View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 [180] 181

refjohn
05/02/2026, 6:41 PM
Probably too early to know but I would be curious how many stands will be open in Celtic Pk. Away crowds might be bigger due to the novelty factor. Bohs are due to play there and I’d love to go up.

One stand which is season ticket only. Uncovered terrace for rest. According to club last night- 14,000 is the approved capacity for games so plenty for everyone,

ger121
05/02/2026, 8:58 PM
When I said stands I was including the terrace ones as well.

If the seated covered stand holds 3000? I guess one or more of the terraces might be open too?

Buckett
05/02/2026, 9:11 PM
Why would any of them be closed?

2 Year Contract
05/02/2026, 10:26 PM
Why would any of them be closed?
Because the club said 14,000 has been approved as capacity while the official ground capacity is normally 18,000. I assume that means the terraces behind the goals will be closed, which makes sense given there will be a much bigger gap between them and the goals compared to a GAA match due to pitch size. I’d imagine the away section will be at one end of the covered stand in order to provide seated covered tickets for away fans as per licensing

05/02/2026, 10:33 PM
Because the club said 14,000 has been approved as capacity while the official ground capacity is normally 18,000. I assume that means the terraces behind the goals will be closed, which makes sense given there will be a much bigger gap between them and the goals compared to a GAA match due to pitch size. I’d imagine the away section will be at one end of the covered stand in order to provide seated covered tickets for away fans as per licensing

It's entirely possible the capacity may be slightly lower for a LOI match, as opposed to a gaelic football match with less segregation requirements, and stricter rules and regulations around capacity.

2 Year Contract
05/02/2026, 10:48 PM
It's entirely possible the capacity may be slightly lower for a LOI match, as opposed to a gaelic football match with less segregation requirements, and stricter rules and regulations around capacity.
Yeah that’s another possible reason. Doesn’t really matter anyways as I’d imagine crowds won’t get anywhere near 14k

brendy_ire
06/02/2026, 1:55 PM
If the seated covered stand holds 3000? I guess one or more of the terraces might be open too?.

Seated stand holds 3.6k.
I think away fans are going to the terrace behind the goal at the Brandywell end, along with whatever number of seats in the main stand they have to get.

A bit like Galway at Pearse Stadium, I'd guess away crowds would be bigger than usual for the novelty of it.

Buckett
06/02/2026, 7:04 PM
The stand in Pearse Stadium has 8,000 seats so it's going to look very sparse for our games

culloty82
11/02/2026, 10:32 AM
Seems Wall has also installed a gym at Mounthawk Park during the recent redevelopments.

11/02/2026, 11:22 AM
Seems Wall is an odd name.

Buckett
12/02/2026, 12:51 PM
Some great work being done in Oriel. They partially installed a handrail in the main stand. They're looking for feedback from supporters and if the desire is there, they'll eventually install the rest of it. A handrail. This is truly revolutionary by the Lilywhites. What a time to be alive.

12/02/2026, 1:15 PM
That may be the single most sarcastic post in the long history of this site. I salute you!

Kiki Balboa
12/02/2026, 1:48 PM
Some great work being done in Oriel. They partially installed a handrail in the main stand. They're looking for feedback from supporters and if the desire is there, they'll eventually install the rest of it. A handrail. This is truly revolutionary by the Lilywhites. What a time to be alive.

It might make the staircase too narrow for some users and thus impeed accessibility, so no harm making sure the people who go into the stand benefit.

Buckett
12/02/2026, 3:47 PM
Well if you're too wide to walk up the stairs you won't fit into a seat!

Kiki Balboa
12/02/2026, 4:37 PM
Well if you're too wide to walk up the stairs you won't fit into a seat!

Or some have disabilities/walking impediments that prefer open spaces, rather than people trying to pass them on a split stairway.

My father for example prefers the use of a hiking pole over rails (luckily he doesnt go into the stand).

No harm in not rushing in, and listening to lads that will be using it , so they will fully benefit.

As with anything to do disabilities, if it doesn't make sense to you, it likely makes perfect sense to someone with different abilities or needs.

12/02/2026, 6:06 PM

Get a grip Dundalk

ger121
12/02/2026, 8:56 PM

Should provide some extra security for holding the handrail with the aul 6 fingers, when walking down the steps on a wet night.

Kiki Balboa
13/02/2026, 12:19 PM
Jesus Christ... A lot of people really having a cry about about a conversation on Disability/ access.

Reminds of serial moaners who get upset at vegan recipes.

Lads, the conversation isn't about you. For most people, it doesnt matter if there is a rail or not.

For some individuals (and it can be an individual issue in a place with regular attendents like LOI) it does. Allowing them to feel encouraged to put their input into how Oriel Park can suit them better is a good idea.

Its bad taste to shame anyone trying to engage with people who need some accommodation to enjoy things others can take for granted.

13/02/2026, 12:31 PM
I thought the main point in the OP was that Oriel is such a ****-hole that there's much bigger priorities than half a handrail

But off you go and virtue signal over it if you want

Kiki Balboa
13/02/2026, 12:56 PM
I thought the main point in the OP was that Oriel is such a ****-hole that there's much bigger priorities than half a handrail

But off you go and virtue signal over it if you want

Ah, I forgot that there is no subject you can't moan, cry, and be miserable about. Maybe I should be more accommodating to your struggles, and not the lads who struggle to climb stairs.

But, you know what, its your right to be offended by a handrail. I am happy you found the courage to speak out.

Its ok to be so sensitive.

Some discussions that dont directly involve you are too difficult. Maybe I can hold your hand next time when you read the forum.

13/02/2026, 1:03 PM
Who's offended by it?

If you look up "strawman argument" in the dictionary, it would show that post

Kiki Balboa
13/02/2026, 1:19 PM
Who's offended by it?

If you look up "strawman argument" in the dictionary, it would show that post

Oriel is such a ****-hole that there's much bigger priorities than half a handrail

I mean, you clearly are offended by Dundalk putting in a handrail. (Dont worry, correct interpretations of concepts like Stawman Arguments can be hard to understand for some).

Although you moan and cry so consistently here, maybe I misunderstood your posts?

Anyways, I am here for you. I don't judge your pain. The handrail in Dundalk is not real, its only a story.

Buckett
13/02/2026, 1:22 PM
The handrail in Dundalk is not real, its only a story.

Apologies, I thought the handrail was already in place. I hadn't realised it was an artists impression of what the stand would look like after phase one of the installation

Kiki Balboa
13/02/2026, 1:30 PM
Apologies, I thought the handrail was already in place. I hadn't realised it was an artists impression of what the stand would look like after phase one of the installation

I can hold your hand too, and we can slowly read the big words together.

13/02/2026, 1:30 PM
I mean, you clearly are offended by Dundalk putting in a handrail. (Dont worry, correct interpretations of concepts like Stawman Arguments can be hard to understand for some).

Although you moan and cry so consistently here, maybe I misunderstood your posts?

Anyways, I am here for you. I don't judge your pain. The handrail in Dundalk is not real, its only a story.

Again, you're making up things I didn't say just so you can refute them

Again, nobody's offended.

The problem with your kind of virtue signalling though is that it always values the needs of a tiny minority over the needs of the majority

So awful toilets? No covered area for away fans? Ignore that - here's half a handrail.

I think it's fine to mock that

Kiki Balboa
13/02/2026, 1:52 PM
Again, you're making up things I didn't say just so you can refute them

Again, nobody's offended.

The problem with your kind of virtue signalling though is that it always values the needs of a tiny minority over the needs of the majority

So awful toilets? No covered area for away fans? Ignore that - here's half a handrail.

I think it's fine to mock that

So, you are not offended by the handrail, and then continue to cry about the handrail being done over other things (which arent always an option)(Btw, upgraded Toilets have gotten planning permission).

Ok. Clearly being able to reflect on your own words is a struggle for you.

Then you complain about virtue signalling (which you brought up because I guess I hurt your feelings) about a point of going against the majority?

Even though it was clearly stated that the majority are unaffected by the presence of the handrail (so we can listen to those affected was the point)... And thus, the needs of a minority are not prioritised over the majority.

So..... You are making... dare I say... a strawman argument?

The problem with your kind of virtue signalling though is that it always.....

Where all contrarian bores end up eventually.

Im excited for your next segment on GB News.

pateen
13/02/2026, 2:33 PM

Ha ha … that really made me laugh. Fairplay Bucket

13/02/2026, 2:56 PM
So, you are not offended by the handrail, and then continue to cry about the handrail being done over other things (which arent always an option)
Nobody's offended. Nobody's crying. You've just decided people are because it suits what you want to say

It's not that hard to say "A handrail will help a small number of people but I wish my club would look at the bigger problems in the ground and prioritise those first" is it?

Maybe it is though.

13/02/2026, 3:39 PM
I absolutely fking detest the modern obsession with using 'virtue signalling'.

Kiki Balboa
13/02/2026, 5:05 PM
Nobody's offended. Nobody's crying. You've just decided people are because it suits what you want to say

Sorry, it just reads like you are crying all the time.

It's not that hard to say "A handrail will help a small number of people but I wish my club would look at the bigger problems in the ground and prioritise those first" is it?

Ah famously, a hand railing put in by a volunteer costs the same as a roof for a stand. I can let you work it out why its not exactly an 'either or' situation.

I absolutely fking detest the modern obsession with using 'virtue signalling'.

This is hilarious to me... Perfect example of modern grievance culture. Strong divorced Dad energy.

You know what I detest, lads who throw around terms like 'SJW', 'Woke', or 'Virtue Signalling' to try to hide from the fact they are the ones constantly cribbing about everything.

Ya snowflake, its a hand-rail. I am sure you can push on with your life.

------

I will leave it there. I probably responded too much to thread already and was annoying other readers.

I just found it funny that people are put-out so much by a handrail and apparently disability access.

Roones26
13/02/2026, 8:28 PM
https://x.com/MunsterFA/status/2022315315481211090 Can they work in the acronym MFA a couple of more times?

culloty82
17/02/2026, 1:41 PM
Floodlights have been installed and tested at Mounthawk Park, so all set for Friday night.

18/02/2026, 6:00 PM
The Munster FA are just short of pishing on each corner of the ground to mark their territory. Why the suddent assertion of their ownership. SDCC dont hop all over Rovers as a main tenant just in case people give credit to Rovers for the ground development!!Havent een the new Oriel lights on since theyve been refurbed. Have they been on for a test run? I remember when they were done under the Sky Sports stuff back in the 90s, the new lights felt like they floodlit the county and the neighbours were not at all pleased!

Stevie mac
18/02/2026, 7:14 PM
Rod, you can see the glow of the lights from readypenny.

19/02/2026, 1:01 AM
Well obviously it will brighten the place up.....

redobit
21/02/2026, 4:13 PM
Good to see the planning permission has been granted last week for the Showgrounds. A revised design was needed to take into account UEFA Cat 3 requirements and budget.

Geat ti say that there has been no objections or observations to the new development as part of planning process. Esp for a sizable development in a residential area of town.

More info here from end of last year https://www.sligorovers.com/stadium-development-progress-update-november-2025/

Key dates from the article:
The next steps are clearly defined. By March 2026, the Club expects to have agreed the legal documents with the Department of Culture, Communications and Sport for the LSSIF grant award. In March 2026, the Club will submit the final design and updated cost plan to the Department requesting approval to proceed to tender. By April 2026, the Club expects to be authorised to proceed to tender, a phase likely to take five months. In September 2026, the Club expects to be in a position to submit a tender recommendation to the Department requesting approval to appoint a main contractor for the project. By October or November 2026, the Club expects to be authorised to proceed to construction.

Roones26
21/02/2026, 6:05 PM
Break your heart how it will still be a year until green light for construction

Dermobohs
21/02/2026, 6:24 PM
I would take your hand off for a years wait.
Bohs and harps are locked in the deadly council death grip, basically talk lots, do nothing, still costs thousands.

oriel
21/02/2026, 10:12 PM
Just to add on this, mentioned on another thread, the new Floodlights are an amazing quality in oriel park, anyone who watched on Virgin last night would have seen the difference compared to previous years.

Some difference, and a new pitch too that looks and plays well.

Buckett
22/02/2026, 9:37 AM
How did ye get on with the new handrail?

Kiki Balboa
22/02/2026, 10:04 AM

https://www.instagram.com/p/DU-f9oGiHv6/?igsh=MW90ZDU1anNvcXZlbg==

Trigger Warning for you.

We also improved the Wheel Chair viewing area. And shock horror, its also on trial....

It must be a difficult time for yourself and the family.

Buckett
22/02/2026, 10:42 AM
Ah, I'm only joking Kiki. With all the anger posted on this site recently, especially in the Nations League thread, it's just a bit of craic.

The pitch and lights look great.

Incidentally, a new small stand was erected in Terryland over the winter for wheelchair users in front of the old clubhouse.

ger121
22/02/2026, 8:56 PM

They had the guy on the PA Friday, who normally does the safety announcements for public transport…”Please hold the handrail” Though I do think having it in Irish as well was a bit of overkill.

nr637
04/03/2026, 10:47 AM
St. Colmans Park capacity to be fixed to about 2,200 to 2,500 for Fridays visit of Cork City. Away allocation is now fixed at 500!

EatYerGreens
04/03/2026, 1:57 PM
We don't make enough use of the Irish language at LOI games IMO. Go to a Cymru Premier game and you'll hear a lot of the announcements being bilingual, even in areas where there isn't much Welsh spoken (e.g. Haverfordwest).

04/03/2026, 4:34 PM
We're lucky enough to have audible PA system in English, so audible that it could deafen you in Oriel at times.

oriel
05/03/2026, 12:07 PM
Dundalk pitch fully repaired yesterday, all eyes on the visit of Waterford on the 13th !

https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/dundalks-oriel-park-pitch-fully-repaired-after-flare-damage/a20964216.html

Buckett
05/03/2026, 12:35 PM
Would ye not trial some kind of fence between the pitch and the away fans?

05/03/2026, 1:48 PM
We can test the levels of scumbaggery of each club. Precedence is set, clubs pay for the damage their fans cause.

BigEars
05/03/2026, 3:34 PM
We can test the levels of scumbaggery of each club. Precedence is set, clubs pay for the damage their fans cause.

While they need to step up to the mark after what happened, credit to Drogheda on this. It's only right they pay for the damage, but just because something is right, doesn't mean it always happens.

The pitch being fixed so quick, the FAI handing down disciplinary measures and Drogheda agreeing to pay for the problems, all means the government/Minister can take a backward step in any stance against football in this country which may have come from the incident.