View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172

04/03/2007, 6:40 PM
Thankfully the work on our ground is nearly finished! Better drainage, tarmaced area between clubhouse & stand, new wall, new wheelchair section....its really looking lovely!

04/03/2007, 6:49 PM
people will come to Belfield to sit in uncovered temporary seats...
Hey, summer football, people wanting a bit of sun...!

There's 848 seats in the main stand, and for Dublin derbies, we'd tend to get more than that, so the seats will be used anyway.

05/03/2007, 9:45 AM
Having seen it first hand Saturday I can confirm Athlone Towns new stand is class

Been in every LoI ground except Turners Cross and it's the best I've seen :ball:

endabob1
05/03/2007, 9:47 AM
At the moment yes but the stand on the other side of the pitch is being started next year

Is this confirmed? The stand looks deadly but with all 4 sides done it will be the best LOI ground in the country.

monkey magic
05/03/2007, 10:15 AM
At the moment yes but the stand on the other side of the pitch is being started next year

what type of stand are ye putting on the other side?? dosent look life theres too much room that side...

Battery Rover
05/03/2007, 10:16 AM
Is this confirmed? The stand looks deadly but with all 4 sides done it will be the best LOI ground in the country.

It was said on the bit about the new ground on TV3 that the far side of the pitch will be done next year.. It will be finished on all sides over the next number of seasons but I havent spoken to any of the stadium committee in the last while though I will at the official opening on Thursday and find out more.

I am sure there will be an official announcement regarding this at the opening on Thursday

05/03/2007, 12:20 PM
Having seen it first hand Saturday I can confirm Athlone Towns new stand is class...

Now all Athlone need is for locals to turn up to matches to fill it.

Partizan
05/03/2007, 1:01 PM
The proposed 1700 seater stand in the RSC has been mothballed. Projected cost was 2.5m to bring it up to UEFA standards and Waterford City Council baulked when they saw that.

How much did the 2000 seater in Athlone cost?

Battery Rover
05/03/2007, 10:21 PM
Not sure of the cost for the actual stand but all the work so far has cost in the region of €4.5 million.

Everything is contained under the stand as per uefa license requirements

GalwayFrancis
06/03/2007, 8:56 AM
heard on Galway Bay FM this morning that work in Terryland begins next monday, dont know why it hasnt started already:mad:

BohsFans
06/03/2007, 6:11 PM
heard on Galway Bay FM this morning that work in Terryland begins next monday, dont know why it hasnt started already:mad:

http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/facilities/work-starts-on-new-stand.html

06/03/2007, 6:27 PM
A picture of the new shed (http://i152.photobucket.com/albums/s170/dieseldlk/newshed.jpg) at Oriel Park that was posted on our forum.

06/03/2007, 6:46 PM
well..

since the end of last season we have..

no shed,
no floodlights,
no turnstiles,
no gates,
er..

Paddyfield
06/03/2007, 6:58 PM
well..

no shed,
no floodlights,
no turnstiles,
no gates,
er..

Saw the entrance to the Showgrounds on the RTE News today. Ye's want to slap up a few blocks soon!

BohsFans
06/03/2007, 11:21 PM
well..

no shed,
no floodlights,
no turnstiles,
no gates,
er..

have yiz finished building that wall yet? :confused:

07/03/2007, 9:37 AM
A picture of the new shed (http://i152.photobucket.com/albums/s170/dieseldlk/newshed.jpg) at Oriel Park that was posted on our forum.

isnt that there years!

well..

no shed,
no floodlights,
no turnstiles,
no gates,
er..

And no manager :)

GalwayFrancis
07/03/2007, 9:51 AM

great news for the shed regulars, looks the business - pity ye'r not in the premier for us to play ye :D

07/03/2007, 10:13 AM

Francis you musnt read any of the posts on the official site or the gufc forum here.Last friday was the final day for any appeal of the Planning Permission hence the reason for the delay.

oriel
07/03/2007, 12:39 PM
isnt that there years!

And no manager :)

No Pablo - the old shed was demolised in 2005 when the new pitch was installed as the pitch itself was moved closer to the stand, this created a massive gap from where the old shed stood. The terracing in the photo was only built in 2005 and has been uncovered since. Also the old shed was positioned from the half way line to the town end goal. This new shed as the photo shows is perfectly postioned as its more central. Should improve the atmosphere not to mention keep the younger fans dry

ps it was only started on sat am - how good progress is that

07/03/2007, 1:17 PM

Fair play. Is that a gantry on top?

07/03/2007, 2:06 PM
Fair play.

Fairplay my hole!
Lets face it, they've just built it for the sake of building it.
All it is, is a metal box over a bit of a mucky incline.
With all the posts in it, it looks more like a climbing frame than a viewing area. Even cowsheds are more sophisticated than that structure.

Stuck in the dark ages!

mcgonigle
07/03/2007, 2:27 PM
Fairplay my hole!
Lets face it, they've just built it for the sake of building it.

Why would we build it for the sake of building it, that doesnt make sense. Its only temp until the planning permission comes through for the youth developement centre, most fans like to stand on that side and they were gettin soaked at pre-season and theres prob plenty more rain to come thats why it was put up.

All it is, is a metal box over a bit of a mucky incline.

Doesnt a box have six sides? and since when have contrete steps been classed as a mucky incline?

With all the posts in it, it looks more like a climbing frame than a viewing area.

Well we should have come to you first and you could of told us about this anti-gravity metal you seem to know about

07/03/2007, 2:34 PM
You'd have been better served with something like Bray, if you were looking for a temporary solution.

oriel
07/03/2007, 2:41 PM
Ny hoop - yes thats a new tv gantry

Peadar - that photo was taken 2 days ago, its an unfinished structure, but not far off complete, also there`s no need to be so flippant, its only the start of the early phase of the re-development of the ground.

Most other fans would find photos of things like this interesting.

07/03/2007, 2:43 PM
Most fans want to see genuine progress in grounds, not cargo containers being dumped at pitch-side.

mcgonigle
07/03/2007, 2:53 PM
Its there to keep the rain off people if it rains, it will do that so mission accomplished, we dont care because its temp. Why spend extra money on something more pleasing to the eye when its gonna come down anyway. I thought all clubs where to be careful of their expenditure

07/03/2007, 3:27 PM
Ny hoop - yes thats a new tv gantry

Peadar - that photo was taken 2 days ago, its an unfinished structure, but not far off complete, also there`s no need to be so flippant, its only the start of the early phase of the re-development of the ground.

Most other fans would find photos of things like this interesting.

Looks good.

Obviously Peadar was never in bi****stown then or the old cross.

07/03/2007, 3:39 PM
Obviously Peadar was never in bi****stown then or the old cross.

Jeez, you Shamrocks are obsessed with the past!

Louth4sam
07/03/2007, 3:56 PM
Well we should have come to you first and you could of told us about this anti-gravity metal you seem to know about

haha classic.

You'd have been better served with something like Bray, if you were looking for a temporary solution.

So spend 500,000 on a temporary stand that will have to be ripped down in a few months?? Yes thats a great idea peader. I hope you dont have any input to how your club is being run.

Work could start on the €11million youth development centre as early as the summer depending on planning permission and grants both of which the club are confident of getting. Part of that development will be a roof over the terrace which will have a tv studio and gantry over it.

07/03/2007, 3:56 PM
Most fans want to see genuine progress in grounds, not cargo containers being dumped at pitch-side.We don't all have a benevolent FA who'll develop a ground for their tenants Peader.

It wasn't that long since Cork came back in from Bishopstown to the MFA with their tail between their legs.

I think we all know infrastructure is generally poor but a lot of progress has been made recently.

07/03/2007, 4:14 PM
It wasn't that long since Cork came back in from Bishopstown to the MFA with their tail between their legs.

The FAI got a decent facility in a prime location, in return for us going back to The Cross.

Your post suggests that you're completely ignorant to the fact that there's buckets of money being given by the FAI/Government to other clubs.

In my opinion, Oriel Park is a kip and they haven't enhanced it with that structure.

07/03/2007, 4:36 PM
The FAI got a decent facility in a prime location, in return for us going back to The Cross.

Your post suggests that you're completely ignorant to the fact that there's buckets of money being given by the FAI/Government to other clubs.

In my opinion, Oriel Park is a kip and they haven't enhanced it with that structure.There's "bucketloads" available on a matched spend basis, which means you've got to have it to get a grant for it!!

Bishopstown was FAR from a prime location back in the day, thats why you left it (20/20 hindsight and all that).

galwayhoop
08/03/2007, 1:30 PM
In my opinion, Oriel Park is a kip and they haven't enhanced it with that structure.

i understand that it is a temporary structure to keep fans dry and all but in fairness most people on this site bemoan the lack of respect given to the league in general. we crave to even be recognised on a par with championship and lge 1 sides in england. a 3/4 hayshed as seen in the picture posted earlier is hardly the poster of the product we are trying to market here now is it?

granted it is temporary but for goodness sake lads it's like the old stands from the 70's and 80's. get a grip. we are trying to move away from this thrown together look of our grounds not glorify them.

mcgonigle
08/03/2007, 1:33 PM
Theres no promotion for the state of your stadium this year so we didnt bother!

galwayhoop
08/03/2007, 1:36 PM

obviously you never heard of Cantilever Roofing then? only been in use worldwide for nearly 40 years now!

08/03/2007, 2:28 PM
a 3/4 hayshed as seen in the picture posted earlier is hardly the poster of the product we are trying to market here now is it?

granted it is temporary but for goodness sake lads it's like the old stands from the 70's and 80's. get a grip. we are trying to move away from this thrown together look of our grounds not glorify them.

The Product?? Good Grief :eek:

Now don't get me wrong lads I hate Dundalk as much as the next man but Jaysus some people on here will complain over anything

It's only temporary. ;)

I'm sure Dundalk F.C have been looking to market their (ahem) "product" to the "people" of the town. Now given the choice of a (ahem) "product" where I can stand out in the pi$$ing rain and get soaked or stand out in the pi$$ing rain with a sheet of galvinised over my head to stop me getting soaked I know which I'd pick

In the short term it's obviously a good thing. Anyone who's complaining is just maybe being a teensy, weensy bit anal about it??

galwayhoop
08/03/2007, 10:16 PM
I'm sure Dundalk F.C have been looking to market their (ahem) "product" to the "people" of the town. Now given the choice of a (ahem) "product" where I can stand out in the pi$$ing rain and get soaked or stand out in the pi$$ing rain with a sheet of galvinised over my head to stop me getting soaked I know which I'd pick

In the short term it's obviously a good thing. Anyone who's complaining is just maybe being a teensy, weensy bit anal about it??

as i said i am aware that it is only temporary and obviously is better than standing in the soaking rain. but some earlier posters were reacting to the photo as if it was the new wheel.

it's a cráp shed. granted it will keep you dry but we should really be encouraging proper developments like corks new stand, athlones stadium/stand, the proposed new stand at terryland etc. and calling the old style excuses for stands what they are - outdated and redundant.

and yes the league is a product, whether you like it or not. it is a product which has to be marketed to the population. especially those who say they are football supporters but yet never go to their local clubs. the general impression of the eL, from those who dont go to games, is of poor standard football and worse facilities. the shed in oriel and others like it will not alter the latter opinion.

the bottom line is that the league needs to attract more supporters to games - this will boost revenue, improve structures and create a self sustaining professional set up throughout the country so we don't have to rely on the UK producing all of our footballers.

08/03/2007, 10:19 PM
I felt sorry for the men working on our stadium....they have been busting their asses all week in the rain to try and have it finished! Cant wait to see it tomoro!

08/03/2007, 10:20 PM
Thanks for the support, GalwayHoop. If the attitudes of the fans is any representation of their clubs then Dundalk definitely belong in the lower tier and Galway in the Premier Division.
Without ambition, we'll never get anywhere!

Louth4sam
08/03/2007, 10:26 PM
Thanks for the support, GalwayHoop. If the attitudes of the fans is any representation of their clubs then Dundalk definitely belong in the lower tier and Galway in the Premier Division.
Without ambition, we'll never get anywhere!

Shels and dublin city both had ambition look where it got them. Its all about spending within your means. Peader a number of posters have explained that this is a temporary structure to keep our fans dry but you choose to ignore them. What would be the point in building a temporary good looking stand that would cost a lot of money if it had to be removed again in a few months??

08/03/2007, 10:34 PM
What would be the point in building a temporary good looking stand that would cost a lot of money if it had to be removed again in a few months??

Did you ever see those signs over shops, marked "Temporary Sign"?
They're professionally printed and look good. Do you think that it would be good for business to scribble something in crayon, on wallpaper instead?

You've covered a section of your ground, fair enough, but lets not pretend you've enhanced the ground or that you deserve credit for it.

Student Mullet
08/03/2007, 10:35 PM
Without ambition, we'll never get anywhere!I think Peadar is the new Higgins!

Louth4sam
08/03/2007, 10:40 PM
You've covered a section of your ground, fair enough, but lets not pretend you've enhanced the ground or that you deserve credit for it.

Why who is pretending we have enhanced the ground? This thread is call stadium updates. An update to our stadium is that we have installed a TEMPORARY shed. Your the one that keeps making a big deal out of it.

mcgonigle
08/03/2007, 11:10 PM
Theres no point L4S, theres no gettin through to that guy, he just dislikes Dundalk end of, he will find fault with anything the club does, best to ignore him.

He is right though a team that has 2500 at their first match well deserves to be in the bottom tier :rolleyes:

oriel
09/03/2007, 7:39 AM
Lads - you should know by know that peadar considers himself the voice of irish football - his view is all that counts.

09/03/2007, 8:26 AM
Typical louth reaction. Anyone who challenges your view, must be dismissed. Congratulations on getting an even number into your first game though. Hope you didn't have to refuse anyone, in order to achieve it.

Your ground is a kip, you're happy with that, I'll just have to accept it and hope that I have no reason to visit there any time soon.

mcgonigle
09/03/2007, 10:42 AM
Well just remember peader that even if cork are playing in oriel in the near future you dont have to go, its your choice, you can always sit infront of your computer and wait for updates. Nobody will want to sit or stand beside you because by my impressions all you'll do is winge: "My seat is too cold", "My tea is too milky", "This rain is too wet", you would clear the ground out.

And who says Im from Louth?

Flawless
10/03/2007, 1:15 PM
Without ambition, we'll never get anywhere![MOD EDIT: See warning.]

we have plans for an €11 million youth development centre, which WILL be the best in the country, we also have extended plans to develop that side of the ground were the TEMPORARY Shed is constructed.
Which include a new roof incorporating TV Gantry and Studio, New changing facilities and a new pitc entrance for the players [MOD EDIT: See warning.]

10/03/2007, 2:53 PM
Ambition??, arent u reading anyones posts other than your own narrow minded responses??, we have plans for an €11 million youth development centre, which WILL be the best in the country, we also have extended plans to develop that side of the ground were the TEMPORARY Shed is constructed.
Which include a new roof incorporating TV Gantry and Studio, New changing facilities and a new pitc entrance for the players

Moderator Warning: Attack the post not the poster.

I have plans to build myself a 20m euro mansion. Its easy to have plans with funding or planning permission. Just look at Drogs, Shels etc...

Flawless
10/03/2007, 3:32 PM
We were talking about ambition were we not?