View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172

BohsFans
21/02/2007, 9:10 PM
Completely untrue. The rugby team have been playing there for years with no talk of the ground being developed. The Bowl's development is solely down to us moving there because it wouldn't meet UEFA licencing as it stands. It's perfectly adequate for AIL rugby games so there'd be no need for development for the rugby team.

obviously if you represent the same organisation and you want to enhance their facilities at the cost of a game every two weeks, they're hardly gonna say no are they?

It maybe down to youse for bringing about the development, but TWO teams are using the facilities and that's what the minister wants!

Philly
21/02/2007, 9:17 PM
How's the bowl coming along anyway?

21/02/2007, 9:20 PM
How's the bowl coming along anyway?

Nothing has been done yet.

Frankfurt Hoop
21/02/2007, 9:30 PM

Another ignorant reply! The minister wrote to the clubs roughly 2/3 YEARS ago. Well before us or shels or Pats thought about moving out of our homes.

Shels had already sold out back then. BFC had sold, or agreed to sell a chunk of Dalymount and were planning to sell more. There were other issues as well. All discussed here and on the relevant clubs' forums at the time, with the exception of Shelsweb, naturally.

BohsFans
21/02/2007, 9:43 PM
Shels had already sold out back then. BFC had sold, or agreed to sell a chunk of Dalymount and were planning to sell more.

Wrong again! :rolleyes:

It was this decision that forced the clubs hands!

It is true that Bohs had conducted a land sale in return for the building of a stand at the Tramway end.

Frankfurt Hoop
21/02/2007, 10:14 PM
It is true that Bohs had conducted a land sale in return for the building of a stand at the Tramway end.

...and money. The stand was miniscule in comparison to the land swap.

Nobody forced OB's hand. He was borrowing money from day one at Shelbourne and the only collateral he ever had was the lease on Tolka. You don't run up debts of E12-15m in 2/3 years!

21/02/2007, 10:50 PM
Is the back of the stand going to be filled in? The wind will blow right through it if not.

Surely, would be crazy otherwise.
Incidentally, construction will move straight from the Shed End to the other end being roofed but hopefully it won't affect capacity.

21/02/2007, 10:57 PM
Surely, would be crazy otherwise.
Incidentally, construction will move straight from the Shed End to the other end being roofed but hopefully it won't affect capacity.

That if the grant money comes through in March, should be ok obviously but it is still pending on that.

don ramo
22/02/2007, 7:51 AM
I haven't told you any of the ground plans yet you already seem to know it's only gonna have 3 stands and 10,000 seats.
Just leave it at that, your way out of league don! :rolleyes:

i wont tell anyone so its a secret i get it

"""bohemiens football club are building a new ground in case nobady has heard yet but it a secret so shhhhhhhhhh"""

BohsFans
22/02/2007, 5:07 PM
i wont tell anyone so its a secret i get it

"""bohemiens football club are building a new ground in case nobady has heard yet but it a secret so shhhhhhhhhh"""

grow up will ya, again, why will it only have 3 stands? Come on I'm curious to know.

Also who are bohemiens football club? :confused:

don ramo
22/02/2007, 5:38 PM
you said it would be terraced at one end so that means only three stands, i know it has four, it called sarcasm.

BohsFans
22/02/2007, 6:30 PM
you said it would be terraced at one end so that means only three stands, i know it has four, it called sarcasm.

http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=625661&postcount=238

I said I THINK, never said it was definite.

Also a terrace/standing area doesn't have to take up a whole end of the ground. It can be housed in a 'stand'.
Your argument has really been shot to pieces hasn't it?

:p

22/02/2007, 8:38 PM
This picture (http://i127.photobucket.com/albums/p148/xtreme_rebel/shedend_echo.jpg) was taken today and you can see the new stand in the background. With the open day on Saturday, I'm sure there'll be plenty more pictures knocking around...

22/02/2007, 9:39 PM
They look full installed to me.
Looks impressive.
Pity it won't open for a while.

GalwayFrancis
22/02/2007, 9:44 PM
This picture (http://i127.photobucket.com/albums/p148/xtreme_rebel/shedend_echo.jpg) was taken today and you can see the new stand in the background. With the open day on Saturday, I'm sure there'll be plenty more pictures knocking around...

looks good, so its wont be open for our game with ye then... stupid not opening it til its fully finished.

gufc4life
22/02/2007, 9:54 PM
just curious how come the same jersey have 2 different sponsors in the photo ???

22/02/2007, 10:00 PM
...stupid not opening it til its fully finished.

Builders rubble & loads of junk behind the stand. Its called health & safety which is why lighting & PA being improve.

In my biased opinion the best league ground & by end of season will be some distance ahead of next best.

22/02/2007, 10:01 PM
Evening Echo will sponsor the underage teams.
Don't think so Francis. The place will still be practically a building site at the back.:(
April i think.

don ramo
23/02/2007, 12:41 AM
http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=625661&postcount=238

I said I THINK, never said it was definite.

Also a terrace/standing area doesn't have to take up a whole end of the ground. It can be housed in a 'stand'.
Your argument has really been shot to pieces hasn't it?

:p

dont really care this argument is goin on a few days i colunt give a t**, no point aksing you questions anymore, cause you notin of whats happenin at your club:mad:
its goin ahead but you dont know what it is, at least i know whats happenin here for the next 2-3 years, off the pitch:eek:

23/02/2007, 7:55 AM
it also looks like there is no safety barriers on the sides of the stand and to the back, also there is no wall in the front, so Im guessing there is some work still to do from the H&S side of stuff francis

GalwayFrancis
23/02/2007, 8:31 AM
it also looks like there is no safety barriers on the sides of the stand and to the back, also there is no wall in the front, so Im guessing there is some work still to do from the H&S side of stuff francis

true, but would it not make sense to get all the stuff on the pitch side of the stand done in the next three weeks and have it open for the new season, sure terrylands new stand is going to be built in two phases, first the structure and seats n stuff then the underneat. theres no reason cork's stand cant be tranformed from a "building site" in the time they have.

and yes pete, i agree it will be the best stadium in the country when its complete. any body got the official capacity of all the stadiums, seated and terraced? might make for interesting reading.

and A Face are you going to continue with ifgrounds?

23/02/2007, 8:37 AM
The entire stand must be finished before it's open to the public, which makes sense. We don't want to push the insurance premium.
Also, one would have to presume that advertising will be installed in front of the stand so there's still quite a bit of finishing to do.

23/02/2007, 8:39 AM
true, but would it not make sense to get all the stuff on the pitch side of the stand done in the next three weeks and have it open for the new season, sure terrylands new stand is going to be built in two phases, first the structure and seats n stuff then the underneat. theres no reason cork's stand cant be tranformed from a "building site" in the time they have.

You enter the stand through various points from the back.
Look at the picture and see where the seats are missing.
It's sensible to do things right.

23/02/2007, 9:41 AM
A Face are you going to continue with ifgrounds?

Yeah, working on version two right now. The present one is very hard to keep up to date so i'm trying to get v2 up and running.

23/02/2007, 10:25 AM
As long as the new stand is open for our first big home game on the 13th of April, I'll be happy. No need to have it open before then as the travelling support will be insignificant.

23/02/2007, 11:26 AM
Until the shed stand is completed the only access to Turners Cross is likely to be from the far side. Trying to open the stand to spectators too soon might delay completion & may not be able to start roofing the far end in time.

23/02/2007, 2:13 PM
I dunno about that pete. The place was in worse shape throughout last season and the away fans and season ticket holders were left in at that end.

25/02/2007, 8:24 AM
Loads of recent pictures here... (http://www.iwoto.com/shedlatest24february.htm)

GalwayFrancis
26/02/2007, 2:34 PM
looks deadly, fair play to all involved!

oriel
01/03/2007, 8:21 PM
News just released by Dundalk today. I honestly thought this would have been a non runner for years. Benefits of having a developer as a new owner !

Good news for finn harps fans next thurs

http://www.dundalkfc.com/News/070301_ShedDevelopment.html

Neish
01/03/2007, 8:36 PM
Finn Harps are adding 300 extra seats to Finn Park. See http://www.finnharps.com for more details

atfconline
02/03/2007, 8:16 AM
Some new pics of Athlone Town's New Stadium now up on www.athlonetownfc.com.

02/03/2007, 8:35 AM

Nice.

GalwayFrancis
02/03/2007, 8:52 AM

that looks so good, it nearly looks computer generated! cant wait to go there when ye get promoted this year.

passerrby
02/03/2007, 10:12 AM
well done athlone it looks the bizz

02/03/2007, 1:07 PM
Are the other three sides of the ground bare?

02/03/2007, 4:14 PM
For the moment I'm pretty sure they will be, but there are plans to build another 2 stands at least.

Buller
02/03/2007, 7:05 PM
What state will the belfield bowl be in for the ucd-rovers match at the start of the season? Are there seats installed yet?

02/03/2007, 7:18 PM
What state will the belfield bowl be in for the ucd-rovers match at the start of the season? Are there seats installed yet?Game is in Belfield Park, work on the Bowl hasn't started yet.

03/03/2007, 9:51 AM
Game is in Belfield Park, work on the Bowl hasn't started yet.

I thought it was supposed to be finished now. How did yet get a licence?

03/03/2007, 11:42 AM
I thought it was supposed to be finished now. How did yet get a licence?I don't think it was ever supposed to be ready for the start of the season, most of the work would have to wait until after the rugby season is over I'd imagine. We got a licence the same way Drogheda did, for future plans.

03/03/2007, 8:08 PM
We've installed 600 new seats in Belfield Park in place of the old off limits stand behind the goal. It's still uncovered and it's temporary but we were ordered to do so to be allowed to play there this season.

Battery Rover
03/03/2007, 8:57 PM

At the moment yes but the stand on the other side of the pitch is being started next year

Tis-smeee
03/03/2007, 9:26 PM
We've installed 600 new seats in Belfield Park in place ,It's still uncovered and it's temporary

We were ordered to remove our temporary ones a few years ago for the same reason , to stay in the league afaik it was the first year of the license and we were told that they would not be tolerated

04/03/2007, 7:22 AM
We were ordered to remove our temporary ones a few years ago for the same reason , to stay in the league afaik it was the first year of the license and we were told that they would not be tolerated

They're high quality temporary, if that makes sense. The seats are of far better quality that the permenant ones. I think it's the exact same as the temporary stands for the League Cup final in 2005 against Derry. Might provide an unimpeded view on a nice summer's day.

Student Mullet
04/03/2007, 8:37 AM
They're high quality temporary, if that makes sense. The seats are of far better quality that the permenant ones. I think it's the exact same as the temporary stands for the League Cup final in 2005 against Derry.They're the bucket seats from the east terrace in Lansdown. They still have their seat numbers on them.

04/03/2007, 11:15 AM
They're high quality temporary, if that makes sense. The seats are of far better quality that the permenant ones. I think it's the exact same as the temporary stands for the League Cup final in 2005 against Derry. Might provide an unimpeded view on a nice summer's day.

Who forced ye to do that? They'll never be used anyway...

Student Mullet
04/03/2007, 11:55 AM
Who forced ye to do that? They'll never be used anyway...I agree but there are also people who believe that improving support in the league is all about 'facilities, facilities, facilities' and that a few hundred more empty seats in Belfield will bring in the punters.

04/03/2007, 12:50 PM
Was there any mention of the seats being moved to the Bowl next year?

04/03/2007, 1:01 PM
I agree but there are also people who believe that improving support in the league is all about 'facilities, facilities, facilities' and that a few hundred more empty seats in Belfield will bring in the punters.

I might better facilities as opposed to bigger facilities. Then again if you think you can fill the existing covered temporary seats & people will come to Belfield to sit in uncovered temporary seats...