View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)
bohsmug
13/06/2007, 7:59 PM
The ends will be covered by 2053.:rolleyes:
His was a legitimate question I thought.
13/06/2007, 8:09 PM
i presume you mean the wall on the right??? looking at it, its only five blocks up till the gerder's run into the wall so thats hardly standing room.
There will be room for standing, as can be seen from this (http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/menu-items/photo-gallery.html) pic.
Bald Student
13/06/2007, 8:40 PM
looking at it, its only five blocks up till the gerder's run into the wall so thats hardly standing room.Those beams will presumably form part of the wall or run through the rooms. The wall is 9 blocks high which is just about standing room.
GuisaSaigon
13/06/2007, 9:07 PM
Took these up in Terryland this evening, Floodlights are down, I think they have mainly been working under the stand this week.
http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n57/guisasaigon/P1010170.jpg
http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n57/guisasaigon/P1010168.jpg
http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n57/guisasaigon/P1010166.jpg
Took these up in Terryland this evening, Floodlights are down, I think they have mainly been working under the stand this week.
yes these pictures make it look well most of the work this week has been underneath and also on the roof as can be see on the pics a safety barrier had to be built all around the edge and netting put in place as they begin to start sheeting it out on thursdey and foodlight are been replaced on roof there will be ample room for dressingrooms underneath approx 8m x 16m as per drawings i seen
Paddyfield
13/06/2007, 9:24 PM
That last remaining floodlight pylon has a Vodafone mast attached to it. They pay a few grand a year for the privilidge.
I wonder what will happen to it?
That last remaining floodlight pylon has a Vodafone mast attached to it. They pay a few grand a year for the privilidge.
I wonder what will happen to it?
nothing it stays there its not an obstruction only 3 wer in the line of the stand so the galway fa will continue to receive THEIR few grand
14/06/2007, 1:39 PM
Up to date going's on in the Showgies (http://www.sligochampion.ie/sport/soccer/coaching-and-development-centre-planned-for-showgrounds-701730.html).
14/06/2007, 1:46 PM
Fair play to Sligo and Galway there.
Where will the camera be in Terryland for our televised game tomorrow week?
BohsFans
14/06/2007, 2:01 PM
nothing it stays there its not an obstruction only 3 wer in the line of the stand so the galway fa will continue to receive THEIR few grand
that's a shame. It will obstruct the view of the goal at the end a bit.
MyTown
14/06/2007, 2:25 PM
that's a shame. It will obstruct the view of the goal at the end a bit.
I don't think it should. I think it will be behind most spectators.
Where will the camera be in Terryland for our televised game tomorrow week?
The cameraman was positioned in the middle of the new stand (above the dressing room / tunnel entrance) for our last home game - which is roughly where the camera position has been since the last renovations at the ground in 1994.
I'd say that will be a spectator free zone for your visit and probably up to the opening on August 1st.
Calcio Jack
14/06/2007, 3:18 PM
John O'Donoghue has just been appointed as Ceann Comhairle... hopefully this won't be a negative for Rovers and Tallaght
14/06/2007, 3:25 PM
John O'Donoghue has just been appointed as Ceann Comhairle... hopefully this won't be a negative for Rovers and TallaghtThought that this morning when I heard.
Depends on who the new Minister is, unfortunately its unlikely to be someone who will refuse to bow to the GAA in the way O'Donoghue did.
SolitudeRed
14/06/2007, 4:18 PM
The ends will be covered by 2053.:rolleyes:
LOL I think you misunderstood the question I was asking but well its good to know that Galway United have planned for so far into the future!
I was asking about the ends/sides of the new stand i thought some sort of Perspex screening would be put on there to cover them!
14/06/2007, 6:04 PM
its good to know that Galway United have planned for so far into the future!
They didn't get promoted for nothing, you know.
monkey magic
14/06/2007, 8:07 PM
looking at the new pics, looks like i was wrong bout the dressing rooms apologies so, looks good
Thought that this morning when I heard.
Depends on who the new Minister is, unfortunately its unlikely to be someone who will refuse to bow to the GAA in the way O'Donoghue did.
Seamus Brennan. Wouldn't fill me with confidence if I were a Rovers fan. But then again, I'd have said the same about O'Donoghue, so you never know.
Midgit
14/06/2007, 10:12 PM
Hey Galway thats a huge developement ye have there. To get that up since i was last there is an achievement. First day of the season.
I just love to see staduims in the eircom league coming on like that and i am looking forward to going back to terryland this season to see your new developement.
Will it be seated or a standing? The way forward is seating and i think Galway should try to make it all seated.
Guitd
14/06/2007, 10:25 PM
yes its seated 1500 approx
galwayhoop
14/06/2007, 10:41 PM
Will it be seated or a standing? The way forward is seating and i think Galway should try to make it all seated.
it will actually be similar in style to the East Stand at Landsdowne (smaller obviously ;)) where there will be a terrace to the front of the stand with seating behind. 1500 seates with approximately 300- 400 standing in front.
can't wait for it to open and heres hoping that it shields the pitch a bit from the extreme conditions which have ruined many games over the years!
SolitudeRed
15/06/2007, 7:30 PM
I remember hearing a while back that Finn Harps were planning on building a new 6,000 seat stadium, has there been any progress made on this project?
Paddyfield
15/06/2007, 10:18 PM
Next Monday, there will be a delivery of 3300 maroon seats in Terryland, 1800 of which are for the old stand.
The old seats will be removed by Shamrock Rovers fans next Friday. :rolleyes:
geezer
15/06/2007, 11:22 PM
noel the groundsman hang on to a few of them for me, i might put them out my back garden as momentoes, bit of history on the old seats, they came from stokes citys old ground and i managed to convince a uk transport company to pick them up at dublin and bring them to terryland. Then the 40ft container truck got down to terryland but couldnt get back out costing a major multinational in the city to miss some customer deadlines (serious **** at the time). The lad who loaded them up in dublin with me was one Paddy Flea who played with mervue utd. it was a bitch of a job and i remember my arms hanging off after getting them loaded on and off the truck god rest paddy he passed away early this year only 42.
kdjaC
16/06/2007, 11:48 AM
http://homepage.eircom.net/~kdja4/DSC00300.JPG
Stand looking a bit like a stand now.
kdjac
Buller
17/06/2007, 9:29 AM
Next Monday, there will be a delivery of 3300 maroon seats in Terryland, 1800 of which are for the old stand.
The old seats will be removed by Shamrock Rovers fans next Friday. :rolleyes:
Ill keep that in mind... ;)
MojoPin
17/06/2007, 8:24 PM
ramblers new lovely stand.................... has to be knocked. i hear
17/06/2007, 8:41 PM
ramblers new lovely stand.................... has to be knocked. i hear
:confused: planning?
17/06/2007, 8:43 PM
:confused: planning?
Something in the Cobh forum about it being two foot too tall so I guess so :confused:
18/06/2007, 2:36 AM
I thought the roof looked very high alright but i don't think the seats went that far up so maybe they can just lower the roof.
Also heard that they're builders are cack.
I suppose if they can't read a drawing then they would be alright.
iceman
18/06/2007, 11:46 AM
Pitch rezoning may net €5m for Drogheda club
Elaine Keogh
The first steps have been taken to rezone the football pitch of former FAI Cup champions Drogheda United to residential use which could increase its value to €5 million.
The pitch is in a prime location adjacent to the Lourdes hospital and three minutes from the M1 motorway. If passed, the rezoning would be worth millions to the club which is seeking a new home on a greenfield pitch on the perimeter of the town.
The rezoning is one of 16 proposed variations to the development plan for Drogheda recently outlined to local councillors. Another is to reserve land for a new bridge crossing of the River Boyne on the west side of the town.
The rezoning of the three acre football pitch, which would make it worth around €2.8 million before a single housing unit is built, is also part of a plan to relocate the club to a huge land bank at Bryanstown, south of Drogheda, and in Co Meath.
It is anticipated that if the rezoning is passed, the club could then apply for a relatively high density development allowing it to boost its value to close to €5 million.
An application to build a 10,000-seat stadium, 5,000 houses as well as extensive leisure, sports and retail developments and a road linking the M1 with the old Dublin-Belfast road, is expected to be lodged with Meath County Council shortly.
Dublin developer Bill Doyle is reported to be behind the plans having acquired the 160 acres for €110 million last year.
However there are concerns about whether the property market remains buoyant enough to merit developing so many housing units close to Drogheda.
The rezoning of the football pitch is being proposed on the basis that the club will relocate to this new southside site.
The engineer for Drogheda has advised councillors that if they do not reserve land for the new bridge crossing, which would link the Rathmullen road to the Collon road at Loughboy, and the land is subsequently built on, then the bridge will probably never be built.
The road would provide a ring route around the western boundary of the town which has been identified as a strategic approach to Drogheda and one under increasing pressure from traffic and contributing to through traffic. The full list of variations will be put on public display later in the year.
© 2007 The Irish Times
18/06/2007, 5:40 PM
An application to build a 10,000-seat stadium, 5,000 houses as well as extensive leisure, sports and retail developments and a road linking the M1 with the old Dublin-Belfast road, is expected to be lodged with Meath County Council shortly.
I thought that was already lodged?
Celdrog
18/06/2007, 5:46 PM
Not yet lodged and apparently the planning permisssion will not initially include the houses
Disclaimer - I've been wrong before so treat with a large pinch of salt. However i have to be right sometime (hopefully) :D
Comic Book Guy
18/06/2007, 7:26 PM
Think this is a classic example of 2+2 equalling 400. I doubt it very much if this is true. It's possible that the planning lodged for the stand on the open terrace was 2 feet too tall so I think they re-submitted the application.
I was told that the delay was down to the manafacture of the flooring of the stand as everything else is on site.
FarmHoop
18/06/2007, 8:33 PM
:mad:Gettin so ****ed off with the tallaght court issue
18/06/2007, 8:41 PM
The FAI have to set a time limit and put pressure on Drogheda United to get a ground. It becoming incresing difficult to justify why they don't appear to be subject to the same conditions that other clubs appear to be subjected to.
They are. Five years ago, the FAI gave clubs a five-year derogation on the ground criteria on the grounds (!) that you can't just put up a ground at the snap of your fingers. Time is now running out for all clubs, including Drogheda.
Celdrog
19/06/2007, 5:43 AM
The FAI have to set a time limit and put pressure on Drogheda United to get a ground. It becoming incresing difficult to justify why they don't appear to be subject to the same conditions that other clubs appear to be subjected to.
They already have set a time limit. Get Maxi to ring them if you don't believe it.
Louth4sam
19/06/2007, 11:30 AM
They already have set a time limit. Get Maxi to ring them if you don't believe it.
They've stopped taking his calls for some reason....
Celdrog
19/06/2007, 11:36 AM
They've stopped taking his calls for some reason....
:D:D:D
I remember hearing a while back that Finn Harps were planning on building a new 6,000 seat stadium, has there been any progress made on this project?
Stadium plans at Harps still progresing well, culminating in an allocation of €750,000 in the last Dept of Sport grants. Go to www.finnharps.com and click on STADIUM on the menu down the LHS for full news of various stages the project has gone through, including an interview with John O Donoghue and some scans of the planning drawings.
SolitudeRed
19/06/2007, 6:37 PM
Stadium plans at Harps still progresing well, culminating in an allocation of €750,000 in the last Dept of Sport grants. Go to www.finnharps.com (http://www.finnharps.com) and click on STADIUM on the menu down the LHS for full news of various stages the project has gone through, including an interview with John O Donoghue and some scans of the planning drawings.
Cheers for that link Mr T aye the proposed stadium looks brilliant! any idea how much it will cost overall? I see that it is due for completion in 2009 wonder if Derry will have sorted their new stadium out by then as well?
We're hoping to start construction this summer- but whether we can achieve that remains to be seen.
It will not cost FHFC anything as it basically is funded by the sale of the old ground (zoned as new town centre for twin towns, new ground is very close but far, far cheaper due to recreational zoning) and by government grant funding.
I think it is fair to say that there is no prospect of Derry having a new ground or a redeveloped Brandywell by then, their local council seems to be caving in to pressure from the greyhound people to some extent and messing up their plans.
BohsFans
24/06/2007, 10:44 PM
http://www.cobhramblers.com/2007/2007_pics/Match/DundalkH32.JPG
What's the craic with Cobh's stand?:confused:
http://www.cobhramblers.com/2007/2007_pics/Match/DundalkH32.JPG
What's the craic with Cobh's stand?:confused:
Heard something about it being built too high. Couple of feet above the planning permission...
superreds
25/06/2007, 2:39 PM
How is Pats new stand coming along? anymore pics?
rebelarmyexile
26/06/2007, 10:59 PM
heard they are doing some "upgrading" work in dalyer to improve disabled access, some new uefa regulations yet again. the place is lookin well tho, will be a pity to see it go, when is goes.
BohsFans
26/06/2007, 11:33 PM
heard they are doing some "upgrading" work in dalyer to improve disabled access, some new uefa regulations yet again. the place is lookin well tho, will be a pity to see it go, when is goes.
wheelchair section is being built at the front of block A. Should be ready for the Cork game.
Think it will hold 5 or 6?
27/06/2007, 10:25 AM
Obviously you've never been to the connaught st side then. Agree its a pity that it might go though.
Passed by the new Athlone stadium on way home at weekend. Looks great.
27/06/2007, 11:10 AM
wheelchair section is being built at the front of block A. Should be ready for the Cork game.
Think it will hold 5 or 6?That's why that blue cover has been over that area so?
BohsFans
28/06/2007, 12:27 AM
That's why that blue cover has been over that area so?
No, that's to stop anyone sitting or standing there, due to its proximity to the away dressing room.