View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)
A N Mouse
22/02/2012, 9:31 PM
O right I didn't actually realize that. I suppose you could say on the flip side to the article if they where to neglect the Brandywell because Derry use it would also cause a bit of controversy.
But there shouldn't be any controversy.
The type of people who'll be vexed by this would be apoplectic if it was explained to them what IFA actually stood for.
This is one of the projects that money has been set aside for. And the ifa would do themselves no favours by countenancing discussion on the matter.
22/02/2012, 9:39 PM
It's a great move for both Derry and the IFA. A chance for the IFA to get a foothold in Derry if the ground got a big re-vamp with a small international game or an u-21 game here or there.
punkrocket
23/02/2012, 9:02 AM
There are plenty of people in Derry who pay taxes so there should be no controversy with a sporting facility in Derry getting funds for improvements this is govt money after all. I think there will be more controversy whenever the leftover funds are divvied up among the other clubs. All the clubs voted for this but I'd be surprised if the funds are shared out equally. At £22k a year Linfield are still going to be way ahead of the others especially since they no longer have to pay for the upkeep of Windsor Pk.
No surprise really that Glentoran and Derry are getting new grounds/improvements when the DM/DFM are supporters of these 2 clubs.
oldfan
23/02/2012, 11:17 AM
They're learning fast about this politics lark up North .
punkrocket
24/02/2012, 2:58 PM
Fair play to the council.
http://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/derry-city/from_euro_ko_to_stadium_kick_off_1_3557311
punkrocket
24/02/2012, 3:11 PM
Like yer man said Derry City Football Club and Derry City Council are 2 individual enterprises
askmehoop
24/02/2012, 6:59 PM
Fair play to the council.
http://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/derry-city/from_euro_ko_to_stadium_kick_off_1_3557311
great news for Derry and the league, will be nice to have another shiny new stadium to visit
Buller
13/03/2012, 9:20 PM
Thebitoredblog Facebook Page
Sligo Rovers are applying for planning permission to build a new stand at the Shed End of The Showgrounds, which would hold 1,370 spectators.
How would they be financing it?! With a larger wage bill this season (I think) they'd be in serious debt without some kind of grant... Any truth in this rumour? Would make the Showgies into a very decent little stadium.
northwestexile
14/03/2012, 8:04 AM
"Sligo Rovers are applying for planning permission to build a new stand at the Shed End of The Showgrounds, which would hold 1,370 spectators."
I hope this is true. Hopefully they think outside the box and take a look at installing rail seating.
http://www.safestandingroadshow.co.uk/home
http://www.fsf.org.uk/campaigns/safestanding.php
Fivesilver
14/03/2012, 5:41 PM
Pleased for Derry - always had a soft spot for the Brandywell (except for the dog track). Hopefully the plans for the Showgies go smoothly as well. The ground means an awful lot to the supporters, which I believe was part of the reason for the solidarity we felt bound to show the last day football was played in Glenmalure, whatever other disagreements we had. Always great to see any LoI club get greater security and better facilities in their ground.
14/03/2012, 8:09 PM
I suppose the planning permission will last for at least five years and can be extended if necessary. They don't have to come up with the cash right away. I guess there's a chance, however small, that capital grants will be back at some stage too.
Capital grants aren't completely gone I don't think, albeit they are reduced from previous levels.
Pictures of the new finn park stadium development taken this morning
http://s1064.photobucket.com/albums/u361/Naoise80/
gufc2000
16/03/2012, 4:14 PM
Is the plan to build the whole thing at once, or do it in phases like Athlone?
16/03/2012, 4:31 PM
Pictures of the new finn park stadium development taken this morning
http://s1064.photobucket.com/albums/u361/Naoise80/
Looks just like the lovely new housing development up the road from me:(
I hope it will all be done as one. Yourselves and Derry with new grounds ... i think there is a North West bias:p
It's all to be done in one go. The developer does not get the current ground until the stadium is complete and signed off.
mastershake
17/03/2012, 12:36 AM
What will the new Finn harps stadium look like when completed.renders?
17/03/2012, 2:15 AM
What will the new Finn harps stadium look like when completed.renders?
You can sort of make out the artist impression in this photo. Can't find an actual artist impression online sadly. Would love to see it properly myself.
http://i1064.photobucket.com/albums/u361/Naoise80/FinnPark2Pic116032012.jpg
17/03/2012, 12:11 PM
Has work re-started? I thought Harps new ground plan was dead.
Nice new ground with no one in it but better than Finn Park with on one in it I suppose.
gufcfan
17/03/2012, 12:12 PM
Apart from the sign, it looks very similar to two years ago. All the best with it though.
17/03/2012, 1:30 PM
Nice new ground with no one in it but better than Finn Park with on one in it I suppose.
Funny, 800 people for a first division game against Mervue suggest otherwise. There will always be a big crowd for the first game in a new stadium and hopefully we can hang onto it after that.
Apart from the sign, it looks very similar to two years ago. All the best with it though.
Work only re-started on the ground in January there, it was held up for a long time waiting on a grant to come through. Steel work to start going up in the coming months, structure to really start going into place in the summer supposedly. There was a lot of digging and filling to do first.
gufcfan
17/03/2012, 1:52 PM
There was a lot of digging and filling to do first.
No doubt. As I said, best of luck with it. Decent facilities can do a lot for a club. Sligoman's comment was fairly ignorant I thought, if he was being serious.
17/03/2012, 4:21 PM
Work has been ongoing.
We will be playing in it for the 2014 season.
Sorry to quash that wet dream of yours.
Nailor
19/03/2012, 10:48 AM
While I love going to Turners Cross generally, I have to say the matchday organisation is a total shambles. Two portaloos for over 500 travelling supporters including women and kids.
Everyone squashed into a small section of the stand, WTF was that about? :confused::confused:
Complaints lodged with the head steward explaining how crowded it was and the fact a couple of buses were held up and an extra 120+ would be arriving well into the first half were met with 'Fcuk Off, there's loads of room', very professional.
Disgusted by the treatment down there and very surprised I'd have to say.
I for one and I can say plenty of others will not make this trip again to hand over money to be treated like crap.
While I expect that in some grounds, Dalyer, Oriel to name but two, very surprised they could have gotten it so wrong.
El-Pietro
19/03/2012, 12:05 PM
that "small section" has 560 seats - and only 450 fans came in through the St. Annes end.
plenty of seats
askmehoop
19/03/2012, 12:36 PM
that "small section" has 560 seats - and only 450 fans came in through the St. Annes end.
plenty of seats
and what about only having 2 portaloos? you guys must have got yours Rovers mixed up and thought, sure sligo fans would ****e anywhere
El-Pietro
19/03/2012, 1:28 PM
I dunno, I've never been an away fan at Turners Cross (well once when Iw as very small and my local Munster Senior League team drew city in the FAI cup). I remember we used to let Away fans into the Derrynane until Rovers fans started throwing stones at people from above
askmehoop
19/03/2012, 4:12 PM
I dunno, I've never been an away fan at Turners Cross (well once when Iw as very small and my local Munster Senior League team drew city in the FAI cup). I remember we used to let Away fans into the Derrynane until Rovers fans started throwing stones at people from above
and are we the reason theres only 2 toilets in the away end, im sure we did something to cause that to
Bawnville Hoop
19/03/2012, 5:27 PM
plenty of seats
How would you know how many of us were there. Both sets of fans went through the same entrance.. Pulling a figure out of your a***
Two toilets was an absolute joke. It was only during the second half the stewards let women in to the toilets around the other side of the stadium.
MMVIII
19/03/2012, 5:40 PM
How would you know how many of us were there. Both sets of fans went through the same entrance.. Pulling a figure out of your a***
Two toilets was an absolute joke. It was only during the second half the stewards let women in to the toilets around the other side of the stadium.
Good enough for them.
Women have no place in a football ground.
El-Pietro
20/03/2012, 7:34 AM
im not actually, one of the guys who owns ticketscan told us 450 fans came through the St. Annes end. The St Annes end is the away end
gormacha
20/03/2012, 9:11 AM
im not actually, one of the guys who owns ticketscan told us 450 fans came through the St. Annes end. The St Annes end is the away end
Jaysus, is there any need to be so defensive and tribalistic about access to toilets and numbers of seats? If supporters say the section was too small and they didn't have access to toilets then my guess is they're telling the truth. Surely it's in Cork City's interests to listen to this and sort it out? Two thirds of that top end was empty (as it always is), so why not use it, especially for big away support?
citybone
20/03/2012, 9:54 AM
Jaysus, is there any need to be so defensive and tribalistic about access to toilets and numbers of seats? If supporters say the section was too small and they didn't have access to toilets then my guess is they're telling the truth. Surely it's in Cork City's interests to listen to this and sort it out? Two thirds of that top end was empty (as it always is), so why not use it, especially for big away support?
some clubs like Shamrocks and Bohs have been known to cause trouble and this is a buffer zone to separate home and away fans. I would like if we didn't need this but cant trust all of the Shamrocks/Bohs supporters. I agree they could have been given a few more portaloo's or maybe the MFA (who own the ground) install permanent toilets behind the stand.
but there were plenty of seats in that section for the away crowd. there were free seats there for them. It was a good atmosphere due to both home and away fans with no trouble inside the ground. But every time Rovers or Bohs come to Cork there is trouble and if they act like animals then they will be treated like animals. No problems with most other clubs.
placid casual
20/03/2012, 10:19 AM
If ever there was a need to supply evidence why this pi$$ poor league will never get off the ground ,its that mail above.Well done carkie.
Sonny
20/03/2012, 10:31 AM
Two portaloos for 500 people is subhuman. Portaloos themselves are completely unacceptable. Every single away section should have permanent toilet facilities.
I'd be surprised if 2 toilets for that number of fans wasn't a Health and Safety breach. Regardless, it's a disgusting way to treat any fans, regardless of past conduct.
20/03/2012, 10:54 AM
I agree they could have been given a few more portaloo's or maybe the MFA (who own the ground) install permanent toilets .
nice passing of the buck there fellah. Happy enough to take the plaudits when people praise Turners Cross I presume?
Portaloos is kinda understandable in old grounds like Dalymount, but any new developments like the MFA's shouldn't be allowed without proper toilets.
Had my own little moan with Cork stewards last year during the league cup game (in front of maybe 800 people) when they stopped missus and 2 year old daughter from going to the shop in the ground (after being directed that way by one of the more helpful lads)
I'm sure they had previous experiences of Pat's fans spitting the dummy...
citybone
20/03/2012, 11:26 AM
I think there should be facilities behind the St Annes should have some decent facilities. The away fans used to be in the main stand with permanent toilets until the Shamrocks fans misbehaved. By having the away fans in the St. Annes there is good segregation and a bigger allocation of seat's than before. I would be guessing the next step in developing Turners Cross would be facilities behind the St.Annes but have not seen any plans for this yet. Untill Friday night we did not have large away crowds with the exception of Pats and Derry in the cups. Im sure we will learn from this and improve for our next big away crowd (Wont be Bray) maybe Sligo or Dundalk if not till Derry or Bohs.
20/03/2012, 1:56 PM
Wasn't going to respond to this originally, but whats worse than the actual fact of how badly the Shamrock Rovers fans were treated, and the lack of facilities there, is the response from the Cork fans. Would have expected more from you lot, the whole thing is nothing short of a shambles.
I think there should be facilities behind the St Annes should have some decent facilities. The away fans used to be in the main stand with permanent toilets until the Shamrocks fans misbehaved.
I've a two part rebuttal to this nonsense.
1) It's completely untrue.
2) The incident to which you are referring was actually instigated by a group of ~20 Cork fans who came the entire length of the ground to start a row.
Stop trying to excuse your club's despicable treatment of paying customers.
20/03/2012, 2:52 PM
Note to developer, install extra toilets in new Finn Park......
askmehoop
20/03/2012, 3:19 PM
some clubs like Shamrocks and Bohs have been known to cause trouble and this is a buffer zone to separate home and away fans. I would like if we didn't need this but cant trust all of the Shamrocks/Bohs supporters. I agree they could have been given a few more portaloo's or maybe the MFA (who own the ground) install permanent toilets behind the stand.
but there were plenty of seats in that section for the away crowd. there were free seats there for them. It was a good atmosphere due to both home and away fans with no trouble inside the ground. But every time Rovers or Bohs come to Cork there is trouble and if they act like animals then they will be treated like animals. No problems with most other clubs.
Your full of s**t
Note to developer, install extra toilets in new Finn Park......
A leave a bus outside for when we play Sligo.
In an early round of the cup maybe?
askmehoop
20/03/2012, 8:41 PM
In an early round of the cup maybe?
Im sure you can hold it in longer then that
21/03/2012, 2:20 PM
Foundation work being done this week in the new Finn Park. Finally, some structural work isn't far away.
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/s320x320/295445_3180271538324_1011728361_33060669_597879166 _n.jpg
21/03/2012, 2:20 PM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/s320x320/553381_3180265058162_1011728361_33060667_126726741 7_n.jpg
MMVIII
21/03/2012, 6:57 PM
Excuse my ignorance, but what exactly is taking so long with Finn Harps' new stadium? I'm sure I read somewhere that funding was already in place, so why the 2/3 year delay?
bullit
21/03/2012, 7:21 PM
Excuse my ignorance, but what exactly is taking so long with Finn Harps' new stadium? I'm sure I read somewhere that funding was already in place, so why the 2/3 year delay?
Every Irish builder is working in NY,Toronto,Sydney or Dubai.Is that the answer ?