View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 [130] 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172

19/02/2021, 4:26 PM
It looks an absolutely wonderful ground. I'm definitely going to go over and have a look whenever it's allowed. Copa90 have a good 30 minute documentary about plough lane on youtube and Wimbledon have loads of great videos of the new ground.

I'm looking forward to getting in a visit whenever possible myself. It's an interesting development in how it was funded and designed with 3 'temporary' stands with the main stand. It's also a good indication of what a circa 10k capacity costs, or what can be done with that budget.

EalingGreen
19/02/2021, 5:28 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EOaSfxPXkAczvfh.jpg

We are a disaster at building in this country. I really hope Dalymount gets built, and other regional projects too. But I will believe it when I see it.
Thank you for posting that chart KB, since I was able to find the link from it - it might be subtitled "Nerd Heaven"!
https://www.footballbenchmark.com/documents/files/UEFA%20Club%20Licensing%20Benchmarking%20report_20 20_FY%202018.pdf

From a parochial pov, it was interesting to see how many IL stadia are club-owned/controlled, as compared with LOI. (Eng and Scot compare well on the European stage, too)

And how important gate receipts and UEFA money are to both.

Also LOI revenue (€15m) was only half as much again as IL (€10), despite having twice as big a population and x3(?) the GDP; also Derry City.

While LOI clubs are much better at raising sponsorship than IL clubs.

Page 128 was also interesting: IL basically top the Euro league when it came to the Assets to Liabilities ratio - a reflection of owning their own stadia?

Beyond that, Scottish football seems to punch above its weight on a number of factors. If only that punching power was as evenly distributed within Scotland as it is in many other countries.

20/02/2021, 2:52 PM
The Old Den was Millwall not Wimbledon
Yep, sorry for the brain fart. Same distance, give or take 5 minutes.

Kiki Balboa
20/02/2021, 4:19 PM
Thank you for posting that chart KB, since I was able to find the link from it - it might be subtitled "Nerd Heaven"!
https://www.footballbenchmark.com/documents/files/UEFA%20Club%20Licensing%20Benchmarking%20report_20 20_FY%202018.pdf

From a parochial pov, it was interesting to see how many IL stadia are club-owned/controlled, as compared with LOI. (Eng and Scot compare well on the European stage, too)

And how important gate receipts and UEFA money are to both.

Also LOI revenue (€15m) was only half as much again as IL (€10), despite having twice as big a population and x3(?) the GDP; also Derry City.

While LOI clubs are much better at raising sponsorship than IL clubs.

Page 128 was also interesting: IL basically top the Euro league when it came to the Assets to Liabilities ratio - a reflection of owning their own stadia?

Beyond that, Scottish football seems to punch above its weight on a number of factors. If only that punching power was as evenly distributed within Scotland as it is in many other countries.

Thats a great document. Irish League certainly seems to be well run and stable financially. League of Ireland is also a lot better than I expected. Or at least there are plenty of leagues just as bad as we are. Just couple of notes... Northern Ireland has the lowest spend percentage in Europe I think on wages at 42 percent of revenue. LOI is at 63 percent, which seems healthy. Also, we are 36th league in spend on wages and sit at 37th in the coefficants. This is based on 2017 and 2018, so wages probably rose since then... but still intresting. There is a massive jump in wages from the rank 33 upwards (so from Finland). I guess, realistically, that is the height LOI can climb in the rankings (unless something major happens).

I see FC Stumbras from Kuanas in Lithuania is credited as being owned by people from Ireland... Whats the craic with that?

EalingGreen
20/02/2021, 5:16 PM
Thats a great document. Irish League certainly seems to be well run and stable financially. League of Ireland is also a lot better than I expected. Or at least there are plenty of leagues just as bad as we are. Just couple of notes... Northern Ireland has the lowest spend percentage in Europe I think on wages at 42 percent of revenue. LOI is at 63 percent, which seems healthy. Also, we are 36th league in spend on wages and sit at 37th in the coefficants. This is based on 2017 and 2018, so wages probably rose since then... but still intresting. There is a massive jump in wages from the rank 33 upwards (so from Finland). I guess, realistically, that is the height LOI can climb in the rankings (unless something major happens).

I suspect the IL wages-to-revenue ratio is looking a bit higher since that survey (2018? 2019?), what with Larne and Glentoran both going f-t. And I'd guess some of the others are spending more in order to compete? (Though IL clubs did OK in Europe last season, which might keep it at/around 42%?)

I see FC Stumbras from Kuanas in Lithuania is credited as being owned by people from Ireland... Whats the craic with that?
Aye, I spotted that one, but couldn't make out which club it was.

Anyhow, I've taken a look at their wiki page, and as of 05 March 2019, the President (Richard Walsh) and Chief Operating Officer (Brian Forde) are both Irish.
The second shareholder listed after Walsh is a Portugese who's also their Head Coach, as are all their other coaches.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FC_Stumbras

However that wiki page, which appears to be a google-translate job, also states:
"In 2019 season Stumbras won against FK Sūduva Marijampolė and FK Žalgiris Vilnius, team was in first position, but after first round team had problems, and could not win any more. In summer club lost place in 2019–20 UEFA Europa League and later in A Lyga and at last defunct."

In other words, they've gone bust!

EDIT: Just found about this Walsh character:
Since 2013 Richard [Walsh] is a Head of Operations in a British sports agency E3 Sports.

In 2016 Richard led takeover of FC Stumbras football club, based in Kaunas, Lithuania. The other investment partners were Portuguese coach Mariano Barreto - a man with numerous sports contacts, E3 Property and E3 Sports agency co-shareholder Mark Lenher and football club management specialist Carlos Olavo Mesquita da Silva. The investors identified Lithuania as the perfect place to train players and sell them off with a profit. Their business model was to build a talent factory, and achieve profit by selling players abroad. After looking at opportunities in Portugal, the pair turned their attention on Lithuania, which has one of the lowest minimum wage requirements in Europe and where half the top league's eight teams typically qualify for continental competitions every year. Although low profile, the first international transfer took place in 2018-2019 season winter transfer window, 18 year old Vilius Armalas signed up for S.L. Benfica.

In June 2019 FC Stumbras was reported to be in difficult financial situation. The club was stripped of UEFA license, preventing the participation in the UEFA Europa League competition. Richard Walsh protested by withdrawing the team from the league game, and tweeting through official club Twitter account "FC Stumbras will not play our A lyga game today. This is due to lack of support and engagement from the LFF in these challenging times for our Club."

Talking about football industry in an interview Richard admitted “I can’t say I have found more difficult people than people in the football industry, I find them anything but truthful and straightforward."
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Richard_Jeremiah_Walsh

Guitd
24/02/2021, 7:37 AM
See on our forum that the Galway FA are proposing that a 4G Astro been put into Eamonn Deacy Park which would bring it the forth stadium in League along with Derry Dundalk and Athlone

sbgawa
24/02/2021, 9:15 AM
This is not a trend that should be encouraged.
I accept that it is a cost and potential revenue thing but it doesn't sit well with me

24/02/2021, 9:30 AM
Uprooting one of the better pitches in the league to make way for an astro is horrible.

GUFCghost
24/02/2021, 8:20 PM
When you consider the fact that Deacy Park serves as a home to both the Galway FA and Galway United, it's very impressive the pitch is kept in such good nick. I wonder what it costs to keep it up.

If they bring back the bar in the old clubhouse, I wouldn't mind at all

24/02/2021, 10:32 PM
Uprooting one of the better pitches in the league to make way for an astro is horrible.

Sepp Blatter said it himself that plastic is the future!

bohsmug
24/02/2021, 11:14 PM
Caught in two minds about this. Astro pitches could make us feel like a bit of a toy league. Conversely for clubs with as few resources as ours do, it seems madness to have a pitch that only gets used 25 times a year give or take. Whether it's a council, the club or FA that owns it. Just wish astro pitches were better.

25/02/2021, 5:18 AM

He was probably talking about his FIFA credit card.

EatYerGreens
25/02/2021, 11:00 AM

He meant plastic surgery.

25/02/2021, 11:32 AM
He meant plastic surgery.

Now thats just making mountains out of molehills!!

DCSIL
03/03/2021, 8:52 AM
There was a picture of the New Finn Park on Social Media last night, good to see they’ve kept the pitch at a similar standard to the current one.

03/03/2021, 10:45 AM
There was a picture of the New Finn Park on Social Media last night, good to see they’ve kept the pitch at a similar standard to the current one.

https://media1.tenor.com/images/2d4935ac4f3a974a292630693404be69/tenor.gif

nr637
03/03/2021, 11:01 AM
Any links, so we all can get a gander!

03/03/2021, 11:07 AM
It's an old enough picture that was put up, but the ground is looking abysmal this past few years regardless, and showing all the signs of a new build left neglected and rotting for years.

03/03/2021, 11:27 AM
All this talk of a 2030 WC bid would fit in to the timescale to have a stand and pitch ready for somone to train on by then.

03/03/2021, 11:28 AM
All this talk of a 2030 WC bid would fit in to the timescale to have a stand and pitch ready for somone to train on by then.
We might even have crowds back by then too.

Yossarian
03/03/2021, 11:52 AM

This WC 2030 talk sums up everything that’s wrong with Irish football. Even though it’s unlikely to happen, the fact that it is being considered in ridiculous considering how much of a financial shambles the FAI is. If they focused on supporting football from grassroots through the LoI and to the national team then that would far more worthwhile than this vanity project.

D24Saint
03/03/2021, 11:57 AM
This WC 2030 talk sums up everything that’s wrong with Irish football. Even though it’s unlikely to happen, the fact that it is being considered in ridiculous considering how much of a financial shambles the FAI is. If they focused on supporting football from grassroots through the LoI and to the national team then that would far more worthwhile than this vanity project.

Its something that the government ministers love & FAI blazers. It’s a joke to talk about hosting a World Cup when the majority of LOI grounds are in the **** state they are.

03/03/2021, 12:00 PM
A vanity project that will appeal to the Jolly Green Army types. Not to be on board would have its own consequences imo, though I agree, mainly as a LoI fan on this, that priorities are ars*eways. That said the govt are footing the feasibility bill. It a post Brexit show, and maybe an Isalnd of Ireland dimension will creep in also. From grassroots to LoI I dont think there are enough people to counter the potential backlash if the FAI was sensible on this!

GUFCghost
03/03/2021, 2:48 PM
Could this potentially be used to get funding for training grounds? We could use this to get funding for some really world class academy facilities and just have a match or two at the aviva

03/03/2021, 3:08 PM
Dropping stuff up to Oriel and low and behold the old place has had a coat of paint and actually looks very well. Had noticed a few cosmetic things from coverage of the Bohs friendly, mainly improved tidiness and a proper barrier seperating the rear of the Lilywhite Lounge/ Away Terrace from the terrace itself. Baby steps, but it was a very minimum want from fans. No more dead mice lying around...

Pitch looked well too, properly brushed and maintained with the infill not so obvious or kicking up.

Bucket
03/03/2021, 3:18 PM
Any pics?

03/03/2021, 3:56 PM
Any pics?

Naw didnt hang about for obvious reasons but if ye have a look at the Bohs game stream, its give an idea. https://www.dundalkfc.com/live-stream-dundalk-fc-v-bohemians/

Bucket
03/03/2021, 4:17 PM
It does make a difference. Are they new seats in the home section to the right of main stand as you're looking from the shed?
I know some Dundalk fans are almost demanding a full stadium refurbishment, but in the few years Peak6 have been there, they are making improvements to the place. The upgrade of the YDC, new toilets at away end, the puddle(!!), and now this. It's more than a lot of clubs are doing tbf

03/03/2021, 5:18 PM
Not sure they are new seats tbh, possibly repaired of that they are sectioned off if deemed damaged or unsafe. I'll take it though, for however limited a ground is there is no excuse for not maximising what you do have, keeping it tidy, clean, toilets fit for purpose etc. The overall impression was less dilapidated so amazing what a lick of paint can do. What would it cost annually? No more than 5-10k if including the high level facades of the stand and thats not needed yearly. Even just keeping sponsor's pitchside signs up to date and replaced if damaged. Just having proper seats in the dugout improved things even if Kenny Sheils bemoaned their positioning. There is obviously a hit to revenue streams but it would be good, upon fans return, to have say the bar area open on the YDC side. With teams using the changing rooms on opposite sides of the ground, if such restrictions remain then even with fans back the YDC could still be out of bounds while used by the team.

Actually maybe the seats are marked with social distancing in mind (and have been given a wipe with a rag), as it looks that every 2nd row is covered by netting so the different colour makes 'em look new.

oriel
03/03/2021, 7:40 PM
It does make a difference. Are they new seats in the home section to the right of main stand as you're looking from the shed?
I know some Dundalk fans are almost demanding a full stadium refurbishment, but in the few years Peak6 have been there, they are making improvements to the place. The upgrade of the YDC, new toilets at away end, the puddle(!!), and now this. It's more than a lot of clubs are doing tbf

Modest improvements to take it up from 8th best in the PD would be a start for me !

oriel
03/03/2021, 7:44 PM
Dropping stuff up to Oriel and low and behold the old place has had a coat of paint and actually looks very well. Had noticed a few cosmetic things from coverage of the Bohs friendly, mainly improved tidiness and a proper barrier seperating the rear of the Lilywhite Lounge/ Away Terrace from the terrace itself. Baby steps, but it was a very minimum want from fans. No more dead mice lying around...

Pitch looked well too, properly brushed and maintained with the infill not so obvious or kicking up.

I did notice on the stream the pitch looked 'greener' and smoother actually, maybe parts of the ground tidier too around the ground, a lick of paint can do wonders, especially the town side of the stand, seems to need painted every year.

03/03/2021, 7:46 PM
Yet again Neil ORiordan had a great piece in the Sun today about the World Cup 2030 bidding war fiasco.

Kiki Balboa
04/03/2021, 1:07 PM
If im not mistaken, Horse racing get around €64 million in funding from the Government each year. This is mostly from taxes on betting, which is earmarked nearly exclusively for Animal racing. Two decades ago, the majority of betting was placed on horses and dogs, however, more recently higher and higher number of bets are placed on Football. This isnt reflected on where the funding from taxes on betting go to.

I bring it up because there is increasing debate over the morality of animal racing in the country (think greyhounds on primetime/ the current situation of the Gordon Elliot photo). There is more and more backlash against it. I think this is realistically the most likely source of revenue for investments in facilities for domestic football.

Of course there is strong lobbying from Horseracing and Betting companies, so it would need a hell of a lot of lobbying from football insitutions. A possibilty is doubling the betting tax from 1 percent to 2 percent, which would give an extra revenue of 50million. Even if football didnt get all that, an extra 10 million a year in facilities would do a wonder job, up and down the league. Emmet Malone did a piece on it below.

Just to qualify, I dont bet on football or animal racing. Im fairly blasie on it all. Just see it as an opportunity.

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/time-for-domestic-football-to-benefit-from-a-slice-of-betting-tax-cake-1.3803786

04/03/2021, 5:25 PM
This is a really interesting topic imo and I think its the only genuine possibility of getting a programme of ground developments going and properly funded. As mentioned previously the money invested in racing over 20 years is eyewatering. I dont think the betting companies would care where betting taxes go, they might have an issue with an increase in the tax but at its meagre level I doubt doubling (or up to say 5%?) would negatively effect business and could actually increase a market if more people were attending proper facilities at sporting events.
There is controversy with the whole sponsorship in sport by betting companies and if it does have a correlated negative impact on society, its surprising that taxation is so low. It's not the same as sponsorship of tobacco related companies in the past and the current high rates of taxes to discourage use, alcohol companies and sports sponsorship is on the clock I think too. But gambling doesnt seem to be on the radar of government and probably should be and at the very minimum should be an industry that is used to generate funding - certainly sports like football would have a more positive impact on wider sections of society than horse racing bar the estimated 35k jobs created by that industry. There is much greater growth potential/job creation too in other sports with animal racing very well developed - further justification for reform of this particular taxation and funding. Proportionate to the respective sports is the way to go if a LoI fan as the current breakdown of betting trends would mean a significant share of the spoils, GAA would be in a hoop over that though with significantly less gambling on GAA but they generate a high level of their own revenue as it is and there are many worthy sports like athletics that badly need investment. Accessibility to participate in sport for those with disabilities needs huge work including basic infrastructure at facilities and should be pushed as a priority too.

Its probably the most realistic prospect of getting money in to the game and we should badgering politicians about it especially as Kiki has suggested that horse racing is under the spotlight. We are easily decades behind other EU countries (even proportionately) on sporting infrastructure with the exception of GAA (not a criticism), below provinical level Rugby is severly lacking and we know where the issues are in LoI. While a couple of Olympic standard swimming facilities have opened in more recent years its still embarrassing, not a single indoor velodrome in a country where cycling has some pedigree, one Ice Skating rink (and one at DkIT that needs funding to reopen). The list is endless really - I hope there is an EU type directive on the number of amentities that encourage physical activity per head of population!

I also thing that any potential future funding for LoI should be allocated to to clubs that require the greatest amount of work to bring their ground up to expected standards, away fans having to stand in the rain is just not on!!

04/03/2021, 7:41 PM
This is a really interesting topic imo and I think its the only genuine possibility of getting a programme of ground developments going and properly funded. As mentioned previously the money invested in racing over 20 years is eyewatering. I dont think the betting companies would care where betting taxes go, they might have an issue with an increase in the tax but at its meagre level I doubt doubling (or up to say 5%?) would negatively effect business and could actually increase a market if more people were attending proper facilities at sporting events.
There is controversy with the whole sponsorship in sport by betting companies and if it does have a correlated negative impact on society, its surprising that taxation is so low. It's not the same as sponsorship of tobacco related companies in the past and the current high rates of taxes to discourage use, alcohol companies and sports sponsorship is on the clock I think too. But gambling doesnt seem to be on the radar of government and probably should be and at the very minimum should be an industry that is used to generate funding - certainly sports like football would have a more positive impact on wider sections of society than horse racing bar the estimated 35k jobs created by that industry. There is much greater growth potential/job creation too in other sports with animal racing very well developed - further justification for reform of this particular taxation and funding. Proportionate to the respective sports is the way to go if a LoI fan as the current breakdown of betting trends would mean a significant share of the spoils, GAA would be in a hoop over that though with significantly less gambling on GAA but they generate a high level of their own revenue as it is and there are many worthy sports like athletics that badly need investment. Accessibility to participate in sport for those with disabilities needs huge work including basic infrastructure at facilities and should be pushed as a priority too.

Its probably the most realistic prospect of getting money in to the game and we should badgering politicians about it especially as Kiki has suggested that horse racing is under the spotlight. We are easily decades behind other EU countries (even proportionately) on sporting infrastructure with the exception of GAA (not a criticism), below provinical level Rugby is severly lacking and we know where the issues are in LoI. While a couple of Olympic standard swimming facilities have opened in more recent years its still embarrassing, not a single indoor velodrome in a country where cycling has some pedigree, one Ice Skating rink (and one at DkIT that needs funding to reopen). The list is endless really - I hope there is an EU type directive on the number of amentities that encourage physical activity per head of population!

I also thing that any potential future funding for LoI should be allocated to to clubs that require the greatest amount of work to bring their ground up to expected standards, away fans having to stand in the rain is just not on!!

Have to agree with you on this before we redeveloped our ground 20 yrs ago we had shelter the length of the pitch where Section O is based but when the stand was built the bus shelter was gone! I think there should be another stand over I stand imo!

Bucket
04/03/2021, 7:47 PM
Is your whole ground in use? I thought there was a safety issue on one side?

EatYerGreens
04/03/2021, 9:36 PM

You only really become a League of Ireland club when part of your stadium gets restricted on safety grounds.

04/03/2021, 10:26 PM

I think they may have sorted that out recently. But it's not likely to be needed any time soon, Covid or no Covid.

DCWA
04/03/2021, 10:55 PM
I think there is a big difference between Irish horse racing in Ireland and club football in Ireland.

The former is considered amongst the finest in the world and always has been, it is a major revenue source for betting companies workdwide. The latter obviously exists in a different stratosphere.

04/03/2021, 11:59 PM
Invest €1bn in an industry and ye'd hope that it would be pretty decent. True though, it isnt directly comparable but should horse racing continue to be subsidised by taxation its not generating, if at all. At minimum its a discussion that's needed. The majority of betting on football will be on the EPL but obviously they shouldnt benefit but the sport in this country could. It would be interesting, in an alternative history type way, to see how the FAI would have gotten on with a similar level of funding!?!

2 Year Contract
05/03/2021, 12:40 AM
It would be interesting, in an alternative history type way, to see how the FAI would have gotten on with a similar level of funding!?!

I reckon Robbie Keane would’ve been given a 15 year contract on €100k a week and John Delaney's 50th birthday party would’ve taken place on the moon with travel subsidised for guests of course

05/03/2021, 1:40 AM
For as wild as any 'predictions' could be I reckon the FAI would still have managed to have us shaking our heads in disbelief! Mypost (wherever he is these days) might even have had his direct route to games in his spaceship and Finn Harps would be in Stranrolar on schedule.

Kiki Balboa
05/03/2021, 7:23 AM
I think there is a big difference between Irish horse racing in Ireland and club football in Ireland.

The former is considered amongst the finest in the world and always has been, it is a major revenue source for betting companies workdwide. The latter obviously exists in a different stratosphere.

Of course you are right. But changing the betting tax from 1 percent to 2 percent, would create a lot more revenue so that both animal racing can keep the same funding, and other sports can get much needed investment. Besides, Greyhound racing is heavily subsides by the Government and get 19.2 million euro. Nobody really cares too much about the dogs as opposed to the horses. That much money going into facilities would be huge.

Money doesnt need to go into the clubs or the FAI themseleves but can be given to councils earmarked to help build and maintain multi-use stadiums (similar to Tallaght, which has been a massive success). There has been a massive lack of investment in stadiums in this country. Louth currently needs three (2 loi and 1 GAA). If football in this country could mobalise around some policy, it would have a much greater chance to fix this. (or maybe this is just my lockdown mind going crazy....)

05/03/2021, 9:57 AM
I do think the PCA and First Division clubs could have a part to play in it. Rather than just the FAI lobbying for a bigger slice of the betting levvies, the clubs, the various regional organisations, youth groups, schoolboys clubs, etc, should all be coming together and trying to force the hand of the government.

Facilities in the country could do with an overhaul from top to bottom. If there's an estimate of about 30-40% of betting in Ireland done on football, then 30-40% of the betting levy should go to football. Even a ringfenced €15m a year to improve facilities in Ireland would go a long way to helping the game along.

EatYerGreens
05/03/2021, 12:06 PM
Of course you are right. But changing the betting tax from 1 percent to 2 percent, would create a lot more revenue so that both animal racing can keep the same funding, and other sports can get much needed investment. Besides, Greyhound racing is heavily subsides by the Government and get 19.2 million euro. Nobody really cares too much about the dogs as opposed to the horses. That much money going into facilities would be huge.

Money doesnt need to go into the clubs or the FAI themseleves but can be given to councils earmarked to help build and maintain multi-use stadiums (similar to Tallaght, which has been a massive success). There has been a massive lack of investment in stadiums in this country. Louth currently needs three (2 loi and 1 GAA). If football in this country could mobalise around some policy, it would have a much greater chance to fix this. (or maybe this is just my lockdown mind going crazy....)

Tallaght has been a success, but I think we have to caution against assuming it can be done everywhere.

A core part of the rationale and business case behind the council developing Tallaght Stadium has nothing to do with Shamrock Rovers. It's to enable it to be a venue for all sorts of things, including football involving other teams. That makes sense when you're building it in a capital city that contains 40% of the population of the entire state. But not in small areas like Wexford or Ballybofey, for example. So unless a compelling case can be made for multi-use stadia that more than pay for themselves on a going basis and just happen to include an LOI club as an anchor tenant within that, then councils shouldn't touch the idea with a barge pole.

05/03/2021, 12:41 PM
Tallaght has been a success, but I think we have to caution against assuming it can be done everywhere.

A core part of the rationale and business case behind the council developing Tallaght Stadium has nothing to do with Shamrock Rovers. It's to enable it to be a venue for all sorts of things, including football involving other teams. That makes sense when you're building it in a capital city that contains 40% of the population of the entire state. But not in small areas like Wexford or Ballybofey, for example. So unless a compelling case can be made for multi-use stadia that more than pay for themselves on a going basis and just happen to include an LOI club as an anchor tenant within that, then councils shouldn't touch the idea with a barge pole.

I dont think people do really as a one size fits all arrangement could lead to problems, waste of resources, white elephant projects and the like. But conversely, and I know not everyone would be in agreement, but Dundalk having a 12k capacity ground (up to 22k) for one sport and another of 10k a few miles apart doesnt make a whole lot of sense either. If some people could discard old enmities and some inventive design a facility could be maxmised. They way things could end up is with 2 budget projects that neither will sell-out except occasionally in a calender year. Pooled resources with municipal involvement could have seen an entire area rejuvenated in a larger overall development plan. The area that the new county ground is could have been a community hub and where its needed. The DFC fan in me though would prefer that some wealthy investors take over the club and redevelop Oriel and be a facility that generates money for DFC and no strings attached - 'realist' v wishlist stuff lol. Throw Drogheda in to the mix in terms of municipal involvement and it gets more complex again. Though the Lourdes Stadium is council owned already...

Kiki Balboa
05/03/2021, 1:17 PM
I do think the PCA and First Division clubs could have a part to play in it. Rather than just the FAI lobbying for a bigger slice of the betting levvies, the clubs, the various regional organisations, youth groups, schoolboys clubs, etc, should all be coming together and trying to force the hand of the government.

Facilities in the country could do with an overhaul from top to bottom. If there's an estimate of about 30-40% of betting in Ireland done on football, then 30-40% of the betting levy should go to football. Even a ringfenced €15m a year to improve facilities in Ireland would go a long way to helping the game along.

You think the FAI read foot.ie ? How to get this wonder plan out there ....

05/03/2021, 1:31 PM
Tallaght has been a success, but I think we have to caution against assuming it can be done everywhere....
We should identify as many potential situations like that as possible and put LoI clubs in as anchor tenants. It's a sustainable setup, which is more than can be said for most of us at the moment.

EatYerGreens
05/03/2021, 1:51 PM
We should identify as many potential situations like that as possible and put LoI clubs in as anchor tenants. It's a sustainable setup, which is more than can be said for most of us at the moment.

Is it a sustainable set up though ? Shamrock Rovers are only one part of the business rationale for Tallaght Stadium. What other sporting fixtures, entertainment events, conferences etc would be attracted to a stadium in Ballybofey, for example, to make a substantial council investment there pay for itself every year ? Because that's what's driven the expansion of Tallaght - if not from day one, then at least beyond it consisting solely of a single stand.

05/03/2021, 2:10 PM
You think the FAI read foot.ie ? How to get this wonder plan out there ....

Whatever about now, i wouldnt be surprised if Irish football fora were trawled through by JD. Maybe they still do but it would be to head off new ideas rather than looking for some. How to get plan/idea/change - through the clubs, then FAI lobbies and fans (including GAA) get at their politicians - GAA are good at this and will hunt down any sniff of funding from which we shout out for a share when the heavy lifting is done!