View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)
dlhoop
04/04/2021, 7:59 PM
Bizarre article. He seems to be arguing in circles with himself. "the grounds are in bits but clubs will lose their souls without their current set-ups but the grounds are in bits but....."
redobit
04/04/2021, 8:07 PM
So the Sligo Rovers CEO just won a car in the Finn Harps mega draw.
#greatestleagueintheworld
Good man Colin, fancy doing another draw? I’ll give you a tenner...
joey B
04/04/2021, 8:52 PM
So the Sligo Rovers CEO just won a car in the Finn Harps mega draw.
#greatestleagueintheworld
Got a good laugh outa that,fair play to him!
vinnie
04/04/2021, 11:16 PM
Who won the Quarter Of Coal, I was dying to win that. Jokes aside, Harps lads supported us in our hour of Need, hope yiz made a few bob
05/04/2021, 11:14 AM
Got a good laugh outa that,fair play to him!
I needed that car so boooooo!
EatYerGreens
05/04/2021, 11:47 AM
I am not to sure about this piece , but I don't see it linked anywhere, so here it is. Quote about the Showgrounds 'The ground has three stands; all of which are quite dilapidated and seemingly outdated.'
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2021/0401/1207484-grounds-for-redevelopment-modernising-loi-stadiums/
I struggle to see how this passes off as a bit of journalism. We all know that the stadiums in the LOI aren't good enough (though I think he's been very harsh on the Sligo Showgrounds). But it's hard to work out whether this piece is for or against changing that - as he is obsessed with stadiums having soul, being receptacles for memories and not modernising.
Bucket
05/04/2021, 12:25 PM
I saw the kid that wrote this on social media the other day. He posted a link of his article and said how grateful he is that RTE published it. Something along those lines. I'd say he's a secondary school student who has a relative working in RTE, that's basically how the rest of them get jobs there.
The section behind the goals in the showgrounds is only a few years old. How is it dilapidated ffs? He'll fit right in to that newsroom after his leaving cert anyway
05/04/2021, 1:07 PM
Never mind the new stand in the Showgrounds. The main stand is a great facility too. It's only the gantry side/away side that's any way dilapidated. Most clubs would love to have what Sligo have there.
05/04/2021, 3:32 PM
I saw the kid that wrote this on social media the other day. He posted a link of his article and said how grateful he is that RTE published it. Something along those lines. I'd say he's a secondary school student who has a relative working in RTE, that's basically how the rest of them get jobs there.
The section behind the goals in the showgrounds is only a few years old. How is it dilapidated ffs? He'll fit right in to that newsroom after his leaving cert anyway
Im glad you mentioned this as I was thinking that I had been in the showgrounds just before the seating was installed in the main stand so how could it be seen as bad as its not eons ago and if it was considered dilapidated then so should I be!
05/04/2021, 3:33 PM
Never mind the new stand in the Showgrounds. The main stand is a great facility too. It's only the gantry side/away side that's any way dilapidated. Most clubs would love to have what Sligo have there.
I havent being in Showgrounds since 2015 I reckon but I always found it one of the most welcoming grounds in the country with superb facilities. Yeah strange article. I can understand Dundalk and Harps but not Sligo Rovers.
I am not to sure about this piece , but I don't see it linked anywhere, so here it is. Quote about the Showgrounds 'The ground has three stands; all of which are quite dilapidated and seemingly outdated.'
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2021/0401/1207484-grounds-for-redevelopment-modernising-loi-stadiums/
Written by a 15 year old Watford Fan 🤔
05/04/2021, 7:09 PM
Surely United Park is a more legitimate target for criticism than the Showgrounds? Though I actually like the nostalgic feel of being on the away terrace in Drogheda.
Bucket
05/04/2021, 7:40 PM
Hard to beat a covered terrace. It's such a pity that UEFA insist on all-seaters.
Any Sligo fans have more information about that feasibility study on rebuilding the Showgrounds that was mentioned in the article?
Eminence Grise
05/04/2021, 8:08 PM
While I'd usually nod in agreement at the perception of nepotism being rife in RTE (even though I know several people working/previously worked there who didn't have relations to get them in the door) in this case he's a 15-year old living in London who doesn't work for RTE but has also had material published in FourFourTwo. Which is impressive - I thought the article was more in line with a third-level student/graduate. Desk-based research rather than field work, but I'll forgive him that much. His LinkedIn is out there for anybody interested, but I'm chary of posting a link to a minor's page.
thebronze14
05/04/2021, 8:30 PM
Surely United Park is a more legitimate target for criticism than the Showgrounds? Though I actually like the nostalgic feel of being on the away terrace in Drogheda.
Favourite terrace in the league
redobit
05/04/2021, 9:07 PM
Any Sligo fans have more information about that feasibility study on rebuilding the Showgrounds that was mentioned in the article?
The Showgrounds is over 13 acres, I doubt any other club has that size of land holding at their disposal and its 100 percent owned by the club/ fans. It is used every day at the moment for training, camps, public car park, outdoor museum, etc. and the clubhouse even hosted a polling station in recent EU elections. That said it needs to be developed and utilised better because everything it generates go straight back into Rovers coffers. Plus the ground needs to be improved for match day experience and for the day to day facilities to run the club.
The Masterplan will be complete early summer and will be very detailed.
Bucket
05/04/2021, 10:52 PM
Thanks, didn't know the site was that big, a fantastic asset to own.
05/04/2021, 11:02 PM
The Showgrounds is over 13 acres, I doubt any other club has that size of land holding at their disposal and its 100 percent owned by the club/ fans. It is used every day at the moment for training, camps, public car park, outdoor museum, etc. and the clubhouse even hosted a polling station in recent EU elections. That said it needs to be developed and utilised better because everything it generates go straight back into Rovers coffers. Plus the ground needs to be improved for match day experience and for the day to day facilities to run the club.
The Masterplan will be complete early summer and will be very detailed.
I'd say LTFC would own a similar amount of land around the ground too.
06/04/2021, 12:31 AM
There's probably more between Harps new stadium and the adjacent training facilities. It's what all clubs should strive for though. Sligo have set the blueprints.
sbgawa
06/04/2021, 1:28 AM
Appreciate its all a bit up in the air at the moment but do u reckon fine park could be astro for the underage stuff.?
Appreciate its all a bit up in the air at the moment but do u reckon fine park
New Sponsorship deal, Joe Mchugh involved?
Bucket
06/04/2021, 9:47 AM
Appreciate its all a bit up in the air at the moment but do u reckon fine park could be astro for the underage stuff.?
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2021/0405/1208022-harps-secure-more-land-and-target-home-for-female-teams/
New base for their women's and girls teams
sbgawa
06/04/2021, 10:25 AM
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2021/0405/1208022-harps-secure-more-land-and-target-home-for-female-teams/
New base for their women's and girls teams
I saw the article my question was around astro in Fin Park for underage games.
I think it would make sense as maintaining two grass pitches when playing multiple games seems very expensive and difficult particularly when the Finn park pitch has historically been emmmm..... inconsistent.
Most of the Rovers underage matches take place on the Astro in roadstone for this reason with the grass kept for the senior and 19's (some times)
Its very ambitious and fair play to Harps to try to keep two stadiums going, would be easy to take the easy option of selling Finn park (if that can be done) and using the money to build out the new stadium.
06/04/2021, 10:50 AM
I don't think so. Mr A might know better than me on the subject, but the idea is to keep Finn Park, knock the shed and have basic spectator facilities, and relay the grass pitch again, to the best of my knowledge.
Nobody wants the astro as a main playing surface. There's a plan for astro pitches between the stadium and training ground, which are about 400 metres apart.
Would be a shame to see another club go down the fake pitch route so that’s good to hear.
Only ourselves and Dundalk atm? Even that is two to many.
joey B
06/04/2021, 10:52 AM
I saw the article my question was around astro in Fin Park for underage games.
I think it would make sense as maintaining two grass pitches when playing multiple games seems very expensive and difficult particularly when the Finn park pitch has historically been emmmm..... inconsistent.
Most of the Rovers underage matches take place on the Astro in roadstone for this reason with the grass kept for the senior and 19's (some times)
Its very ambitious and fair play to Harps to try to keep two stadiums going, would be easy to take the easy option of selling Finn park (if that can be done) and using the money to build out the new stadium.
At the minute we're renting grounds about 5 km away in a local village for the academy teams and also spending on training for the senior team in Letterkenny, so if the new training ground comes on board it should see some funds freed up.
I'm not sure what the plans are for the pitch at Finn Park but I'd imagine an astro pitch is low on the list of objectives for now.....
Plan would be to do a full upgrade on the Finn Park pitch
06/04/2021, 12:01 PM
Would be a shame to see another club go down the fake pitch route so that’s good to hear.
Only ourselves and Dundalk atm? Even that is two to many.
Athlone too, and saw a mention in preseason that Galway were planning on going down that route soon.
redobit
06/04/2021, 12:32 PM
I don't think so. Mr A might know better than me on the subject, but the idea is to keep Finn Park, knock the shed and have basic spectator facilities, and relay the grass pitch again, to the best of my knowledge.
Nobody wants the astro as a main playing surface. There's a plan for astro pitches between the stadium and training ground, which are about 400 metres apart.
Of course that would be a great addition but could it be a case of needs must. How much do Finn harps have to gather up themselves on top of the 4 million. Car raffles and fundraising are a great boost but selling Finn Park could be the quickest and best way to inject the shortfall in costs they need to generate.
sbgawa
06/04/2021, 12:33 PM
Plan would be to do a full upgrade on the Finn Park pitch
Thats great news , delighted to hear that.
Your guy spoke very well on the rte podcast yesterday,
(good to see Sean Boyd scoring for you in last nights friendly against Sligo)
DCSIL
09/04/2021, 10:24 AM
Bohs awarded 918,750 Euro from the Large Scale Sports Investment Fund for the redevelopment of Dalymount.
Dalymountrower
09/04/2021, 11:31 AM
Bohs awarded 918,750 Euro from the Large Scale Sports Investment Fund for the redevelopment of Dalymount.
Bohs awarded zero.
Dublin City Council given funding go ahead to finalise Architect/prep work for new Dalymount Stadium. The second or third time this has been announced by the politicians.
09/04/2021, 12:38 PM
Here's a link to some coverage anyway https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/dalymount-park-revamp-kicks-off-with-900000-from-large-scale-sports-infrastructure-fund-approved-by-government-40292538.html
sbgawa
09/04/2021, 1:05 PM
This has definitely been announced before.
Given that the new pitch is going to have between 2 and potentially 4 matches every week with Shels and bohs sharing i hope they still go for grass.
If its astro we could end up with Dundalk, Shels, Bohs, Derry all in the premier and all on astro
sbgawa
09/04/2021, 1:06 PM
double post
EatYerGreens
09/04/2021, 1:20 PM
I suspect artifical turf is the future of football outside of the top leagues. It just makes sense financially re both installing (costs more than grass to put in, but can attract grant funding) and operating (costs less to maintain than grass). And then there's the fact it can increase revenues for the owners.
09/04/2021, 1:32 PM
I suspect artifical turf is the future of football outside of the top leagues. It just makes sense financially re both installing (costs more than grass to put in, but can attract grant funding) and operating (costs less to maintain than grass). And then there's the fact it can increase revenues for the owners.
It's also crap, and players hate it.
sbgawa
09/04/2021, 1:41 PM
100% and also lots of clubs are reluctant to let their players go on loan to clubs with astro.
It crossed my mind is that how come the liverpool loanee goalkeeper ended up at Pats and not Dundalk.
D24Saint
09/04/2021, 1:47 PM
I’ll miss the Jodi stand when it’s gone. It’s my favourite away ground for watching a game. It will be interesting how the project goes , IMO the 6k capacity is a bit conservative.
Buller
09/04/2021, 2:27 PM
Hopefully hybrid pitches like the Aviva become more common; natural grass with artificial fibers interspersed to give it more resilience. Note sure on the ratio. It's much more expensive but gives the good benefits of astro, but with natural bounce and play. Best of both worlds.
A new community stand will be made in the east with a new football stand in the west. The current timeline for completion of the redeveloped stadium is the start of the 2025 season but this is dependent on further funding.
What does community stand mean? I'd assumed Shels would get one side and Bohs the other? Fingers crossed the GAA don't try to hijack in court like they did with Tallaght Stadium.
Bucket
09/04/2021, 2:31 PM
One stand will house community facilities like a library, crèche, community centre type rooms, etc., while the other stand is for club offices and corporate hospitality. You'd wonder though having two rival club offices in the same building could be a bit awkward. Much like PFAI having to share a building with that shower
D24Saint
09/04/2021, 2:40 PM
One stand will house community facilities like a library, crèche, community centre type rooms, etc., while the other stand is for club offices and corporate hospitality. You'd wonder though having two rival club offices in the same building could be a bit awkward. Much like PFAI having to share a building with that shower
It would be interesting to see how office space would be split. I don’t intend to be vicious but Bohs would need a lot more space than Shelbourne would.
Bucket
09/04/2021, 2:44 PM
Imagine the arguments over single-use plastics in the canteen?
sbgawa
09/04/2021, 3:04 PM
It would be interesting to see how office space would be split. I don’t intend to be vicious but Bohs would need a lot more space than Shelbourne would.
Id say the council will divvy things up fairly evenly but either way the clubs rent will reflect the space they each take
EatYerGreens
09/04/2021, 3:08 PM
Some players dislike it, but you can't say they all do.
What makes it crap ? Especially versus a muddy or waterlogged grass pitch, or one that's been baked like a rock by the sun. At least with artificial grass it's always consistent no matter the weather.
EatYerGreens
09/04/2021, 3:09 PM
I thought Bohs were into 'treading lightly on the earth' now, and all that stuff ? A yurt in the car park should be all they need so.
D24Saint
09/04/2021, 3:14 PM
I thought Bohs were into 'treading lightly on the earth' now, and all that stuff ? A yurt in the car park should be all they need so.
I wonder will they go down the Forest Green Rovers road. I don't think you can even get milk to put into your tea.
Vegan Food | WE ARE FGR (https://www.fgr.co.uk/vegan-food)
10/04/2021, 12:20 PM
I wonder will they go down the Forest Green Rovers road. I don't think you can even get milk to put into your tea.
Vegan Food | WE ARE FGR (https://www.fgr.co.uk/vegan-food)
I'd be sneaking a naggin of milk into games. :D
Eminence Grise
10/04/2021, 2:59 PM
Heaven's above, John, you're not supposed to take milk in your organic RooiBohs. Anybody in Phibsboro can tell you that!