View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 [44] 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172

oriel
18/06/2010, 12:24 PM
Seats going all along the shed side of the ground, looks small in this photo, but this is almost one entire lenght of the ground.

Looks to be 5 rows in total.

Ezeikial
18/06/2010, 10:54 PM
So is there no more standing room at Oriel Park? Are there not people who will miss it or are a bit peeved about this? (Not saying its a backwards move, it is what you have to do).

While the seats are "permanent" in the UEFA regulations sense, there is nothing to stop the club removing a section in the Shed after Europa and retaining them in storage.

It certainly does not mean the end of standing in the Shed!

oriel
18/06/2010, 11:16 PM
Updated photos.

http://www.dundalkfc.com/news/100403_BETOP.asp

bullit
19/06/2010, 12:39 AM
While the seats are "permanent" in the UEFA regulations sense, there is nothing to stop the club removing a section in the Shed after Europa and retaining them in storage.

It certainly does not mean the end of standing in the Shed!
truth told Ez im thankful for that and it wouldnt work anyway.
I can see problems ahead at Oriel though, because anybody sitting in the seats right at the front wont be able to see over the perimiter fence and when they stand then those behind will stand up too

Buller
19/06/2010, 12:52 AM
Updated photos.

The main stand looks the part now. The rest of it looks a bit scrappy but overall it's a worthwhile improvement.

oriel
19/06/2010, 8:48 AM
Photo of Oriel Park (2005) from one of the lads on the Dlk forum. Look at the state of the stand compared to the photos posted earlier. New roof, new panels, all painted not to mention the new seating. The old shed was demolished, and new pitch yet to be layed. What a mess that season was, as it took until Sept for us to play a home game.

passerrby
19/06/2010, 12:15 PM
looks great oriel well done to all , in the second photo the front row of seats look lower than the fence around the pitch

19/06/2010, 12:30 PM
Aye they are.

rebelarmyexile
19/06/2010, 12:53 PM
Updated photos.

I never realised there was so much room between the shed and the pitch. They could easily build a proper stand there if the club wanted.

19/06/2010, 1:58 PM
New seats have started going in at Hunky Dorys Park apparently. This must have something to do with it.

http://www.droghedaunited.ie/news/2010/june/news_008.html

fionnsci
19/06/2010, 5:53 PM
They're just changing the name to "Sour Cream and Onion Hunky Dorys Park".

19/06/2010, 6:04 PM
Photo of Oriel Park (2005) from one of the lads on the Dlk forum. Look at the state of the stand compared to the photos posted earlier. New roof, new panels, all painted not to mention the new seating. The old shed was demolished, and new pitch yet to be layed. What a mess that season was, as it took until Sept for us to play a home game.

where did ye have to play yer games instead?

dfclilywhite
19/06/2010, 7:15 PM
where did ye have to play yer games instead?

Drogheda and Monaghan anyway I think.

oriel
19/06/2010, 7:52 PM
Yeah started off with a few away games, then it was obvious it would take months, moved to Drogs, then Mons until end of Aug. Check out the attendance thread and look at our avg for 2005 !

Total and utter mess of a season.

PS Good news Drogs getting seating installed, I always thought they should have put seating into the terrracing side, one of the easier jobs around the grounds to install, I would have thought.

Looking forward to seeing photos, will clean up the old place very nicely.

danthesaint
19/06/2010, 10:55 PM
New seats have started going in at Hunky Dorys Park apparently. This must have something to do with it.

why would ya bother, united park or hunky dory park is an eye sore......

bullit
19/06/2010, 11:28 PM

Outstanding work by the webmaster,pay rise i reckon!

23/06/2010, 5:32 PM
http://www.droghedaunited.ie/news/2010/june/news_009.html

punkrocket
24/06/2010, 8:43 AM
That concrete that the seats are bolted into looks a bit crumbly to me.

fionnsci
24/06/2010, 12:21 PM
Surely that more or less halfs the capacity of that side of the ground. What did it hold beforehand? Not more than 1,500 I'd say.....

Celdrog
25/06/2010, 11:38 AM
why would ya bother, united park or hunky dory park is an eye sore......Anyone who can win there thinks its all right ;)

Capacity is now 1500 seating with 1000 standing on the home terrace and about 800 standing in the away terrace

Louth4sam
25/06/2010, 11:46 AM
Most importantly it means that Drogheda now comply with licensing criteria for number of seats.

fionnsci
25/06/2010, 2:10 PM
Is there still standing space in part of the shed at Oriel Park? If so, is this the only terracing remaining in the ground and what does it hold? Basically I'm wondering what the total capacity is because I wouldn't imagine that it can be much higher than 4,500 if all of the rest of the ground now holds just 3,000.

srfc1928
25/06/2010, 8:43 PM
I really like United Park, nice clubhouse and decent away section.
Only problem is, its a bitch to get to from Sligo

cob655
25/06/2010, 9:25 PM
Is there still standing space in part of the shed at Oriel Park? If so, is this the only terracing remaining in the ground and what does it hold? Basically I'm wondering what the total capacity is because I wouldn't imagine that it can be much higher than 4,500 if all of the rest of the ground now holds just 3,000.

I havent been up since the seats were put in to the shed but as far as i know that whole side of the ground is full of seats,but behind the back row it looks like you could fit one row of people standing.
also there is still terracing in front of the stand behind the dugouts. and also the home terrace were the seats were put in there is still a good bit of terracing behind them seats.
some people still stand behind the town goals.dont know if thats up to standard though...

25/06/2010, 9:29 PM
I really like United Park, nice clubhouse and decent away section.

Yeah I'm found of it too. One of the few grounds that feel like football grounds (Sligo is similar)

oriel
26/06/2010, 11:26 AM
I always found the terracing on both sides in Utd Park extremely dangerous, the height between the steps are unsafe, hence the restrictions to 2,000 a few yrs ago by the Fire Brigade !

The seating on the far side will really clean the ground up - looking forward to seeing more photos on this, they should seriously think of switching camera sides for TV, would show up the ground so much better now.

Fair play btw for installing seats, I wonder where these came from (ha)

oriel
04/07/2010, 11:47 AM
Has any Drogs fan got a photo of those new seats yet in Utd Pk ?

I tried to post up a photo of our shed which is fully complete now with 6 rows of seating, but it didnt turn out too good - no point posting it up.

04/07/2010, 11:47 AM
http://www.droghedaunited.ie/news/2010/june/images/dufc_seats.jpg

Same as some of the seats in the shed.

04/07/2010, 2:00 PM
is there not more room to fit a few more rows because 6 just looks a bit silly?

oriel
04/07/2010, 3:03 PM
Thanks Dunny, I saw that one before, was just curious to see if any better photos were available.

Duggie
07/07/2010, 2:18 PM
founds these photos of united park with the new seats installed. in fairness it looks like an awfull kip in the photos. seats dont make it look any better.

http://groundhopping.de/droghedaunited.htm

dong
07/07/2010, 3:01 PM
No more a kip than most LoI grounds. Still a kip though by any other standards.

07/07/2010, 3:12 PM
Nice to see a neutral say we outsang the Drogheda support. :)

Duggie
07/07/2010, 3:16 PM
No more a kip than most LoI grounds. Still a kip though by any other standards.

yep, its 2010 and these are the facilities our top division has. pathetic really.

danthesaint
07/07/2010, 3:58 PM
yep, its 2010 and these are the facilities our top division has. pathetic really.

i wouldnt mind, but isnt that an FAI ground???

some shocking grounds about alrite

07/07/2010, 4:42 PM
founds these photos of united park with the new seats installed. in fairness it looks like an awfull kip in the photos. seats dont make it look any better.

http://groundhopping.de/droghedaunited.htm

Jeez that site isnt bad, was on it for more than an hour:)

peadar1987
07/07/2010, 5:03 PM
Jeez that site isnt bad, was on it for more than an hour:)

I'm always so impressed by the Flan Siro every time I see it!

Edit: And I use that name for it at every opportunity!

07/07/2010, 5:24 PM
I'm always so impressed by the Flan Siro every time I see it!

Edit: And I use that name for it at every opportunity!

pity the locals dont come out though.. a fantastic facility on their doorstep and they never come out. bunch of muppets the ones that go to the big matches and not the normal matches..:mad:

galwayjames
24/07/2010, 8:28 PM
anybody know what the story is with:

- Bohs and Dalymount? I thought they had agreed or were on the verge of agreeing a new deal last November

- Fingal's new stadium - When is this starting?

- and Finn Harps' new stadium?

Lamper.sffc
25/07/2010, 12:30 AM

- Bohs and Dalymount? I thought they had agreed or were on the verge of agreeing a new deal last November

Here is a post I posted a while back. (Just scroll down a bit) http://foot.ie/threads/43132-Stadium-updates-%28all-clubs%29/page106

The last i heard on this is that we will be breaking ground on the project this year. The recession has hit us all badly and this project has been delayed due to that fact.

bullit
25/07/2010, 1:37 AM
breaking wind is more like it lamper:D

Finlay Harp
26/07/2010, 7:41 AM

http://www.finnharps.com/site/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=297:statement-regarding-finn-harps-new-stadium-project&catid=40:stadium-news&Itemid=90

Paddyfield
17/08/2010, 6:25 PM
According to Galway Bay FM News today, Salthill Devon FC have been granted permission to build a covered seated stand at Drom Soccer Park plus a new access road/entrance.

I will post a link to a local newspaper when the news is published.

18/08/2010, 5:22 PM
According to Galway Bay FM News today, Salthill Devon FC have been granted permission to build a covered seated stand at Drom Soccer Park plus a new access road/entrance.

I will post a link to a local newspaper when the news is published.

praise be the lord for that! the coldest ground in the league and the worst access road to a ground ever!!:o

24/09/2010, 6:06 PM
The new bar in the new Youth Development Centre in Oriel Park opens tonight, booked for a function.

Also the European Seniors Badminton Championship starts in it on Monday.

http://www.euroseniors2010.com/node/1

SwanVsDalton
24/09/2010, 6:41 PM
Can we get a new term or word to replace 'stadium' when it comes to talking about LOI grounds? Every time I see the word in conjunction with Drogheda/Harps/Derry/whoever it just looks laughable...

How about 'footy hollow' or 'hoofer patch' or 'burger van enclave'?

24/09/2010, 7:01 PM
And not one of them has a running track of the exact length of the stade in Olympia. It's a disgrace, I tell ya.

SwanVsDalton
24/09/2010, 7:24 PM
Our greyhound track is close though, so we're OK.

oriel
25/09/2010, 8:17 AM
The new bar in the new Youth Development Centre in Oriel Park opens tonight, booked for a function.

Also the European Seniors Badminton Championship starts in it on Monday.

http://www.euroseniors2010.com/node/1

Yeah that centre looks to be a great addition now, and hopefully this along with the usual rise in bookings for pitch rentals over the winter will bring in some badly needed revenue from Nov - Feb.

PS Dunny, why have you adopted a crest from our Derry friends ? Just wondering

25/09/2010, 11:32 AM
http://www.dundalkfc.com/news/100924_Badminton.asp

http://www.dundalkfc.com/images/2010/DevCentre810.jpg