View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172

26/03/2007, 9:34 PM
Turners Cross "Shed End" 20/03/2007 (http://farm1.static.flickr.com/151/429429064_caa053c281.jpg)

Is that Dolan's coffin :confused:

:p

26/03/2007, 10:11 PM
Ha. well done.

27/03/2007, 1:16 PM
the stand is done now were waiting for the deck of the stand and the seats to arrive, a few delays alright costing the club a fortune to play at turners cross,
some on my bebo page,
http://www.bebo.com/PhotoAlbum.jsp?MemberId=2944695234&PhotoNbr=1&PhotoAlbumId=2944820964
im under don ramo at cobh commuity college
dunno if you will have to sign in

Will the ground be ready for when we play you lot on the 21st of April?

don ramo
27/03/2007, 1:56 PM
Will the ground be ready for when we play you lot on the 21st of April?

i really hope it will be ready for our hame game in two weeks time, if its not we will just have to clean up the ground and keep that area closed off :(
it costs E2000 euro a game at turners cross and we cant be paying that every second week, i will keep ye infromed as i see progress

27/03/2007, 4:24 PM
i really hope it will be ready for our hame game in two weeks time, if its not we will just have to clean up the ground and keep that area closed off :(
it costs E2000 euro a game at turners cross and we cant be paying that every second week, i will keep ye infromed as i see progress

Cheers!

rebelarmyexile
27/03/2007, 9:45 PM
st colmans looks well, would be great to see cobh in the premier, all the travelling does my head in

atfconline
27/03/2007, 11:48 PM
Athlone Town Stadium (http://www.since1887.net/newstadium/index.htm)

fitzknows
28/03/2007, 9:59 AM

Does it really cost that much to play a game there? Do Cork have to pay the same fee for all the games that they play there as well?

28/03/2007, 10:19 AM
Do Cork have to pay the same fee for all the games that they play there as well?

We have to pay more as we actually get crowds and need security staff. The floodlights don't pay for themselves.
There's a whole host of costs associated with hosting an eircom League of Ireland game.

galwayhoop
28/03/2007, 11:25 AM

looks great. hope phases 2,3,4 or whatever get done in the short/medium term. goodbye and good riddence (no offence) St. Mels!!

Hitman
28/03/2007, 1:41 PM
According to today's Evening Echo the Shed will be open for the Longford game on Friday.

28/03/2007, 1:46 PM
According to today's Evening Echo the Shed will be open for the Longford game on Friday.

Indeed, like Wembley, we need to stage a minor event in order to resolve any Health & Safety issues, before the big event against Rovers. :D

HulaHoop
28/03/2007, 7:04 PM

Looks fantastic, fair play to Athlone. One slight negative - the roof on the stand looka a bit narrow? Looks like anyone sitting on the bottom 4 or 5 rows will get wet when it rains.

don ramo
28/03/2007, 8:49 PM
We have to pay more as we actually get crowds and need security staff. The floodlights don't pay for themselves.
There's a whole host of costs associated with hosting an eircom League of Ireland game.

actually you get more fans at night games, so they do pay for themselves:D , ye get bigger crowds so ye get more per person than we do, so ye have three times our security and 10-20 times the attendance, so it all pays for itself and more the only bol****s is ye dont own the ground, as it is fierce expensive, i do pity ye having to pay such high rent:(
i want out of there soon hopeing to be back at good old coleman park next week

29/03/2007, 8:33 AM
actually you get more fans at night games, so they do pay for themselves, ye get bigger crowds so ye get more per person than we do, so ye have three times our security and 10-20 times the attendance, so it all pays for itself and more the only bol****s is ye dont own the ground, as it is fierce expensive, i do pity ye having to pay such high rent
i want out of there soon hopeing to be back at good old coleman park next week

No matter where you are playing by the time our fixture comes around will it defo be played on the Saturday? Hopefully not! :cool: :D

Battery Rover
29/03/2007, 9:19 AM
Looks fantastic, fair play to Athlone. One slight negative - the roof on the stand looka a bit narrow? Looks like anyone sitting on the bottom 4 or 5 rows will get wet when it rains.

Haven't experienced the stand in bad weather but then again if the wind blows directly into the stand then we all get wet with the roof height but thats the price you pay for moving forward.

don ramo
29/03/2007, 7:56 PM
No matter where you are playing by the time our fixture comes around will it defo be played on the Saturday? Hopefully not! :cool: :D

saturday is game night for us we dont like fridays (well i dont, as i work shift and would get cought, so ill die before i agree to it) it will be sturday night alright, some game are moved to afternoons for (i think its) dundalk and finn harps as we have agreements with them that they will move there game with us to saturday and well move ours to afternoons for travel purposes, travel to dundalk on thursday would mean a depleted squad for us, and they get home earlier on staurday night as the game will be in the afternoon, nice agreement:D

BohsFans
01/04/2007, 7:53 PM
What's going at Tolka?
Saw it on the news earlier, a load of the JW Hire signs along the top of the stand are missing, looks awful.

That bird who was boxing for Ireland scored a cracker as well!

DSandy
26/04/2007, 10:32 AM
Any updates, pics etc. on the new Terryland Park stand over in Galway?

DvB
26/04/2007, 11:11 AM
On the subject of ground improvements would anyone here have the pictures that were up here a while back of the new 'temporary' stand erected in the Carlisle Grounds in Bray!? I think there was 3 or 4 of them!

Koh

Dr.Nightdub
26/04/2007, 11:06 PM
Thought youse were well in with Woodies? :D

DvB
27/04/2007, 7:25 AM
Thought youse were well in with Woodies? :D

Just need some examples for a work related project, combustable materials are a no no in this situation, hence no woodies!:D

Koh

27/04/2007, 7:57 AM
One slight negative - the roof on the stand looka a bit narrow? Looks like anyone sitting on the bottom 4 or 5 rows will get wet when it rains.

When the plans came out two or so years ago i mentioned this on this site. I think someone (cant rem who) said it was designed like this as the wind/rain/bad weather would come from behind that stand. Now i was up there for a gander recently and yes the wind was blowing a gale, and we were getting a bashing as we sat in the back of the stand. In short the other stands will have to be built before we see the real effects of the weather on that side. But roof aside this stand is the best stand built in the LOI ever! As a spectator you would want to go into this stand such is its overall viewing scope, nothing in the way and a good gradient so even when sitting behind some 4,6 guy, he isnt going to block your view of the pitch as happens in some other recently built stands. Well done the Athlone.

27/04/2007, 9:06 AM
I would assume the reason it has a short roof is the same reason one of ours does, so as not to block sunlight from the grass.

BohsFans
30/04/2007, 4:06 PM
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1990

01/05/2007, 11:53 AM
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1990

Why does it cost 2.7m for a 1,500 seater stand on what is essentially a green field site (i.e. no demolition) ?

01/05/2007, 12:21 PM
Why does it cost 2.7m for a 1,500 seater stand on what is essentially a green field site (i.e. no demolition) ?

"A million for you, a million for me and we'll give the job to the man from Galway" :confused: :p

01/05/2007, 12:38 PM
"A million for you, a million for me and we'll give the job to the man from Galway" :confused: :p

I suspect as much...

I don't to keep using CCFC examples but thats what I am familiar with - new shed stand cost i think 1.0-1.1m & had 1,500 seats.

DSandy
01/05/2007, 12:50 PM
I think that the €2.7million refers to not just the 1,600 seater stand but other facilities and upgrades as well as pitch work etc.

From the press release "...includes additional ancillary facilities and turnstiles"

BohsFans
01/05/2007, 3:01 PM
also

This is just the latest news of stadium redevelopment affecting the eircom League of Ireland. Work on the Belfield Bowl, which will be home to UCD, started last week, while Turner's Cross recently re-opened a redeveloped 'Shed End'.

http://www.eircomloi.ie/news_item_70.htm

Bald Student
01/05/2007, 5:20 PM
This is just the latest news of stadium redevelopment affecting the eircom League of Ireland. Work on the Belfield Bowl, which will be home to UCD, started last week, while Turner's Cross recently re-opened a redeveloped 'Shed End'.It didn't really. The builders took possession of the site but they've only put up their advertising around it so far.

It's a pretty small job they have to do and they recon they'll be finished in about 5 months.

01/05/2007, 9:50 PM
Aim is to be in before the end of the season, according to an announcement at the club's recent alumni dinner.

oriel
01/05/2007, 10:28 PM
Richmond looked a lot better on eircom weekly for the rovers game, is that a new roof on the shed and new terracing same end ? looked well on tv

BohsFans
01/05/2007, 10:42 PM
Richmond looked a lot better on eircom weekly for the rovers game, is that a new roof on the shed and new terracing same end ? looked well on tv

No, they took off half the roof for some reason last season I think it was?

02/05/2007, 11:23 AM
No, they took off half the roof for some reason last season I think it was?I think that end of the shed was nearer the pitch and the pitch was lengthened last year so it had to go.

Dr.Nightdub
02/05/2007, 11:57 AM
Correct. The roof looks better now cos the rust is more evenly spread.

Amazing the difference a few small touches can make - weed the hill behind the turnstile end, plant grass on it, paint the fences red and white then put a cast of thousands in front of the fences so's you can't see them anyway.

02/05/2007, 12:12 PM
Correct. The roof looks better now cos the rust is more evenly spread.

Amazing the difference a few small touches can make - weed the hill behind the turnstile end, plant grass on it, paint the fences red and white then put a cast of thousands in front of the fences so's you can't see them anyway.

I thought Richmond did look well on TV for the Drogs game.

The best idea ever was to put grass on the bank at the turnstile end as that was an eyesore for years.

What is the big light coloured boxy thing at the left hand side of the main stand as you look on TV?

oriel
02/05/2007, 12:15 PM
Amazing the difference a few small touches can make - .

Agree totally, it looks really good on tv now. the old shed looked awful, was hard to see anyone inside it. In oriel when we put the new pitch down, our far side terracing was re-built and now runs the full lenght alongside the pitch and is within almost touching distance of the line, makes for a much improved atmosphere, even the 40 yo main stand looks a lot better now with a new roof, new windows, new exits and painted all over.

02/05/2007, 12:15 PM
I have never understood why Pats haven't replaced the mud bank with basic terrace years ago. I know there have been plans for a stand but they've been in place for probably 10 years now.

02/05/2007, 12:42 PM
Our attempt to redevelop the Brandywell was further derailed by local councillors on Monday

-We submitted a proposal for a 12 million pound redevelopment of the stadium(without a dog track) in June 2006. This was accepted by the Council, subject to a business plan.

-We employed Quinn Consultancy to provide an entire analysis of the project up to Green Book standard(required for grant aid funding) which was put before the Council on Monday

-The Council refused to make a decision, saying we had to consult with the Greyhound people. This nearly a year after accepting our proposal of a development without a track!

02/05/2007, 12:50 PM
For anyone who is interested the full appraisal is here

http://www.derrycityfc.net/BPfulleconomicappraisal.zip

02/05/2007, 12:58 PM
You can't have greyhound racing and football in the same all seat stadium, they need very different facilities.

Derry City Council covering themselves in more glory. They didn't have the same trouble giving away Council land to the GAA a year ago....

02/05/2007, 1:18 PM
I know there have been plans for a stand but they've been in place for probably 10 years now.

The Millennium Stand! :D

Work should be getting underway right about now to be ready in time for the UEFA Cup.

A little light on specific details from the club but it should be a temporary measure until they start on the ambitious ground redevelopment/academy/world domination scheme.

http://i179.photobucket.com/albums/w309/charliesboots/NewRichmond2.jpg?t=1176819366

BohsFans
02/05/2007, 2:30 PM
I think that end of the shed was nearer the pitch and the pitch was lengthened last year so it had to go.

Why didn't they just lengthen the pitch at the other end where there's nothing?
Seems like a bizarre reason to me.

13/05/2007, 7:50 PM
new stand on the up in terryland. See latest photos in the features section on this link: http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/menu-items/photo-gallery.html

SPXcyan
13/05/2007, 9:14 PM
always good to see :D

manic da hoop
13/05/2007, 10:10 PM
Will it eventually run the full length of the pitch?

Paddyfield
13/05/2007, 10:24 PM
Will it eventually run the full length of the pitch?

I think it is a few feet short at each end to allow for futher development behind both goals. There will be 1500 seats plus new dressing rooms, shops, office, press room. Entrance to the new stand will be via new tunstiles in the car park.

I heard that the old clubhouse (constructed in 1993) will be used for 'corporate' hospitality!

The TV gantry (currently a piece of scantly assembled scaffolding!) will move over to the other side. The floodlights will be moved on both sides of the pitch.

The old floodlights will not be taken down until the new ones are ready:D :D

bad mongo
14/05/2007, 10:23 PM
The Millennium Stand! :D

Work should be getting underway right about now to be ready in time for the UEFA Cup.

A little light on specific details from the club but it should be a temporary measure until they start on the ambitious ground redevelopment/academy/world domination scheme.

http://i179.photobucket.com/albums/w309/charliesboots/NewRichmond2.jpg?t=1176819366

Apart from the structural difficulties the notion of a stand being built over the camac is a non-starter-have you not noticed the bats there during games that are feeding on insects attracted by the floodlights? You will never get PP to interfere with an important urban riparian habitat.
All bat species in Ireland are protected by EU designation.

I can't wait for 'the bats sent us to Tallaght' headlines c.2009!

Saint MacDara
14/05/2007, 11:20 PM
Apart from the structural difficulties the notion of a stand being built over the camac is a non-starter-have you not noticed the bats there during games that are feeding on insects attracted by the floodlights? You will never get PP to interfere with an important urban riparian habitat.
All bat species in Ireland are protected by EU designation.

I can't wait for 'the bats sent us to Tallaght' headlines c.2009!

Maybe you should enlighten yourself and look up Garrett Kelleher.This is the man who is building the Chicago Spire skyscraper and suddenly he's going to have "structural difficulties" in Dublin?

"Bats" and "PP",yep those have been enormous concerns for the authorties over the years:rolleyes:

"Tallaght" you're having a laugh if you think thats going to be habitable by 2009.Kelleher isnt some Delboy character,he could probably build in your backgarden before you could say Bobs your uncle:)