View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 [83] 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172

seand
06/11/2015, 8:42 AM
What the....?

Three of those stands are two-tiered. Are Bray looking at a 20,000 seater ground?

Personally I think it's only a matter of time before this happens. What could possibly go wrong? And what developer pumping tens of millions into a development like this wouldn't want a midranking League of Ireland team taking up 70% of their site? Yes, sir, this is going to work out super well for Bray Wanderers!

06/11/2015, 8:55 AM
Had heard rumours of Bray trying to sign Sean Hoare and totally dismissed it, in fact I laughed at the person who told me but the latest seems to be there will be an injection of cash and these plans would seem to tie into that, interesting times ahead for Bray perhaps

Lots of rumours going around of a big injection in bray. Can only see it ending one way myself. Be a great novelty to watch a LOI game in a 2 tier stadium tho I must say.

06/11/2015, 9:34 AM
Can see it already " we'll start with the apartments and finish the stadium after that" a year passes "the apartments are finished but money has dried up and we won't get around to building the rest of the ground up"

ThePrisoner
06/11/2015, 10:59 AM
Would love to see the cost-benefit analysis for the 30m state investment, never mind the many 20,000-30,000 capacity county grounds around the country that will be filled once a year if they're lucky

It's actually called vote-benefit analysis.

total hoofball
06/11/2015, 6:18 PM
Had heard rumours of Bray trying to sign Sean Hoare and totally dismissed it, in fact I laughed at the person who told me but the latest seems to be there will be an injection of cash and these plans would seem to tie into that, interesting times ahead for Bray perhaps
Wouldn't be shocked about that. Peter Cherrie and now Mick Daly both signed on 2 year contracts with them. Bray seem to be confident now they have firm cash behind them though the history of LOI clubs and property developers will tell you this will end in tears for alot of people.

BWFC
06/11/2015, 11:00 PM
Wheres this "new stadium" stuff coming from? Isn't that the planned Carlisle Grounds redevelopment from years ago?

ger121
07/11/2015, 7:46 AM
I wonder if things will get going again on the the new Finn Harps stadium, now that they are back in the big time.

White Horse
07/11/2015, 12:03 PM
I wonder if things will get going again on the the new Finn Harps stadium, now that they are back in the big time.

There will be even more demands on their revenue streams now. Competing in the premier division doesn't come cheap, unless they plan for a quick return to the first division.

Where will they get the money?

oriel
07/11/2015, 12:51 PM
Is there any date even suggested on when Harps hope to move into the new ground? Agree with WH on the finances, very expensive to put a team together to be competitive in the PD, especially after winning promotion and more so via the play off.

07/11/2015, 1:06 PM
There will be even more demands on their revenue streams now. Competing in the premier division doesn't come cheap, unless they plan for a quick return to the first division.

It's the builders who are paying for it afaik and they're broke.

07/11/2015, 1:21 PM

The money is already there for the new stadium. Harps haven't a penny to their name, the sale of Finn Park is paying for the new stadium along with grant money.

Guitd
07/11/2015, 1:21 PM
It better be very soon as NO way in its present condition and IF the Fai implement the licence criteria will Finn Park be given a premier licence

BWFC
07/11/2015, 4:42 PM
I love that design for a new Carlisle grounds, but not a chance of it happening. I'd love if we got a proper stand for our main stand though instead of our plastic one we have now. Having a small terraced stand behind the goal would be nice as well

sulywaterfordfc
07/11/2015, 9:17 PM
Wouldn't be as cold as it would be totally enclosed. I beleive this would be more suitable https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pirelli_Stadium

If it was all seated it would a great stadium for mot LOI clubs but given majority of the standing is covered terracing I don't think its too suitable. Although I think Leyton Orients ground would be a good design for Bray to follow provided they're going down the route of building apartments overlooking the stadium.

On another note I was over in Exeter during the summer and thought it'd be great if most LOI grounds were similar. I think St. James Park (Exeter City) would be a good model for the redevelopment of Dalymount. Even thou its a three sided stand stadium with a similar outlook and four stands the capacity would be 9/10k which is what most would like to see.

07/11/2015, 10:39 PM
The money is already there for the new stadium. Harps haven't a penny to their name, the sale of Finn Park is paying for the new stadium along with grant money.

Well not unless the developer has handed over the cash already for Finn Park, which would have been very generous considering the wait for access to the site to get building; Harps hardly have the money sitting there to build the new place. The delays i'd imagine are mostly because the value of Finn Park is a fraction of what the developers tied themselves in to. If Harps are totally skint and builders contiune to stall, well a medium term strategy could be to let the new build go derelict, make sure that is the home base of the dirtbags in the area so Donegal CC decide that it is cheaper just to finish it off and get rent than to demolish and leave the site ownership et al in limbo! Or try selling Finn Park over again.....

SeanDMRooney
07/11/2015, 10:53 PM
Well not unless the developer has handed over the cash already for Finn Park, which would have been very generous considering the wait for access to the site to get building; Harps hardly have the money sitting there to build the new place. The delays i'd imagine are mostly because the value of Finn Park is a fraction of what the developers tied themselves in to. If Harps are totally skint and builders contiune to stall, well a medium term strategy could be to let the new build go derelict, make sure that is the home base of the dirtbags in the area so Donegal CC decide that it is cheaper just to finish it off and get rent than to demolish and leave the site ownership et al in limbo! Or try selling Finn Park over again.....

IMHO there would be zero chance of DCC stepping in to finish it there is, i suspect and i know a bit about the political landscape, zero willpower to finish it and until last night zero political downside to not finishing it. The council is also skint for money AFAIK so any comparison with SDCC and Tallaght would be way off base I would think! That being said I could be wrong I have been known to be in the past

If I'm being honest I'm worried about it because the pace of the development is frustratingly slow and what I'm afraid of is by the time that the development is started again at any pace serious remedial work will be required on what is already in place. I havent a breeze why the grant money hasnt been released in order get it going (people in the know told me they suspect its cos they havent the money to match the governments funds I dont know if this is true?) but its too the point where an obsessive like me is considering FOIing the department

07/11/2015, 11:19 PM

We'll not get into it on a public forum, but it's best just to say the money is most certainly already there and the build is completely out of Harps hands.

I do believe that given promotion, there should be a serious amount of pressure put onto the builder to get cracking.

northwestexile
08/11/2015, 9:07 PM
If it was all seated it would a great stadium for mot LOI clubs but given majority of the standing is covered terracing I don't think its too suitable.

Why does it need to be an all seater stadium?

GCdfc
09/11/2015, 8:16 AM
Rumour that the Aviva is to get approximately 30 new seats (if you believe the Indo), 12 if you see the photos.

SalvadorSanchez
09/11/2015, 9:07 AM
Why does it need to be an all seater stadium?

Spot on!

To be honest for a LOI ground an all seater set up is not necessary, it's an expensive luxury, but if clubs want it good luck to them.... if you look at a ground like the Pirelli Stadium (Burton Albion) it's modern with decent facilities, covered stands etc. but the bulk of the capacity is terracing rather than seating. A lot of people like to stand at LOI games and there aren't issues like violence and overcrowding etc. (which lead to the demise of terraced grounds in England/Europe)
If a club can do segregation and/or proper crowd control in the LOI, terracing is perfectly adequate especially if clubs can get complete grounds built cheaper.
Given the choice between a seat or space in modern terrace with a roof, proper view etc. I suspect a lot of people would be happier in a terrace especially if it was cheaper than a seat.
There's lots of standing in our league already, a lot of done in banks of crappy, brittle, damaged seats which is actually, less safe than a spot on a proper terrace with barriers...

Sean South
09/11/2015, 2:27 PM
I don't see the need for all seated grounds either. It would be better if clubs followed the German or Scandinavian model with a mixture of seats and terraces.

sullanefc
09/11/2015, 2:36 PM
Rumour that the Aviva is to get approximately 30 new seats (if you believe the Indo), 12 if you see the photos.
A group of Dundalk fans helping with the renovations. Between stadium renovations and their affinity for golf, there is an air of the Celtic tiger developer about the Dundalk fans.

bluewhitearmy
09/11/2015, 2:37 PM
Does Finn Park have a premier licence? If not what will be required to bring it up to standard? Only asking because reading an interview with the chairman after the game and he was saying basically they might struggle a bit with off the field stuff after promotion was wondering what he meant.

For the record before anyone thinks I am being bitter about them beating us I would be disgusted if we were kept up because of anything off the field.

09/11/2015, 3:10 PM
We'll get a derogation because the new ground is in progress.

And because not doing so would be just mean.

But certainly Finn Park isn't the ideal premier division venue and limits our match night revenues.

joey B
09/11/2015, 4:12 PM
We'll get a derogation because the new ground is in progress.

And because not doing so would be just mean.

But certainly Finn Park isn't the ideal premier division venue and limits our match night revenues.

But at what point will the FAI say they need to see actual progress on the ground? because at the minute the whole thing is a bit of a farce and Friday night showed of all nights that Finn Park is just not fit for purpose anymore.

09/11/2015, 4:38 PM
About the same time they ask Drogheda how their stadium plans are progressing I assume.

09/11/2015, 5:14 PM
Exactly- Drogheda got by for years on nothing but plans. We have actual structures over there and funding in place. It's slow, but there is a real project there.

And if Friday night proved anything to me it's that terracing is still the business. Feck all-seater grounds.

disgruntled
09/11/2015, 6:17 PM
Just imagine the govt contributing 25m+ into redeveloping league club grounds, think of all the basic improvements such as toilet, turnstile, terrace and various other extras that could be added to all the league grounds to bring them up to some better facility and attractive for fans.

I'm wishing on a star..............!:star:

Think of all the money that could be wasted :rolleyes:

colonelwest
10/11/2015, 10:19 AM
I don't see the need for all seated grounds either. It would be better if clubs followed the German or Scandinavian model with a mixture of seats and terraces.

Any new ground or work being done to current ones should look at getting the rail seating in they have in Germany and elsewhere in Europe if at all possible. Means those who want to stand can stand and vice versa for seated. Plus they count as permanent seating for European games with UEFA as well.

Using Oriel as the example, we got the dregs of Croker's old seats during the BETOP campaign a few years ago when we got into Europe under Fozzie and within a year or two they were in bits. Couple the cost of getting them in, even at a discount, and having to replace them we probably could have gotten the rail seating in which would last far longer and save money in the long run. Also less broken seats! :D

ForzaHoop
10/11/2015, 10:33 AM
I am hoping to god between them Harps and the builders can get work going again on the new Stadium for next season as it would massively increase numbers

disgruntled
10/11/2015, 11:10 AM
http://www.wdr-rt-taggart.com/HTML/Masterplanning/Bray/Bray-3.html

Seeing is believing :)

SalvadorSanchez
10/11/2015, 4:49 PM
Any new ground or work being done to current ones should look at getting the rail seating in they have in Germany and elsewhere in Europe if at all possible. Means those who want to stand can stand and vice versa for seated. Plus they count as permanent seating for European games with UEFA as well.

Using Oriel as the example, we got the dregs of Croker's old seats during the BETOP campaign a few years ago when we got into Europe under Fozzie and within a year or two they were in bits. Couple the cost of getting them in, even at a discount, and having to replace them we probably could have gotten the rail seating in which would last far longer and save money in the long run. Also less broken seats! :D

I used to be be a fan of German style Railseats but really might not work in our league. First off they're a lot, I mean, A LOT, more expensive that normal seats and they can't be used in mixed configurations -- they're either all locked up as a terrace or unlocked as seats not a mix of both ... they've also got restricted views with loads of bars in your eye line when you're sat down and a nice metal bar at head height so you can clock yourself off it every time when you move.
They work in Germany because;
1. the clubs that have them have a realistic chance of hosting the national team every few years, requiring all seater set up... (not the case in LOI grounds)
2. the clubs that have them have a realistic chance of getting into an extended European campaign every few years (again not the case here if we're honest)
3. the clubs that have them have such demand for tickets for league games that allows them to let in 5,000 - 10,000 extra fans in a standing configuration vs. a seated configuration (again not the case here in the LOI)
4. German Fire Services, Local authorities and Clubs are competent enough to achieve fire and safety certs for grounds for extra capacity when in standing configuration. Do you want to bet on an Irish fire chief giving a cert for extra numbers in a standing configuration after spending all that extra cash on railseats? Bet it would be "Ye have 500 seats so ye can have 500 standing places lads..just in case like" because like it or not that's how we do business here...

To be honest I think a set up like Pirelli Stadium (Burton Albion) Broadhurst Park (FC United of Manchester) or Princes Park (Dartford) with 1 or 2 fully seated stands and decent modern safe terraces making up the bulk of the capacity would be the way to go for most clubs like Bray, Drogs, Harps, Wexford, Athlone or even finishing off grounds at Dundalk, Galway, UCD, Sligo. I suppose the bigger clubs like Bohs (when JD builds them a 10k seater), Rovers, Cork need their seats....
I'd prefer a finished ground with decent elevated and roofed terraces than a windswept 2 sided set up like loads of us have....

SalvadorSanchez
10/11/2015, 5:07 PM
Seeing is believing :)

You can imagine the Architect and the builders going "Lads do we really need this pesky football pitch?"

10/11/2015, 7:08 PM
I'd say that at best the stand in Oriel would be modernised and extended. So we will still be open ended and windswept. Traffic management will be the biggest issue for any capacity increase beyond the current seated capacity. So extending the stand taking in the seated capacity of the east and west terraces would be a way round this. A new stand behind the town goal would be a tough sell to planners without a new road system and car park. Thats after the lease issue is resolved at some point. The big thing this close season will be whether the pitch passes UEFA tests. If not the the whole lease issue will come to a head much quicker before a few hundred thousand euro is spent on a pitch. Could have some premier league football in United Park next season after all for a bit at least.

SalvadorSanchez
10/11/2015, 7:22 PM
I'd say that at best the stand in Oriel would be modernised and extended. So we will still be open ended and windswept. Traffic management will be the biggest issue for any capacity increase beyond the current seated capacity. So extending the stand taking in the seated capacity of the east and west terraces would be a way round this. A new stand behind the town goal would be a tough sell to planners without a new road system and car park. Thats after the lease issue is resolved at some point. The big thing this close season will be whether the pitch passes UEFA tests. If not the the whole lease issue will come to a head much quicker before a few hundred thousand euro is spent on a pitch. Could have some premier league football in United Park next season after all for a bit at least.
Seriously? United Park? Can't see Drogs going for that... might have to go further than that for 90mins of magic...

10/11/2015, 8:41 PM
Seriously? United Park? Can't see Drogs going for that... might have to go further than that for 90mins of magic...

Would they turn away the revenue?

SalvadorSanchez
10/11/2015, 9:43 PM
Would they turn away the revenue?
Can't see DFC giving away all the gate receipts to Drogs... so likely little benefit to Drogs. Would Drogs make what €7.50 a head and DFC the rest? Hardly worth it for either club considering rivalry/bad blood between clubs/supporters...

10/11/2015, 9:45 PM
Can't see DFC giving away all the gate receipts to Drogs... so likely little benefit to Drogs. Would Drogs make what €7.50 a head and DFC the rest? Hardly worth it for either club considering rivalry/bad blood between clubs/supporters...
I imagine they'd just charge a fee.

cob655
10/11/2015, 10:14 PM

Would they even have a choice in the matter considering its the FAIs ground not Drogheda's..?

10/11/2015, 11:37 PM
Lads you're talking like this hasn't happened before

10/11/2015, 11:49 PM
It wasnt an issue for the Malmo European game after the pitch works then. Also for a few games before we went to Gortakeegan. Its all speculative but there has to be some contingency if the pitch fails testing and the lease is up in the air. Newry Showgrounds would be my preference if we had to move for a bit. Only 10 minutes up the M1 so closest of the options.

10/11/2015, 11:50 PM
It wasnt an issue for the Malmo European game after the pitch works then. Also for a few games before we went to Gortakeegan. Its all speculative but there has to be some contingency if the pitch fails testing and the lease is up in the air. Newry Showgrounds would be my preference if we had to move for a bit. Only 10 minutes up the M1 so closest of the options.
Surely you wouldn't head into next season hoping the same pitch passes licensing?

11/11/2015, 3:34 AM
Surely you wouldn't head into next season hoping the same pitch passes licensing?

The club have longer-term ambitions too, but they are complicated by a dispute over the lease on their Oriel Park ground with former owner Gerry Matthews.They cannot apply for government grants until they sort out an issue which revolves around a Youth Development Centre constructed on the site under his watch. Attempts at mediation have failed to secure an agreement.
Back-to-back league titles have boosted the Dundalk coffers, but they know that the substantial cost of refurbishing their dated home will devour profits.
And later this month, tests on their artificial pitch will determine what course of action is necessary in that department heading into 2016. The purchase of a hybrid pitch - which is made of synthetics and grass - is one option that is being considered.
However, the club's hierarchy are reluctant to plough large sums of money into the venue without control of the lease. The delay could damage their prospects of hosting next year's Champions League qualifier in the town and pose larger questions.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/dundalk-ponder-pitch-issues-as-cup-final-excitement-builds-34168569.html

D24Saint
11/11/2015, 7:34 AM

It could get sticky involving the IFA themselves & the FAI haven't got the greatest relationship.

11/11/2015, 2:48 PM
We'll just throw in the Derry City example, especially as they have some temporary moving to do soon. They'd never be expected to move out of the city by the IFA during renovations like. Dundalk to Newry - that may seem too much like a border moving north but you never know...

oriel
11/11/2015, 4:01 PM
I'm hearing a new Hybrid pitch is seriously being considered for next season, and the fact that its made of synthetics and grass will mean it can be installed fairly quickly.

However the lease issue and continuing talks between the current and old owners is still a major stumbling block on improvements being made. If this can be resolved, I`d love to see the main stand extended, that would solve the away end issue in one go, a new build behind the town goal would be ideal, but even with the club enjoying something of a bonanza in income streams, all of these projects will cost huge amounts of money, and that will dictate progress like everything else.

11/11/2015, 5:07 PM
The Hybrid pitch is fast becoming the most popular pitch to install worldwide. Lansdowne Road and Croke Park already have it as well as numerous grounds across the UK.

It's quite expensive, but it's stupidly durable if looked after properly, which should suit the winter season to a tee.

Aaron
11/11/2015, 7:15 PM
We'll just throw in the Derry City example, especially as they have some temporary moving to do soon. They'd never be expected to move out of the city by the IFA during renovations like. Dundalk to Newry - that may seem too much like a border moving north but you never know...

???

Anyway for our pitch to go down, my preference would be Celtic Park next to our ground, that would depend on GAA allowing us of course

SeanDMRooney
11/11/2015, 7:20 PM
???

Anyway for our pitch to go down, my preference would be Celtic Park next to our ground, that would depend on GAA allowing us of course

Any sign of the work actually happening to necessitate a move ?

Aaron
11/11/2015, 7:22 PM
It was all confirmed there about 2 weeks ago that planning was accepted and funding was obtained. They have already started work