View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172

The Rebel Ram
28/06/2007, 1:03 AM
http://www.cobhramblers.com/2007/2007_pics/Match/DundalkH32.JPG

What's the craic with Cobh's stand?:confused:

Heard something about it being built too high. Couple of feet above the planning permission...

There seems to be an issue with the Welsh contractors. Not sure what about?
Hopefully it will be sorted soon. Very, very, very slow in going up.
Can't see that the stand being 2 feet too high is going to make a difference as it is on the south side of the pitch and is only next to a road. No views being affected or sunlight issues!

Battery Rover
28/06/2007, 9:26 AM
Passed by the new Athlone stadium on way home at weekend. Looks great.KOH

And you are welcome to come and visit it anytime as are all other supporters

eelmonster
28/06/2007, 1:58 PM
Dundalk get planning permission for Youth Development Centre at Oriel:

http://dundalkfc.com/News/070627_DevelopmentCentre.html

L37Ultra
28/06/2007, 2:22 PM
Limerick37 are building a new stand in Jackman Park!! Plans are set to be reveiled in the next few weeks and work is planned to begin in August!!

28/06/2007, 3:24 PM
Limerick37 are building a new stand in Jackman Park!! Plans are set to be reveiled in the next few weeks and work is planned to begin in August!!

Excellent news.

It'll be great to see Jackman Park develop into a top class facility for both Junior and senior football in Limerick.

Paddyfield
28/06/2007, 3:30 PM

Great news. Jackmann Park is better located in Limerick that Rathbane (Hogan Park) or Pike Rovers ground.

L37Ultra
28/06/2007, 4:13 PM
Great news. Jackmann Park is better located in Limerick that Rathbane (Hogan Park) or Pike Rovers ground.

Saying that now lads, thats what the fans have been told!! Remember we were promised a 8,000 seater stand in Pike!! But things have changed dramaticially since then so im confident that this will go ahead!! We are promised proper plans within the next few weeks!! :)

Paddyfield
29/06/2007, 9:37 PM
Latest photos of the new stand at Terryland are on the official website. Click on JUNE 29....
http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/menu-items/photo-gallery.html

Old stand also being refurbished with new floodlights and seats

kdjaC
29/06/2007, 10:05 PM
Pats builders offered 50k bonus to have it done by UEFA game, all its needs it seats now.

kdjac

Midgit
30/06/2007, 9:58 PM
A new big red iron building has been erected in the showgrounds in place of where the Shed was. I am not sure what it is for but a tv camera was pionting out the window during the game. Bad position for a TV gantry isn't it?

Its an awful eye soar as well.

02/07/2007, 8:47 AM
Latest pictures from Terryland are here http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/menu-items/photo-gallery.html

endabob1
02/07/2007, 9:19 AM
New stand at Terryland looks very smart, the whole ground looks good. Congrats to Galway.

galwayhoop
02/07/2007, 9:46 AM
Saying that now lads, thats what the fans have been told!! Remember we were promised a 8,000 seater stand in Pike!! But things have changed dramaticially since then so im confident that this will go ahead!! We are promised proper plans within the next few weeks!! :)

was just on yer website and looked at jackman. it is as i remembered, and from the second image:
http://www.limerick37fc.ie/gpage2.html
it's hard to see where the redevelopment will be? as both the stand side and the one opposite are in limited space - stand side by houses and gardens and other side by railway station & train lines.

do you know at which end the new stand will be?

02/07/2007, 10:47 AM
Where did Galway get the seats for the new stand?
Methinks they're second-hand.
I remember City got the seats for the St.Annes off Stoke City i think it was.

galwayhoop
02/07/2007, 11:49 AM

we got our seats for our old stand off stoke too.

afaik both stands are getting new seats this time around as old stand seating is being removed too.

apparantely both stands will have maroon seats when finished - can't think where they will get second hand maroon seats.

BohsFans
02/07/2007, 11:51 AM
can't think where they will get second hand maroon seats.

Hearts?

02/07/2007, 1:34 PM
Its brand new seats that are going in alright.

galwayhoop
02/07/2007, 3:12 PM
Hearts?

yeah but they are not re-developing or demolishing...

good answer btw, could also include west ham or aston villa to the list.

02/07/2007, 3:41 PM

middlesbrough, when they were moving to the reebok

02/07/2007, 3:50 PM
middlesbrough, when they were moving to the reebok

Bolton you mean!

02/07/2007, 3:59 PM
I don't know if its been mentioned here but the Changing Rooms in the new Shed Stand at Turners Cross were used for the first time on Saturday. It means any players getting sent off (like Saturday) will have to walk under the shed crowd :)

02/07/2007, 4:33 PM
Bolton you mean!

bolton, boro - one of those insignificant teams outside the UEFA hierarchy

fitzknows
02/07/2007, 7:43 PM
I don't know if its been mentioned here but the Changing Rooms in the new Shed Stand at Turners Cross were used for the first time on Saturday. It means any players getting sent off (like Saturday) will have to walk under the shed crowd :)

Oooohhhh any players getting sent off will have to walk under the 'shed crowd'. Bet the pee will be dribbling down their leg. "Welcome to Hell". Actually come to think of it..... :rolleyes:

02/07/2007, 7:56 PM
Oooohhhh any players getting sent off will have to walk under the 'shed crowd'. Bet the pee will be dribbling down their leg. "Welcome to Hell". Actually come to think of it..... :rolleyes:

Interesting.

You've only seen fit to actually post 3 times in the last 2-and-a-bit months... twice in unfunny wind up attempts toward city fans.

http://foot.ie/search.php?do=finduser&u=2983

in fact, nearly half (10/24) of your posts since september 2006 have been about cork, cork city f.c. or their fans - all disparaging, save one crocodile compliment toward the M.F.A. The rest almost exclusively pertained either to Limerick 37 or to the last club you supported.

Well, thats my curiosity sated.

fitzknows
02/07/2007, 8:04 PM
fair play gavin zac. you can use the forums search functions. i could check out what you post too but guess what.......

02/07/2007, 8:13 PM
fair play gavin zac. you can use the forums search functions. i could check out what you post too but guess what.......
you're not all that curious?

using the "view posts by user" link isnt an achievement but it can be enlightening.

02/07/2007, 11:19 PM
If there's a problem, use the Report Post function.

fitzknows
03/07/2007, 8:30 AM
you're not all that curious?

using the "view posts by user" link isnt an achievement but it can be enlightening.

Following top-secret deep under-cover investigation Jessica Fletcher identifies Limerick fan with not a whole lot of love for cork city.
Fletcher claims enlightenment following the investigation.
Bravo.

03/07/2007, 8:46 AM
lads stop bringing the thread off topic its boring.

bohsmug
03/07/2007, 11:11 AM

Agreed.
This is, for me, the most important and interesting thread on the board. It's to do with individual clubs' stadium development and that's it.
An excellent resource.

galwayhoop
03/07/2007, 3:57 PM
Agreed.
This is, for me, the most important and interesting thread on the board. It's to do with individual clubs' stadium development and that's it.
An excellent resource.

yeah i'm with you here too.

many other threads are used for bickering between 'rival' supporters. this one is always interesting and USUALLY only deals with fact.

don't get it closed for the sake of some silly points scoring against others.

03/07/2007, 6:24 PM
Agreed.
An excellent resource.
yeah i'm with you here too.
congrats lads, ye've contributed as many off topic posts as we did in you condemnation.

does anyone know if/when this season the MFA plan on putting a roof on the remaining st. anns end?

Guitd
03/07/2007, 10:02 PM

the seats in the picture are the old ones been taken out the new ones are maroon in colour and are supplied by the same company that are fitted the new stand at turners cross.

galwayhoop
04/07/2007, 9:34 AM
the seats in the picture are the old ones been taken out the new ones are maroon in colour and are supplied by the same company that are fitted the new stand at turners cross.

any photos of stand with new seats in???

04/07/2007, 9:46 AM
congrats lads, ye've contributed as many off topic posts as we did in you condemnation.

Does anyone know if/when this season the MFA plan on putting a roof on the remaining st. anns end?

As far as I know the same contractors that did the Shed stand are lined up to put the roof on St Anne's end.

Don't know about when. Hopefully have it done for the start of the 2008 season.

SolitudeRed
04/07/2007, 7:48 PM
Its seems that many of the EL league teams are carrying out work or are planning to carry out work to improve their grounds, which is great to see!

I take it the majority of the money for these improvements is coming from public bodies i.e Government/local councils etc?

04/07/2007, 9:41 PM
Its seems that many of the EL league teams are carrying out work or are planning to carry out work to improve their grounds, which is great to see!

I take it the majority of the money for these improvements is coming from public bodies i.e Government/local councils etc?

Most funding for capital work at grounds would be from:

-Lottery funding
-Dept of Sport grants
-FAI grants

Saint MacDara
04/07/2007, 10:13 PM
And Local Authorities

Paddyfield
04/07/2007, 10:34 PM
Ans local Football Associations
Terryland Park - Galway Football Assoc
Turners Cross - Munster FA

05/07/2007, 8:52 AM
Ans local Football Associations
Terryland Park - Galway Football Assoc
Turners Cross - Munster FA

well, the MFA arent actually contributing much at all to turner's cross, they're just spending the grants they get. afaik.

05/07/2007, 12:09 PM
well, the MFA arent actually contributing much at all to turner's cross, they're just spending the grants they get. afaik.

AFAIK the Cork City friendly with Sunderland is an MFA venture to raise funds for Turners X development.

Presumably to pay for the Shed stand and/or St Anne roof.

05/07/2007, 12:14 PM
AFAIK the Cork City friendly with Sunderland is an MFA venture to raise funds for Turners X development.

Presumably to pay for the Shed stand and/or St Anne roof.

The Sunderland friendly is to knock the existing outer wall and turn styles at the "shed"/curragh road/east end and replace them with some thing nice and modern.

heres hoping for red brick.

a grant has already been recieved by the MFA for construction of a roof over the st. anns end, but planning permission ends rather soon for my liking. i do wish they'd start immediately, even at the sake of closing the st.anns end for the foreseeable future. it might cost us in terms of a couple of big matches but it is not needed at the moment.

of course, the MFA has sold St. Anns End tickets for the Sunderland game at the end of this month so they wont be doing it before then. I hope that this is the only thing delaying the start of construction.

Guitd
06/07/2007, 1:07 PM
latest pic taken today

L37Ultra
06/07/2007, 1:09 PM
latest pic taken today

Impresive!! How much people does the stand hold?

06/07/2007, 1:10 PM
latest pic taken today
Looks very impressive.

06/07/2007, 1:13 PM
1,500 and there are 1700 all new seats going in the old stand plus 150 odd at the clubhouse end.

Midgit
06/07/2007, 1:38 PM
Now Galway have the best staduim in the west.:mad:
I like it though very impressive. Seems awfull GAA like not like your usual soocer staduim.

galwayhoop
06/07/2007, 2:19 PM
Now Galway have the best staduim in the west.:mad:
I like it though very impressive. Seems awfull GAA like not like your usual soocer staduim.

must admit it is a dead ringer for pearse stadium's main stand!

i think the similarity is down to the colours though as the stand is top notch

rebelarmyexile
06/07/2007, 2:47 PM
latest pic taken today

Looks very good. Well done to all at terryland.

Will you have terracing for the sunderland match or is it an all seater for that match?

What next in the plans?

Paddyfield
06/07/2007, 8:26 PM
What next in the plans?

To win a home game!