View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 [48] 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172

Dave_SRFC
10/10/2011, 3:49 PM
The building you mention has the turnstiles and some offices in it and was built before the car park was finished. Its the most direct route to get people from the car park to the turnstiles now. Its probably a bit of an after thought, Im not sure, but saves building another turnstile from the car park into the ground. Works grand too.

Thats where they print the raffle tickets..

redobit
10/10/2011, 7:29 PM
Finger on the pulse as usual Dave, good man!

northwestexile
18/10/2011, 10:54 PM
With Rovers having qualified for Europe in three out of the last four years and with the UEFA co-efficient likely to be more in favour of clubs entering the later stages of the tournament does anybody know if Rovers have any plans to upgrade The Showgrounds to meet Uefa standards. I read in the match programme for the Vorskla game that the club had things in the pipeline but it was a bit vague on specifics.

shellyriver
18/10/2011, 11:53 PM
I doubt there is money in kitty for new infrastructure, considering wages and raffle ticket paper expenses sky-rocketing. Just bring back 'The Shed', handier to a trip over to Mooneys that from Railway End.

Guitd
19/10/2011, 1:47 PM
all this uefa crap regarding stadia standards for games here is a joke when you see where the held the ANDORRA V ireland game ,how it got approvad to host international games i cant understand when you look at the demands they put on Tallagh/showgrounds etc

redobit
20/10/2011, 10:49 AM
all this uefa crap regarding stadia standards for games here is a joke when you see where the held the ANDORRA V ireland game ,how it got approvad to host international games i cant understand when you look at the demands they put on Tallagh/showgrounds etc

Exactly, it really is complete and utter bullsh!t. We had to spend 40k to improve the Showgrounds to get a 3rd round Europa league qualifier and then you see the state of the place that Ireland have to play in. The Showgrounds is also fine for a u21 international qualifier then too. Its a joke.

20/10/2011, 11:18 AM
The real joke is that a club complains about having to make ground improvments...

redobit
20/10/2011, 11:33 AM
The real joke is that a club complains about having to make ground improvments...

No one's complaining about having a better stadia or facilities. The point is it is one rule for one and a different rule for another. And the improvements that were made to the Showgrounds were in the most part temporary anyway.

hoops1
20/10/2011, 11:37 AM

Small time mentality.

northwestexile
24/10/2011, 1:25 AM
I suppose the question I'm asking redobit is do Rovers plan on investing in the stadium so they don't find themselves in the same situation next year where they end up paying E40k on a temporary stand and general upgrades to meet UEFA criteria and the majority of it's all gone for the next home game. From memory the things that were an issue this year were the length of the pitch, the floodlights and the number of seats. The length of the pitch was easily sorted and game move to an early kick off for the floodlights but in the long term building a new stand is a bigger commitment. As I said earlier it was a bit vague in the match programme for the European game just thought there may be something in the pipeline. I can't say I'm a regular visitor to The Showgrounds but they do seem to be gradually getting things done on the place though which is good

Rasputin
24/10/2011, 9:45 AM
Like Redobit said its the hypocricy that is the joke.
Also I dont think anybody can question the improvements that have taken place in the Showgies over the past few years.
Also there is a new stand in the pipeline but as always funds are needed.

citybone
24/10/2011, 9:51 AM
With Rovers having qualified for Europe in three out of the last four years and with the UEFA co-efficient likely to be more in favour of clubs entering the later stages of the tournament does anybody know if Rovers have any plans to upgrade The Showgrounds to meet Uefa standards. I read in the match programme for the Vorskla game that the club had things in the pipeline but it was a bit vague on specifics. Rovers haven't got any extra coefiecient points in the group stages as they have lost every game so far. LOI clubs will enter Europe at the same stage next season. Other than Rovers LOI clubs did not get any good results really (Pats got through 2 rounds i guess)

Back on topic, any updates on Finn Park?

24/10/2011, 11:39 AM
No real update. Work there is continuing.

24/10/2011, 11:45 AM
On the Andorra ground, wasn't it required to host the game because their other, better, ground is being revamped at the moment? So given they had to host the game in Andorra (having played their other games there), that was the only choice.

legendz
26/10/2011, 1:54 PM
Tallaght Stadium as well all know needed seating brought in to bring it up to standard for the EL group stages. Is there a league stadium in the country that meets the UEFA Grade 1 standard already? I'm guessing not, just double checking.

When I say Grade 1, I mean Category 4, the highest.

26/10/2011, 10:26 PM
Tallaght Stadium as well all know needed seating brought in to bring it up to standard for the EL group stages. Is there a league stadium in the country that meets the UEFA Grade 1 standard already? I'm guessing not, just double checking.

Might be a crazy shout, but would Tolka?

26/10/2011, 10:32 PM
Not anymore I'd say.

northwestexile
27/10/2011, 1:21 AM
Lansdowne Rd and Croke Park probably do as internationals are/have been staged there and I'm only guessing but Thomond Park and Turners Cross would be the other two that I can think of off the top of my head

legendz
27/10/2011, 9:00 AM
Is Turners Cross up to category 4 standard? Thomond, Croke Park and Aviva are up to standard no question. Thomond Park could nearly only use one of the stands and still meet catergory 4 standard. Is the Brandywell not up to standard? A few years ago when many would go for a big ground and big pay day, Derry admirably hosted their game against PSG in the Brandywell.
In asking my original question anyways regards clubs having stadia at category 4 level, how many clubs currently without a stadium of that level, could realistically get their stadium up to that standard? I'd imagine if Sligo keep progressing as they are, they will. Derry should be able to as well. There's been news at times on possible ground developments. It Turners Cross is not up to standard already, if Cork are coming back to the big time, I'm sure with the Munster FA's help, Turners Cross can be at the required standard. Tallaght Stadium will most likely see the required permanent upgrade of facilities. Limerick have Thomond Park in the city anyway if they were to rise but I think the new ground in the markets field will be near the standard required. It's something which should be kept in mind when they do begin work. If they progress and are lucky enough to be in a position to play in Europe, they'd want to keep in mind having a structure that they can expand on. Many clubs in Europe have developed stadia to a certain capacity but the provision was in the design and plans for expansions in the future if needed.

27/10/2011, 9:22 AM
Can't imagine the Brandywell is near it. Apart from the main big stand the rest of the ground is fairly poor. Only has 3,300 seats too if I'm correct?

El-Pietro
27/10/2011, 10:14 AM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_stadium_categories

Theres actually a lot to it. As far as I'm aware we would struggle because there isn't bus access - i.e. the team bus couldn't get into the ground

I'm also pretty sure we don't have room for 75 seats in a Press Conference room, don't think we have 2 TV studios, don't have room for 100 people in the press box - definitely not 50 with desks.

Theres quite a few things we'd fall short on

dcfc_1928
27/10/2011, 12:13 PM
There was a bomb alert yesterday, on the Lone Moor Rd close to the Brandywell. If the bomb had gone off, it could have caused thousands of pounds worth of improvements to the stadium.

TiocfaidhArmani
27/10/2011, 3:45 PM
Is Tallaghy not a category four stadium? Do you not need to be to get access to the group stages of the Europa?

TiocfaidhArmani
27/10/2011, 3:53 PM
Small time mentality.

Coming from a Rovers fans who would still be hawking themselves around the LOI like a cheap hooker looking for a ground to play in if they didn't have one built for them. Good jaysus the nerve:D

El-Pietro
27/10/2011, 3:56 PM
Coming from a Rovers fans who would still be hawking themselves around the LOI like a cheap hooker looking for a ground to play in if they didn't have one built for them. Good jaysus the nerve:D
next year should be interesting then for you as a Shelbourne fan. You are a Shelbourne fan right.

TiocfaidhArmani
27/10/2011, 4:00 PM
next year should be interesting then for you as a Shelbourne fan. You are a Shelbourne fan right.

Are you blind?

Please can we not just cut you lot off the country to float away into the Atlantic and take the chip on your both shoulders with you?

El-Pietro
27/10/2011, 4:14 PM
Are you blind?

Please can we not just cut you lot off the country to float away into the Atlantic and take the chip on your both shoulders with you?
i dont really understand - all i know is that you wont be in Tolka much longer and it will be hilarious Shelbourne "hawking themselves around the LOI like a cheap hooker looking for a ground to play in"

I just like watching you make a fool of yourself with your hypocritical comments

TiocfaidhArmani
27/10/2011, 4:19 PM
i dont really understand - all i know is that you wont be in Tolka much longer and it will be hilarious Shelbourne "hawking themselves around the LOI like a cheap hooker looking for a ground to play in"

I just like watching you make a fool of yourself with your hypocritical comments

Not really, I just won't be making arrogant comments towards other fans who actually have a ground and weren't hawking themselves around the league until someone had to build one for them. He has a short memory. I'm not the one making comments to fans about their stadiums, I ain't the hypocrite - he is. Do keep up.

El-Pietro
27/10/2011, 4:27 PM
i dont believe he is being hypocritical in the slightest. i believe hes bang on the money

TiocfaidhArmani
27/10/2011, 4:39 PM
i dont believe he is being hypocritical in the slightest. i believe hes bang on the money

And how is he, as a Rovers fan, in a postion to say a club has a small time mentality when they don't even own their own ground and were homeless and the laughing stock of the LOI (that takes a lot!) for 20+ years until SDCC bailed them out? Who is he to criticise other clubs who didn't go into administration and for the last two decades actually had their own stadium! Come on now, get real. As I said before on this my dislike for SRFC comes from this new delusions of grandeur they have like they're something now and others should follow their lead.

Not everyone can run away from 98% of their debts and have a nice new stadium build for them, they're not that lucky!

El-Pietro
27/10/2011, 5:27 PM
what does it matter who he supports or where they play? is he not allowed an opinion of his own?

BohsFans
27/10/2011, 9:49 PM
What's the story on Tolka?

27/10/2011, 10:15 PM
What's the story on Tolka?

Still a kip far as I know.

born2bwild
27/10/2011, 10:27 PM
Still a kip far as I know.
Yeah, but it's only a Category IV kip.

27/10/2011, 10:28 PM
Might be a crazy shout, but would Tolka?

God no..I can imagine the UEFA inspector going to Tolka and seeing the Ballybough end of the main stand and fainting on the spot :D

Dave_SRFC
27/10/2011, 10:31 PM
And how is he, as a Rovers fan, in a postion to say a club has a small time mentality when they don't even own their own ground and were homeless and the laughing stock of the LOI (that takes a lot!) for 20+ years until SDCC bailed them out? Who is he to criticise other clubs who didn't go into administration and for the last two decades actually had their own stadium! Come on now, get real. As I said before on this my dislike for SRFC comes from this new delusions of grandeur they have like they're something now and others should follow their lead.

Not everyone can run away from 98% of their debts and have a nice new stadium build for them, they're not that lucky!

Pathetic post, cop on to yourself...

28/10/2011, 9:01 AM
Leave chucky alone. He's just jealous that his club ran themselves into the ground financially and weren't able to pick themselves up from it like others.

cob655
28/10/2011, 11:17 AM
About the cat 4 grounds,I know Dundalks is only a cat 2, but if we could meet the minimum seated capacity of 8k and min VIP seats of 500 I dont think we would be far off on the others.Im not sure what the standards of the floodlights are,but on the other aspects im sure we could meet them with the use of the YDC and the facilities it offers.

Dont get my wrong,im not bring naive. Getting the seating up to 8k is a massive task and might never happen,Im just trying to highlight the work that has being done to improve the facilities in the club.

TiocfaidhArmani
28/10/2011, 11:32 AM
Leave chucky alone. He's just jealous that his club ran themselves into the ground financially and weren't able to pick themselves up from it like others.

We are picking ourselves up though and facing up to our debts at the same time, unlike others. Very easy to just walk away from it and start afresh, much harder to face your debts and rebuild. We took the hard road and are coming on up, literally:cool:

pateen
26/01/2012, 11:25 AM
Sad to see this hasn’t been updated for a long time.
Any update on Limericks plans.
I know they have big ideas for the markets field. Has work begun yet does anyone know?

citybone
26/01/2012, 11:28 AM
Also anything on Finn park?

26/01/2012, 11:34 AM
No real news.. work is continuing. Hopefully it won't be too long before we start seeing structures going up.

26/01/2012, 11:43 AM
Sad to see this hasn’t been updated for a long time.
Any update on Limericks plans.
I know they have big ideas for the markets field. Has work begun yet does anyone know?

wont be going there till we're in the premier or nailed on for prem football. The build would only take four
months or so to bring it to 3250 so we could be in by seasons end.

Sandro
26/01/2012, 12:04 PM
http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/432139_3058965643862_1555040301_3440596_646084238_ n.jpg

Coming soon. Anybody interested in writing a book about football grounds in Ireland?

punkrocket
26/01/2012, 12:08 PM
wont be going there till we're in the premier or nailed on for prem football. The build would only take four
months or so to bring it to 3250 so we could be in by seasons end.

Might as well make a start then so.

Aaron
22/02/2012, 6:04 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/17130404

22/02/2012, 6:13 PM
Think the last paragraph is right. The IFA giving money over to develop a stadium which will benefit a LOI team and in my eyes the LOI as a whole will cause some controversy. Seems very strange.

22/02/2012, 6:35 PM
Think the last paragraph is right. The IFA giving money over to develop a stadium which will benefit a LOI team and in my eyes the LOI as a whole will cause some controversy. Seems very strange.

Just the Belfast Telegraph trying to cause some controversy. We're still IFA members, and the Brandywell is used for football in Derry. Just so happens that we rent the place every other week.

22/02/2012, 6:37 PM
Just the Belfast Telegraph trying to cause some controversy. We're still IFA members, and the Brandywell is used for football in Derry. Just so happens that we rent the place every other week.

O right I didn't actually realize that. I suppose you could say on the flip side to the article if they where to neglect the Brandywell because Derry use it would also cause a bit of controversy.

22/02/2012, 8:25 PM

O right I didn't actually realize that. I suppose you could say on the flip side to the article if they where to neglect the Brandywell because Derry use it would also cause a bit of controversy.

and therein lies the problem that is Northern Ireland... ;)