View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)
EatYerGreens
10/12/2024, 12:10 PM
Sorry was'nt having a go at you there and justify was the wrong word .
Was just wondering if you think it will lead to a substantial increase in attendances
Isn't it well-establised now that new stadia in football lead to increased crowds? At least for a while anyway?
If there's an average of 1,000 or so going to Finn Park with its current prehistoric facilities, it's hard to see how a new stadium wouldn't attract more. Particularly when you factor in the weather up there.
10/12/2024, 12:13 PM
“We hope and trust that the Planning Authority will now, once again, look favourably upon this application"
Be some craic if DonegalCoCo refused planning permission now! No permission for flags....:eek:
Looks like the saga is reaching a conclusion with funding organised albeit little wriggle room - tender process and submissions not easy with unstable costs and would be interesting to see who puts in submissions.
A N Mouse
10/12/2024, 12:36 PM
Isn't it well-establised now that new stadia in football lead to increased crowds? At least for a while anyway?
If there's an average of 1,000 or so going to Finn Park with its current prehistoric facilities, it's hard to see how a new stadium wouldn't attract more. Particularly when you factor in the weather up there.
Harps have a plan for that. They're going to announce a monthly draw running until stadium is complete, 1st prize a season ticket, 2nd prize two season tickets.
Expecting 20k season ticket holders upon completion
They should shift a few in Tallaght, with Fine Gael back in the feel good factor is strong with the Alliance.
10/12/2024, 2:52 PM
Time Harps reached the FAI Cup final in 99, what sort of a crowd did they bring that day?I would be confident that Harps would increase their fanbase as its a soccer mad county!
Glen Of Aherlow
10/12/2024, 3:01 PM
According to Wikipedia the population of Ballybofey and Stranorlar was 5,406 at the last census , which is less than the proposed capacity of the stadium .
Would Harps generally get many fans from Letterkenny or other places in the county ?
joey B
10/12/2024, 3:07 PM
According to Wikipedia the population of Ballybofey and Stranorlar was 5,406 at the last census , which is less than the proposed capacity of the stadium .
Would Harps generally get many fans from Letterkenny or other places in the county ?
We’d take fans from lots of places in Donegal ,west Tyrone aswell and even still the odd one from Derry just not enough ,it’s very much a Donegal club though and obviously with Shamrock Rovers and Fine Gael backing us too we’ll be dominating in no time!
it’s very much a Donegal club though and obviously with Shamrock Rovers and Fine Gael backing us too we’ll be dominating in no time!
Rovers European run good news for you too Joey!
joey B
10/12/2024, 3:21 PM
Rovers European run good news for you too Joey!
Building half our stadium sure !
EatYerGreens
10/12/2024, 5:35 PM
We’d take fans from lots of places in Donegal ,west Tyrone aswell and even still the odd one from Derry just not enough ,it’s very much a Donegal club though and obviously with Shamrock Rovers and Fine Gael backing us too we’ll be dominating in no time!
What's the Fine Gael backing? They were the only party to lose representation in Donegal there in the election
joey B
10/12/2024, 5:40 PM
What's the Fine Gael backing? They were the only party to lose representation in Donegal there in the election
You’re guess is as good as mine!
A few Shamrock Rovers members are card carrying members of Fine Gael, thus easing the way for funds to be released for the new Harps stadium..
*may or may not be true
joey B
10/12/2024, 6:08 PM
A few Shamrock Rovers members are card carrying members of Fine Gael, thus easing the way for funds to be released for the new Harps stadium..
*may or may not be true
Thank f**k the Shamrock Rovers Fine Gael people are on the case or it might have been delayed!!!!
10/12/2024, 6:22 PM
Thank f**k the Shamrock Rovers Fine Gael people are on the case or it might have been delayed!!!!
Photo of the new ground in the Donegal paper as it is, would remind you of Tallaght Stadium before SDCC took over. There is a common ground there over the years, or maybe a common trauma on delayed ground projects.
EatYerGreens
10/12/2024, 7:25 PM
*may or may not be true
You know that feeling when you arrive at a party and everyone else is already drunk....?
Well it is that time of year…
10/12/2024, 8:42 PM
Pearse will shame them and whip it all in to shape - he permanently looks like he is suffering the day after the night before Christmas party!
Harps have a plan for that. They're going to announce a monthly draw running until stadium is complete, 1st prize a season ticket, 2nd prize two season tickets.
Expecting 20k season ticket holders upon completion
Some might see it as an amateur operations but it an operation that has kept the club alive for 70 years and in the LOI For 55 of those. Many clubs from far more populated areas have come and gone in that time, one of two have come, gone and then come again.
11/12/2024, 9:51 AM
Keeping the show on the road I think is one of the most impressive achievements of any and all LoI clubs with 'amatuer' jibes or not. Having said that if I were to say that Dundalk have kept the show on the road for over a century including in the last few months does it absolve amatuer hour over the last few years? Until the new ground in Stranrolar is built efforts will be met with flippancy in a similar manner to Derry City's efforts to win the league, 28 years and counting (or 15 for DCFC nua)!
11/12/2024, 12:04 PM
It annoys me that amateur has become a jibe. The root of the word is in "amar", to love. The volunteers who keep the league afloat are amateurs in the pure sense, and don't deserve the scorn that some people attach to the word. There's plenty of professionals out there running businesses into the ground, either out of incompetence or short-term greed.
A N Mouse
11/12/2024, 2:09 PM
Some might see it as an amateur operations but it an operation that has kept the club alive for 70 years and in the LOI For 55 of those. Many clubs from far more populated areas have come and gone in that time, one of two have come, gone and then come again.
We can't all be paragons of virtue signalling.
Any truth to the rumour that the stadium plans originally hit the skids when some concerned supporters raised objections to the club wanting to engage multiple contractors?
Is anyone who has a better idea of how planning permission works able to give a roughly timeline of whats expected here after the application is submitted?
Would Harps expect to get feedback in the next 4-6 weeks, and if successful they'll be hoping to start construction at some point next summer? Is there any world where they could be in a semi completed Stranorlar for the start of the 2026 season?
11/12/2024, 8:37 PM
If the ammendments are basic enough, reading that Donegal Live piece it suggests formalities, permission could be granted in days rather than weeks. If there was some messing with previous plans especially issues with compliance then it'll be like a new application albeit the leg work done and paperwork in order, so before Christmas for a project of this profile. If there is some random bad news due in Donegal in the new year on say council budget trimming then it will wait til then.
As for original contractor, while there has been a roaring lack of any comment saying plenty, the public issue seemed a lot more the builder had had multiple objections to fulfilling agreed work - multiple contractors (builders is a better title tbh) could be a reason why along with tax clearance and the release of tranches of funding. Cant see Dept of Sport allocating grants beyond initial planning phases without a valid tender process and that doesnt include multiple builders.....will Harps ever declassify the full story or is there a book in it one day for some local hack.
Buckett
11/12/2024, 8:51 PM
I wouldn't believe a word of that article. Twice it mentions that Cat 3 is the highest stadium category
ger121
11/12/2024, 10:35 PM
I wouldn't believe a word of that article. Twice it mentions that Cat 3 is the highest stadium category
That bugged me. I hate when articles are poorly researched.
We can't all be paragons of virtue signalling.
Any truth to the rumour that the stadium plans originally hit the skids when some concerned supporters raised objections to the club wanting to engage multiple contractors?
Maybe being paragons of paying your debts and at least attempting to live within your means. And to answer your question no the club had one contractor who build the basic structures of one stand then withdrew from the project due to long delays in funding availability( not all the fault of Finn Harp FC). The club may have talked to multiple contractors after that
DCSIL
12/12/2024, 10:40 AM
Maybe being paragons of paying your debts and at least attempting to live within your means.
Like you were giving a Full time manager a Four year contract and a load of foreign signings on crowds of no more than 800?
12/12/2024, 1:07 PM
Like you were giving a Full time manager a Four year contract and a load of foreign signings on crowds of no more than 800?
yeeeeeeeeeeeeeow
A N Mouse
12/12/2024, 1:20 PM
Aw, let him tell us all about the fancy flashing orange lights on his bwm.
12/12/2024, 1:23 PM
Could be worse, could be spending £2m a year and end up with nothing to show for it.
Better value than spending €100 to stand in a field…
A N Mouse
12/12/2024, 2:50 PM
We're living within our chairman's means ?
But if you want to sniff at a new stand capacity 2k or there abouts, ready for start of coming season. And expected announcement on training facilities. Then knock yourself out.
What did Patsy or Fran leave youse? A mountain of debt and a Derry club to give you some shade?
12/12/2024, 2:54 PM
We're living within our chairman's means ?
But if you want to sniff at a new stand capacity 2k or there abouts, ready for start of coming season. And expected announcement on training facilities. Then knock yourself out.
What did Patsy or Fran leave youse? A mountain of debt and a Derry club to give you some shade?
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/1107/257046-derrycity/
Fair play.
We’re very lucky to have Phil.
Pats are very lucky to have Garrett.
Rovers are very lucky to have Ray, Dermot and their members.
Drogs have their American backers.
Cork have Dermot.
Harps rather than get their finances in order go begging to the Central bank of Tallaght every time.
12/12/2024, 4:26 PM
Speaking of new stands, some more photos of the new one in the Brandywell.
I hadn't appreciated how much it would close in the corner, great stuff. When the second phase of the MF stand gets built, it should close in the other corner too.
https://x.com/FPMcCann/status/1867154961038999913?t=qMQD1vxQRuS-onhyIXRRMQ&s=19
Buckett
12/12/2024, 6:04 PM
I hadn't appreciated how much it would close in the corner, great stuff. When the second phase of the MF stand gets built, it should close in the other corner too.
That is beautiful
12/12/2024, 8:20 PM
Hey A N Mouse, I thought you didnt like it when fans of rival clubs get in to petty spats of mudslinging and flashing the size of your big deficit? Never saw the problem with a good quarrel myself as it sure can be entertaining!
A N Mouse
12/12/2024, 10:04 PM
Hey A N Mouse, I thought you didnt like it when fans of rival clubs get in to petty spats of mudslinging and flashing the size of your big deficit? Never saw the problem with a good quarrel myself as it sure can be entertaining!
I mean rival is doing a lot heavy lifting if you're applying it here :)
We’re very lucky to have Phil.
Harps rather than get their finances in order go begging to the Central bank of Tallaght every time.
Get our finances in order?
Remind me again which team is 5 decades in the same league and which team has was booted out of two different leagues structures is that time. Hint the club to which I refer got a lot of help from the club that "need to get it finances in order" getting into that second structure.
Unlike some the "central bank of Tallaght" remember those who helped them in their time of need
Paying out for a Full Time manager and squad in a part time league doesn’t hint at financial prudence.
thebronze14
13/12/2024, 9:59 AM
Paying out for a Full Time manager and squad in a part time league doesn’t hint at financial prudence.
You seem to know more than us about how much the Scouse bluffer was on:D
Neither does spending £2 million of a season budget and ending up with nothing to show for it
You seem to know more than us about how much the Scouse bluffer was on:D
As mentioned to Nesta, you lot wrote the book on knowing about other clubs affairs..
redobit
14/12/2024, 2:01 PM
In fairness you can't really throw stands. Having a fan bail giving you out with a blank cheque to clear that seasons debt, and continuing to do it season after season. Well that isn't exactly having your finances in order either.
redobit
14/12/2024, 2:03 PM
Any idea on what the construction cost is coming in at.
cláirseach
14/12/2024, 5:54 PM
There's little difference between the past few years of Derry failure and the most successful period in Harps history to be honest, but this is a Stadium Updates thread so I'm more interested in DC's upcoming announcements.
14/12/2024, 7:50 PM
Any idea on what the construction cost is coming in at.
£2.3m (€2.75m) odd. Feels quite reasonable.
Jack B
14/12/2024, 10:41 PM
Was in Richmond early and tried to have a nose at whatever the "developments" are that are apparently happening ahead of the new season that the club have otherwise been quite tight-lipped on. Nothing particularly noticable thus far outside of all of the seats have been removed from the singing section of the main stand. Interesting to see if it's simply that they're doing that and having that section as terrace so that they can fit more people in there, or there's more beyond that.
2 Year Contract
15/12/2024, 9:29 AM
Was in Richmond early and tried to have a nose at whatever the "developments" are that are apparently happening ahead of the new season that the club have otherwise been quite tight-lipped on. Nothing particularly noticable thus far outside of all of the seats have been removed from the singing section of the main stand. Interesting to see if it's simply that they're doing that and having that section as terrace so that they can fit more people in there, or there's more beyond that.
It’s currently only half of that section with the seats out (zoom into the picture below). They could well be doing the rest and just aren’t finished yet but I’ve no other info on it. One of the back garden walls on the house nearest the players entrance is down too. I wonder if they’re getting rid of some of those gardens which will free up more space behind the stand. That’s something that’ll have to be done anyways if a new ground is being built I believe
https://x.com/stpatsfc/status/1867994410790891891?s=46
Jack B
15/12/2024, 9:49 AM
It’s currently only half of that section with the seats out (zoom into the picture below). They could well be doing the rest and just aren’t finished yet but I’ve no other info on it. One of the back garden walls on the house nearest the players entrance is down too. I wonder if they’re getting rid of some of those gardens which will free up more space behind the stand. That’s something that’ll have to be done anyways if a new ground is being built I believe
https://x.com/stpatsfc/status/1867994410790891891?s=46
If you've seen some of the meeting notes from the council that span over the last couple of years, the long-term plan is to buy some of the houses/businesses on Emmet Road in order to redevelop the ground. I've heard some people say that to make it work they'd have to rotate the pitch 90 degrees but there isn't any actual clarity on that nor when it'll actually come to pass, if at all, but maybe that explains some of the walls being gone already.
Whatever they're doing now seems to be some makeshift idea for the time being, will be interesting to see how it plays out as it's not clearly obvious going off of yesterday. As always they're limited with what you can do to Richmond but it feels like every little helps at this stage. Noticed a screen had gone up over on the gantry at the Camac as well.