View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)
14/10/2020, 9:31 AM
A nice non-LOI stadium that would be a superb blueprint for most clubs here.
AFC Wimbledon return to Plough Lane in their new 9,000 capacity fan-funded stadium in a few weeks time.
Fans raised £7m to make the project a reality. A very impressive 4,500 seater main stand with a huge function room and bar, shops, and all associated extras. Three semi-permanent stands around the rest of the pitch.
Maybe something for the likes of Peak 6 to have a look at for Oriel Park..
Facebook video here:
Ezeikial
14/10/2020, 12:19 PM
A nice non-LOI stadium that would be a superb blueprint for most clubs here.
AFC Wimbledon return to Plough Lane in their new 9,000 capacity fan-funded stadium in a few weeks time.
Fans raised £7m to make the project a reality. A very impressive 4,500 seater main stand with a huge function room and bar, shops, and all associated extras. Three semi-permanent stands around the rest of the pitch.
Maybe something for the likes of Peak 6 to have a look at for Oriel Park..
Facebook video here:
It appears that the costs are more in the region of £30m
Q: How much is it all costing?
A: Approximately £30 million - although not all of this is down to construction. This figure also includes the money we’ve already spent to date. It doesn’t include, however, the financing costs that accrue during construction.
Q: How is the cost broken down?
A: This information is commercially confidential but it includes: the design and construction work performed by Buckingham to deliver the first phase of the stadium; IT; furniture, fixtures and fittings; consultancy fees; a contribution to a controlled parking zone; ramp-up costs for commissioning the new stadium; and a contingency for any unforeseen costs.
https://www.afcwimbledon.co.uk/club/new-stadium/stadium-qa/
Ezeikial
14/10/2020, 12:30 PM
It's impressive stadium even if it is outside the means of any club in Ireland without significant Govt support
https://www.facebook.com/afcwimbledon/videos/663731400996834
Johnnie C
21/10/2020, 12:33 PM
Future stadiums in 3D time-lapse.
https://youtu.be/vVkiD-oUXDQ
21/10/2020, 12:49 PM
Future stadiums in 3D time-lapse.
https://youtu.be/vVkiD-oUXDQ
And 0% accurate.
21/10/2020, 3:30 PM
And 0% accurate.
Yeah no Oriel Park!! Whats that about!?
Harps launch a Car Draw to help improve training facilities: https://newyearnewcar.ie/
All support much appreciated. :)
D24Saint
22/10/2020, 6:47 PM
Harps launch a Car Draw to help improve training facilities: https://newyearnewcar.ie/
All support much appreciated. :)
I want ticket number eleven.
EatYerGreens
22/10/2020, 10:55 PM
Harps launch a Car Draw to help improve training facilities: https://newyearnewcar.ie/ (https://newyearnewcar.ie/)
What if you really want to participate, but are no good at art ?
vinnie
22/10/2020, 11:16 PM
I want ticket number eleven.
too late
D24Saint
23/10/2020, 9:09 AM
Good top prize in that draw , fair play to harps for organising it.
25/10/2020, 6:17 PM
Just starting a thread here so fans of various clubs can inform us of updates on where their clubs stand at the moment as regards to stadium plans. What's the story with Cork and the Shed, Rovers and Tallaght, Athlone's move, Drogs and Finn Harp's proposed stadiums?
As far as I know Wednesday is d-day for UCD as the objection to the planning application to upgrade the Belfield Bowl will be dealt with. Plan is to extend the current stand which has about 600 seats into a 1,500 seater. It'll be a step up from Belfield Pk. as the stand will be concrete based.
Notice it's just over 14 years ago I made this post to open the thread and while Cork, Rovers, Athlone and UCD delivered Drogs and Harps still play in essentially the same facilities.
25/10/2020, 7:51 PM
Can you give us another fourteen years?
EatYerGreens
26/10/2020, 3:55 PM
Can you give us another fourteen years?
Do you think that'll be enough ?
26/10/2020, 6:09 PM
Do you think that'll be enough ?
I didn't state such a thing. It'll just be interesting to see what happens in the meantime..
GUFCghost
12/11/2020, 10:16 PM
https://twitter.com/EdinburghRugby/status/1326870655221059585
Edinburgh Rugby's new stadium looks like it's mostly made of pop up stands. Could this be an option for LOI clubs?
13/11/2020, 12:15 AM
https://twitter.com/EdinburghRugby/status/1326870655221059585
Edinburgh Rugby's new stadium looks like it's mostly made of pop up stands. Could this be an option for LOI clubs?
Similar to what Wexford Youths done for the League Cup final in Ferrycarraig Park a number of years back. If the likes of Bray and Wexford can have them in semi-permanent, I see no reason why other clubs can't do the same.
13/11/2020, 1:15 AM
Similar to what Wexford Youths done for the League Cup final in Ferrycarraig Park a number of years back. If the likes of Bray and Wexford can have them in semi-permanent, I see no reason why other clubs can't do the same.
The UCD Bowl is basically temporary and has worked for football and rugby for years.
13/11/2020, 3:42 AM
There are now a good few examples of these stands in use, flipping skyscrapers were built on a concrete foundation and steel structure. I dont know what the obsession in Ireland is with poured concrete models even if partly prefabricated. Maybe securing grants for companies submitting tenders from outside of Ireland is an issue, if so what a waste of revenue. The new main stand Vicarage Road is good enough for the EPL, raking is a bit nauseating but it is shoehorned in. More appropriately sized stands of 8-1200 suitable for LoI dont cost as much the admin of messing for a decade or 2 from initial grant allocations. Gross cost of the ptch in Oriel would have built a new stand for context. Ive probably posted this somewhere in ths thread already but some example of what could be achieved here with some cohesive joint development plans and partnerships. https://www.glevents.co.uk/solutions/sporting-events/football/
This shouldnt be a pipedream as a stand at Oriel Park!! (RSJs in view lines would keep it retro..).
https://www.glevents.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/Football-Stadium-Construction-Tiered-Seating-002.jpg
13/11/2020, 6:27 AM
The UCD Bowl is basically temporary and has worked for football and rugby for years.
Eh? How do you figure that?
13/11/2020, 10:34 AM
In what sense is it temporary? Are you thinking of the old Belfield Park? The Bowl could do with the roof being extended to cover all the seats, but there's nothing temporary about it.
EatYerGreens
13/11/2020, 1:10 PM
There are now a good few examples of these stands in use, flipping skyscrapers were built on a concrete foundation and steel structure. I dont know what the obsession in Ireland is with poured concrete models even if partly prefabricated. Maybe securing grants for companies submitting tenders from outside of Ireland is an issue, if so what a waste of revenue. The new main stand Vicarage Road is good enough for the EPL, raking is a bit nauseating but it is shoehorned in. More appropriately sized stands of 8-1200 suitable for LoI dont cost as much the admin of messing for a decade or 2 from initial grant allocations. Gross cost of the ptch in Oriel would have built a new stand for context. Ive probably posted this somewhere in ths thread already but some example of what could be achieved here with some cohesive joint development plans and partnerships. https://www.glevents.co.uk/solutions/sporting-events/football/
This shouldnt be a pipedream as a stand at Oriel Park!! (RSJs in view lines would keep it retro..).
https://www.glevents.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/Football-Stadium-Construction-Tiered-Seating-002.jpg
Barnet's entire stadium is made up of this stuff, and it's a great facility.
No reason why clubs in Ireland couldn't look to do the same to get quicker results at a lower price.
13/11/2020, 5:22 PM
Barnet's entire stadium is made up of this stuff, and it's a great facility.
No reason why clubs in Ireland couldn't look to do the same to get quicker results at a lower price.
I like The Hive, probably as ye can see how the YDC/Shed in Oriel could have ended up looking or even be with some work. Its a great community facility and Barnet turned a mess in to, well a hive of activity. The good and the bad of partnerships, groundshares, local council wranglings, different sports associations trying to shaft each other, and a development eventually usable after a council steps in - sound familiar...just condensed in to a shorter timeframe than experienced in LoI projects. Ye'd like to think due to some sensible thinkng from councils got things over the line in the end but really I think some rivalry kicked in between neighbouring boroughs regardless of denials and debate on duplicating facilities. Saracens had form for bullying football clubs they were sharing with, so it worked out best probably though Tallaght, Stranrolar issues were or are almost blips in comparison - Dalymount/Tolka/Shels/Bohs might push it close.
Actually, now to think of it, the GAA did play a peripheral role as Wealdstone ended up moving to Ruislip which caused some hissy fits in London GAA circles.
13/11/2020, 5:24 PM
Eh? How do you figure that?
In the sense they're just bucket seats bolted into concrete. I know they are actually permanent seats but they're as basic as you can get.
13/11/2020, 5:27 PM
In what sense is it temporary? Are you thinking of the old Belfield Park? The Bowl could do with the roof being extended to cover all the seats, but there's nothing temporary about it.
I was a couple of drinks in last night and didn't really make sense. I know it's a permanent structure but the seats themselves are just bucket seats bolted in and not really designed to be sat in.
13/11/2020, 5:29 PM
I was a couple of drinks in last night and didn't really make sense. I know it's a permanent structure but the seats themselves are just bucket seats bolted in and not really designed to be sat in.
Fair to say, and I find them not very comfortable, but I can't say I've noticed anywhere else in the league as significantly more comfortable. They're football grounds, not premium seats at the cinema.
Yossarian
13/11/2020, 5:31 PM
Are most permanent stands not just bucket seats bolted into concrete steps though?
13/11/2020, 5:48 PM
Would have thought so alright. They are in Tallaght for example.
Belfield Park was bucket seats bolted onto a plank of wood. That had way more of a temporary feel to it.
Buller
13/11/2020, 10:13 PM
Belfield Park was bucket seats bolted onto a plank of wood. That had way more of a temporary feel to it.
I remember Belfield Parks shakey little stands! The Bowl is a thousand times better and the perfect ground for UCD's needs.
15/11/2020, 12:30 AM
Yeah, that's fair enough. I didn't mean it in a disparaging way or to suggest Tallaght is Wembley, it's just that LOI stadiums are generally rudimentary.
bohsmug
15/11/2020, 8:59 PM
That Boreham Wood Stand looks quite nice. Nice roof. Can some billionaire not just buy 40 of them and throw them around the league.
vinnie
18/11/2020, 11:16 PM
I remember Belfield Parks shakey little stands! The Bowl is a thousand times better and the perfect ground for UCD's needs.
Ah No, I Loved going to belfield, you always felt like if you moaned too much you'd fall through, proper football ground, Missed
18/11/2020, 11:33 PM
Ah No, I Loved going to belfield, you always felt like if you moaned too much you'd fall through, proper football ground, Missed
We used to have a lot of fun jumping up and down in synch so the whole row began to wobble.
I'm sorry, that is not something that resonates with me.
19/11/2020, 9:39 AM
Yeah just not feeling it myself!
EatYerGreens
19/11/2020, 12:44 PM
It must've been made of jelly if UCD's support was sufficient to make it tremble :p
19/11/2020, 12:48 PM
It must've been made of jelly if UCD's support was sufficient to make it tremble :p
Never underestimate the power of resonance.
https://i.makeagif.com/media/12-02-2015/9iJSTS.gif
We were few in number but, ahem, stout fellows.
bohsmug
19/11/2020, 3:39 PM
Was also handy for getting free programmes back when I was small and skinny enough to be able to climb under the stand and collect the ones that had fallen.
Northsider
15/02/2021, 10:17 PM
Looks the wheels are slowly starting to turn...
https://mobile.twitter.com/Paschald/status/1361317838460497921
15/02/2021, 11:18 PM
Looks the wheels are slowly starting to turn...
https://mobile.twitter.com/Paschald/status/1361317838460497921
Nice for some, isn't it...only 13 years waiting.
EatYerGreens
15/02/2021, 11:53 PM
Nice for some, isn't it...only 13 years waiting.
Harps need to find a way to make their stadium a genuine issue at the next council and Dáil elections.
16/02/2021, 12:01 AM
Harps need to find a way to make their stadium a genuine issue at the next council and Dáil elections.
Easy, just sell it. Twice.
Northsider
16/02/2021, 8:35 AM
Would be a master stroke if Harps could pull that off Charlie.
EatYerGreens
16/02/2021, 3:11 PM
I think Harps like being the only Irish club with two stadiums.
bohsmug
16/02/2021, 4:15 PM
The Harps stadium situation is a mess but I don't really see how progress with Dalymount really impacts it. How much would it cost to build something like Sligo's main stand in the showgrounds and something like the 600 seater stand in Larne behind the goal with the grass verge in Finn Park? That would make a beautiful little ground IMO.
16/02/2021, 9:23 PM
The Harps stadium situation is a mess but I don't really see how progress with Dalymount really impacts it. How much would it cost to build something like Sligo's main stand in the showgrounds and something like the 600 seater stand in Larne behind the goal with the grass verge in Finn Park? That would make a beautiful little ground IMO.
The issue is that Dalymount is a new project, only started this past couple of years.
Harps have a half built main stand, on a site that broke ground 13 years ago, and funds owed by the government weren't paid to get it completed.
It stings a bit to see public funding released to get Dalymount project up and running, while the new stadium in Stranorlar continues to rot, to a point where it may need to be knocked before it can continue onwards..
And trust me, there's plenty of Harps fans out there that would happily discard the new stadium project to see Finn Park done up.
17/02/2021, 2:55 AM
The issue is that Dalymount is a new project, only started this past couple of years.
Harps have a half built main stand, on a site that broke ground 13 years ago, and funds owed by the government weren't paid to get it completed.
It stings a bit to see public funding released to get Dalymount project up and running, while the new stadium in Stranorlar continues to rot, to a point where it may need to be knocked before it can continue onwards..
And trust me, there's plenty of Harps fans out there that would happily discard the new stadium project to see Finn Park done up.
I know Ive probed and regularly questioned the eccentricities of the Stranrolar development - but 'funds owed by govt' not paid? That needs some additional explanation!
I think Bohs have a different situation in that they are dealing with the City Council primarily while we are dealing with the Department of Sport. Throughout the process we have jumped through every hoop, provided everything asked for in many cases over and over again but the progress is glacial. We now have the ridiculous situation where the work that has been done may become unfit for purpose. Not there yet so if we get moving soon it can be progressed.
redobit
17/02/2021, 11:35 AM
Ah its the usual bull. When it comes to infrastructure the North West of the country seem to have to fight tooth an nail to get anything.
bohsmug
17/02/2021, 12:18 PM
The progress with Dalymount has probably been slower than you think. It was sold to DCC for the specific purpose of redevelopment 6 years ago and there still hasn't been an architectural drawing or planning application of any sort. This money is only to begin that process. Then you can be fairly sure that whenever the drawing is done there will be objections, all that slow process to go through. Then construction goes out to tender, which will probably take an age. The project includes a €15m sale of Tolka Park as far as I can remember. Then the project is supposed to include all manner of community facilities for a heavily populated area, it won't belong to the clubs. Bohs still really need to work towards buying their own base in the long term.
The Finn Harps stadium situation is a mess and it is a scandal, no doubt. It's horrible to see a half built modern stand dilapidating before our eyes. I'd also fear that it could be a bit of a case of "careful what you wish for" too with the new ground. A new magnificent mega stand costing between €6-7m will likely be the only thing ever built at the ground. It seems unlikely that Harps will be able to independently raise the money to build the two terraces and the other stand to run the other side of the pitch. If Harps get grants of around €6-7m, there'll probably be no likelihood of receiving more grants. Plus the likelihood is the capacity and facilities of the one stand will suffice and it will feel very flat as a ground. Apologies if I literally have all of that information wrong, which is very possible as an outsider.
I'd love if clubs here had more realistic aims with ground improvements instead of the pipe dreams of 8k, 10k all seater stadiums that are currently in "phase 1". Too many examples of this to go through and the grand Dalymount project probably fits into that too, although my club bias will make me a bit blind to it.
Dalymount situation is still a mess, with all manner of difficulties from being tied into the shopping centre redevelopment, co-living proposals, tesco owning a plot in the middle of the shopping centre. And that's before you even get into originally selling it to a developer who went bust in a turnkey arrangement 15 years ago. Or selling more of the ground than we thought we did 5 years before that. A lot of this is Bohs own doing no doubt but it's all been an unholy mess and isn't really all that close to being resolved yet.