View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)
oldyouth
22/02/2008, 10:33 PM
A cryptic message on Wexford Youths supporters website suggest that permission for retention was advertised in the paper this week and the application for the stand was submitted.
I saw that and spent all lunchtime checking The People and the Wexford Co. Council planning website and found nothing. Perhaps it was in the Echo. I hear the temporary stand is on the way up. Sitting down at a footie game, well I never.......:D
Juanace
27/02/2008, 11:01 PM
On Setanta SPorts the commentator was chatting to Fabio O Brien and said this would be there last year in O2 park???
Is there a stadium being built somewhere i dont know about, or is this just hype? Cant see how a stium would be built in under a year???
Celdrog
28/02/2008, 1:42 AM
On Setanta SPorts the commentator was chatting to Fabio O Brien and said this would be there last year in O2 park???
Is there a stadium being built somewhere i dont know about, or is this just hype? Cant see how a stium would be built in under a year???
We left O2 park about four years ago and moved back to United Park (name change). If you don't know the story of our "new" ground then welcome to LOI football as you have not been following it ever.:p
Trying to build a stadium on the south of the town, if planning permission ever comes through.:rolleyes:
Stadium will be pre-assembled and supposed to take 6 months to construct.
Hibernian
28/02/2008, 10:28 AM
Are Cork City going to cover the St Anne's end in the near future?
Turners cross is turning into a fine place to watch football all credit
The Rebel Ram
28/02/2008, 10:49 AM
Ramblers will finally have the south stand finished before season kicks off, problems with builder going bankrupt!
Planning for the north stand is expected to be back by the end of next month. One objection in so far.
This should be completed in 2009 AFAIK if all goes to plan.
28/02/2008, 10:52 AM
Are Cork City going to cover the St Anne's end in the near future?
Turners cross is turning into a fine place to watch football all credit
Supposedly starting in the next few weeks
Hibernian
28/02/2008, 10:54 AM
Supposedly starting in the next few weeks
good to hear that. It will be really good once finished I say.
Juanace
28/02/2008, 12:48 PM
Trying to build a stadium on the south of the town, if planning permission ever comes through.:rolleyes:
Stadium will be pre-assembled and supposed to take 6 months to construct.
A pre-assembled stadium!!!! What is that?? Is it 4 stands of temporary seating? Seems very strange. Any word on the planning side of things, when did they start to get permission, any date for a decision.
I watched the Drogs play Clifftonville the other night with a mate of mine who never watches Eircom League games. He was actually really impreessed with some of the football (Drogs football that is) but thought the ground was a joke. You're a big enough club now to warrant a proper stadium.
oldyouth
28/02/2008, 12:51 PM
Youths temporary stand is going up on Monday. Approx 600 seats. Should be ready for the Waterford game. No roof unfortunately, but it NEVER rains in the Sunny Southeast;)
28/02/2008, 2:33 PM
28/02/2008, 2:43 PM
Any news yet on the redevelopment of the Brandywell. They would need to get their fingers out soon
Aye, cause they are sitting round twiddling them:rolleyes:
pic of the new "permanent" stand in richmond with the red seats
http://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z6/stpatsimages/StPatsTeamandPenShots2008LowRes39.jpg
half_full
28/02/2008, 5:46 PM
Youths temporary stand is going up on Monday. Approx 600 seats. Should be ready for the Waterford game. No roof unfortunately, but it NEVER rains in the Sunny Southeast;)
Slightly off-topic, but will away fans be getting space in the stand?
Paddyfield
28/02/2008, 5:54 PM
Aerial photo of Terrryland from behind the new Corrib Stand.
The field on the left is owned by the University who have done a deal with a private consortium to construct a Marina (subject to PP). The river is only 100 metres further left. The associated carpark should provide more parking spaces for people attending matches at Terryland.
oldyouth
28/02/2008, 6:46 PM
Slightly off-topic, but will away fans be getting space in the stand?
Out of a 600 seat stand, 599 are available to away supporters:D
Seriously though, last year we also had a temporary stand and visitors either went to one end or the other. Only by choice to stick together 'cos there is no segregation, no bother and songs went from one end to the other. Bring the whole family and sit where you can. Allow 15 minutes to queue at the chipper van before you take your seat though
Juanace
28/02/2008, 11:11 PM
Looks really impressive - any chance of it getting a roof and will the away fans be in that stand?
I have to say Im not impressed at all! With your chairman I thought you'd be getting a quality redevelopment, not some have arsed uncovered temporary seating.
Is there a plan to put in permanent stands around the ground and make it look like a proper stadium. Yes its still one of the better grounds in the league, and the stand is fine, but i was hopeing Pats could do better with the resources they have.
GreenStar
29/02/2008, 7:20 AM
pic of the new "permanent" stand in richmond with the red seats
http://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z...08LowRes39.jpg
My first question regarding a roof has already been asked. Second question is, will the away fans get that stand and half the Camac Terrace as before? If so, I take it that no home fans will be walking along the back of that stand to get to the Camac Terrace? So, home fans would have the Main Stand, Shed End and half the Camac Terrace, I assume?
no plans for a roof and we were told at a patron meeting that there's no plans to develop the ground more until we're selling most/all the seats we have. bout 3200 seats now plus the camac and shed terraces.
club dont seem to believe the build it and they will come theory, more along the lines of do well on the pitch and they "might" come.
as for who will be in that stand i think its still to be resolved
for the last 3 games of last season (5NilRovers, drogs & bohs) the away fans were given that stand only, (no camac hooper)
it has 998 seats so doubt anyone would bring more than that
there was a questionairre sent out to fans to see whether they'd prefer away fans in it or put them in shed/shed end of stand but i suppose the final say is with the gardai. would defo be much easier to police for games if away fans were in there only
Buller
29/02/2008, 9:45 AM
no plans for a roof and we were told at a patron meeting that there's no plans to develop the ground more until we're selling most/all the seats we have. bout 3200 seats now plus the camac and shed terraces.
club dont seem to believe the build it and they will come theory, more along the lines of do well on the pitch and they "might" come.
What happened to the completely redevelop richmond plans?!
half_full
29/02/2008, 10:11 AM
Out of a 600 seat stand, 599 are available to away supporters:D
Seriously though, last year we also had a temporary stand and visitors either went to one end or the other. Only by choice to stick together 'cos there is no segregation, no bother and songs went from one end to the other. Bring the whole family and sit where you can. Allow 15 minutes to queue at the chipper van before you take your seat though
Ah thanks for that, really looking forward to the match now:)
bigmac
29/02/2008, 10:25 AM
What happened to the completely redevelop richmond plans?!
Shelved I'd imagine.
Probably not a bad idea to have the plans in place should the stadium need to be expanded, but I think it's a good idea to wait until it's needed. We're quick to criticise clubs spending needlessly and extravagantly so it's good to see a bit of financial sense prevailing.
Danny
29/02/2008, 11:10 AM
exactly bigmac altho some will twist it as bigger developer/owner not wanting to develop so that he can easily knock the place to build apartments on.
oldyouth
29/02/2008, 12:20 PM
Ah thanks for that, really looking forward to the match now:)
If the weather is like it is today, bring the thermals and wet gear 'cos there's no roof
dublinwanderer
29/02/2008, 1:22 PM
we've got new changing rooms and offices put in. i think i heard they cost €300,000!! the offices are temporary but not sure about the changing rooms, i think they are like prefab yokes but they are class and extremely big..
no roof over dart side stand though which is exremely disapointing. the club had said they were going to that over the off season but failed as usual
02/03/2008, 11:04 AM
exactly bigmac altho some will twist it as bigger developer/owner not wanting to develop so that he can easily knock the place to build apartments on.
I'm glad a Pats fan said that cos thats what I was thinking;)
dublinwanderer
02/03/2008, 12:48 PM
Just wondering is their any plans in the pipeline to put stands/terraces into the carlisle grounds behind the goal posts
em would love to yes to that but sorry... well actually they have planning permission to put another temporary stand behind the goal where the hill is, but i doubt that will ever happen. i think the important thing is that they put a roof over the dart side stand asap
08/03/2008, 1:21 PM
The UCD Bowl stand on opening night last night.
Shelved I'd imagine.
Probably not a bad idea to have the plans in place should the stadium need to be expanded, but I think it's a good idea to wait until it's needed. We're quick to criticise clubs spending needlessly and extravagantly so it's good to see a bit of financial sense prevailing.
Thats actually very funny as pats wage bill is reckoned to be €52,500 a week.If they developed the ground there would be something there for the future rather than in the players pockets.
16/03/2008, 10:56 AM
http://dundalkfc.com/news/080317_Renovations.asp
The Man Himself
16/03/2008, 11:50 AM
its like somthing from the 70s,
how much did it cost to build that tin can?
my guess' about 75 quid :D
16/03/2008, 12:25 PM
my guess' about 75 quid :D
Eh? It's got a concrete base. Renovations at the ground have cost €1.5m I think.
finnpark
16/03/2008, 1:25 PM
Finn Harps' new stadium got the go ahead in court this week. Hearing lasted 3 minutes. The judge was a Drogs fan and the barrister was a Muckers fan. Stadium will start within weeks and be ready/completed for next season
SPXcyan
16/03/2008, 2:27 PM
Finn Harps' new stadium got the go ahead in court this week. Hearing lasted 3 minutes. The judge was a Drogs fan and the barrister was a Muckers fan. Stadium will start within weeks and be ready/completed for next season
DO you have the plans for the stadium??
forza rovers
16/03/2008, 2:49 PM
DO you have the plans for the stadium??there in the thread it going to be an all seater
The Man Himself
17/03/2008, 9:54 AM
oh my god :D:D:D
Boo_Boy
17/03/2008, 10:30 AM
oh my god :D:D:D
nice.
Blue-Army
17/03/2008, 2:10 PM
my guess' about 75 quid :D:D
Eh? It's got a concrete base. Renovations at the ground have cost €1.5m I think.:confused:
In fairness it looks terrible. You would've thought that UCD would have been able to build a small stand without 4 massive poles holding it up. It does look like something from the 70s!
The stairs the players need to come down onto the pitch is a joke as well.
17/03/2008, 2:48 PM
The poles are part of the roof left over from the stand that was there previously, the roof is to be replaced in the near future so there'll be no more poles.
Paddyfield
17/03/2008, 10:10 PM
The poles are part of the roof left over from the stand that was there previously, the roof is to be replaced in the near future so there'll be no more poles.
How do the Polish community feel about this?
17/03/2008, 10:13 PM
How do the Polish community feel about this?Bored from having heard that joke 1,000 time before? ;)
forza rovers
18/03/2008, 8:29 AM
are tunnel is to be put in today
Buller
18/03/2008, 9:00 AM
Your tunnel?
18/03/2008, 9:24 AM
What part of the ground is it being put in?
forza rovers
18/03/2008, 10:27 AM
What part of the ground is it being put in?
from the dressing rooms to the pitch
oldyouth
18/03/2008, 12:49 PM
:D:D:D
Boh_So_Good
18/03/2008, 1:05 PM
UCD planning to host the National Ploughing Championships I see.
Thats actually very funny as pats wage bill is reckoned to be €52,500 a week.If they developed the ground there would be something there for the future rather than in the players pockets.
People in charge of our finances worth over a billion, person in charge of yours lost about that in a day.
easy joke, and not 100% true, but still far far truer than the 52k per week rubbish. Pats couldn't afford Jason Byrne or Dave Mooney this year, despite a striker being a priority. Read from that what you will...
I wouldn't read very much into that at all to be honest. It just means that in those cases you didn't value the player to the same extent that the clubs that signed them did. I don't think that necessarily reflects the overall wage budget at Pats is lower or higher than at other clubs.
18/03/2008, 2:05 PM
Where are the new dressing rooms going to be?