. But the funding allocated would fit with Nigel saying funding was in place so why the lack of progression? It is with cynicism im looking on this but from the outside looking in it looks like the builder saw the opportunity for a double win in getting their hands on land from which they could make a tidy sum and also get paid to build a new ground with the club paying them via government grants. Things took a downturn and that Finn Park was no longer 'valuable' the builder wasnt so fussed on fulfilling their committments without that piece of prime development land being worth as much. Renege long enough and a downturn will come to an end and that land value increases again. Now 10 years on and an economy recovers and complications with the builder are being ironed out.

It makes sense that if the project was scaled back and with new plans drawn up that new grants could be allocated but surely this should be another phase of the development rather than being part of completing phase one that had already turned sod. When was the decision to scale back the plans - after at least one grant of half a million was spent? if money was granted and spent on the original plan and this new grant is for doing up new plans then what was already spent for this process seems an awful waste of damn limited funding.

One club built a very large shed after getting a grant, the tender for building the shed was awarded to a builder that had a bit of a connection to the club. I am wary of the the whole developer and football clubs in general and probably have been assuming the worst of what was going on with Stranrolar. I just dont get how at least one stand in a supposedly funded project has only been built since 2005 when it was decided to move out of Finn Park. At least there was a turnkey type arrangement and not a groundshare situation waiting for a new ground to be built.

ArFella
20/07/2018, 8:38 AM
Not a huge surprise but Pat's 12,000 seater stadium idea was "never a runner" and the council have secured funding for housing on that site:

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/new-stadium-for-st-patricks-athletic-ditched-500-homes-to-be-built-instead-37137248.html

Brusher
20/07/2018, 2:47 PM
I wonder if this was a GAA club that had put this together...would it be treated any better ? My opinion..yes it would.

20/07/2018, 5:46 PM
Not a huge surprise but Pat's 12,000 seater stadium idea was "never a runner" and the council have secured funding for housing on that site:

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/new-stadium-for-st-patricks-athletic-ditched-500-homes-to-be-built-instead-37137248.html

I'm disappointed, and frustrated, but not overly surprised I have to say. Never had any faith in the council going for this. Dont know where we go from here. Just hope Garrett Kelleher doesn't get frustrated and ride off into the sunset.

SeanDMRooney
23/07/2018, 6:44 PM
I am at the end of my rope with people making justifications and excuses for the Harps Stadium. I suspect the complex manner of the initial contract was a hugely stupid decision thst is in many ways responsible for where we are today. Thats fine. People make mistakes but I just cant share the enthuasism for the latest news and the likelihood of getting a hodge podge when its finished in another 4 years time will be soul crushing.

Key Rule of LOI Football

No development ever gets past stage 1

oriel
25/07/2018, 12:43 PM
The top guy in Peake 6, majority owners of DFC made his first visit to OP last week for the Levadia game. James Rogers has a story in today’s local Argus I believe, following on from his tweet earlier in the week, that they have said plans for redevelopment are ‘in the pipeline’, no details given but they did mention the space potential on almost all sides of the ground to develop.

Be good to see any plans announced really, but you get the impression they won’t release anything until they have everything in place re planning / what they need / want to do.

At least they are talking about it I suppose.

25/07/2018, 1:24 PM
If you look closely what he actually said was they have plans "FOR a pipeline"

Get dundalk a bigger slice of that border diesel money.

oriel
25/07/2018, 4:01 PM
Ha - I don't think these guys need any more money, they are well funded, but until I see any sign of building work started, it will always be hope more than expectation.

Duggie
25/07/2018, 8:49 PM
I hope that the old main stand remain part of any new plans. Always liked it. What do dundalk fans think??

Ezeikial
25/07/2018, 9:11 PM
I hope that the old main stand remain part of any new plans. Always liked it. What do dundalk fans think??

I don't expect anything radical at all - such as replacing the current main stand.

Access to investment funds are hardly the issue, but return on investment is likely to be

25/07/2018, 11:15 PM
I don't expect anything radical at all - such as replacing the current main stand.

Access to investment funds are hardly the issue, but return on investment is likely to be
Would there be a market in Dundalk to hold small stadium-sized gigs, or would people just go to Dublin/Belfast for that?

25/07/2018, 11:44 PM

Its been mentioned before that it was phase 1 of 3 when originally built. I like it too and I dont see why it couldnt be extended at both ends incorporating the away section and the home terrace. It would look grand imo even if the extendion was of a more modern design of the roof for example. Id like to see any extensions angled in toward the pitch at each end to make sure that there is full view of the pitch without having to look through the glass sides. There is a lot of work badly needed under the stand that would need to be gutted and redesigned as the interior stairs are too narrow and there could be need for some sort of lift or ramping for wheelchair access and disabled toilets (any and all toilets for that matter) so it would come down to whether it would be cheaper to just demolish the whole thing and start from scratch considering the upgrade so badly needed under the stand. IF it were ever to happen. Id imagine that IF anything were to happen it would start with a small stand behind the town goal, then shed/YDC side unless the cheap and cheerful things was just to extend the main stand. That side of the ground would then have close to 3000 seats. Any whistles and bells like corporate box like areas would have to be Shed side with remedial work done on the YDC to get the space. We can only hope and it will only happen if that sort of outlay has a good chance of improving general income on matchnights while not eating too much in to the desired return on investment. Any sort of municipal type involvment in upgrading Oriel is just never going to happen with Louth County Council when they are talking about doing a new athletics facility and the running track is to be grass......:confused: :rolleyes:

25/07/2018, 11:51 PM
Would there be a market in Dundalk to hold small stadium-sized gigs, or would people just go to Dublin/Belfast for that?

With a proper 8k seater ground and pitch space concerts of 12-15k capacity could possibly be considered. It was looked in to in the distant past. The usual hurdles of planning permission, local resident objections etc for such smal to medium concerts would probably make it not worthwhile to even bother paying the fees seeking permission. But ye never know with the right people managing a new Oriel Park facility as with that type of seated and covered capacity and the YDC it could give plenty of scope for an event. Stock car raccing and Monster Truck derby were not sporting events held in Oriel in the past lol

Dave77
26/07/2018, 9:08 AM
Just wondering if you redeveloped the shed side of oriel can you access it by a different road. Or is the only entrance for all of the ground beside main stand. Do UEFA have rules regarding access to ground from different points, not sure myself.

White Horse
26/07/2018, 9:25 AM
Just wondering if you redeveloped the shed side of oriel can you access it by a different road. Or is the only entrance for all of the ground beside main stand. Do UEFA have rules regarding access to ground from different points, not sure myself.

There are two access points into the ground, however both are on the stand side. One of the access points is not in this picture, it is just outside the bottom left of this picture.

However, there is plenty of land surrounding Oriel Park, so there is no physical impediment, only a financial one.

https://3es13k2qcgtk2j14l71vvjla-wpengine.netdna-ssl.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/02/orielparkskygavgall.png

Asterix
26/07/2018, 9:54 AM
http://www.fai.ie/domestic/news/statement-on-new-stadium-in-drogheda

26/07/2018, 10:30 AM
Good news for Drogheda.

If it ever happens.

Ezeikial
26/07/2018, 10:57 AM
Good luck to Drogheda on this.

Fair play to the FAI and Louth Co Co for supporting it.

I trust that Dundalk will receive the same support if/when it is sought

Real ale Madrid
26/07/2018, 11:05 AM
No artists impression?

Off to a bad start.

26/07/2018, 11:07 AM
Good luck to Drogheda on this.

Fair play to the FAI and Louth Co Co for supporting it.

I trust that Dundalk will receive the same support if/when it is sought

That was the first thing I thought of. FAI are going to bank a serious amount of cash by selling United Park.

26/07/2018, 11:09 AM
There are two access points into the ground, however both are on the stand side. One of the access points is not in this picture, it is just outside the bottom left of this picture.

However, there is plenty of land surrounding Oriel Park, so there is no physical impediment, only a financial one.

https://3es13k2qcgtk2j14l71vvjla-wpengine.netdna-ssl.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/02/orielparkskygavgall.png

I've never been to Oriel Park, and never seen an image as clear as this of the stadium and surrounding area. Huge potential to develop a top-class facility there to be fair. Is (what looks like a training pitch) that field belonging to Dundalk as well?

CorribsideSteve
26/07/2018, 11:13 AM
Like Finn Harps stadium, i fear this could take about 27 millennia to build, but I hope something tangible is achieved.

White Horse
26/07/2018, 11:16 AM
Is (what looks like a training pitch) that field belonging to Dundalk as well?

None of the land surrounding Oriel Park is owned by the club. There is a grass training pitch outside the bottom of the picture, that is used by the club but is owned by the local Grammar School.

However, the land is there and can be bought if the owners out down the cash.

White Horse
26/07/2018, 11:19 AM
No artists impression?

Off to a bad start.

This is not your typical pie in the sky LOI stadium plan.

The necessity for proper playing grounds for local clubs is driving this investment by LCC. I presume the FAI will make a killing selling United Park and will invest some of the proceeds.

The priority for LCC are the municipal playing fields, the stadium element will be down to whatever cash is injected by the FAI. Lets see how much they invest.

sbgawa
26/07/2018, 11:26 AM
A decent 3000 capacity stadium in Drogheda will be a decent addition to the league and might revitalise drogs.

Park_Lane
26/07/2018, 11:27 AM
No artists impression?

Off to a bad start.

Scale model or GTFO

Park_Lane
26/07/2018, 11:31 AM
Scale model or GTFO

Seriously though, let home it comes to pass. There is quite a lot to be positive with ground developments at the moment.

On another note, why does every press release from clubs regarding development of stadiums have to profusely thank John Delaney?

pateen
26/07/2018, 11:42 AM

What are all the white containers/drums at the bottom, part of the diesel recycling operation :cool:

oriel
26/07/2018, 11:44 AM
I've never been to Oriel Park, and never seen an image as clear as this of the stadium and surrounding area. Huge potential to develop a top-class facility there to be fair. Is (what looks like a training pitch) that field belonging to Dundalk as well?

James Rogers has a story in the Argus local paper today, not too much detail more that the top Peak 6 guys had a good look around on their first visit pre Levadia game and were impressed with the potential space wise, he did mention they have plans, but of course no details other than would have to be in line with ‘our friends from the council’

The space is huge around the ground, and in this photo where the YDC is, there is also an underground carpark, the players use that on matchday, the bar has been re-stocked after being out of use for years and they eventually opened it for fans during a match (Levadia – before and HT).

For me this is the perfect spot to build on, while using the YDC as the backpart, easy access to all facilities in there, and maybe even a catering area, wouldn’t be too hard to build as the YDC is also huge inside and part of it is on two floors. Behind both goals also have potential, the town end would be the best to start with then then stand could be extended both sides, but there is housing at the away section so height restrictions would apply.

Even if they build one new stand per season it could be achievable. Access will be a problem though, not ideal having all of this on one side, car parking will be another, not sure how many the YDC spot can hold, don't think its that big.

On the Drogs announcement, my first thought also was on the FAI cashing in United Park, that’s prime real estate and they will have no prob selling to the highest bidder, they’ll make a fortune with that land.

No problem with it being built as would be a decent facility for municipal events, LCC obviously no interest in Oriel Park partnership, probably due to Peake 6, plus it would add to the improvements with grounds hosting LOI matches, hopefully Dundalk will have upgrades in place around the same time of this.

oriel
26/07/2018, 11:47 AM
The containers are stocks of the black stuff that is under the actual pitch, Benson mentioned this on the LOI weekly podcast yesterday, UEFA requirement to ensure the pitch is passed for euro games, to do with the pitch being made a little heavier for these games.

Ezeikial
26/07/2018, 12:08 PM
Even if they build one new stand per season it could be achievable. Access will be a problem though, not ideal having all of this on one side, car parking will be another, not sure how many the YDC spot can hold, don't think its that big.

Easy on Oriel - you might be building your hopes unnecessarily.

There is little new here in that article, and it might be advisable to be be patient and to have modest expectations of what might happen in the short term

Philosophizer
26/07/2018, 12:14 PM
Great news for Drogs!

Anyone know where the site is though? Hopefuly not way out of the town...

Yossarian
26/07/2018, 12:17 PM
On another note, why does every press release from clubs regarding development of stadiums have to profusely thank John Delaney?

I just don’t get how every positive thing that the FAI do is solely down to Delaney and it is cringeworthy to hear politicians and club officials constantly profess undying gratitude to Delaney. It’s what happens in dictatorships where the “leader” is solely responsible for everything good and has no responsibility for anything bad. It does my head in.

Philosophizer
26/07/2018, 12:23 PM
It's pure authoritatian-style politics.

They know that if the don't kiss his arse they might not get any crumbs from the top table next time.

Embarrassing stuff.

oriel
26/07/2018, 1:58 PM
Easy on Oriel - you might be building your hopes unnecessarily.

There is little new here in that article, and it might be advisable to be be patient and to have modest expectations of what might happen in the short term

Like SK allowing the players to dream of playing in the Amsterdam Arena (more unlikely after last night) we are also allowed to dream.

I’d be happy with one new stand !

Yossarian
26/07/2018, 2:00 PM
Where exactly is this proposed new ground going to be located? The only mention of a location in the press release is North Drogheda which does really help.

White Horse
26/07/2018, 2:31 PM
Where exactly is this proposed new ground going to be located? The only mention of a location in the press release is North Drogheda which does really help.

https://www.independent.ie/regionals/droghedaindependent/news/new-stadium-and-pitches-on-28-acres-at-newtown-36234091.html

Not the most accessible location.

Philosophizer
26/07/2018, 2:56 PM
i don't know the area well to be honest. Is it still within the town? Easily walkable?

White Horse
26/07/2018, 3:15 PM
Its not in the town.

Its at the edge of suburban sprawl to the east of the town.

30 minutes walk from West St, 35 minutes from the bus station, 45 minutes from the train station.

Not that easy to drive to either.

El-Pietro
26/07/2018, 3:26 PM
By the time its actually built (if ever) Drogheda is likely to have grown in size and population I'd imagine due to its proximity to Dublin. If they can make sure its well connected via public transport (local bus or tram or similar) then great. If it ends up being as isolated as Flancare or Lissywoolen then its a backwards step and will harm the clubs growth.

Philosophizer
26/07/2018, 3:33 PM
By the time its actually built (if ever) Drogheda is likely to have grown in size and population I'd imagine due to its proximity to Dublin. If they can make sure its well connected via public transport (local bus or tram or similar) then great. If it ends up being as isolated as Flancare or Lissywoolen then its a backwards step and will harm the clubs growth.
Is Lissywoolen still as isolated? I thought the urban sprawl had almost reached out there by now?

El-Pietro
26/07/2018, 3:44 PM
Athlones probably not as bad as Longford (or even worse Wexford) but it feels like its very out of the way. Bishopstown had a similar problem back in the 90s.

White Horse
26/07/2018, 3:53 PM
Major residential development in Drogheda is likely to be towards the south and west as that is where the road to Dublin is. This proposed development in never going to be a central assessable location.

As for public transport, no chance of that in provincial Ireland.

I still think it is a great deal for Drogheda. It will be a new stadium with plenty of pitches for their underage sides.

They have a chance of growing there. There is no chance of that in United Park.

26/07/2018, 4:03 PM
If there's plenty of ancillary features to it (which it appears there are), then that should negate the location a bit.

You want somewhere where people will be going to regularly for other events at the minimum.

Philosophizer
26/07/2018, 4:24 PM
Athlones probably not as bad as Longford (or even worse Wexford) but it feels like its very out of the way. Bishopstown had a similar problem back in the 90s.

Don't Wexford at least have a proper base there with training pitches, astros, clubhouse etc? Longford is just a stadium plonked in the middle of the countryside as far as i remember, although it's been a long time since i was there so correct me if i'm wrong.

Maybe lissywollen/Glanmire/Roadstone/Sligo, and now Drogheda, template is the best way to go. Get a big space on the edge of your town/city and build a proper club base where your stadium and your whole academy can be based in the same hub.

ger121
26/07/2018, 6:10 PM
No artists impression?

Off to a bad start.

I heard he wasn’t impressed.