View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 [54] 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172

gufcfan
07/07/2012, 8:54 PM
That is an absolute nonsense statement to make. Of all the things to be worrying about right now... Sounds like the kind of muppetry the GUFC directors were at.

masterk78
12/07/2012, 12:34 PM
http://www.sligorovers.com/latest-news-news-menu-inside-246/1613-vw-bank-end-tickets-set-to-go-on-sale
New stand in Sligo.

SPXcyan
12/07/2012, 1:44 PM
Looks well ^^ is there a roof going over it??

poster
12/07/2012, 3:49 PM
Looks well ^^ is there a roof going over it??

Eventually.

Sean South
13/07/2012, 11:45 AM
https://fbcdn-photos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/s720x720/318858_3516598879035_1115053388_n.jpg

13/07/2012, 12:32 PM
Thats brilliant, shaping up to be a lovely ground now.

13/07/2012, 12:45 PM
That's class looking now. Are they going to do anything with the open end of the ground now? Should have thought of a temporary stand for that end for the European games this time.

punkrocket
24/08/2012, 11:38 AM
http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/local/coleraine-fc-set-for-30m-sports-supercomplex-16199238.html

So I wonder will it be done before The Brandywell is fixed up.

24/08/2012, 11:53 AM
Finn Harps will be holding an open meeting for all supporters on Monday 27th August 8.30 in Jacksons Hotel. Agenda will include new Stadium, league format for next season and financial update. The chairman and board would be grateful if all those who support the club would make an effort to attend.

Maybe some progress on Harps stadium plans.

08/10/2012, 9:04 AM
Pat was on 95fm this morning. He said all the pre-planning is done, the plans have been agreed on and finalised by limerick FC and the LEDP. It is being lodged in two weeks. Unless someone places an objection to the markets field it should be ready for kickoff of the 2013 season.

Hopefully the keep us updated from here on.

galwayhoop
08/10/2012, 9:38 AM
Pat was on 95fm this morning. He said all the pre-planning is done, the plans have been agreed on and finalised by limerick FC and the LEDP. It is being lodged in two weeks. Unless someone places an objection to the markets field it should be ready for kickoff of the 2013 season.

Hopefully the keep us updated from here on.

Ye've no chance of being in there for the start of the season.
Unfortunately sports stadiums always require further information and/or objections. Even if the plans were submitted today (has the application appeared in a local paper?) the time period for planning is 12 weeks (10th January not including Christmas week).
Requests for further information (even after Pre-planning) are usually nailed on for large applications and due to our planning system some do-gooder somewhere will object.

And all that doesn't even start to consider the necessary works ye are looking for planning for.

However, a submitted planning application should suffice for your premier license. Ye'll be kicking off in Jackman or Thomond though.

Ps- Congrats on promotion.

galwayhoop
08/10/2012, 9:41 AM
Sorry just re read your post, submitting in 2 weeks. That mean 24th Jan as earliest possible decision

gufcfan
08/10/2012, 5:25 PM
Unless someone places an objection to the markets field it should be ready for kickoff of the 2013 season.

The very best of luck with this, great to see a club like yourselves getting the sort of home you deserve.

"Unless someone places an objection on the markets field". Somebody objecting to a planning application? Never...

08/10/2012, 5:29 PM
I see Pat says in the Irish Times that we can work away on things already within the ground so even if we didn't have a start on the new stands etc… that probably require planning permission then I'm sure things like the changing rooms (maybe temporary), pitch, bar, toilets etc…. could all be worked on. That would mean we could work away on the ground as the season progresses. That would surely be enough to acquire a license?

08/10/2012, 5:37 PM
I can't imagine you'd be allowed build a bar without planning permission.

gufc2000
08/10/2012, 6:03 PM
I see Pat says in the Irish Times that we can work away on things already within the ground so even if we didn't have a start on the new stands etc… that probably require planning permission then I'm sure things like the changing rooms (maybe temporary), pitch, bar, toilets etc…. could all be worked on. That would mean we could work away on the ground as the season progresses. That would surely be enough to acquire a license?
If Hunky Dorys Park can get one, then I'm sure a ground with what you've mentioned above will suffice.

08/10/2012, 7:49 PM

I'd say you could build a "big room" though.

08/10/2012, 8:07 PM

Think there is already a bar there so it would just be a matter of fitting out or re-fitting what's there. This may not be in the plans but it's just another possibility of what might be able to be done without planning.

09/10/2012, 12:18 AM
Surely you can still work on the existing stand without planning permission too? It's just being renovated, not knocked and re-built?

El-Pietro
09/10/2012, 10:58 AM
If Hunky Dorys Park can get one, then I'm sure a ground with what you've mentioned above will suffice.
but you forget that Delaney hates Limerick and they need to be spot on in their application, while other teams only need to be close, or in the case of Salthill/Mervue they don't need to even need to submit a license.

09/10/2012, 11:05 AM
Now, now. The independence of the licensing body is absolute.

Finlay Harp
09/10/2012, 11:20 AM
Some craic if they only get a first division licence! Delaney will be like the Lundy of Limerick!

09/10/2012, 11:36 AM
That would surely be enough to acquire a license?
Back of a fag packet plans have been enough for licencing.

pateen
10/10/2012, 11:32 AM
Surely you can still work on the existing stand without planning permission too? It's just being renovated, not knocked and re-built?

I was thinking this myself. Is that the way?

10/10/2012, 12:04 PM
If the capacity is being increased, you'd need planning permission afaik.

marinobohs
10/10/2012, 12:13 PM
dedpends on the extent of the 'renovation' and whether it changes the structure (size/height etc) of the current stand. given a project such as this it would be a lot safer to err on side of conservativeness regarding planning permission.

10/10/2012, 12:25 PM
Without planning permission I presume we could only make sure the stand is safe and put seats into it as that would not need to change the actual structure of the stand.

What is the minimum requirements seating wise for a premier license?

Guitd
10/10/2012, 1:29 PM
Without planning permission I presume we could only make sure the stand is safe and put seats into it as that would not need to change the actual structure of the stand.

What is the minimum requirements seating wise for a premier license?

It was supposed to be 1500 for prem and 500 for first div but if you have plans drawn up that will do ye !!!

Partizan
11/10/2012, 3:38 PM
What would the seating capacity of the stand be in the Markets if seats were installed. I am guessing about 1000.

11/10/2012, 3:41 PM
What would the seating capacity of the stand be in the Markets if seats were installed. I am guessing about 1000.

On the old grandstand side??

1800 along the length of it I'm told.

Partizan
11/10/2012, 3:50 PM
On the old grandstand side??

1800 along the length of it I'm told.

That includes both covered and uncovered?

What about temporary seating behind both goals and opposite side?

11/10/2012, 3:55 PM
Really, 1,800 is all that's needed there for now I'd imagine.

11/10/2012, 3:57 PM
That includes both covered and uncovered?

What about temporary seating behind both goals and opposite side?

Ya. Would look fairly similar to Oriel I suppose really, only with a bigger covered part. (For those trying to picture it)

Couldn't really put anything behind either goals with the dog track there.

Popular side the same, there's very little room there with the track.

Can't see a temporary solution to anything in Markets field tbh because any plan I've seen involves the track coming up and the pitch being moved.

11/10/2012, 4:02 PM
Really, 1,800 is all that's needed there for now I'd imagine.

Would be the finest shur.

If it sold out once in a blue moon for Cork or Shamrock that would be about the size of it.

Like I said above though I think there's probably too much development to be done for it to be just a simple case of bolting down a few seats.

11/10/2012, 4:05 PM
Isn't the track being taken away altogether?

11/10/2012, 4:20 PM
Tis.

But there's a fair bit of work involved in that I'd say.

11/10/2012, 4:22 PM
Sligo Rovers are to put a temporary terrace in place for their next home game in an attempt to match the huge demand for tickets with over 5000 sold already!

The 60 metre terrace will be behind the Nazareth House goal and will be a similar structure to that erected for the European match in the Showgrounds last year.

The terrace will facilitate release of 800 additional tickets for the final matches of the season. The decision has been made due to overwhelming demand for tickets from the clubs supporters.

The original allocation of 5,000 have been sold out

So, almost 6,000 people in the Showgrounds for the last 2 league matches.

Interesting stuff.

pesky
11/10/2012, 5:04 PM
What's the story with the Brandywell. When are they starting redevelopment there ?. Thought I read somewhere they were going to have a new 4000 seater stand ready by the summer of 2013.

11/10/2012, 10:29 PM
Not even Rovers attract that many bandwagoners.

edit: that's not a jibe against Sligo

Nah Nah Nah Nah
12/10/2012, 6:39 AM
Sure look how many we've brought to the cup finals

redobit
12/10/2012, 4:26 PM
Not even Rovers attract that many bandwagoners.

edit: that's not a jibe against Sligo

You must not have been at the 2010 Cup Final so ...

21/12/2012, 2:06 PM
http://www.sligorovers.com/latest-news-news-menu-inside-246/1807-chairman-welcomes-sports-capital-announcement

Great news for Sligo. Facilities to get a great boost. Well done.

Merry Christmas! ;)

Guitd
21/12/2012, 3:42 PM
mervue & Deacy park terryland also get more funding

Brian Walsh TD

I'm delighted to announce that almost half a million euro is to be invested in three Galway sports facilities under the Regional Sports Capital Programme.

Mervue United will receive €190,000 for the extension and resurfacing of its synthetic playing pitch. Connacht Rugby will receive €200,000 for new changing facilities at the recently revamped Galway Sportsground. Galway and District League will receive €60,000 for new dressing rooms and physio rooms at Eamonn Deacy Park.

This follows the investment of over €800,000 in sports and leisure facilities that I announced last August, and €1.4 million for clubs and organisations across the county under the Sports Capital Programme earlier this month.

dong
22/12/2012, 12:31 PM
Good to see ministers delivering for their own provinces.
God bless this country. T'would bring a tear to your eye.

galwayhoop
24/12/2012, 9:59 AM
Good to see ministers delivering for their own provinces.
God bless this country. T'would bring a tear to your eye.

He's a TD you twit not a minister. The system (I'm not saying its right) is set up for him to deliver, not for his Provence or even the country, but for his Constituents. Which as a Galway West TD he has done in this instance, or to be much more accurate, he is taking the credit for doing.

Guitd
24/12/2012, 10:38 AM
he is taking the credit for doing.
"jumping on the bandwagon" others might say

dong
24/12/2012, 11:17 AM
He's a TD you twit not a minister. The system (I'm not saying its right) is set up for him to deliver, not for his Provence or even the country, but for his Constituents. Which as a Galway West TD he has done in this instance, or to be much more accurate, he is taking the credit for doing.

Think before you type.
The Minister of State decides where the money goes. And steady on with the personal abuse.

bluewhitearmy
24/12/2012, 11:27 AM
Bet ya the amount announced that Mervue will get is inflated.

03/03/2013, 10:08 PM
News from tonight's AGM
The main delay with the build since last AGM was due to the fact the club had submitted an invoice so that the next money could be released. This was submitted last February but only approved in September.

Several club members had a meeting with reps form the FAI & Ministry of sport (2 weeks ago) in which they queried the delay. The sports ministry apologised for the delay and said the money would now be available.

There is now significant funds available for the build.

Phase 1: of the build due to start shortly and expected to be completed by the end of the year. This phase will be building of main block which will include a 2000 seat stand & admin building(Offices, shops and changing rooms etc)

Phase 2: will hopefully start next year which will most likely be laying of pitch, installing of lights etc, parking & entrance to stadium.

Phase 3: will be building of 2nd stand but no date for this yet, untill phase 2 starts.

They said they may move once phase 2 is completed and pitch is playable, operating from the new venue with just the 2000 seat stand and admin building. Then continue with build of 2nd stand.

Then the rest of the build (2 end stands) to continue in phases in later years.

04/03/2013, 11:15 AM
News from tonight's AGM
The main delay with the build since last AGM was due to the fact the club had submitted an invoice so that the next money could be released. This was submitted last February but only approved in September.

Several club members had a meeting with reps form the FAI & Ministry of sport (2 weeks ago) in which they queried the delay. The sports ministry apologised for the delay and said the money would now be available.

Unreall that it dragged on for so long, beyond your control i know, but man was that ages in coming.