View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 [147] 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172

joey B
03/11/2022, 7:22 PM
Where will Bohs play when they have to move out for a while? Inichicore or Tolka?

Glen Of Aherlow
03/11/2022, 7:22 PM
Everything about this decision is mental.
I checked Twitter earlier and in the hundreds of comments about it I didn’t see any in favour, not one.

Well if Twitter says no I guess that’s it

Philosophizer
03/11/2022, 7:29 PM
Well if Twitter says no I guess that’s it
I’m not saying that it will make any impact on the development. Just interesting to note that of the hundreds of Bohs fans talking about it I’ve yet to see a positive comment, including on here. That says something.

ger121
03/11/2022, 7:31 PM
Where will Bohs play when they have to move out for a while? Inichicore or Tolka?

Morton :p

joey B
03/11/2022, 7:33 PM
Morton :p

Happy memories!!

ger121
03/11/2022, 8:21 PM
Happy memories!!

A special place in the heart of Bohs fans.

NeverFeltBetter
09/11/2022, 5:28 PM
Only saw this article today: https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/arid-41002226.html

Shinkicker
15/11/2022, 6:14 PM
Saw in a news item. Ireland to be part of a joint bid for 2028 Euros and massive investment in the Aviva and Croke Park. Ffs if there was an investment in fly fishing Croke Park and The GAA would get a share. The link to the news item would not copy for me.

15/11/2022, 9:02 PM
Saw in a news item. Ireland to be part of a joint bid for 2028 Euros and massive investment in the Aviva and Croke Park. Ffs if there was an investment in fly fishing Croke Park and The GAA would get a share. The link to the news item would not copy for me.

Seen in paper today that there would have to be a revamp of Croke Park for this to be feasible.

Shinkicker
16/11/2022, 7:27 AM
Seen in paper today that there would have to be a revamp of Croke Park for this to be feasible.
Typical of the GAA to get a leg up from the investment. The money would be better used to revamp 2 existing Soccer grounds like Dalymount and Richmond or Tolka, OR one in Dublin and one provincial along with the Aviva. There is no point investing in a stadium where LOI or Soccer ball will never be kicked. There is already(we have been told) €40million earmarked for Dalymount for 8,000 ish capacity put in another €?? million and create 20,000 - 25,000 capacity, then do the same for another selected ground and leave the legacy stadiums as a start of LOI ground investments. Use the three Grounds to host games targeting smaller fixtures for the smaller grounds and the Aviva for bigger fixtures.
You may agree or disagree but my point is give the GAA nothing from an investment in soccer.

sbgawa
16/11/2022, 7:36 AM
You wont fit 25000 onto the Dalymount site but i take your point.
Not sure but id say the same re Tolka.
Pats green field site they had proposed to move to could work or build a new Stadium for Cork or Galway maybe

CuanaD
16/11/2022, 8:54 AM
You could fit in dalymount if they used the same idea as at this year's world cup - two-tier stadium where the top tier will be taken off & moved to fil in a different stadium after the event. Crazy outside the box thinking, but we'll soon know if it works.

EatYerGreens
16/11/2022, 11:37 AM
Typical of the GAA to get a leg up from the investment. The money would be better used to revamp 2 existing Soccer grounds like Dalymount and Richmond or Tolka, OR one in Dublin and one provincial along with the Aviva. There is no point investing in a stadium where LOI or Soccer ball will never be kicked. There is already(we have been told) €40million earmarked for Dalymount for 8,000 ish capacity put in another €?? million and create 20,000 - 25,000 capacity, then do the same for another selected ground and leave the legacy stadiums as a start of LOI ground investments. Use the three Grounds to host games targeting smaller fixtures for the smaller grounds and the Aviva for bigger fixtures.
You may agree or disagree but my point is give the GAA nothing from an investment in soccer.

It does grate to see the GAA getting even more of a handout for this - but the problem is that the needs of a major UEFA tournament and those of the LOI do not overlap at all really.

UEFA won't be looking to put games in a 20-25,000 stadium in Dublin. It's a capital city and a key location, so they'll want to put a quarter final or semi-final there as well as group games. So they'll be looking for at least twice that capacity. 20-25,000 would be far too big for LOI clubs anyway, and detract form the atmosphere IMO. Linfield getting crowds of 2,500 in the 18,500 capacity Windsor Park is not a good experience, and it wouldn't help the LOI to have something similar.

The problem at the moment is that we don't really know what the natural demand and capacity limit is currently for LOI clubs. We know that a number of grounds sell out regularly (Tallaght, Richmond, Dalymount, Brandywell), and we've seen the potential at certain clubs in Cup Final attendances and European fixtures. But we don't know what the high-water mark is for these clubs. Rovers are probably the best supported in the league at the moment (though Derry fans would have a case for disputing that after Sunday's turnout), so I'd suggest we need to wait and see what happens when Tallaght has a 10,000 capacity. Will it sell out regularly, or will that size prove to be about right for the club for the foreseeable future.

bohsmug
16/11/2022, 12:20 PM
It does grate to see the GAA getting even more of a handout for this - but the problem is that the needs of a major UEFA tournament and those of the LOI do not overlap at all really.

UEFA won't be looking to put games in a 20-25,000 stadium in Dublin. It's a capital city and a key location, so they'll want to put a quarter final or semi-final there as well as group games. So they'll be looking for at least twice that capacity. 20-25,000 would be far too big for LOI clubs anyway, and detract form the atmosphere IMO. Linfield getting crowds of 2,500 in the 18,500 capacity Windsor Park is not a good experience, and it wouldn't help the LOI to have something similar.

The problem at the moment is that we don't really know what the natural demand and capacity limit is currently for LOI clubs. We know that a number of grounds sell out regularly (Tallaght, Richmond, Dalymount, Brandywell), and we've seen the potential at certain clubs in Cup Final attendances and European fixtures. But we don't know what the high-water mark is for these clubs. Rovers are probably the best supported in the league at the moment (though Derry fans would have a case for disputing that after Sunday's turnout), so I'd suggest we need to wait and see what happens when Tallaght has a 10,000 capacity. Will it sell out regularly, or will that size prove to be about right for the club for the foreseeable future.

For it to be the right size, I think it has to sell out occassionally for the big matches. There's a balance there somewhere. Remains to be seen with the increase in Tallaght but the crowds are higher than I would've thought. A few years ago I would've said 10k capacity is too much for a LOI side but there's a stronger counter argument to that now.

The proposed capacity of around 7,800 or so for Dalymount at the moment seems just right for Bohs. It's still massively ambitious to reach a point where it's justified. There'll still be people screaming that it's too low. It could very definitely turn out to be too big, although again signs are good. If it actually gets built of course. Always in danger of looking a bit silly talking about proposed LOI grounds when you look back in a few years, months...

EatYerGreens
16/11/2022, 1:15 PM
For it to be the right size, I think it has to sell out occassionally for the big matches. There's a balance there somewhere. Remains to be seen with the increase in Tallaght but the crowds are higher than I would've thought. A few years ago I would've said 10k capacity is too much for a LOI side but there's a stronger counter argument to that now.

The proposed capacity of around 7,800 or so for Dalymount at the moment seems just right for Bohs. It's still massively ambitious to reach a point where it's justified. There'll still be people screaming that it's too low. It could very definitely turn out to be too big, although again signs are good. If it actually gets built of course. Always in danger of looking a bit silly talking about proposed LOI grounds when you look back in a few years, months...

Do you not need 8,000 to host European group stage games ? That would feel like the right kind of level for a stadium north of the Liffey.

bohsmug
16/11/2022, 2:21 PM
Do you not need 8,000 to host European group stage games ? That would feel like the right kind of level for a stadium north of the Liffey.

Well I wouldn't be against 8,000 either. Anything in and around that number is excellent. From what I've heard Dalymount would need a derogation either way because it won't reach UEFA category 4 status due to all the other things needed to reach that level. So on that front, I don't know if capacity would be the biggest hurdle for group stage football should the current proposal be realised.

16/11/2022, 9:41 PM
Its a pity that Windsor Park wasnt considered considering that NI is part of the 5 nation bid.I know thats it small but there always seems to be a great atmosphere at NI matches.

EatYerGreens
17/11/2022, 12:34 AM
Its a pity that Windsor Park wasnt considered considering that NI is part of the 5 nation bid.I know thats it small but there always seems to be a great atmosphere at NI matches.

Windsor is far too big for Linfield, but far to small for anything in international football. If common sense was at play then Linfield would move elsewhere and the ground would be expanded a bit at some point. But for lots of reasons that won't happen.

Neish
17/11/2022, 9:09 PM

Was a great atmosphere in the 1993 world cup playoff alright

But sure what capacity is it now 18k or something like that? Far too small for a European championship

18/11/2022, 12:47 PM
https://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/derry-city-set-for-talks-with-council-about-return-to-grass-pitch-at-brandywell-stadium-3923579

Interesting article here. Taking along the FAI to a meeting with the council, and implying that the club may help with the costs of switching the pitch back to grass.

EalingGreen
22/11/2022, 2:01 PM
https://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/derry-city-set-for-talks-with-council-about-return-to-grass-pitch-at-brandywell-stadium-3923579

Interesting article here. Taking along the FAI to a meeting with the council, and implying that the club may help with the costs of switching the pitch back to grass.
Per Philip O'Doherty:
"However, in terms of European football there's a move away from it. Some of the European leagues have banned it totally. Premier League matches in Holland for example. Indeed, from 2025 Eredivisie clubs are obliged to play on natural grass."

Its not just the top divisons which have this requirement for grass. In England, all EFL teams also have to have it. Which meant that when eg Sutton Utd and Harrogate Town got promoted to Lge Two from the National League (5th tier), they had to rip out their plastic pitch at a cost of £500k+ (though substantial grants were available).

Meanwhile, Gary Hamilton, Glenavon manager, was talking about this recently. He said kids are now growing up (in NI, at any rate), who've hardly ever played on grass, even his own kids! And the Man Utd scout for NI mentioned that they are at a real disadvantage when they go across the water compared with the locals, who are used to grass (presumably in the Academies?).

Also, many kids can't afford to buy studded boots for grass pitches in addition to the trainers they use for plastic.

culloty82
23/11/2022, 7:39 AM
Sligo announce a planning application for extensive redevelopment of The Showgrounds:

https://www.sligorovers.com/planning-application-lodged-for-the-showgrounds-development/

oldfan
23/11/2022, 9:36 AM
Great to see that excellent Club planning an upgrade.
No hanging around waiting for Councils to bail them out.

23/11/2022, 9:37 AM
Fair play to them. Really impressive plans. Let's hope it actually happens.

DCWA
23/11/2022, 10:12 AM
Also, many kids can't afford to buy studded boots for grass pitches in addition to the trainers they use for plastic.

This is surely not an issue, I play regularly on 3/4g plastic pitches and have never seen anyone wearing trainers. If they did in this country considering our weather they make as well wear two banana skins instead.

Plenty of football boots if not most are fit for dual purpose of grass and plastic.

bohsmug
23/11/2022, 10:40 AM

When you see a positive development as a good excuse to say something negative...
They'll still need public funding.

It's a fantastic plan, the ground is in a great location with plenty of space. If it happens it'll be gorgeous with the backdrop. Hopefully the era of neglected football facilities is coming to an end. The public attitude does seem to have shifted a bit.

Partizan
23/11/2022, 10:57 AM
I think there is a better chance of Sligo's new plans coming to fruition than the long and drawn out plans of other clubs. ?

23/11/2022, 11:30 AM
Give the fans a terrace you cowards

23/11/2022, 3:07 PM
This is surely not an issue, I play regularly on 3/4g plastic pitches and have never seen anyone wearing trainers. If they did in this country considering our weather they make as well wear two banana skins instead.

Plenty of football boots if not most are fit for dual purpose of grass and plastic.

It's valid enough. Kids are all wearing small moulded studs or blades now. Those sort of boots are rubbish on soft grass pitches. I went in to buy myself a pair of 6 stud boots recently in Letterkenny and found it incredibly difficult to find any sort of variety in them. It's almost entirely all moulded studs and blades in shops.

More and more plastic pitches are popping up, and I'm in the camp that they should be banned for games, whatever about a training facility, they're not good for your body to play on.

Partizan
23/11/2022, 4:03 PM
Kerry FC have announced that more seats will be installed at Mounthawk Park very soon.

Shinkicker
23/11/2022, 4:09 PM
I'd love to see the expected costs involved. Bohs were to upgrade and rebuild with circa 10,000 capacity for €30 million and are now getting completely new stadium with capacity circa 7,800 for €40 million. Sligo hope to upgrade and rebuild capacity in excess of 6,800 for ???

DCWA
23/11/2022, 4:14 PM
It's valid enough. Kids are all wearing small moulded studs or blades now. Those sort of boots are rubbish on soft grass pitches. I went in to buy myself a pair of 6 stud boots recently in Letterkenny and found it incredibly difficult to find any sort of variety in them. It's almost entirely all moulded studs and blades in shops.

More and more plastic pitches are popping up, and I'm in the camp that they should be banned for games, whatever about a training facility, they're not good for your body to play on.

Don’t buy that at all. Very easy to get plastic studded or “bladed” multi surface boots.

I agree on banning plastic pitches altogether apart from for recreational use.

23/11/2022, 5:09 PM
Kerry FC have announced that more seats will be installed at Mounthawk Park very soon.

I might be wrong, but I believe it's just replacements for the existing seats.

23/11/2022, 5:10 PM
Don’t buy that at all. Very easy to get plastic studded or “bladed” multi surface boots.

I agree on banning plastic pitches altogether apart from for recreational use.

Next time you're playing on a soft grass pitch, get back to me with how the multi-stud or blade boots work out for you.

DCWA
23/11/2022, 6:01 PM
Next time you're playing on a soft grass pitch, get back to me with how the multi-stud or blade boots work out for you.

Well I play Saturday morning without any issue have had the same pair of adidas predator esque style plastic blades for about 2 years they cost me £45 in JD and do the job rightly for that and for 5s/7s/astro league during the week. I don’t think I have wore metal studs in probably 10 years actually.

I am nowhere near a good enough footballer to worry about my boots too much but what I would say is most of the boots I see these days are multi surface and can’t imagine any problem at all. Any parent who has their child running round in 3/4 different sets of boots for different surfaces is off their head it is not a reasonable criticism of youths playing on plastic pitches (there are no doubt others).

culloty82
23/11/2022, 6:14 PM
I might be wrong, but I believe it's just replacements for the existing seats.

Yes - the initial capacity between seating and terrace will be 1,150, but very much with room for expansion later if there's sufficient local demand to do so.

23/11/2022, 7:13 PM
Well I play Saturday morning without any issue have had the same pair of adidas predator esque style plastic blades for about 2 years they cost me £45 in JD and do the job rightly for that and for 5s/7s/astro league during the week. I don’t think I have wore metal studs in probably 10 years actually.

I am nowhere near a good enough footballer to worry about my boots too much but what I would say is most of the boots I see these days are multi surface and can’t imagine any problem at all. Any parent who has their child running round in 3/4 different sets of boots for different surfaces is off their head it is not a reasonable criticism of youths playing on plastic pitches (there are no doubt others).

I played against Letterkenny Rovers two weeks ago in Leckview park. There was hardly a player on the pitch able to stay on their feet wearing moulded studs or blades.

thebronze14
23/11/2022, 9:00 PM
I use blades all year round without issue. I'm very slow now and take an age to turn so runners would probably do? I wear the astro runners on artificial surfaces. Agree with ye that those surfaces shouldn't be allowed

EalingGreen
23/11/2022, 9:05 PM
Any parent who has their child running round in 3/4 different sets of boots for different surfaces is off their head it is not a reasonable criticism of youths playing on plastic pitches (there are no doubt others).
My playing days are well behind me, so I'm only going by what Hamilton was saying and he was emphatic.

Perhaps he was referring to Academy-level youngsters, who need every advantage they can get if they're to have a chance of making it?

P.S. Shouldn't have said "trainers", meant blades.

EalingGreen
23/11/2022, 9:15 PM
Give the fans a terrace you cowards
I've been in Safe Standing in England i.e. capable of being converted back to seating for European games etc and it's excellent - best of both worlds, as it were.

Not sure why SRFC aren't putting in at least one SS area (if only for home fans?) to accommodate that, for assuming they aren't selling out every game, they could maybe persuade a few extra to attend if the SS area was a couple of Euro cheaper?

Anyhow, the plans certainly look very impressive and are putting a lot of other clubs to shame.

24/11/2022, 10:15 AM
Yeah maybe don't use those initials, LOL

CorribsideSteve
24/11/2022, 2:46 PM
Congratulations to Sligo. If all it goes to plan like the pictures, with the backdrop that another poster referred to, it'll look more like Molde's ground. Good luck to them. Notwuthstanding the fact that stadium renovations in Ireland happen at the pace of a geological timescale, Sligo above all other clubs deserve all the best with this. They have done an amazing job down there as it is, considering what the place looked like around 20 years ago.

Partizan
24/11/2022, 5:38 PM
Yes - the initial capacity between seating and terrace will be 1,150, but very much with room for expansion later if there's sufficient local demand to do so.

If Kerry do get a run together plus a sizeable travelling away support from Limerick and Waterford, that could be on the cards. I was looking at Mounthawk and there is room to expand right next to the main stand with temporary seating. You also have to factor in an attractive Cup tie against Cork or say Rovers.

24/11/2022, 5:57 PM
1,150 should be a reasonable objective for their first season in the league. First game will easily get that, you'd expect. Hopefully they get a decent response for season tickets too.

Looking forward to getting down to Tralee. It's a nice town for a few pints.

Shearer
24/11/2022, 7:20 PM
1,150 should be a reasonable objective for their first season in the league.
Not trying to knock Kerry in the slightest but feel the ground could be an issue, if not a mess this season.

It's a narrow road to the ground, there's one entrance gate (at present) that passes the dressing rooms and it's a bit of a walk from those dressing rooms to the pitch. The stand holds ~200 (?), only about ¾ of the ground is accessible and I don't know how segregation will work either.

To be fair, the place wasn't designed as an LOI ground but still.

legendz
24/11/2022, 7:47 PM
First Division stadia by seating capacity:
Bishopsgate 4,977
Eamonn Deacy Park 3,300
Carlisle Grounds 3,200
Waterford RSC 3,035
Athlone Town Stadium 2,024
Markets Field 1,710
St Colman's Park 1,350
Ferrycarrig Park 609 (temporary)
Mounthawk Park 500
Finn Park 351

If Kerry FC gain a dependable support base, a full length stand and a stand behind one of the goals would be the standout ground improvements.
Kerry GAA are seeking €72m for work on Fitzgerald's Stadium.

Stav
25/11/2022, 7:40 AM
Wouln't it be great to see those grounds full on a regular basis.

culloty82
30/11/2022, 12:55 PM
Wasn't sure of the appropriate thread for this, but Sligo have banned a number of "fans" who recently caused aggro during the St Pats game:

https://www.sligorovers.com/update-supporter-behaviour/

sbgawa
30/11/2022, 2:18 PM
Wasn't sure of the appropriate thread for this, but Sligo have banned a number of "fans" who recently caused aggro during the St Pats game:

https://www.sligorovers.com/update-supporter-behaviour/

Good to see

The league table on their website could do with an update....looks like the Admin threw his hat at it when the FAI gave Dundalk those 3 points

A N Mouse
30/11/2022, 5:52 PM
Big Phil et al talking temporary stand behind one of the goals. As demand for season tickets expected to outstrip supply when then they go on general sale.

https://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/derry-city-to-begin-talks-with-brandywell-stadium-owners-about-capacity-increase-for-2023-3936824

At this point, even if the Mark Farren Stand was finished the Brandy still wouldn't meet the club's ambitions. Nothing will be resolved, or much movement, anytime soon, but expect this to get messy