View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)
White Horse
13/12/2013, 3:14 PM
This is nonsense. A surface can meet the criteria and still be a nightmare to play on.
As Shamrock Rovers proved in 2013.
13/12/2013, 3:15 PM
Grass pitches are not subject to this test. If they were, it is possible that many would fail the FIFA test criteria.
I'm sure many would, that's not the point I'm making. I'm saying being up to code doesn't mean it's not bad to play on.
bluewhitearmy
13/12/2013, 3:32 PM
They are either all fine or all crap.
Nonsense.
I've played on a few different artificial pitches including Oriel and they are all different.
Ezeikial
13/12/2013, 4:18 PM
I'm sure many would, that's not the point I'm making. I'm saying being up to code doesn't mean it's not bad to play on.
I agree.
You mentioned grass pitches meeting the "criteria" - there is almost none, other then meeting length and width dimensions
The difference is that Artificial Pitches undergo a fairly rigorous test procedure, which includes bounce and roll tests.
The pitch at Oriel Park has consistently passed these tests. That does not make the pitch either good or bad (that's pretty subjective) - but it does make it a FIFA 2-Star Certified FieldTurf pitch
citybone
13/12/2013, 7:03 PM
Anyone else a little worried about a stand with such history like the Glentoran stand being demolished? I would like to see it relocated for Preservation purposes. Its out of date for LOI but could be used for a Junior club. Without the Dog Track, the stands can be closer to the pitch. Great news but gotta be skeptical about it like the talk of 10,000 seater stadium announced before.
redobit
16/12/2013, 5:18 PM
Anyone else a little worried about a stand with such history like the Glentoran stand being demolished? I would like to see it relocated for Preservation purposes. Its out of date for LOI but could be used for a Junior club. Without the Dog Track, the stands can be closer to the pitch. Great news but gotta be skeptical about it like the talk of 10,000 seater stadium announced before.
It would probably cost more to take it down, ship it, and rebuild it the way it was. Than it would be to build a new stand.
citybone
18/12/2013, 4:39 AM
It would probably cost more to take it down, ship it, and rebuild it the way it was. Than it would be to build a new stand.
They moved it From The Oval already!
18/12/2013, 11:34 AM
Derry City Council approved the redevelopment of the Brandywell last night. Main work to start in the summer, with the Glentoran Stand being gone by the start of the season.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-foyle-west-25427094
18/12/2013, 12:13 PM
Great news for Derry. Hopefully Harps stadium gets back on track as planned and then we'll have a couple of very nice stadiums up in the North West.
redobit
18/12/2013, 12:27 PM
They moved it From The Oval already!
My bad. I thought you were talking about a Glentoran FC stand in Belfast. Didnt realise that stand in Derry was called the Glentoran.
Fire regs and Health & Safety probably has somthing to do with it. Ususally does in these instances.
18/12/2013, 1:27 PM
Fire regs and Health & Safety probably has somthing to do with it. Ususally does in these instances.
I think there's asbestos in it too.
citybone
18/12/2013, 6:37 PM
I think there's asbestos in it too.
The stand must be about 100 years old in fairness.
http://www.donegaldemocrat.ie/sport/soccer/harps-stadium-to-get-off-ground-1-5758033
ForzaHoop
19/12/2013, 11:05 AM
great news finally for Harps
http://www.donegaldemocrat.ie/sport/soccer/harps-stadium-to-get-off-ground-1-5758033
19/12/2013, 12:15 PM
I presume this isn't the same press release that goes around a month or two before licences are awarded?
Just seems like I've heard this story before...
19/12/2013, 1:09 PM
Nope, this time, there's actually work happening. Expected that the main stand with offices, dressing rooms, etc, will be as good as complete by March/April with the second stand to start soon after, or so I'm told. All filling, all perimeter fences, and foundations are complete and it's full steam ahead from here structurally.
http://www.finnharps.com/site/images/stories/2013Images/20131217_113038.jpg
http://www.finnharps.com/site/images/stories/2013Images/20131217_112703.jpg
19/12/2013, 1:13 PM
Ah, that brings back memories of the old UCD Superleague.
19/12/2013, 1:44 PM
The pitch is already better than Finn Parks current surface.
bluewhitearmy
20/12/2013, 1:53 AM
Limerick Regeneration make 1.1 million available to Markets Field. What this will change i'm not sure will try and find out full story tomorrow.
http://www.live95fm.ie/News-Sport/Article/?ItemID=17185
20/12/2013, 6:38 AM
Limerick Regeneration make 1.1 million available to Markets Field. What this will change i'm not sure will try and find out full story tomorrow.
http://www.live95fm.ie/News-Sport/Article/?ItemID=17185
Well they can forget about the middle of next year with season tickets already being sold but hopefully it's and extra 1.1 million being funded and not 1.1 million that was already included in the work they have planned to do. Surely for 1.1 million and finding elsewhere you could do better than the plans though.
Fivesilver
20/12/2013, 8:35 AM
Waiting for one of the lads to triumphantly point out that you'd never see the fine UEFA-approved ISO9000 Oriel surface in that condition.
Not without a bit of upgrade work anyway.
20/12/2013, 10:07 AM
Quite true! But does remind me of Gortakeegan back in the day. Havent been to Harps in a while, is it an improvement on the Finn Park surface?
Seriously though it is great to at last see work progress at Harps at last, and will be looking forward to a visit in due course!
colonelwest
20/12/2013, 12:58 PM
No but it's probably in a better state than our away end!
wonder88
20/12/2013, 4:51 PM
Good news. Facilities are an important part in getting more people to go to league of Ireland games, however it is not a guarantee that new fans will flock to the games even if every club have fine stadiums. Did shamrock rovers fill (or go close to) Tallaght last season?
20/12/2013, 5:01 PM
Rovers did indeed fill Tallaght last season... for the friendly against Aston Villa. It was close enough for the St Patrick's Athletic Massacre towards the end of the season.
redron
01/01/2014, 10:43 PM
Just thought I should post it here too, as it's in the Limerick forum now, that planning permission has been granted for the LEDP's proposed redevelopment of the Markets Field. There are 10 conditions, but these are not on the Limerick City Council website yet (will probably be published in the coming days):
http://www.limerickcity.ie/ePlan/FileRefDetails.aspx?file_number=13141&LASiteID=0
Good news. Facilities are an important part in getting more people to go to league of Ireland games, however it is not a guarantee that new fans will flock to the games even if every club have fine stadiums. Did shamrock rovers fill (or go close to) Tallaght last season?
Are you not a Rovers fan? Shouldn't you know? You use 'we' enough on the Rovers forum anyway
07/01/2014, 11:55 AM
Don't you get banned from the Rovers forum if you don't use 'we' in relation to them? Maybe he's just hiding in plain sight.
10/01/2014, 3:08 PM
Work is ongoing at Harps new stadium. And starting to take some sort of shape. https://scontent-a-lhr.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-prn1/q79/s720x720/1545039_494374300678608_1713767140_n.jpg
10/01/2014, 3:09 PM
https://scontent-b-lhr.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash3/t1/q79/s720x720/1525058_494374220678616_1284750410_n.jpg
peadar1987
10/01/2014, 5:14 PM
Yup, those are shapes alright!
10/01/2014, 6:38 PM
Certainly an improvement on their old ****ing wall anyway.
https://scontent-b-lhr.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash3/t1/q79/s720x720/1525058_494374220678616_1284750410_n.jpg
Starting to take shape Nigel. Good luck harps on new stadium. Will it be four new stands and what will the capacity be. Exciting times ahead for Finn Harps
10/01/2014, 7:24 PM
As far as I'm aware, what's happening, one stand will be built and completed in the coming months, with offices, administration block, dressing rooms, shop/bar, among other things. Straight away, the opposite stand will be started. Once the two of those are done, the club will be moving into the ground, with the two ends being filled in phases while the club are in the ground.
Junior pitches and carpark will also be in place.
Eventual capacity is something close to the 7,000 mark. I think 6,700 was the last figure reported. With the two sides, it's to be around 5,000. Something similar to that of Tallaght when the club move in.
Open to correction however.
If I was going to build an asylum, that's exactly the shape I would build it.
gufcfan
10/01/2014, 8:42 PM
If I was going to build an asylum, that's exactly the shape I would build it.
The architect was told it was to cater for League of Ireland fans. He's just cutting out the middleman.
10/01/2014, 9:14 PM
As far as I'm aware, what's happening, one stand will be built and completed in the coming months, with offices, administration block, dressing rooms, shop/bar, among other things. Straight away, the opposite stand will be started. Once the two of those are done, the club will be moving into the ground, with the two ends being filled in phases while the club are in the ground.
Junior pitches and carpark will also be in place.
Eventual capacity is something close to the 7,000 mark. I think 6,700 was the last figure reported. With the two sides, it's to be around 5,000. Something similar to that of Tallaght when the club move in.
Open to correction however.
That's all well and good, but will yous have a bar?
11/01/2014, 12:37 AM
That's all well and good, but will yous have a bar?
That be the plan.
11/01/2014, 9:45 AM
Would hope so. Goals mightn't pass UEFA Licencing otherwise.
11/01/2014, 10:36 AM
Perhaps it's been stated already but thread is too long for me to trawl through but who is funding Harps new stadium? Is it from grants/some financial backer or what?
And also, who is going to sit in this 7000 seater stadium?
Perhaps it's been stated already but thread is too long for me to trawl through but who is funding Harps new stadium? Is it from grants/some financial backer or what?
It's a mix of grant funding (1.25 million allocated) and a deal with the developer whereby they receive the existing ground once we move out. The existing Finn Park can be used for development whereas the new site is zoned for recreation so is worth substantially less. Obviously this will have been affected by the downturn, but this is somewhat offset by a reduction in building costs. My understanding is the downturn is what caused the change of scope from four stands to two.
Actually- do people feel it's time for a new thread? This one certainly is unwieldy at this stage. It'd be good to start over I think.
Sean South
11/01/2014, 12:48 PM
Actually- do people feel it's time for a new thread? This one certainly is unwieldy at this stage. It'd be good to start over I think.
No, leave it all on this thread.
gufc2000
11/01/2014, 2:01 PM
Maybe if a fan of the clubs currently having development work going on came on here and gave an update for everyone such as progress, background, funding etc.?
NeverFeltBetter
11/01/2014, 2:08 PM
Don't they already?
gufc2000
11/01/2014, 2:17 PM
Don't they already?
They do, but every so often people come on and say they can't be bothered trawling back through the pages to find snippets of information.
If someone just did a brief summary of what's going on it might alleviate that.
11/01/2014, 7:02 PM
Would hope so. Goals mightn't pass UEFA Licencing otherwise.
Two posts and a bit of rope. Worked grand for me as a kid anyway.
11/01/2014, 7:08 PM
And also, who is going to sit in this 7000 seater stadium?
I hope, personally, the same people who attend games in the current 7,000 capacity ground might come back to a new ground.