View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)
CuanaD
29/05/2007, 3:20 PM
I've put the capacity of Flancare as 6,700 all seated - a reasonable guestimate. (i think the figure is 6685 or 6785 something like that)
CuanaD
29/05/2007, 3:22 PM
cobh ramblers will be 1400 seats in a few weeks, when we complete the stand, the rest of the ground would hold id say 3000-4000 if not more, unsure as its a big terrace thats there, so around 5000-6000 total
Thanks, I've put that in as 1400 & 3500
Galway United when the new stand is finished and new Seating in the old Stan will be 3,400 with room for another 1,500 standing.
29/05/2007, 3:37 PM
Galway United when the new stand is finished and new Seating in the old Stan will be 3,400 with room for another 1,500 standing.
Where are the 1,500 going to stand?! At either end of the new stand and behind the goals?
Sounds very optimistic without terracing.
There is actually room in front of the new stand as well.front row of seats is over head high .
Thanks Gerry, I presume it's that big white structure left of the main stand. So why 2-storey? - how is the upstairs accessed?
The only way upstairs can be reached is from a walkway (wheelway? :o ) from the same level as the wheelchair section of the stand.
pic of a big hole in the ground with some metal concrete supports for the concrete pour (http://homepage.eircom.net/~kdjac/DSC00293.JPG)
kdjac
galwayhoop
30/05/2007, 8:32 AM
Where are the 1,500 going to stand?! At either end of the new stand and behind the goals?
the areas for standing will be pretty much un-affected. there has been hoarding on the city side of the ground for a few years now. the new stand is set back behind this and there will be a small terrace in front of the stand which is elevated a few feet. terrace areas behind both goals will be unchanged.
i don't know if they are putting a concrete terrace each side of the stand but i think they definately should.
oriel
30/05/2007, 12:38 PM
Dundalk have 1,200 seats, rest of ground reduced since last time due to new terracing and also dressing rooms and new car park being bulit behind one goal, so would say terracing 8,800 for no other reason than 10,000 would be have to be the max these days.
Plan is to eventually seat all of the new terracing facing the stand, not sure when, but that will further reduce capacity
Battery Rover
30/05/2007, 12:54 PM
Think the number of seats in our stand is 2038.
Standing round the ground you would fit maybe 3000 more but we are only cleared for 2000 standing from what I heard.
So 4038 but will be a 6000 all seater in a few years all going well
30/05/2007, 1:54 PM
I've put the capacity of Flancare as 6,700 all seated - a reasonable guestimate. (i think the figure is 6685 or 6785 something like that)
Knock 2000 off that and you have it.
30/05/2007, 4:31 PM
pic of a big hole in the ground with some metal concrete supports for the concrete pour (http://homepage.eircom.net/~kdjac/DSC00293.JPG)
kdjac
Making good progress on that stand. Hopefully it'll be ready for the UEFA Cup games.
rebelarmyexile
30/05/2007, 8:39 PM
tolka was lookin v.well, best iv seen the pitch in years. any news on the move to morton stadium? seems a pity considering the money they invested recently there with the new stand.
31/05/2007, 12:07 AM
tolka was lookin v.well, best iv seen the pitch in years. any news on the move to morton stadium? seems a pity considering the money they invested recently there with the new stand.
Nothing yet, but the club are looking at 3 options regarding venues.
31/05/2007, 9:46 AM
Nothing yet, but the club are looking at 3 options regarding venues.
Santry,
Tallaght,
Whitehall? Groundshare with new Fingallians FC club? Abbotstown?
GuisaSaigon
31/05/2007, 10:04 AM
Latest Terryland Pics here http://www.galwayunitedfc.net/index.php?act=attach&type=post&id=41 http://www.galwayunitedfc.net/index.php?act=attach&type=post&id=42 http://www.galwayunitedfc.net/index.php?act=attach&type=post&id=43
31/05/2007, 11:38 AM
Santry,
Tallaght,
Whitehall? Groundshare with new Fingallians FC club? Abbotstown?
Santry is deffo one of them, and IIRC Alan Byrne said there was the option of two groundshare. That's IIRC :D;)
galwayhoop
31/05/2007, 1:26 PM
any up to date on tallaght?? when/what is the next legal stage
Buller
31/05/2007, 1:29 PM
Latest Terryland Pics here http://www.galwayunitedfc.net/index.php?act=attach&type=post&id=41 http://www.galwayunitedfc.net/index.php?act=attach&type=post&id=42 http://www.galwayunitedfc.net/index.php?act=attach&type=post&id=43
Looks okay... but why does it not run the full length of the pitch?
Buller
31/05/2007, 1:31 PM
any up to date on tallaght?? when/what is the next legal stage
Its gone into the judicical review process which apperently could take anything from 6 months to 2 years............. (kill me)
It was ment to start a week or two ago but thomas davis conveniently didnt have the required documents to start so its delayed, just what they want...
BohsFans
31/05/2007, 1:41 PM
can't see unless logged in.
Buller
31/05/2007, 1:43 PM
Solution: Log In
Registration took 30 seconds... which is about the same time it took you to write that message!
31/05/2007, 6:10 PM
Santry is deffo one of them, and IIRC Alan Byrne said there was the option of two groundshare. That's IIRC :D;)
Thought Shels can't sell the lease on Tolks unless they purchase (not rent/ground share) a ground of their own?
Is the rovers thing not next friday and TD not gonna send a solicitor cos they poor now? Delaying it even longer?
kdjac
CuanaD
02/06/2007, 12:56 PM
Knock 2000 off that and you have it.
No, the plan was for a 7,500 seater, but they never finished the last corner (left of the main stand, if you are looking from 'section O'. I did try to count the seats there before & it was around 6,700
concrete porn (http://homepage.eircom.net/~kdjac/DSC00296.JPG)
heh pun
kdjac
Buller
02/06/2007, 9:46 PM
I was slightly disappointed by that link, I had eh, different, expectations...
On a lighter note, the foundations look like it goes back a fair bit. How big will this stand be and how many will it hold? will it be like the current main stand?
kdjaC
02/06/2007, 10:07 PM
Alleged to hold 1800 temp seats which to me makes it higher than the main stand by 15 metres to the highest seat :confused:
Corks new shed holds about that afaik (could be wrong) so it would be similiar to that but its a rush job to get temp seating for uefa games, when its completed properly ie never it should hold 2000.
kdjac
Buller
02/06/2007, 10:20 PM
:eek: 15 meters higher! that must be wrong, especially for a temporary stand....
kdjaC
02/06/2007, 10:26 PM
Sorry 15 metres high :o
The base is permanent but the incline quoted for temp seating makes it oddly high.
A german company will be installing seating on that piece of concrete in the next week that can hold hold 1800 people.
90 metres length x 190 people per row makes it a damn odd looking stand, lets hope it doesnt rain :d
kdjac
03/06/2007, 1:40 AM
Alleged to hold 1800 temp seats which to me makes it higher than the main stand by 15 metres to the highest seat :confused:
Corks new shed holds about that afaik (could be wrong) so it would be similiar to that but its a rush job to get temp seating for uefa games, when its completed properly ie never it should hold 2000.
kdjac
Wouldn't ye be better off renting for UEFA games this year and doing a proper job first time on the seating for the stand:confused:
Unless money really is no object for ye these days;)
BohsFans
05/06/2007, 5:55 PM
Has work started on the RSC yet?
05/06/2007, 5:56 PM
Has work started on the RSC yet?
No sign of anything going on down there.
Wouldn't ye be better off renting for UEFA games this year and doing a proper job first time on the seating for the stand:confused:
Unless money really is no object for ye these days;)
There be diggers on site and after all the ****e from previous regimes, nooe really cares once you see diggers :D
kdjac
Paddyfield
06/06/2007, 9:56 PM
Latest photos of new stand in Terryland are up on the official Galway United site now...
http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/menu-items/photo-gallery.html
Big Ears
06/06/2007, 10:05 PM
Latest photos of new stand in Terryland are up on the official Galway United site now...
Starting to look really nice :) .
Patrick Dunne
06/06/2007, 10:29 PM
The first row of seats in the stand is approx 8 feet above those standing in front (similar to the new stand in Tolka).
There is a fine view across the ground, and the Corrib to the left.
06/06/2007, 10:55 PM
Was down in St. Colmans while ago and the pitch looks to have a few slopes in it.
Have they expanded the pitch towards the side with the dugouts?
MojoPin
07/06/2007, 5:29 AM
ya by quite a bit. they made the pitch longer towards the bar too.
07/06/2007, 10:18 AM
Ya, to be fair, there was quite a bit of work going on there.
I'd imagine capacity will be very low atm.
It looks like the new stand will be very steep to get as many in as possible.
Loads of room for a stand at the clubhouse end though if its required.
It'll end up being a small, but intimate ground.
Looking forward to the Dundalk match.
Steve Bruce
07/06/2007, 11:34 AM
Are those floodlights infront of the new stand going to be mounted on the stand roof or will they be obstructing the view ?
07/06/2007, 7:35 PM
The first row of seats in the stand is approx 8 feet above those standing in front (similar to the new stand in Tolka).
There is a fine view across the ground, and the Corrib to the left.
Looks well lads, how much is it costing and it doesnt go the length of the pitch does it? Couple of these might do the trick in the Jacks.
oriel
11/06/2007, 12:45 PM
Work has started in oriel this am re the below - planning granted last month building will be behind where the temporary shed area is located.
DUNDALK FOOTBALL CLUB. FULL PLANNING PERMISSION FOR YOUTH DEVELOPMENT/COACHING CENTRE THE GENERAL FACILITIES WILL INCLUDE UNDERGROUND CAR PARKING GYMNASIUM DISABLED TRAINING FACILITIES DRESSING ROOMS GAMES ROOMS MEDIA CONTROL CENTRE MULTI PURPOSE HALL AND ASSOCIATED SERVICES
monkey magic
11/06/2007, 4:36 PM
did i read somewhere that theres gonna be dressing rooms underneath that stand?? doesn't look likes theres much room for them...
btw capacity at flancare park for whoever was asking earlier is nowhere near 6700, much closer to 5500
yea and there is loads of Room.As well as dressing Rooms there is a canteen and Shops plus other Sevices.
CuanaD
13/06/2007, 11:08 AM
yea and there is loads of Room.As well as dressing Rooms there is a canteen and Shops plus other Sevices.
Looks like plenty of room alright, especially when you consider that the minimum head height they have looks to be 6'9" (estimating the height of the wall on the left)
http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/gallery/albums/userpics/10002/DSC003981.jpg
SolitudeRed
13/06/2007, 7:13 PM
Aye your new stand looks to be shaping up quite well. I saw the frame of it about a month ago when I was going over the bridge on my way back home to Belfast and I thought I would check up on its progress!
Will the ends be covered or will those fans sitting at the edges of the stand be exposed to the elements which in Galway are normally awful in my experience:mad:
Paddyfield
13/06/2007, 7:32 PM
Will the ends be covered or will those fans sitting at the edges be exposed to the elements which in Galway are normally awful in my experience:mad:
The ends will be covered by 2053.:rolleyes:
monkey magic
13/06/2007, 7:59 PM
Looks like plenty of room alright, especially when you consider that the minimum head height they have looks to be 6'9" (estimating the height of the wall on the left)
http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/gallery/albums/userpics/10002/DSC003981.jpg
i presume you mean the wall on the right??? looking at it, its only five blocks up till the gerder's run into the wall so thats hardly standing room. i can only presume the silver beams that run down the length of that pic a few feet out are where the dressing room walls will be built, i.e. where theres standing height, meaning there gonna be long narrowish dressing rooms... best of luck with it btw