View Full Version : Stadium Updates (All Clubs)

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172

15/01/2007, 11:43 AM
Conor, I don't know how things will pan out yet.
There's talk of a roof going on the St. Anne's end so that would be better for the Commandos, in my opinion.

BTW how long will construction have taken when the shed end is complete (assuming it finishes on time!)?

The deconstruction took a while but the construction was quite quick, considering the bad weather and the Christmas break. About 3 months to get to this stage.

bohsmug
15/01/2007, 11:49 AM
Here (http://corkcityfc.ie/gallery/thumbnails.php?album=175) are the latest pictures from Turners Cross...

I think it's fair to say that'll put an end to any "Whats the best stadium in the EL" arguments for a few years anyway. Turners cross probably would have been my choice anyway but now there's no competition. Are there any plans to roof the St. Annes end at any stage do you know? Also what'll the new seating cacpacity be? (probably been answered a thousand times before, if so sorry!)

Edit: St Annes question dealt with while I slowly typed my post.

Patrick Dunne
15/01/2007, 12:26 PM
Turners Cross would be a good venue for the 2007 FAI Cup Final. The seated capacity must be up to 8,000 at this stage.

15/01/2007, 12:31 PM
I think the official capacity will be 7,000 odd.
If UCD & Limerick get to the final, then Turners Cross might suffice.
You'd have room for 6,945 neutrals then. :D

BohsFans
15/01/2007, 4:29 PM
Turners Cross would be a good venue for the 2007 FAI Cup Final. The seated capacity must be up to 8,000 at this stage.

seated cap. in Dalyer = 8,000! Why bother moving the game all the way down to Cork?

15/01/2007, 4:32 PM

Nah Shur twould be big day out

Look at Munster and the hurlers

Pairc Ui Chaoimh would be more realistic for my sports mad bretheren :rolleyes:

4tothefloor
15/01/2007, 6:21 PM
Turners Cross looks fine apart from that terrible small stand where the pics are being taken from. It's also the stand that the tv cameras face. The cameras look right over it during games, ruins the whole look. I take it space is fairly tight on that side?

BohsFans
15/01/2007, 6:27 PM
What facilities are going in behind the stand apart from dressing rooms?

Bar?

16/01/2007, 12:04 AM
No bar. Sooner CCFC buy the Horseshoe the better. Unsure of the full plans. They're on the website.
I do know the necessary uefa rooms for drug-testing etc are in there along with some form of corporate hospitality.

16/01/2007, 11:13 AM
I take it space is fairly tight on that side?

Yeah, the minor fact that house run the length of the stand may have some bearing on matters.
There are plenty clubs who'd kill for a stand like that as their main stand!

oriel
16/01/2007, 12:31 PM
very impressed with the photos of the new stand, the entire ground looks the business, easily overtakes tolka as best in the lge and only 2nd to windsor park in whole of ireland (and thats far too big for linfield)

bohsmug
16/01/2007, 1:42 PM
very impressed with the photos of the new stand, the entire ground looks the business, easily overtakes tolka as best in the lge and only 2nd to windsor park in whole of ireland (and thats far too big for linfield)

I can never understand why people rate Tolka highly. The general standard of grounds in the league is appaling and ,for me, Tolka rates below a few. I find it an awful place to go to. The toilets are disgusting (no lights, no running water which is slightly ironic cos the floor's always flooded). Access to the ground is **** poor and if it rains atall the walkways at the bottom of the Riverside are always flooded. I think Flancare park, Buckley Park, Dalymount Park, Terryland Park,the Showgrounds and obviously Turners Cross are far more comfortable places to go. The new Athlone stadium looks good too and I probably prefer Richmond too (although that may just be my personal preferance, not sure).

Agree on Turners Cross looking "the business" though!

16/01/2007, 2:13 PM
I can never understand why people rate Tolka highly. The general standard of grounds in the league is appaling and ,for me, Tolka rates below a few. I find it an awful place to go to. The toilets are disgusting (no lights, no running water which is slightly ironic cos the floor's always flooded). Access to the ground is **** poor and if it rains atall the walkways at the bottom of the Riverside are always flooded. I think Flancare Park, Buckley Park, Dalymount Park, Terryland Park,the Showgrounds and obviously Turners Cross are far more comfortable places to go. The new Athlone stadium looks good too and I probably prefer Richmond too (although that may just be my personal preferance, not sure).

Agree on Turners Cross looking "the business" though!

Couldnt agree more. Tolka is a soulless sh1tpit and the sooner its knocked the better. Another season there too:rolleyes:

daniel
16/01/2007, 2:44 PM
where (Derry)currently still in negotiations over our ground, but last Thursday we appointed Peter Quinn (to the boad of Brandywell Properties) former GAA cheif, and brother of Irelands first Billionaire,

16/01/2007, 4:18 PM
Tolka is a soulless sh1tpit and the sooner its knocked the better.

Yeah, at least Dalyer has some sense of history and feels like a football ground.
I think most football fans would celebrate Rovers being allowed to build their ground.
Only problem I have with Flancare is that it's in the middle of nowhere.

khoop
17/01/2007, 7:04 AM
seated cap. in Dalyer = 8,000! Why bother moving the game all the way down to Cork?

All the way down from where? Have I missed something? Is Dublin now officially the centre of the universe?

17/01/2007, 10:08 AM
All the way down from where? Have I missed something? Is Dublin now officially the centre of the universe?

Exactly, majority of cup finalists have been from outside Dublin in last 5 years.

incident
17/01/2007, 2:19 PM
Exactly, majority of cup finalists have been from outside Dublin in last 5 years.
And the majority of those sides have been from somewhere North of Dublin. Somehow I doubt that Derry, Longford, or Drogheda would've appreciated the longer journey times for their finals.

No point moving the final just to benefit Cork, Waterford, Cobh, and Limerick.

crc
17/01/2007, 2:40 PM
I think that either the FAI Cup Final or Setanta Cup Final should be moved around the country as a sort of 'reward' for clubs who have put investment into their stadiums. It would be like the Champions' League or Heineken Cup Final and the venue would be announced before the competition starts. I think this idea might be better suited to Setanta than the FAI Cup.

Cork might be at the 'wrong end' of the country, but it is only one of half a dozen clubs who might apply to hold a final, and TX does now look fantastic.

citybone
17/01/2007, 3:23 PM

official seating capacity will be 7,500 but can fit a few more as terrece (at least untill the roof on the st. annes is done)

BohsFans
17/01/2007, 10:25 PM
Is Dublin now officially the centre of the universe?

Yes it is!

Any argument for Cork or the likes is blown out of the water by the fact that Dublin is by far the best served out of any county transport links wise.

18/01/2007, 1:04 PM
Lights in Terryland Upgraded. Ground works due to start after final P.P. Green Light (7 days we are led to believe) and full Construction to start 2nd week in February. Hoped to have it completed and open last week in June.

The planning Process has been slow but at least there is a glimmer of light at the end of the Tunnell.

18/01/2007, 3:44 PM
Yes it is!

Any argument for Cork or the likes is blown out of the water by the fact that Dublin is by far the best served out of any county transport links wise.

That is only a slight advantage to be honest. Still not enough reason to move it out of Cork.

18/01/2007, 3:56 PM

Depends how you travel. M50 & Red Cow Roundabout don't help anyone...

ramsfan
18/01/2007, 7:36 PM
new stands,seats, new floodlights and a wider and longer pitch are thae alterations being carried out to st colmans park great ground shame about the fact we have no team:confused:

dublin15bohs
18/01/2007, 8:01 PM
Is Dublin now officially the centre of the universe?

Yes it is

02/02/2007, 11:33 PM
Updates from Turners Cross...

back of the stand (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/thecorner/cid_0jUxw1E7bQ.jpg)

front view (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/thecorner/cid_wnhB7Hr2f9.jpg)

Buller
03/02/2007, 9:42 AM

back of the stand (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/thecorner/cid_0jUxw1E7bQ.jpg)

front view (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/thecorner/cid_wnhB7Hr2f9.jpg)

very nice!!!

03/02/2007, 11:04 AM
I haven't seen it yet but we have gotten a new roof on our stand in Oriel. Will be able to say more after the Derry friendly on Thursday.

03/02/2007, 11:19 AM
I haven't seen it yet but we have gotten a new roof on our stand in Oriel. Will be able to say more after the Derry friendly on Thursday.

Will you be able to get some photos of it?

eamoss
03/02/2007, 11:46 AM
Will you be able to get some photos of it?

That lastest one I have was taken last week!
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/1/1f/DSC01070.JPG

Some older ones I have
http://img162.imageshack.us/my.php?image=dsc01084as9.jpg
http://img228.imageshack.us/my.php?image=dsc01085ym2.jpg
http://img63.imageshack.us/my.php?image=dsc01088fu4.jpg

EDIT:
This photo was taken about 30mins ago!
http://img231.imageshack.us/my.php?image=dsc01108ie0.jpg

03/02/2007, 11:55 AM
very nice!!!

Do want the builders details? :)

Philly
03/02/2007, 4:47 PM
"Rumours" abound that:

All round the pitch has been tarmaced (?spelling?). No more mud yay!!

New goals - four inches larger (more goals then, hopefully)...

Also, on the 'aul grapevine, two 450 seater stands are to be built accross from the current one soon. Will be like those American football college team stands you always see in Disney movies.

Two new astro turfs across the road, as well as two training pitches.

A footbridge going from across the train track straight into Station Road.

Will be great when done, should take too long either.

The stand bit has yet to be confirmed though, keep an eye on the website though...

harry crumb
03/02/2007, 5:16 PM

Looks brilliant.

Amazing the changes in the last 10 years. Good template for other clubs to build up their stadiums gradually.

Now, if only we could buy the Horseshoe, we would be in business.

steno
03/02/2007, 10:02 PM
"Rumours" abound that:

All round the pitch has been tarmaced (?spelling?). No more mud yay!!

New goals - four inches larger (more goals then, hopefully)...

Also, on the 'aul grapevine, two 450 seater stands are to be built accross from the current one soon. Will be like those American football college team stands you always see in Disney movies.
Two new astro turfs across the road, as well as two training pitches.

Will be great when done, should take too long either.

The stand bit has yet to be confirmed though, keep an eye on the website though...

Philly is this a temporary job until the money is in place to build something more permanent?

Other than that its all good:ball: :)

03/02/2007, 10:12 PM

Are you serious, that is probably the best development in that list. Fair play if that actually happens. Its seriously made it easier to get to Station Road then.

Philly
03/02/2007, 10:34 PM
Yup the bridge is being built for sure. Will be excellent when completed.

As for the stands, what I heard comes from somebody involved with NTFC. Nothings confirmed yet though, so I would wait for an announcement before being sure. Two stands ten rows high and 45 seats wide is what I've been told we are getting, with the dugouts being moved closer to the pitch to make up room. Sounded good. I heard it is a metal frame type stand so if funding comes through for the crazily fancy other stand with the tunnel and all then I'm guessing the two stands could be taken apart pretty quickly.

Basically, the club wants a Premier License from next season on. Hopefully a sign of their ambition.

Buller
04/02/2007, 1:08 PM
Do want the builders details? :)

yeah but dont send them to us, send them off to gaah headquarters...

robbieos88
04/02/2007, 6:37 PM
No change at all in Richmond Park, jesus we need it to be improved!!

The Man Himself
05/02/2007, 11:33 AM
Our new 1650 stand should be commencing once the season has finished!! this will make the RSC alot nicer to look at!!

1,730 along with the 1,250 you already have that will bring the seating upto almost 3000

charliesboots
05/02/2007, 11:35 AM
any idea how drogs are getting a premier license considering they don't have 1800 covered seats*?

*correct me if i'm wrong

Soper
05/02/2007, 11:39 AM
New stadium plans

GalwayFrancis
05/02/2007, 10:20 PM
The plans for Galway United's new stand can be downloaded from:
http://www.salthillknocknacarragaa.ie/new_stand01.pdf
http://www.salthillknocknacarragaa.ie/new_stand02.pdf

Clearing work will start on Monday 5th March and construction is
due to start, if there is no objectors, in the next 4 weeks.
It will take 3 months to construct, so it should be open by the end
of June along with new seating for the existing stand as well.

05/02/2007, 11:18 PM
The plans for Galway United's new stand can be downloaded from:
http://www.salthillknocknacarragaa.ie/new_stand01.pdf
http://www.salthillknocknacarragaa.ie/new_stand02.pdf

Clearing work will start on Monday 5th March and construction is
due to start, if there is no objectors, in the next 4 weeks.
It will take 3 months to construct, so it should be open by the end
of June along with new seating for the existing stand as well.

Those links are from a Gah site?? Story ?

corbyeire
05/02/2007, 11:54 PM
no its just a site that fran - puts all his stuff on - but it IS the plans for terryland!

GalwayFrancis
06/02/2007, 8:37 AM
no its just a site that fran - puts all his stuff on - but it IS the plans for terryland!

correct, that is one of my websites (yes, its a gaa site). but as corby said, they are the plans for terryland.

06/02/2007, 10:19 AM
correct, that is one of my websites (yes, its a gaa site). but as corby said, they are the plans for terryland.

Yeah, nice try. ;) Expect these links to form part of an angry speech from some mid-ranking GAA official looking for attention, "Not even in the door of Croke Park and ye think you can take over everywhere..."

06/02/2007, 12:29 PM
No change at all in Richmond Park, jesus we need it to be improved!!

That mud bank behind the goal really bugs me whenever I see it on TV. It's crying out to be terraced.

I know ye had/have plans for another stand there but terracing should be put in even as a temporary measure

06/02/2007, 12:32 PM
Yeah, nice try. ;) Expect these links to form part of an angry speech from some mid-ranking GAA official looking for attention, "Not even in the door of Croke Park and ye think you can take over everywhere..."

That reminds me that In the Tribune last Sunday week the chairman of the Munster Council took just such an attitude when talking about pressure being put on the GAA to open grounds for Leinster/Munster in the Heineken Cup. How dare ye etc etc

What made it funnier was in another part of the sports section the Chairman of the Laois County Board was quoted as saying they'd be delighted to have Leinster play at O'Moore Park:confused:

GalwayFrancis
06/02/2007, 12:57 PM

think what you like. just because im invloved with gufc and gaa, you feel treatened some how.